Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paying for sex

• Registered Users Posts: 6,602 ✭✭✭Feisar

... as long as that woman is not your sister or daughter!
    I would agree with what Baracus said. The women involved in porn, which is of course prostitution, are far from the 'empowered' women we are lead to believe.

I think anyone involved in porn is missing something mentally.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭NaFirinne

Making it legal doesn't help women that are being enslaved into a life of prostitution against there will. However criminalizing doesn't really solve the problem either.

I think it's should be legalized but any person going into the profession requires a license by the state....and to acquire the license them must go through an interview process to determine that they are doing it of their own free will and are given all the necessary health training and advise.

However having sex with someone for money as in (intercourse or oral) is banned with fines for offenders starting at 1 grand upwards to be payable to the person whom you visited.

Also anyone married must have full partners permission before engaging with anyone. If found out without partners permission then said partner gets all rights to all of their assets.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭Ironicname

Feisar wrote:
    I think anyone involved in porn is missing something mentally.

Interesting. Why so?

NaFirinne wrote:
    However having sex with someone for money as in (intercourse or oral) is banned with fines for offenders starting at 1 grand upwards to be payable to the person whom you visited.

What?
    NaFirinne wrote:
    Also anyone married must have full partners permission before engaging with anyone. If found out without partners permission then said partner gets all rights to all of their assets.

Again.... What?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭victor8600

Ironicname wrote: »
    What?
    Again.... What?

Are you opposed to any specific details, but agreeing in principle?

victor8600 wrote:
    Are you opposed to any specific details, but agreeing in principle?

All of it.

You need permission from your partner to visit a prostitute? Ridiculous and impossible to police.

There is a fine of 1k for having sex? Again, ridiculous and impossible to enforce.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,011 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

I would agree with what Baracus said.

I pity the fool who wouldn't:p

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭NaFirinne

All of it.

You need permission from your partner to visit a prostitute? Ridiculous and impossible to police.

There is a fine of 1k for having sex? Again, ridiculous and impossible to enforce.

These are specific suggestions and open to compromise

However do you agree with the first part

"Making it legal doesn't help women that are being enslaved into a life of prostitution against there will. However criminalizing doesn't really solve the problem either.

I think it's should be legalized but any person going into the profession requires a license by the state....and to acquire the license them must go through an interview process to determine that they are doing it of their own free will and are given all the necessary health training and advise."

You are trying to misquote. It is not a fine for having sex. It is a fine for buying sex.

And this "ridiculous and impossible" proposition is actually the law in Ireland now:
    ... a person who pays, gives, offers or promises to pay or give a person (including a prostitute) money or any other form of remuneration or consideration for the purpose of engaging in sexual activity with a prostitute shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable on conviction to a fine of up to €500 for a first offence, and a fine of up to €1,000 for each subsequent offence.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

"I think", "I think", "I think", "I think", "I think", "I think", "I think".

So many people thinking, without any real solid base from which to stand on. Here's an idea, why not listen to what the sex workers themselves think? I've included a short video below from one of the leading campaigners for sex work in Ireland, Kate McGrew, she herself a sex worker.

I said this already, and I'll say it again. Sex work (pure 100% choice) and human trafficking (no choice) are not the same thing. So many people have these disgusting old stereotypes that sex workers are poorly educated, riddled with sexual diseases, drug addicts, etc. From the articles I've read through these last few years and videos I've watched, that is just complete bull. But undoubtedly there are some that probably will fit these old stereotypes, but is it a case that the majority of sex workers are like this? I don't believe so at all.

Being forced to have sex with strangers for money, with all the money going to pimps/traffickers/etc, is perhaps the most disgusting act mankind has ever conceived, certainly one of at least. No matter what laws you make or what you make illegal, those that cause this brutality will always find a way to remain undetected, and remain forever undeterred as a result. I don't have the answers, I wish I did, I wish someone did. The fact remains that there isn't a single foolproof answer to stop human trafficking. And this law has not stopped the purchase of sex in this country, nor has it done so in Northern Ireland where it was made illegal just before it was here.

But certainly the way to go forward is to work WITH the sex workers themselves instead of casting aside their opinions like rubbish. They're the people with the experience. They're the ones in the know. How does it make any sense to make a law about sex work when the decision making doesn't take into account the very opinions of those it directly affects??

An interview with a Swedish sex worker and activist, where it's been illegal since the early 2000's:

victor8600 wrote:
    And this "ridiculous and impossible" proposition is actually the law in Ireland now:

You said that the 1000 should be made payable to the prostitute.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,602 ✭✭✭Feisar

Interesting. Why so?

It's not based on any science or study, just watched a few documentaries on the topic. Most seem to be lacking mentally. I don't mean slow but missing a certain something. Maybe they are hardened (no pun) to an industry that uses them as meat.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 463 ✭✭Jonybgud

You pay for it one way or another, nothing wrong with a straight up deal for the act itself.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

So if your father/uncle etc is going to to Spain or Portugal (or shudder - Thailand) to play golf then there’s a very good chance he’s also being persuaded by his mates to give the old nosebag and sex for money thing a go.

bullsh1t. Some people like golf you know.

position 1: "sex, including as a service, should be a matter between consenting adults"

position 2: "trafficking"

position 1: "i literally said consenting adults"

position 2: "trafficking and rape are wrong"

position 1: ".......agreed?"

position 2: "all bought sex is harmful and rape"

position 1: ".......what?"

position 2: "sex is straight up harmful outside of christian marriage and women cant be trusted to make their own bodily autonomy or economic decisions when it differs to my opinion on morality "

just waiting for that last statement tbh. keep it up all the position 2's, you're right on track

the idea, essentially, that ~sex~ *must be* the most intimate or personal act for person x because *you view it that way yourself* is a fallacy and needs to be challenged the same way the policing of any adult person's behaviour ought to be.

the "for their own good" bar is set extremely high in most control cases, and where it isnt you very often find a highly dubious morality campaign of shaming and agenda-driven accepted fact.

if someone finds something wrong with a sex worker making their own choice to provide their chosen service for the chosen customer at the agreed price, they should admit their moral agenda and not hide behind generalities that would be laughed out of any reasonable debate like "everybody knows sex with strangers/unattractive people hurts your mental health"

lads and ladies, if that were true coppers wouldve had a luas line to the CMH two decades ago.

the debate is so obviously led by fundamentalism its laughable

You said that the 1000 should be made payable to the prostitute.

To quote you: What? I have said no such thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

position 1: "sex, including as a service, should be a matter between consenting adults"

position 2: "trafficking"

position 1: "i literally said consenting adults"

position 2: "trafficking and rape are wrong"

position 1: ".......agreed?"

position 2: "all bought sex is harmful and rape"

position 1: ".......what?"

position 2: "sex is straight up harmful outside of christian marriage and women cant be trusted to make their own bodily autonomy or economic decisions when it differs to my opinion on morality "

just waiting for that last statement tbh. keep it up all the position 2's, you're right on track

How long have you been hearing these voices in your head?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Jonybgud wrote: »
    You pay for it one way or another, nothing wrong with a straight up deal for the act itself.

I hate this line. How do I end up paying for sex with my wife?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,369 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Like everything else it depends on the participants. Both parties willing I don't see the problem selling or buying sex

NaFirinne wrote:

What does this mean then if not that the prostitute receives the 1k?

victor8600 wrote:
    To quote you: What? I have said no such thing.

You didn't but when I said the the posters idea was unenforceable, you said there was a similar law already. There isn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,356 ✭✭✭corner of hells

It is often the case that wives control their husbands by controlling when they have sex. If they fight it is more likely that the husband will acquiesce, as he needs sex more than she does.

Often the case ? , I take it you're not married.

It is often the case that wives control their husbands by controlling when they have sex. If they fight it is more likely that the husband will acquiesce, as he needs sex more than she does.

Hahaha...Jesus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

I haven't read the whole thread but if any female boardsies have admitted to being a prostitute please PM me.

Thank you.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,356 ✭✭✭corner of hells

This is comedy gold , AH at its finest .

I didn't know you could get the internet where you lived.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I didn't know you could get the internet where you lived.
    :D though to be fair it can be a "thing" like he describes, more usual that sex dries up on one side(like one chap described in his own life). That said it's nearly always the woman referenced and blamed for that, but I've known quite a few women in largely sexless longtermers where it was the man who wasn't up for it and it affected their sense of self and well being and feeling of being a desirable person just as much. If not a little worse in some ways, because it tends to be much less talked about. And the idea that men are always up for it, which must make a woman in that situation feel even worse. Why isn't he wanting me kinda thing. I mean the "frigid married woman" thing is a near meme, so at least there might be a sense of "well, sure I'm not alone in this" for the men in such setups. That 80's US comedy show Married With Children used the sexless husband as a theme, but that's about the only one I can think of in the media?

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote:
    though to be fair it can be a "thing" like he describes, more usual that sex dries up on one side(like one chap described in his own life).

I'm sure it can. But a blanket generalisation deserves no further investigation. It's silly. But we all know that.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

I am too lazy to read the whole thread but I hope that someone has mentioned that "free sex" is actually the most expensive.

On a serious note, don't regard myself as a prude or anything to that effect, but certainly something unsettling about sex as a product. We have wives, daughters, sisters, friends. Where is the respect and decency gone?

I am not Jesus Christ levitating on the cross above you all though. I live in the real world. If a girl wants to do this, more power to her elbow, but there's something that's just unsettling about it for me. I hope she's ok, but I somehow just don't know if she is. Maybe I'm wrong. Hopefully I'm wrong. Just not for me.