Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Syrian refugee student wins state scholarship

• Closed Accounts Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Tasfasdf

Boggles wrote: »
    Ah Racists stewing in their own hate and ignorance.

It is glorious to watch.

I guess we can dispense with the usual trope of "we are not racist we are just concerned about immigration".

Everyone's a racist the doesn't celebrate this girl as if she the second coming.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭Infini

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Some irish people are just fcuking weird, outraged over a foreign girl getting a scholarship, fcuking hell!

Honestly there's way too many idiots out there who dont think things coherently. Absolutely nothing wrong with this girl getting a scholarship, she's actually doing something constructive and good and trying to contribute and improve herself not unlike some who only want their forever homes and free money.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,863 ✭✭✭enricoh

Tasfasdf wrote: »
    Everyone's a racist the doesn't celebrate this girl as if she the second coming.

A badly needed good news story for the asylum spoofer industry. Its timing was inpeccable in light of the protests in achill etc and got plenty of coverage on rte.
    2 ghanains got done for raping a young one in donegal midweek - more newsworthy than a kid getting a scholarship, not a peep from rte.
    The riot squad was drafted into cork last night as around 100 youths wanted to replicate their bruvs in croydon n fleece a jd sports shop. Wonder how much airtime that'll get on rte?!

• Registered Users Posts: 39,743 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

No just the ones who dislike her because she a fordiner doing good.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 20,992 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

No. Everyone who questions whether she’s a genuine refugee who got into college on merit is a racist. It’s pretty clear cut.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users Posts: 19,172 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

enricoh wrote: »
    A badly needed good news story for the asylum spoofer industry. Its timing was inpeccable in light of the protests in achill etc and got plenty of coverage on rte.
    2 ghanains got done for raping a young one in donegal midweek - more newsworthy than a kid getting a scholarship, not a peep from rte.
    The riot squad was drafted into cork last night as around 100 youths wanted to replicate their bruvs in croydon n fleece a jd sports shop. Wonder how much airtime that'll get on rte?!

Here's an article on RTE.
    https://www.rte.ie/lifestyle/living/2019/1107/1089294-opinion-what-its-like-to-be-a-black-migrant-in-ireland-today/
    Was that lady not outed as a liar/scammer when she ran for election? Apparently she was still granted residency in July!

I say fair play to Syrian girl. Scammer lady, not so much. Shouldn't be giving her a platform like that

• Registered Users Posts: 39,743 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Tuck in your tinfoil lad.

https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2019/1106/1089144-letterkenny-court/

Eye witness reports put it closer to 30 and it took less than hour to get rid of the saddos, but sure that doesn't generate clicks, does it?

Has the nationalities of the exuberant youths been identified?

The only thing I have seen reported in terms of a description is teenage school children.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,034 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Here's an article on RTE.
    https://www.rte.ie/lifestyle/living/2019/1107/1089294-opinion-what-its-like-to-be-a-black-migrant-in-ireland-today/
    Was that lady not outed as a liar/scammer when she ran for election? Apparently she was still granted residency in July!

I say fair play to Syrian girl. Scammer lady, not so much. Shouldn't be giving her a platform like that

Ellie is still skipping the UK part of her story so she hasn't learned much from the local elections

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭nkl12xtw5goz70

Brian? wrote: »
    No. Everyone who questions whether she’s a genuine refugee who got into college on merit is a racist. It’s pretty clear cut.

Sigmund Freud, Albert Einstein, and Karl Popper were also refugees — having fled warfare or political persecution doesn't make one any less intellectually capable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Tasfasdf

If that's an your understanding of racism you shouldn't be a mod.

• Registered Users Posts: 771 ✭✭✭SchrodingersCat

Well its true. If somehow there were a story of a red haired Kerry lad who had fled a war, had to move country twice, live in Direct Provision without a parent for a year and then managed to win a State Scholarship, ye wouldnt be questioning his merit and the Irish media for reporting it.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,479 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Gatling wrote: »
    Several years living in UAE before coming here , seems the family fled a safe country

UAE is not a signatory of the UN Refugee Convention:

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=https://www.unhcr.org/uk/414ad5b17.pdf&ved=2ahUKEwjF5byX_tzlAhX7QhUIHXPSDZkQFjAKegQIBhAC&usg=AOvVaw3UiWtgMXZ7sH46W8im0zOb

They have only agreed to take Syrian refugees this year:

https://emirateswoman.com/uae-set-welcome-15000-syrian-refugees/

• Registered Users Posts: 4,863 ✭✭✭enricoh

Boggles wrote: »
    Tuck in your tinfoil lad.

https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2019/1106/1089144-letterkenny-court/

Eye witness reports put it closer to 30 and it took less than hour to get rid of the saddos, but sure that doesn't generate clicks, does it?

Has the nationalities of the exuberant youths been identified?

The only thing I have seen reported in terms of a description is teenage school children.

Ghanain rapists didnt make the news.
    So this young one gets a few minute piece on rte 6 one news for a scholarship. In that time she adresses the people protesting asylum spoofers coming to their towns, asking them to stop.

A few days before 30 odd males going to achill mysteriously get replaced by 13 women. A far handier sell to the public.
    Hmm, tin foil hat stuff apparently says a vested interest in the industry!

He literally linked to the news story that you state "didnt make the news".

I saw that story on the news.

Details were also reported during the court case (although I don't remember their names or nationality being stated then). But it was definitely on all the main news sites. If you didn't see it then fair enough, but it was there. The Syrian girl story is long gone from front pages. Only the likes of this thread keeping it going tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 15,398 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Ellie is still skipping the UK part of her story so she hasn't learned much from the local elections

Ellie would be lucky to get elected as the local town dog warden the way she is going

• Registered Users Posts: 15,398 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Ah, we're only allowed mention the scholarship folks.
    Things not up for discussion :
    She left Syria for dubai n lived there for a few years. Had the war even started?
    Her ma n her left dubai to claim asylum in ireland. Why? What was the threat?
    Her oul boy stayed in dubai at his engineering role working for a few years after that- was he not under threat too?
    She was 9 months in direct provision, did the government provide a house n welfare for them after that? Or did the oul lad shell out some of his tax free dollars?
    No doubt some journalist with or without a willy will fill in the blanks in this weekends papers matt!

This.

Some really pertinent questions here.

This.

Is anyone bothering to read the news articles on this story or are they just jumping to question the merit and background of the young girl?

Ah, we're only allowed mention the scholarship folks.
    Things not up for discussion :
    She left Syria for dubai n lived there for a few years. Had the war even started?
    Her ma n her left dubai to claim asylum in ireland. Why? What was the threat?
    Her oul boy stayed in dubai at his engineering role working for a few years after that- was he not under threat too?
    She was 9 months in direct provision, did the government provide a house n welfare for them after that? Or did the oul lad shell out some of his tax free dollars?
    No doubt some journalist with or without a willy will fill in the blanks in this weekends papers matt!

This.

Well to be fair, even if they had been in the UAE before it kicked off, doesn't mean they can't claim asylum. They could have moved there on work visa, war starts back in Syria a few years later and then they are suddenly in the position that they would now be sent back to a war zone if their visa is not renewed. Maybe it would be renewed or maybe it wouldn't - but that is ultimately outside their control. If could be that to all intents and purposes for them, their previous country doesn't exist any more.

If they couldn't get refugee status in the UAE due it not being available, they'd be entitled to go elsewhere to claim it (Why they "chose" Ireland would be up for debate but it would not remove their entitlement to do so).

Asylum is also not dependent on poverty. You don't have to be destitute and starving to claim asylum (think Edward Snowden or Jilian Assange)

So your points may not be as valid as a simplistic ranting about them would appear on first glance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭Roversfan1

You disagree with my point?

What’s actually wrong with being emotional?

Nothing until it stops you from seeing facts.

If that's an your understanding of racism you shouldn't be a mod.

If that’s your understanding of what a moderator is you shouldn’t post on boards.

they/them/theirs

Roversfan1 wrote: »
    Nothing until it stops you from seeing facts.

I agree. The facts here are pretty clear.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Why anyone would leave Dubai to come live in the rain in the west of Ireland is beyond me.

Two years hardship pretending youre a poor refugee to get your entire family EU passports and then go back to funneling your riches out of the UAE is a decent deal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

But it is only clear cut to you.

Anyone that questions whether she is a genuine refugee or asylum seeker has a point. She was living in a safe country where her father was gainfully employed with a work permit in a well paid, tax free job. As was her mother.

The father stayed in the UAE when the girl and her mother came to Ireland to claim asylum. Having left a safe country where they had spent a number of years.

How does she merit asylum status under international law given she has fled a safe country where she had lived for years and where her father and mother both had well paid jobs?

Why did the parents not try and get work visas for Ireland instead of claiming asylum?

Nothing racist about questioning things Brian.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 jenna_haze

Golden rule!
    If the term racist is bandied about willy-nilly you know that the have no argument, they have lost.
    Nowadays the term Racist has lost much of ifs power, its used by the left to try silence any and all debate on almost everything, it no big deal to be called a racist now, its overused

jenna_haze wrote: »
    Golden rule!
    If the term racist is bandied about willy-nilly you know that the have no argument, they have lost.
    Nowadays the term Racist has lost much of ifs power, its used by the left to try silence any and all debate on almost everything, it no big deal to be called a racist now, its overused

Hold on a minute. I made plenty of points and wasn’t the one who used the term racist first.

And sometimes calling a spade a spade means calling someone racist. Mainly when calling racists racist I suppose. Just because it’s
    Over used doesn’t make it accurate sometimes.

they/them/theirs

But it is only clear cut to you.

Anyone that questions whether she is a genuine refugee or asylum seeker has a point. She was living in a safe country where her father was gainfully employed with a work permit in a well paid, tax free job. As was her mother.

The father stayed in the UAE when the girl and her mother came to Ireland to claim asylum. Having left a safe country where they had spent a number of years.

How does she merit asylum status under international law given she has fled a safe country where she had lived for years and where her father and mother both had well paid jobs?

Why did the parents not try and get work visas for Ireland instead of claiming asylum?

It’s pretty clear. She was granted asylum after staying in direct provision. She is living in Ireland perfectly legally. She is a genuine refugee, otherwise she wouldn’t have been granted asylum.

The UAE weren’t taking in Syrian refugees so they moved to Ireland to petition for asylum. Absolutely nothing wrong with that.

Questioning her right to asylum alone wouldn’t be racist, but it’s only one form of attack that’s been used on this thread.

If you listened to some posters she’s a fake refugee who got a place in college for being a refugee and not on merit who shouldn’t wear a headscarf because it’s oppressing women.

That’s the racism I am talking about. Switching the point of attack each time an argument is shot down.

they/them/theirs

Two years hardship pretending youre a poor refugee to get your entire family EU passports and then go back to funneling your riches out of the UAE is a decent deal

But that’s not what happened.

I thought you were ok with well educated working immigrants?

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

But that’s not what happened.

I thought you were ok with well educated working immigrants?

Coming in legally, I believe there are wuestions about how legal the asylum claim is.

Im also opposed to quotas and tokenism and don’t believe that the news story and potentially the scolarship were issued for any other reason than it warms lefty hearts

Coming in legally, I believe there are wuestions about how legal the asylum claim is.

There are zero questions about the legality of her residence in Ireland. It’s over and done, asylum granted perfectly legally
    Im also opposed to quotas and tokenism and don’t believe that the news story and potentially the scolarship were issued for any other reason than it warms lefty hearts

You don’t believe it based on nothing but your own prejudices.

they/them/theirs