Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Greta and the aristocrat sail the high seas to save the planet.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭ToBeFrank123

baaba maal wrote: »
    Ah come on- did she get the boat made specially for the journey? No, this 17 year old got a lift on an already-manufactured boat.

And yes, if she had flown what would the Clarksons of the world have said about that? Are you suggesting you should sit at home for the rest of her life doing nothing so she maintains a zero carbon balance? She is probably more aware of her carbon footprint than you are and this was a way of hertrying to reduce it.

This ridiculous obsession in looking for the hypocrisy that is apparently inherent in all the environmental types is really just a deflection- the science (as she and others keep saying) on climate change is the important bit. Looking for human flaws in humans is self-defeating, we are all flawed and we are all complicit in climate change.

If you want to start talking about hypocrisy on a meaningful scale, let's start talking about the hypocrisy of the billionaires at the top of our globalised capitalist system visibly supporting charitable causes while knowingly colluding in destroying large parts of the planet's ecosystems.

No seriously. Carbon fibre is horrendously costly to produce, damaging to the environment and virtually impossible to recycle. And if you don't believe me:

https://www.theguardian.com/sustainable-business/2017/mar/22/carbon-fibre-wonder-material-dirty-secret

So much for leading by example.

All these prominant wealthy environmentalists such as Thunberg, Prince Charles and Prince Harry are exactly the same. They demand everyone else makes sacrifices, just don't ask them to make some themselves. Mostly grade A hypocrits.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭dirtyden

lleti wrote: »
    It's amazing the Saint Greta worshippers keep going on "she's just saying listen to scientists."

Why does a kid saying listen to scientists make you listen to scientists? What does that say about the world?

She has highlighted climate change across the world and kept it front and center in the media. Climate change and general respect for the environment does not get highlighted enough in particular in the US.

She is an amazing young lady and I really don’t get the criticism and vitriol towards her. She is incredibly determined, intelligent and forthright and she is just in her mid teens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Is there no end to the hell she has to endure in her stolen childhood??

Got it in a nutshell.

She's a fake like other high profile individuals who travel the world in Business Class or private jets and lecture those in economy class that they need to sacrifice more.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,522 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

gozunda wrote: »
    ^^^ preaching to sheep by the looks of it. Must be trying out a new speech :pac:
    Bet she only wants the white sheep to change their ways
    Got it in a nutshell.

She's a fake like other high profile individuals who travel the world in Business Class or private jets and lecture those in economy class that they need to sacrifice more.

Haters gonna hate. There's a distinct absence of anything else in these posts mind, well apart from a misunderstanding of what is going on, but I take that as a given at this stage.

No seriously. Carbon fibre is horrendously costly to produce, damaging to the environment and virtually impossible to recycle. And if you don't believe me:

https://www.theguardian.com/sustainable-business/2017/mar/22/carbon-fibre-wonder-material-dirty-secret

So much for leading by example.

All these prominant wealthy environmentalists such as Thunberg, Prince Charles and Prince Harry are exactly the same. They demand everyone else makes sacrifices, just don't ask them to make some themselves. Mostly grade A hypocrits.

A - The boat wasn't produced just for her trip
    B - Do you think an airplane just appears out of thin air?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Haters gonna hate. There's a distinct absence of anything else in these posts mind, well apart from a misunderstanding of what is going on, but I take that as a given at this stage.

You are obsessed lol. You perceive that as ''hate'???if you didnt see it - this was pointed out earlier in the thread...
    ... Its called a bit of humour Ted. Just in case you missed the OPs opening salvo about gretas voyage to the New World. Here is what one of the admins said about this thread when someone else didn't get it
    Mr E wrote:
    In a thread that started with lots of tongue-in-cheek remarks, it's another tongue-in-cheek remark. ....

I can see how that might be difficult to understand where it doesn't fit in with an unadulterated worship of a teenager throwing a strop at the UN and instead blaming the adults in the room...

But hey perhaps we can take that as a given at this stage?

https://www.nationalreview.com/2019/09/greta-thunberg-climate-activist-united-nations/

• Registered Users Posts: 81,996 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

492056.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

There's nothing wrong with being upset by a child if they're taking over the entire adult discussion and weakening the environmental debate in the process. Like older people aren't allowed to get upset with children taking power and influence? How does that make any sense?

If she wants to be treated like an adult then she has to come in for some adult criticism. And the adult criticism is that she has no relevant qualifications, experience, discernible talents or anything else that should cause people to listen to her. So she's a terrible leader of the environmental movement worldwide.

That's my objective assessment of her as it would be for anyone else. Stop the crazy talk.

There's nothing wrong with being upset by a child if they're taking over the entire adult discussion and weakening the environmental debate in the process. Like older people aren't allowed to get upset with children taking power and influence? How does that make any sense?

If she wants to be treated like an adult then she has to come in for some adult criticism. And the adult criticism is that she has no relevant qualifications, experience, discernible talents or anything else that should cause people to listen to her. So she's a terrible leader of the environmental movement worldwide.

That's my objective assessment of her as it would be for anyone else. Stop the crazy talk.

This sentence is both ridiculous and funny in that it acknowledges that adults are indeed upset at a child, it suggests that it is an adult discussion, like children shouldn't have an opinion on it and finally, that it weakens the environmental debate which is based solely on the preceeding point.

That's probably worthy of some sort of a prize in creative writing.

gozunda wrote: »
    You are obsessed lol. That's 'hate'???
    Just in case you missed - this was pointed out earlier in the thread...

I can see how that might be difficult to understand where it doesn't fit in with an unadulterated worship of a teenager throwing a strop at the UN and instead blaming the adults in the room...

But hey perhaps we can take that as a given at this stage?

https://www.nationalreview.com/2019/09/greta-thunberg-climate-activist-united-nations/

Wrong. As always. In a world of change, your consistency gives me some solace of comfort.

As for using a National Review document to support your argument, why not go the whole hog and use a tweet from Trump.

Overheal wrote: »
    492056.jpeg

Same type of people who burned their Nike jerseys to protest the Kaepernick ad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Same type of people who burned their Nike jerseys to protest the Kaepernick ad.

Is there any evidence of the truck owner “yelling snowflake”??

Wrong. As always. In a world of change, your consistency gives me some solace of comfort.As for using a National Review document to support your argument, why not go the whole hog and use a tweet from Trump.

Nope and I can cast much the same type of sentiment - truly and utterly incorrect as per usual...;)

Not only me saying that about the tone of the thread btw - see the quote for verification of that.

And if its news to you - the US which we are discusing in the context of gretas voyage, is strongly divided on democratic and republican lines. With greta being feted and worshiped by the Democrats for obvious political reasons - its left to the remaining Republican voices to present the only alternative opinion. Whether or not anyone likes 'Trump ' thats simply how it is there.

But yeah on the humourous note - Trumps tweet on greta was quite hilarious with the left getting voraciously offended over the US president not getting offended and him telling her she looked happy despite gretas ott tantrum. :D Trust me when dealing with a stroppy teenager throwing a tantrum - he couldnt have done anything better :D

Is there any evidence of the truck owner “yelling snowflake”??

No evidently not - looking at the image theres a good chance its photoshopped to make the point just how those nasty adults are well just nasty... :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 271 ✭✭lleti

It's a sad state for humanity to be in when it needs kids to emotionally manipulate people into believing scientists.

You could have Stephen Hawking come back from the dead and say the same thing as Greta and no one would listen, yet a little "angle" in Greta says something and everyone bends the knee.

You see a load of copycats on irish media now, trying to be the irish Greta, going around acting like they're in their 30's. They see the following and the massaging of the ego Greta gets and they want a piece of it.

Humans are selfish, they just want to feel good about themselves even the likes of Greta who probably thinks she's saving the world by going across the atlantic on a carbon fibre boat.

The only thing I'm worried about is the sneaky politicians who are in favour of these protests and will just use it to increase taxes. These protests themselves will eventually die out and no one will care so it's just a matter of waiting right now.

It's plain as day from the protests the kids don't have an individual thought in their heads, copying slogans from other protests, parroting "the tipping point is 12 years time". Kids are gullible and easily influenced. You just have to look at religion to prove that.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

lleti wrote: »
    . . .
    It's plain as day from the protests the kids don't have an individual thought in their heads, copying slogans from other protests, parroting "the tipping point is 12 years time". Kids are gullible and easily influenced. You just have to look at religion to prove that.

If you dig in the press headlines over the past 3 decades you will find these deadlines repeated every 10 years or so, its so predictable (unlike the climate) that it is being satirised.

Experts Warn We Have Only 12 Years Left Until They Change The Timeline On Global Warming Again
    The scientific consensus is that roughly 10-12 years from now, the world will be flooded with new doomsday predictions. This can all be avoided if we overhaul the economy and become socialists, according to non-political, unbiased sciencey type guys.

source

Then from the dark green end of the environ-activist spectrum . . . They repeat the malthusian club of Rome only they now have more power and they are using a young adult girl, the daughter of an actor to push their ultimate goal of implementing a dictatorship to make their death wish come true.

Farewell to economic growth - but how?
    WDR: How could a global economy work without growth?[/URL]

Ueckerseifer: For example in the form of a controlled market economy. Put simply, a bit like China, but ecologically. It would have very strong specifications, one would set very strong limits, one should produce no more pollution. But then there will be no more goods. The more stringent the environmental regulation, the more limited the economic growth. This requires a high willingness to renounce the population.

source

Greens leader Annalena Baerbock sees regulatory measures as a central element for better climate protection. "Yes, for me the right to regulate, one can also call it ban, the central element, because it is also the most socially just. This is also the instrument in environmental policy, which has always helped us," she said on Deutschlandfunk.

source

You think the one child policy is a joke? Here is the state media from the UK pushing this policy and you will find the Irish media following with their usual copycat article with Irish names added for local colour.

In the age of climate crisis, childbearing has become a fraught question for couples around the globe.
    Both sets of their parents have been warned not to expect grandchildren. “We’ve come to this decision on a personal basis,” says Morgan, 30, who shares Bickner’s views on birth. “I wanted to mitigate my own carbon footprint and my own impact as much as I could.”

“It makes me happy knowing that maybe I can do something to help people like my friends and my neighbours in Malawi,” Bickner adds.

She and Morgan are part of an emerging generational movement linking climate change to its impact on personal reproductive choices. As people factor climate concerns into future plans, the decision to have a family is becoming increasingly fraught for some: with the way things are going on Earth, how many children is it responsible to have? Should you even have kids at all?

source

Then there is the greenback (dollars) part of the spectrum that is behind the promotion of Greta Thunberg, these guys are about rent seeking and have no problem using the state to mandate subsidies to them.

Green capitalism is using Greta Thunberg
    Greta Thunberg’s story begins on August 20, 2018. Ingmar Rentzhog, co-founder of the start-up We Don’t Have Time, bumps into Greta in front of the Swedish Parliament and publishes a moving post on his Facebook page. We are on the first day of a strike started by Greta. August 24 sees the release of an autobiography on the Thunberg’s family crisis and the climate crisis. Scener ur hjärtat (Scenes from the Heart) is co-authored by Greta’s mother Malena Ernman, her father Svante Thunberg, her sister Beata, and Greta. Her artist parents — an opera singer and an actor — are very well known in Sweden; Greta, not yet.

In fact, Ingmar Rentzhog and Greta’s family already know each other, having taken part in a climate conference on May 4, 2018. The encounter between Ingmar and Greta on the pavement in front of the Parliament in Stockholm was hardly by chance then.

Everything was carefully planned to transform the young Swede into an international heroine, right from the time the first article appeared in the most read paper of the country, Aftonbladet — only a few hours after Rentzhog’s Facebook post.

source

There is nothing spontaneous about Greta Thunberg, the entire campaign is orchestrated, she is an actors daughter who reads from a script and she has nothing to say when asked questions that fall outside her briefing in fact that terrorises her and she says nothing.

You will see Luisa Neubauer pop up at 2 minutes 32 seconds. The person on the end is Victoria Hurth and Tradable Energy Quotas is her thing.

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Is there a way to object to the misrepresentation of whats occuring that greta spews, the way she spews it and how much airtime she gets on television news to spew it and how many people defend it ....without somebody saying youre attacking a child

Genuine question.

A - The boat wasn't produced just for her trip
    B - Do you think an airplane just appears out of thin air?

And the airplane isn't produced just for a flight, although the airplane is used far more often and is far more efficient.

Carbon fibre boats are a huge luxury which only the wealthy can afford.

She made a huge deal of travelling to the US in a "green" way, when it was anything but.

Video conference would be the greenest way of all. But, as she is still a teenager, I will give her the benefit of the doubt.

As for that other environmental activist Prince Harry, he's had a couple of Range Rovers flown to South Africa after flying there by private jet.

Its very hard to take some of these people seriously as green activists when their own footprint is many multiples of the average person.

Is there a way to object to the misrepresentation of whats occuring that greta spews, the way she spews it and how much airtime she gets on television news to spew it and how many people defend it ....without somebody saying youre attacking a child

Genuine question.

Funny you post that after the state of the previous post. A wall of noise.

Also, the vast majority of pro-environment commentators on this thread don't say you cant challenge her because she's a child, they say you cant challenge her with nonsense.

Do you understand the difference?

Also, the vast majority of pro-environment commentators on this thread don't say you cant challenge her because she's a child, they say you cant challenge her with nonsense.

Look, she's angry at adults for doing nothing and "ruining her childhood", a childhood where she travels around on carbon fibre yachts, goes to the UN (a right denied to most) and travels around the US. She's not deprived, she doesn't know the meaning. When she says something like she's been deprived of her childhood, people rightly call bullsh*t.

Adults have been responsible for most of the good things and most of the bad things, we all get that.

The climate is warming we get that also.

She's just pointing out the obvious. Unless you were living in a cave, you'd know about global warming.

She's saying nothing new. And she's expending a hell of a lot of CO2 to say nothing new.

She's allowed criticise everyone, but no-one is allowed criticise her. It doesn't work that way.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Genuine question.

It is a little bit suspicious, the amount of promotion that "Green" initiatives are getting.

For example the Greens got 5% in the locals, but all your hear is Green Wave, the People are behind them etc - 19/20 people did not vote for this.

Also twice in the last week I have got notifications of a "trending topic" on another website, both to do with climate change, both of which had hardly any votes/likes etc, and both of which werent up long enough to be trending, when I have never ever looked up anything to do with climate change on that platform.....

Look, she's angry at adults for doing nothing and "ruining her childhood", a childhood where she travels around on carbon fibre yachts, goes to the UN (a right denied to most) and travels around the US. She's not deprived, she doesn't know the meaning. When she says something like she's been deprived of her childhood, people rightly call bullsh*t.

Adults have been responsible for most of the good things and most of the bad things, we all get that.

The climate is warming we get that also.

She's just pointing out the obvious. Unless you were living in a cave, you'd know about global warming.

She's saying nothing new. And she's expending a hell of a lot of CO2 to say nothing new.

She's allowed criticise everyone, but no-one is allowed criticise her. It doesn't work that way.

Funny how you quoted my post, but still missed the relevant piece.
    In bold this time to help you out.

It is a little bit suspicious, the amount of promotion that "Green" initiatives are getting.

For example the Greens got 5% in the locals, but all your hear is Green Wave, the People are behind them etc - 19/20 people did not vote for this.

Also twice in the last week I have got notifications of a "trending topic" on another forum, both to do with climate change, both of which had hardly any votes/likes etc, and both of which werent up long enough to be trending, when I have never ever looked up anything to do with climate change on that platform.....

Maybe the bots saw your username and figured it would be an area of interest.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

Well lads Lorenzo is coming, have you all got your bags of stones ready for throwing at the Fairies tomorrow night?.

Ye give them fairies a good hiding now and show the world that it's them and not human activity that are causing the storms.

Then on Friday when its over grab your pitchforks and head off chasing witches

Good on ya ya boyas ya! :pac:

Funny how you quoted my post, but still missed the relevant piece.
    In bold this time to help you out.

People are free to criticise her anyway they want.

We don't improve society by ruling out criticism of some people. That's exactly how we undermine and setback society.

Criticism is a healthy thing, and yes someone who cannot take minimal criticism is a snowflake.

Personally I'm sick to death of the high profile hypocrites who go around telling us to do more or sacrifice more, while they continue to live the high life, fly around the world on private jets and business class. I suppose we should be grateful Bono hasn't rowed into the climate warming debate to tell us all we should be cutting back emissions.

Just look at our own involvement in the debate. We sent the Taoiseach, President and tons of support staff and diplomats to NYC, to tell us all we need to cut back emissions. Laughable.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

Genuine question.

Yep get out there and protest!

It only takes one person to make a difference :) You can do it!

greta.png

People are free to criticise her anyway they want.

We don't improve society by ruling out criticism of some people. That's exactly how we undermine and setback society.

Criticism is a healthy thing, and yes someone who cannot take minimal criticism is a snowflake.

Personally I'm sick to death of the high profile hypocrites who go around telling us to do more or sacrifice more, while they continue to live the high life, fly around the world on private jets and business class. I suppose we should be grateful Bono hasn't rowed into the climate warming debate to tell us all we should be cutting back emissions.

Just look at our own involvement in the debate. We sent the Taoiseach, President and tons of support staff and diplomats to NYC, to tell us all we need to cut back emissions. Laughable.

You must have been crying out for someone who lives by example so.

Also, that's a weak argument in terms of politicians going to NY. Do you not see the need/value in participating in a collaborative discussion? Do you think that they can never again get on a plane because they said something needs to be done for the environment.

I think we need to curb the use of private motor vehicles as much as we can, where we can, does that I can never drive a car again?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Maybe the bots saw your username and figured it would be an area of interest.

Not my username on that site

You must have been crying out for someone who lives by example so.

Also, that's a weak argument in terms of politicians going to NY. Do you not see the need/value in participating in a collaborative discussion? Do you think that they can never again get on a plane because they said something needs to be done for the environment.

I think we need to curb the use of private motor vehicles as much as we can, where we can, does that I can never drive a car again?

Nope but I do think the likes of Prince Harry flying economy class all the time would send a strong message. The same with Varadkar.

Its tiresome to listen to jetsetters telling everyone else they need to do more. Really tiresome.