Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

I don't know where we're going, but I know where I am (part 9)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭thomil

0lddog wrote: »
    Thinking of doing likewise but fear its a waste of time.

Was there anything to buy ?

Just back from Dunnes here in Ballincollig. They're almost fully stocked. Soap/Sanitizer products are visibly decimated, and the pasta selection is also a bit anaemic, but apart from that, it looks like a normal day. It's noticeably less busy than usual though.

Good luck trying to figure me out. I haven't managed that myself yet!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 21,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Email today to say I'm working from home for the next 2 weeks. "Working" :D

Duvet, think twice about the pub as your dad might need you in the coming weeks. I'm waiting on a total lockdown and armageddon.

Forget the loo roll folks, stockpile the alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭0lddog

thomil wrote: »
    Just back from Dunnes here in Ballincollig. They're almost fully stocked. Soap/Sanitizer products are visibly decimated, and the pasta selection is also a bit anaemic, but apart from that, it looks like a normal day. It's noticeably less busy than usual though.

Going to the shops now !

Thanks Thomil :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Reading emails.

Do people feel a lockdown's imminent? In Italy theyve been serenading passersby or neighbours from their balconies. Wonder what the Irish version would be...

Now I'm close to certain. Apparently a mild conjunctivitis is a cv19 symptom. I had that all week. I never have eye problems.
    Feel totally better now though. Great night of fever dreams sorted me out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,960 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Went to my local butchers today and that was it. Checked in on the Covid-19 updates on TV as usual. Still grim. Currently working on my playlist for tonights drinkies with Mrs G. I have Virus, Shake the Disease and Last Day on Earth so far.:D

You forgot The Final Countdown G :D

https://forumofgames.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Just back from Portlaoise. Got my hair done. Went for dinner. Went to tesco. The place was a disgrace. Bare enough shelves. Travellers causing ructions in the shopping centre. Standard day in Portlaoise.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 61,799 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Went to my local butchers today and that was it. Checked in on the Covid-19 updates on TV as usual. Still grim. Currently working on my playlist for tonights drinkies with Mrs G. I have Virus, Shake the Disease and Last Day on Earth so far.:D

Add 'come on eileen' and 'my sherona' on to that list immediately :p

Work trundle o clock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Couchside. watching some telly/

It feels an awful lot later in the day than it actually is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,424 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

We got a new family member today, one of my nephews and his Mrs had a baby girl.
    Sitting watching the boss baby and bored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

In bed in my temporary new gaff. Things are strained between me and the fella coz I couldn't live in the other place any longer. He let me move into one of his airbnbs for now. It's a studio apartment but it's comfy and at least I can use the pool and come and go without getting dirty looks or fear of questions.

Needed out of the other place for mental health more than anything. Now am city centre and have everything I love in easy access but have decided to isolate as now have a sore chest and seem to be coughing.

I'm just back from shopping centre. Had a right old time :D

Portlaoise by any chance? We could have gone to bergins!!!

You could sit two meters away though, just incase

Just back from Portlaoise. Got my hair done. Went for dinner. Went to tesco. The place was a disgrace. Bare enough shelves. Travellers causing ructions in the shopping centre. Standard day in Portlaoise.

To be quite honest , to say that it was a " standard day " in Portlaoise is a gross misrepresentation imo . It may have been like that today while you were there , but I've never witnessed it happening .

Home , fires lit , nearly time to sit down and relax .

Email today to say I'm working from home for the next 2 weeks. "Working" :D

Duvet, think twice about the pub as your dad might need you in the coming weeks. I'm waiting on a total lockdown and armageddon.

Forget the loo roll folks, stockpile the alcohol.

Cheers Leggy,definitely no pub today or obviously the foreseeable, house absolutely scrubbed from top to bottom, everything has been bleached and scrubbed and yet I feel its just delaying the inevitable, I'll snap out of this form I know but the thought of work next week is worrying.

My parents are doing great, man doesn't seem to concerned but my dad definitely is,strange as I would have thought it would be the other way around.

Big battle here with one kid/adult...wants to go to his buddy's house with the lads,I've argued that this is absolutely crazy ,its a nightmare of an age to deal with but they're not stupid, so bloody annoying tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Couchside watching Ant and Dec Saturday night takeaway, I forgot the show was back on. Missing my bingo :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 61,799 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Listening to jenny greene after cleaning surfaces

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭thomil

Chairside, having just liberated a blueberry muffin from its earthly shackles...

Is it just me, or is the internet painfully slow today?

Good luck trying to figure me out. I haven't managed that myself yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,765 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I'm trying to curb the boredom eating.
    I fear the next step is online shopping.
    Somebody please intervene fast...

To thine own self be true

Same here,I usually lose my appetite if I'm stressed but I've totally gone the opposite direction at the moment...on the other hand I'm thinking feck it what's the point, might as well stuff my face .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    To be quite honest , to say that it was a " standard day " in Portlaoise is a gross misrepresentation imo . It may have been like that today while you were there , but I've never witnessed it happening .

Home , fires lit , nearly time to sit down and relax .

I'm thinking if it was that bad why stay and have your hair done and have dinner??????? The mind boggles.:rolleyes::rolleyes:

It's a really really difficult time and I'm making preps to shoot or disembowl anyone who even fooking thinks about doing me harm in any way. Despite the smilie, I mean it.:D

Stay cool Mam. We can ride shotgun together.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭NewRed2

We're all f***d. I'd safely say this is the end.

NewRed2 wrote: »

So no need to give an absolute fook about anything. Portlaoise is still a cool enough town though. Didn't deserve the criticism it got despite the impending Zombie warfare.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Skybirdjb

Evening all . Couchside finally just going taking my meds that make my immune system sh*ter than it already is , Been keeping to myself and not going out much trying to stay safe as I’m in the “at risk “ group as my doc says .
    How’s ye all ??

NewRed2 wrote: »

All my lurching and bell ringing and wailing practice finally can be put to good use! The end is nigh!! *dong ding*

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,172 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Same here,I usually lose my appetite if I'm stressed but I've totally gone the opposite direction at the moment...on the other hand I'm thinking feck it what's the point, might as well stuff my face .

Ok ladies hand over the debit and credit cards and I promise...........I'll keep them safe for ye ;)

I'm thinking if it was that bad why stay and have your hair done and have dinner??????? The mind boggles.:rolleyes::rolleyes:

It's a really really difficult time and I'm making preps to shoot or disembowl anyone who even fooking thinks about doing me harm in any way. Despite the smilie, I mean it.:D

Stay cool Mam. We can ride shotgun together.:eek:

Just as well there's a social interaction restriction in place G , we may put the riding shotgun on hold for a while :D

Any amazing recipes yet ?

Couchside ,.feet up here :)

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    Just as well there's a social interaction restriction in place G , we may put the riding shotgun on hold for a while :D

Any amazing recipes yet ?

Couchside ,.feet up here :)

Cheers Mam!

I have a great recipe that I'm sure I mentioned here. Someone reminded me on another thread. Rendang. Jaysus Mam it's some effort. I drank about 10 bottles of Heineken watching this guy make it. I've done cheat versions, but his was epic. Think I may have sculled 10 more bottles after it and got up for work. Tube not the car.:D

I'll pop the recipe up on an appropriate thread at some point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

The worst thing about Portlaoise is

You don’t have me :D That could also be a good thing :D

I loves you all ((Hugs))

Still couchside watching The Voice, what kind of suit is Tom Jones wearing :eek:

Haha auto. :D
    I’ve lived long enough in Portlaoise to have formed my opinion on it, fantastic if it’s not the general consensus. Only last month a lady got milk thrown all over her and her car in the underground carpark, and sure look between Knockmay and the white city I’m sure someone could write a book.

I am out. Out out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,337 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Drinking my second bottle of Coors; I usually have two on a Saturday night :)

Jaysis after eleven and not a drop of tea have i had. :eek: