Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unpopular Opinions - OP Updated with Threadban List 4/5/21

• Registered Users Posts: 13,965 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Tzardine wrote: »
    I got a free ticket to one of his gigs when White Ladder was out.

I still felt ripped off. Was fuming that I spent a tenner for parking.

Pure Sh1te.

He was one of those weird anomalies that are only really popular in Ireland and not so much elsewhere. Like the Fun Lovin' Criminals, they just wouldn't f*ck off for ages.

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭trixi001

Tomato Ketchup is horrible on burgers

A car is for driving from a to b - as long as it does this and is reasonably comfortable i don't care about the make, model, fancy sound system,spoilers, or extras it has

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

trixi001 wrote: »
    A car is for driving from a to b - as long as it does this and is reasonably comfortable i don't care about the make, model, fancy sound system,spoilers, or extras it has

follow on unpopular opinion, people who say this have never owned a nice car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

Or they simply don't see the value in owning an unnecessarily expensive car when it is simply a tool, as opposed to a toy. Anyway, most modern cars are 'nice' nowadays, even the budget brands.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,428 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Louis Theroux documentaries don't interest me!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭FileNotFound

.anon. wrote: »
    Or they simply don't see the value in owning an unnecessarily expensive car when it is simply a tool, as opposed to a toy. Anyway, most modern cars are 'nice' nowadays, even the budget brands.

I'd love a ferrari but modified a supra to be as quick as one instead.

Had some fun, saved a fortune and learned a bit along the way.

Would still buy a ferarri if i had the cash to waste (come on lottery)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Tzardine

You could make the same argument about food. Why bother eating nice quality food. You could have porridge 5 times a day for the rest of your life and you would be grand.

If you just eat porridge you'd be in a very bad way so that is a piss poor point you're making :D:D:D

I said you could eat it until the rest of your life. I never said how long that might be.

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭trixi001

Strangely - I actually have a reasonably nice car, (Skoda Octavia) that i absolutely love, but my criteria for buying it was what is the best value reliable comfortable hatchback with still a good boot space and comfortably fits 5 people, car I could get..i don't seeing ever needing or wanting a better car, just because it has a better badge or because i want a top of the range model etc
    (PS i had a polo for 10 years before it, but then my commute got longer, and the polo just wasn't comfortable enough (plus the dodgy country road and a little too much speed for them probably!) meant the suspension needed fixed nearly every year)

I said you could eat it until the rest of your life. I never said how long that might be.

You have me there.... good response

But then that does give a reason for eating good food.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Butlins are right to have a list of "undesirables" based on surnames.

And we can't be offended when you can bet your bottom dollar that most decent hotels in Ireland more than likely have something similar, particularly when it comes to booking weddings or other occasions. And I am saying it as someone with relations that have a surname very common in the Traveller community.

It's not discrimination, it's a business protecting itself from trouble.

It is most definately discrimination, which is coincidentally a travellers favourite word.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Feisar

Gender quotas are undemocratic in politics.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Most cars favoured here are bloated boring Noddy cars.

• Registered Users Posts: 285 ✭✭jelem

Louis Theroux documentaries don't interest me!
    limited mental capacity and refuse to - as a human learn and progress.
    hence FF and FG allowed to continue since 1920s -
    amazing how children are not still forced up chimneys as apathy such as yours
    would have no change.
    not forcing someone to watch but mix and variety = learning and widen perspective
    on all, from culture\politics\life and humans.

Most cars favoured here are bloated boring Noddy cars.

They don't need to be 'interesting' - they just need to do the job they were designed to do with as little hassle as possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Not really, its easy to eat food for pleasure as theirs endless variety. Having am amazing car is a bit wasted in Ireland when your stuck in traffic most of the time not getting the chance to enjoy driving

• Registered Users Posts: 12,861 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

trixi001 wrote: »
    Tomato Ketchup is horrible on burgers

Totally disagree on the first but completely agree on the second.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

jelem wrote: »
    limited mental capacity and refuse to - as a human learn and progress.
    hence FF and FG allowed to continue since 1920s -
    amazing how children are not still forced up chimneys as apathy such as yours
    would have no change.
    not forcing someone to watch but mix and variety = learning and widen perspective
    on all, from culture\politics\life and humans.

I don't think it means the poster is apathetic, just that they don't like Louis Theroux. I don't like his programmes either, he just goes for the extremes all the times to up the viewing numbers. Plenty of people have substantial, in-depth views of the world that they didn't get from watching this rubbish.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

They don't need to be 'interesting' - they just need to do the job they were designed to do with as little hassle as possible.

The box you live in must look delightful.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭lalababa

Yeah I'm still leading with this approach. I don't know anything about being some other race, so I've decided to ignore it and carry on. I don't see any other logical way to deal with it. It's not a bloody disability and noone wants to be treated differently anyway. There is racism all over the world, it is not even a predominantly white crime, the japanese for example can be extremely racist, aswell as african americans themselves, basically it's everywhere, it's a universal human vice. I am desperate to find smart funny and interesting people, I really don't care about the aesthetics of their life, that includes race.

As morgan freeman said 'if we stop talking bout it , it'll disappear.'

• Registered Users Posts: 363 ✭✭Tig98

The box you live in must look delightful.

Some people like flashy cars and keeping up with the Joneses, other people just want to get around. Just because people dont care about that doesnt make the stingy or bland. Im not up with cars and never have been, I prefer to put the money where I'll enjoy it

Id go as far as to say you dont even drive. A well designed and engineered car is like a piece of fine art , brilliant handling cars are great to drive.

‘A car is just a tool’ is a statement that proves that you've never truly experienced driving a high end car.

There is no ‘nice’ cars in the kia/hyundai/dacia/renault/nissan lineups , they are built to a budget with no soul or excitement and nothing more.

Tig98 wrote: »
    Some people like flashy cars and keeping up with the Joneses, other people just want to get around. Just because people dont care about that doesnt make the stingy or bland. Im not up with cars and never have been, I prefer to put the money where I'll enjoy it

Most people who buy nice cars like them for quality and oerformance, keeping up with the jonses is usually more about getting a new renault / dacia econobox on pcp every 3 years.

Id go as far as to say you dont even drive. A well designed and engineered car is like a piece of fine art , brilliant handling cars are great to drive.

‘A car is just a tool’ is a statement that proves that you've never truly experienced driving a high end car.

There is no ‘nice’ cars in the kia/hyundai/dacia/renault/nissan lineups , they are built to a budget with no soul or excitement and nothing more.

I'd go as far as to say you drive a Rover 800.

u2F7KS0hh7fI.gif

"Yeah, can I just read you something from Top Gear magazine? No, it’s alright, I've got it here... I've got it here. “With a mere 90 brake-horse-power available, progress is too leisurely to be called fast, but on the motorway in 5th gear the Megane's slow pace really becomes a pain. Uphill runs become power-sappingly mundane, while overtaking National Express coaches can become a long, drawn-out affair.” Not my words, Carol. The words of Top Gear magazine.
    Hello?"

From Series 1 of I'm Alan Partridge. An impeccably researched parody of the tiresome snobbery of car bores and the type of people who think one lump of metal can have more 'soul' than another.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,355 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Pure comedy gold.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,006 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

I once owned a Fiat 130 Coupe. That had soul, whether you want to believe it or not. Sophia Loren owned one and Enzo Ferrari himself drove one at least once, on account of it having an automatic transmisssion and him not being able to handle a manual due to age.

I currently drive a Civic Type R, becaus I like the performance and incredible reliability.

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭The_Dark_Lord

Louis le Brocquy was a mediocre painter.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,437 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I'd go as far as to say you drive a Rover 800.

u2F7KS0hh7fI.gif

"Yeah, can I just read you something from Top Gear magazine? No, it’s alright, I've got it here... I've got it here. “With a mere 90 brake-horse-power available, progress is too leisurely to be called fast, but on the motorway in 5th gear the Megane's slow pace really becomes a pain. Uphill runs become power-sappingly mundane, while overtaking National Express coaches can become a long, drawn-out affair.” Not my words, Carol. The words of Top Gear magazine.
    Hello?"

From Series 1 of I'm Alan Partridge. An impeccably researched parody of the tiresome snobbery of car bores and the type of people who think one lump of metal can have more 'soul' than another.

Cars for some men is the equivalent of how some women get over shoes/dresses.

Personally I think a car is more a functional apparatus to get around in. I can understand how some people like to spend big on cars though. A status symbol etc.

But if you are driving in rush hour traffic in a Merc v Nissan Micra there is not much difference if you are just doing 30km an hour. Plus the Micra has far less chance of being robbed. Wouldn't have to worry too much about parking it.

As for the women's dresses. They get fierce excited about wedding dresses (most of them). I don't get that fuss at all. Cos sure aren't ya going to be taking it off fairly quick at the end of the night anyway? Not the most practical of yokes. Seems to be more an emotional attachment thing. Like the way some fellas are with cars.

As for those women who get those shoes that look nice but are very uncomfortable. I suppose the man car equivalent would be to buy a sports car that is gas guzzler. Very low to the ground and with damn all space in the driver's seat very uncomfortable. And stuck in traffic.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.