Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE Climate change program What Planet Are You On?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭mf240

Flicked it on for a minute one evening and there was a vegan "nutritionist" on it, and he had the look of a lad that go no beastings.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,058 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Again from Nuffield, Jerusalem Artichoke can store twice as much carbon as trees.
    https://www.farmersjournal.ie/nuffield-conference-alternative-crops-can-store-twice-as-much-carbon-as-trees-508928

I was listtening to a radio program one night last week where a guy said that there's such a massive release of carbon at clearfell that it neutralises the advantage of trees over their lifetime in other words...... you'd be as far on if you sowed nothing and that's exactly the way the guy said it too

• Registered Users Posts: 5,101 ✭✭✭Grueller

mf240 wrote: »
    he had the look of a lad that go no beastings.

Laughed more than I should have at that

• Registered Users Posts: 10,687 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I says wrote: »
    Gave up worrying about all that scutter when I watched this years ago https://youtu.be/oYhCQv5tNsQ

That's a great video. Well worth watching.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,980 Mod ✭✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Came across this earlier. I think it summed it up nicely!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

Came across this earlier. I think it summed it up nicely!

Brilliant.

Ten Pin wrote: »
    Each of the participating families were paid 2k....who wouldn't nod, smile and do whatever you're told by Mr No-Red-Meat, Mr Unattended-Fire-Hazard-Tumble-Drier, Mr No-Thats-Not-In-The-Right-F*kin-Recycling-Bin and Ms Wash-Yourself-With-An-Egg-Cup-Of-Water.

And yer man burning the plastic packaging in the fireplace was staged, he knew the cameras were there and still did it, what planet is he on...

I know I'd do the same , 90% of the world is ignoring Climate change, why bother when billions are destroying the environment.
    Kids on the late late saying they walk to school one day a week, jasus we walked every day, if they can walk one day they can walk every day, those kids are the cannon fodder of climate change and they're ignoring it, so why bother

• Registered Users Posts: 11,069 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

wrangler wrote: »
    I was listtening to a radio program one night last week where a guy said that there's such a massive release of carbon at clearfell that it neutralises the advantage of trees over their lifetime in other words...... you'd be as far on if you sowed nothing and that's exactly the way the guy said it too
    It's just the fact that the trees store the carbon in their timber and just that physical bulk of it there. What happens to the timber after is the next thing if that carbon gets stored or not.

In the soil it seems it's fungi are the main drivers in carbon storage in soils. If you've soil that is conducive for good mycellium growth you'll start to produce the humus and you'll have the self sustaining and growing soil.

Go the other way with no mycellium and you'll have a tight compacted no oxygen soil that doesn't make and store the carbon and needs intervention for plant growth.

Fungi once grew to species that were over 20ft tall. But got wise to the fact after plants came along that they'd let the plants do all that growing and form a symbiotic relationship with the plant to feed and be fed. However not all plants like fungi and some plants have been purposely bred to not make that good relationship.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

I know I'd do the same , 90% of the world is ignoring Climate change, why bother when billions are destroying the environment.
    Kids on the late late saying they walk to school one day a week, jasus we walked every day, if they can walk one day they can walk every day, those kids are the cannon fodder of climate change and they're ignoring it, so why bother

Tough going back in them days.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

davidk1394 wrote: »
    The first night of the programme I thought to myself that I might learn a few tips on saving water, by the end of the first night I was going to put my foot through the television. Is the programme not supposed to be unbiased ? They may aswell put one of us on it and get everyone eating steak 3 times a day. You would also think they'd find a vegan in Ireland not have to bring one in from the UK, this makes it even more ridiculous. Is it even worth emailing the broadcast regulator ?

This ^^^.

Posted this already on the 'nutition' expert employed by RTE

The food specialist on the programme - surprise surprise is Dr Marco Springmann - one of the scientist behind much of the now debunked EAT Lancet and a vegan activist

https://mobile.twitter.com/ghgguru/status/1088083544314920961?lang=en ...

RTE need to be taken to task for this type of tabloid TV. As far as I'm aware they are supposed to provide a balance of views in their programming. Instead we have RTE employing an UK plant food activist as a nutrition guide for these programmes which on the face of it is little different to only interviewing the DUP about politics. 

They've even put up a 'planetary diet guide' by the same eejit which includes well known food grown here such as Yams and Chickpeas - but bizarrely does not even follow the reductionist promotion of eating less meat etc of the now debunked Lancett EAT planetary diet.

And the problem with these rubbish partisan programmes? We are paying for RTE to make these programmes and paying participants €2000 a pop for going along with the bs.

Jasus I never considered it tough,
    There was some kids spared when I didn't have them, does pregnancy trigger some hormone in both partners to make them more subdued because that's the only solution I can see.

And a sod of turf under each arm.

mgn wrote: »
    And a sod of turf under each arm.

Joke will be on them, CC won't affect me at all and probably not a lot on here much either but they're the cannon fodder.
    Sure they have'' Climate anxiety'' already

Joke will be on them, CC won't affect me at all and probably not a lot on here much either but they're the cannon fodder.
    Sure they have'' Climate anxiety'' already

Won't affect me either, and when these spoilt kids start paying a few bills when the leave school in their 30s, the will soon cop themselves on too.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭davidk1394

More shíte like this on rte 2fm now on the Dave Fanning programme with Jacy Reese, he wrote a book the end of animal farming. Trying to get people to move away from animal products

RTÉ seem to have an agenda to eradicate animals from our lives. They want us to stop eating meat and all animal by products. They also want us to stop greyhound racing. I’m sure that they’ll turn their eyes to horse racing next.
    I’m too fond of my roast beef, lamb and chicken to pay them any heed.

RTÉ seem to have an agenda to eradicate animals from our lives. They want us to stop eating meat and all animal by products. They also want us to stop greyhound racing. I’m sure that they’ll turn their eyes to horse racing next.
    I’m too fond of my roast beef, lamb and chicken to pay them any heed.

I was talking to someone involved with greyhounds and he was fuming over the programme they did on greyhound racing a while back. They featured a vet on it, Finbarr Heslin. Failed to mention, of course that he is the partner of, none other than, newscaster Sharon Ni Bheolain. Unbiased reporting eh......:mad:

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/those-who-knowingly-harm-greyhounds-bring-shame-on-industry-says-igb-1.3939158

https://www.independent.ie/woman/celeb-news/gorgeous-gaelgeoir-denies-tying-knot-26666207.html

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

It's just the fact that the trees store the carbon in their timber and just that physical bulk of it there. What happens to the timber after is the next thing if that carbon gets stored or not.

In the soil it seems it's fungi are the main drivers in carbon storage in soils. If you've soil that is conducive for good mycellium growth you'll start to produce the humus and you'll have the self sustaining and growing soil.

Go the other way with no mycellium and you'll have a tight compacted no oxygen soil that doesn't make and store the carbon and needs intervention for plant growth.

Fungi once grew to species that were over 20ft tall. But got wise to the fact after plants came along that they'd let the plants do all that growing and form a symbiotic relationship with the plant to feed and be fed. However not all plants like fungi and some plants have been purposely bred to not make that good relationship.

Can you imagine the sh!tstorm that's going to erupt when people will be told that Agriculture is their only hope of reversing climate change:D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭jaymla627

I was talking to someone involved in greyhound and he was fuming over the programme they did on greyhound racing a while back. They featured a vet on it, Finbarr Heslin. Failed to mention, of course that he is the partner of, none other than, newscaster Sharon Ni Bheolain. Unbiased reporting eh......:mad:

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/those-who-knowingly-harm-greyhounds-bring-shame-on-industry-says-igb-1.3939158

https://www.independent.ie/woman/celeb-news/gorgeous-gaelgeoir-denies-tying-knot-26666207.html

Seen on another forum it mentioned the bobby calf expose is to be aired next week that will stir up some hornets nest

• Registered Users Posts: 30,199 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I was talking to someone involved in greyhound and he was fuming over the programme they did on greyhound racing a while back. They featured a vet on it, Finbarr Heslin. Failed to mention, of course that he is the partner of, none other than, newscaster Sharon Ni Bheolain. Unbiased reporting eh......:mad:

That's correct from what I know.
    Sharon has being against greyhound racing for years from what I know.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

Was it Sharon did the greyhound program?
    If it wasn’t, I don’t see how it matters?

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭deuces wild

Seriously????

I think it shows bias. I’ve been in greyhounds for 60 odd years. I’ve been to every greyhound track in the country. I’ve never heard of that vet. There was so much wrong in that program. Most of it historical or took place in another country. What wasn’t mentioned was most of the wrongs pointed out have been corrected over the past few years. This fact doesn’t suit the vegan anti animal agenda.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,069 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Can you imagine the sh!tstorm that's going to erupt when people will be told that Agriculture is their only hope of reversing climate change:D

I believe the influencers already know this but they are just so far removed from the reality of livestock production and see it as abhorrent that life has to end for new life to begin that they've wrapped themselves with a bubble of like minded imbeciles that won't tell them to stop.
    It helps that there's money promoting this and it comes from the fertilizer group, Yara, the cereal conglomerate Kelloggs and the commodity traders Cargill.

If you want to further commoditize farming, you have to get rid of the "scrap" small family units who just don't know when to stop. To do this you have to demoralize them into believing there's no future. It helps if you can actually push down consumer demand for their products and get them out that way.
    The remainers then should have no time to think and should be big enough that they've no choice but to sell their product as a commodity into the commodity market. Hopefully they'll be buying or selling to us or using our services.

Anyway leaving that world order behind.
    The future if it is to be serious about climate and not just about making money is small and medium sized farms keeping some livestock and growing some trees.
    Now for a not Dragons den moment.
    Grow the trees on the ditches or as silvopasture. Cut down the trees and replant or use coppicing varieties. Use the trees to make biochar.
    Have your biochar plant beside a glasshouse. Pump any co2 emitted from the plant into the glasshouse and use the heat from the plant in the glasshouse as well. Have a shallow water system on the floor of the glasshouse to grow spirulina algae.
    Use the nutrients from the livestock dung and urine to feed and produce the algae.
    Harvest the algae and mix with the biochar and use as a land fertilizer. This will feed and add diversity and sequester more carbon than the dung or slurry alone.
    The industrial fertilizer business goes broke. The farmers have produced their own biofertilizer without any need for imported nitrogen or phosphorus whether cadmium laced or not.
    World peace ensues.. soil carbon levels increase exponentially and the planet is saved. Horaay.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭cjpm

RTE. A thundering disgrace. Don't seem to know about the country outside the pale.

I'll tell you what should be done. Until there is a retraction of those lies and a grovelling apology - The IFA, ICMSA, Beef Plan and ALL of the rest of the other farming organisations should instruct their members to withhold their TV licence fees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭toleratethis

Have your biochar plant beside a glasshouse. Pump any co2 emitted from the plant into the glasshouse and use the heat from the plant in the glasshouse as well. Have a shallow water system on the floor of the glasshouse to grow spirulina algae.
    Use the nutrients from the livestock dung and urine to feed and produce the algae.
    Harvest the algae and mix with the biochar and use as a land fertilizer. This will feed and add diversity and sequester more carbon than the dung or slurry alone.
    The industrial fertilizer business goes broke. The farmers have produced their own biofertilizer without any need for imported nitrogen or phosphorus whether cadmium laced or not.
    World peace ensues.. soil carbon levels increase exponentially and the planet is saved. Horaay.

Until someone burns your water filled glasshouse down 🀔

• Registered Users Posts: 586 ✭✭✭dh1985

cjpm wrote: »
    RTE. A thundering disgrace. Don't seem to know about the country outside the pale.

I'll tell you what should be done. Until there is a retraction of those lies and a grovelling apology - The IFA, ICMSA, Beef Plan and ALL of the rest of the other farming organisations should instruct their members to withhold their TV licence fees.

Exactly what's required.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

davidk1394 wrote: »
    More shíte like this on rte 2fm now on the Dave Fanning programme with Jacy Reese, he wrote a book the end of animal farming. Trying to get people to move away from animal products

And the whole load of bull**** is simply fire for the extremists to get stirred up on - from those protesting to close down slaughter houses - to the eejits screaming about agriculture, hunting etc as 'murdering country folk' and 'non human animals'. Its like living in a fecking bad trip disney movie. I can only presume the government has taken to adding LSD or something similar to the water or at least the national broadcaster has gone off the deep end with the propaganda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

It's just the latest incarnation of the bias inherent in RTE.
    https://twitter.com/IFAmedia/status/1195685227248701440?s=19
    The nutrition expert they provided the other night has no nutritional qualifications and is, iirc, a qualified physicist.

But he ticked the boxes on the narrative that RTE are pushing wholesale atm.

Watching 'Will Ireland Survive 2050?' now on RTE 1. It shows Coonagh in Limerick and the recent flooding there. I know Coonagh. It's all built on corcas land and so is well under high level tide. It flooded because the Council were working on the sluice gate there and went away for the weekend and left a temp job in place. It failed and flooded the place. Nothing whatsoever to do with global warming. :mad:

How can RTE give out 2 completely conflicting reports.
    https://www.rte.ie/news/regional/2019/0902/1073392-coonagh-flooding/