Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unpopular Opinions - OP Updated with Threadban List 4/5/21

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 428 ✭✭blueshade

Ironically, it sounds like you'd get on quite well with ISIS - loads in common.

Wow, a Lisa fanboy. I'd happily string the murderous bitch up from the nearest tree and let the crows dispose of her corpse. She is vermin and her child is going to be raised to be every bit as psychotic and evil as her parents. The Irish government using a Tunisian born child and portraying it as Irish in an effort to justify bringing this ISIS whore back is appalling.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭facehugger99

blueshade wrote: »
    Wow, a Lisa fanboy. I'd happily string the murderous bitch up from the nearest tree and let the crows dispose of her corpse. She is vermin and her child is going to be raised to be every bit as psychotic and evil as her parents. The Irish government using a Tunisian born child and portraying it as Irish in an effort to justify bringing this ISIS whore back is appalling.

It must be cool getting to verbalise your revenge-porn fantasies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Invisibleman

Did you get kicked out of the thread on Gay Byrne? Seriously, you've nothing better to bitch about than the death of a much loved well respected broadcaster that many of us grew up watching, you sound almost as pathetic as the idiot IRA fanboys bitching about him.

No i didn't, also , did you read the title of this thread ?

I did, I just find it pathetic that people jump in and start criticising the dead before the corpse is cold. There's something very tacky about it.

It must be cool getting to verbalise your revenge-porn fantasies.

Must be cool getting to verbalise your support for an ISIS whore.

I did, I just find it pathetic that people jump in and start criticising the dead before the corpse is cold. There's something very tacky about it.

put me on ignore so like you are threatening everyone in the other thread,
    real mature.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

To be fair, your rhetoric is not dissimilar to that of a supporter of Islamic extremism. You've probably got more in common with Lisa Smith than the average person.

this really is an outrageous post.

To be fair, your rhetoric is not dissimilar to that of a supporter of Islamic extremism. You've probably got more in common with Lisa Smith than the average person.

I'm amazed he's allowed to say what he's said.

this really is an outrageous post.

Whose sock are you?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,074 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

BattleCorp wrote: »
    I believe cultural appropriation is a load of me bollix. See an example below.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-7642079/Love-Islands-Molly-Mae-Hague-slammed-cultural-appropriation-Cleopatra-Halloween-costume.html

So what if someone dresses a certain way? Get ta fcuk with your cultural appropriation.
    A while back I read an article somewhere, American IIRC, where this Chinese chap I believe was having a rant about cultural appropriation of his culture, by Whites of course. Yet in the photos of him that accompanied the article about the only thing that wasn't White European in origin from the furniture to the clothes on his back was him. I suppose I could have a rant at how dare he culturally approriate the "White man's" stuff, but that would be beyond daft.

Now I certainly fully understand the WTF's that come with blackface and yellowface and the like and by god that was way worse in the past, but when it comes to things like clothing, personal style etc, these eejits need to cop on. To be fair it's only an absolutely teeny tiny number of these eejits out there, but it makes for good copy and clickbait.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Whereisgalway

Gay was a over rated broadcaster and full of his own self importance

• Registered Users Posts: 18,919 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-7642079/Love-Islands-Molly-Mae-Hague-slammed-cultural-appropriation-Cleopatra-Halloween-costume.html

So what if someone dresses a certain way? Get ta fcuk with your cultural appropriation.

Just another load of imported American claptrap that the rest of us can (and should) absolutely ignore.

Be careful of using twatter or instagorm as barometers though. Just because one vacuous cunt dresses up as something and some other vacuous cunts slam her with empty phrases, it doesn't really mean anything.

In any case, Cleo wasn't an Egyptian. Her bloodline was Ptolemaic. So Cleo, herself, was dressing up in another culture's clothes.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,770 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Tony EH wrote: »
    Just another load of imported American claptrap that the rest of us can (and should) absolutely ignore.

Be careful of using twatter or instagorm as barometers though. Just because one vacuous cunt dresses up as something and some other vacuous cunts slam her with empty phrases, it doesn't really mean anything.

In any case, Cleo wasn't an Egyptian. Her bloodline was Ptolemaic. So Cleo, herself, was dressing up in another culture's clothes.

What we think these days Cleo dressed like is really movie fiction.

Whoa, wipe the foam from your gob and compose yourself.
    I'm sure if a foreign national was thought to be up to no good here, you'd want their ass back in their country of origin. She is this country's problem and we should deal with it.

Whoa, wipe the foam from your gob and compose yourself.
    I'm sure if a foreign national was thought to be up to no good here, you'd want their ass back in their country of origin. She is this country's problem and we should deal with it.

You sound like a terrorist sympathiser to me. Most of the country don't want the woman back in this country. She made her terrorist husbands bed now she can lie in it. She will not be ''dealt with''. She will be treated with kid gloves, given a taxpayer funded house, Single Parents allowance, Children's Allowance and a whole host of other benefits. She will cost a fortune to monitor her and she will be a magnet for other like minded dirtbags like herself. Most sane minded people would rather she died over there than have her and her child back here. So don't aim your silly nonsense at me.

Would you string up the child also? Just curious.
    It would save a lot of your tax money.

Would you string up the child also? Just curious.
    It would save a lot of your tax money.

You sound as though you are getting a little hysterical here. Do you believe her fathers statement that she went to Syria believing that ISIS was the Syrian equivalent of American Quakers? The child was born in Tunisia to a British father and an Irish mother, both of whom rejected their countries when they set off on a killing spree in Syria torturing murdering raping and enslaving men women and children. Frankly I don't care whether her child lives or dies. I'd prefer she didn't come here because she will be raised to be as fanatical as her parents. I'm not a hypocrite so I'm not going to pretend to care about her or her child.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,919 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

What we think these days Cleo dressed like is really movie fiction.

More than likely.

The famous headdress we're all familiar with was possibly a real item of clothing worn at ceremonies. There's writing from Julius Caesar talking about such things.

However, how the public think she looked in real life is probably more down to 20th Century Fox production designers than anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Crikey, posts on Boards = ISIS/terrorist supporter? Nobody here supports ISIS/terrorism ffs.

I'm not sure that that is an unpopular opinion.

You sound as though you are getting a little hysterical here. Do you believe her fathers statement that she went to Syria believing that ISIS was the Syrian equivalent of American Quakers? The child was born in Tunisia to a British father and an Irish mother, both of whom rejected their countries when they set off on a killing spree in Syria torturing murdering raping and enslaving men women and children. Frankly I don't care whether her child lives or dies. I'd prefer she didn't come here because she will be raised to be as fanatical as her parents. I'm not a hypocrite so I'm not going to pretend to care about her or her child.

I'm not hysterical and I'm not the one going off on a big long single paragraph rant.

Terrorist sympathiser, hmm, where'd I say that?

Raconteuse wrote: »
    I'm not sure that that is an unpopular opinion.

Depends on where you are. It's becoming more common on American campuses although its a highly selective type of behavior considering they're unwilling to consider their own appearance. I've encountered it here in Asia a few times mostly from American students although I've also seen it from Asians complaining about foreigners wearing Chinese traditional clothes.

The root of it is the hypocrisy since the person complaining is usually wearing clothes themselves from a different culture, or claiming a common heritage with a culture they weren't born into (except that they're distantly racially connected). They can't seem to see the irony.

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Mules

Depends on where you are. It's becoming more common on American campuses although its a highly selective type of behavior considering they're unwilling to consider their own appearance. I've encountered it here in Asia a few times mostly from American students although I've also seen it from Asians complaining about foreigners wearing Chinese traditional clothes.

The root of it is the hypocrisy since the person complaining is usually wearing clothes themselves from a different culture, or claiming a common heritage with a culture they weren't born into (except that they're distantly racially connected). They can't seem to see the irony.

The problem is that all that American **** like cultural appropriation travels around the rest of the world because American culture is so dominant. I'm sure the average American has no time for it either but they aren't the ones writing newspaper columns and teaching sociology classes.

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Mules

The problem is that all that American **** like cultural appropriation travels around the rest of the world because American culture is so dominant. I'm sure the average American has no time for it either but they aren't the ones writing newspaper columns and teaching sociology classes.

A lot of the pc stuff is condescending too. I've an acquaintance, (not Irish) she's very pc and woke, anyway she announced that it was very backward to think ethnic minorities should be treated equally. She said they should be treated accordingly to their ability to achieve equity. It sounded like she was writing off whole groups of people as being unable to achieve in life without being given a helping hand. Apparently that's the current pc thinking; it sounds very condescending to me but apparently I'm backward :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Mules wrote: »
    I've an acquaintance, (not Irish) she's very pc and woke, anyway she announced that it was very backward to think ethnic minorities should be treated equally. She said they should be treated accordingly to their ability to achieve equity:

I'm not sure if i'm reading this right but is this the self same equality of outcome bullshít, much beloved of certain feminists for example?

As in it's not enough to just afford the same opportunities to everyone, you need to actively rig the game so that sub section "x" will win at least as often as subsection "y"? Completely ignoring that maybe subsection "Y" have been succeeding more at the given topic because they just happen to be better at it.

It's fúcking daft beyond belief!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

I don’t find space that interesting. It’s interesting to view life from the perspective that we’re a ‘pale blue dot’ but whenever I read anything about space(Cosmos, opening chapters of Short History of Everything) I find it so boring. I don’t know why.

Like a few pictures and maybe a documentary or two and that’s enough for me. I don’t find it endlessly fascinating

I don’t find space that interesting. It’s interesting to view life from the perspective that we’re a ‘pale blue dot’ but whenever I read anything about space(Cosmos, opening chapters of Short History of Everything) I find it so boring. I don’t know why.

Like a few pictures and maybe a documentary or two and that’s enough for me. I don’t find it endlessly fascinating

I go through phases of being interested. It's a bit mad to consider what's going on out there.. Neutron stars being a big favourite.

But life's here for all we know it. We'll never reach the stars.

I've never really been interested in space. I'd love to see a lot more exploration of the seas tbh. I don't think we have any idea just what is really under there.

Michael D Higgins comes across as extremely effeminate.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Fracture

I never liked Gay Byrne, yeh it's sh1t that he's passed on and all that but I couldn't give a sh1te.