Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Dominance of Dublin GAA *Mod warning post#1*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭dunnerc

I wouldn't be splitting Dublin atall atall 😯

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭Billy_the_Kid
    Master

• If financial resources and playing numbers were a solid indicator of success then how come Cork and Dublin have not met in an All-Ireland hurling final for 71 years? In terms of teams registered in 2020 dividing Dublin in two just doesn't stack up. They actually have less registered teams than Cork. The discussion should not be framed around splitting Dublin up - distribution of resources is the primary issue.

image.png

financial resources

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

You continue to embarrass yourself and display your one-eyed, partisan nonsense for all to see.

It is as plain as day that you are, again, hiding behind the "its for the good of the game, won't someone think of the poor wee counties" crap that you've been spouting for weeks/months at this stage, when the reality is that you just want to hobble the Dubs to make it easier for 3 or 4 other counties to win.

Like being slapped in the face with a wet fish, it's that obvious.

......I mean, I can practically hear your erection getting bigger as you typed this....

It's with a heavy heart that I and many others want to Dublin to be split into 4+ teams

So let's spell it out for you, in language that even the most rural of plough-jockeys can understand.

You think Dublin has an advantage over Cork because of population and funding, therefore they need to be split. Dublin has more people and more money than Cork, therefore at least a 4-way split needs to take place, according to you, for the good of the game. What has been pointed out to you multiple times, however, is that this discrepancy exists between Cork and loads of other counties also, to a much higher degree.

You're saying the difference between Dublin and X is greater than Cork and X. This is true, but you're not comparing like with like. You're pointing at Dublin saying they're three times the population of Cork so a split needs to take place, while ignoring that Cork is 14 times the population of Leitrim. If Dublin need to be split in three so Cork are playing on a level ground, then Cork need to be split in 14 so that Leitrim has a level ground, using the same logic. This is bunleibhéal maths that even a blind person could see.

You're saying Dublin gets twice what [insert county here] gets in development funding, while ignoring the fact that that same county gets 4, 6 or 8 times the funding that Carlow gets.

You're literally contradicting yourself and negating your own points in the same sentence.

If a bigger population and more money = an unfair advantage, then it is equally as unfair when it's Cork vs Louth, or Galway vs Leitrim, or Kilkenny vs Carlow, as it is with Dublin vs Cork.

They are not uniquely advantaged in this regard, that's your own coping mechanism to deal with your contradictions

This will not help the minnows to progress and improve, you're only pretending it will to make it look like you've only the best interests of GAA/football at heart, as it makes you look less like a bloke with a chip on your shoulder. Very balanced folks, though, the culchies. Most have a chip on both shoulders.

"Leaving non-Dublin counties intact helps smaller counties as it enhances the integrity and prestige of the competition"......he says, while single-handedly advocating that the prestige and integrity of the competition will be completely compromised if he gets his way.

Dublin will not be split, not in two, four or any number you can think of. Alienating nearly a third of your fanbase, who are responsible for the majority of your gate receipts is a fool's errand. Don't believe me?.........why do the rest of Leinster not ask for Dublin's matches to be moved from Croker? They regularly meet to discuss the forthcoming championship and year after year, there's zero opposition to the arrangement continuing because facing Dublin in Croker is a huge payday for the other county boards. If they thought it was that much of an advantage, they'd kick up a stink. But they don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭gaffer91

So you accept that leaving Dublin as a single team doesn't help Leitrim. And yet I've provided evidence for why splitting Dublin helps Leitrim. We should be on the same side on this argument, you're halfway there already. Leitrim and Longford can compete with all the teams you have listed- Dublin are the only team unfairly advantaged so once they are split a fair competition is possible, which helps all counties.

Why look at clubs and not registered players? You're deliberately trying to mislead people there. Fortunately, I can see through it. Dublin have the most registered players and by far the largest population pool, at a scale that is unfair to everyone else, unlike more minor discrepancies between other counties which are negligible compared to Dublin. Plus as Dublin's playing pool is so much larger than everyone else, it means the likelihood of having a larger absolute number of top-quality players who can be identified and nurtured at a young age is correspondingly larger. This helps retain these players to enhance the game in Dublin in a way that is not possible anywhere else. As it happens, this is good for the game as a whole too, provided Dublin are split. But this is essentially the way the population/funding/home advantage model that Dublin have used to win All-Ireland's has worked- a larger population provides a higher number of top-quality players. The funding advantage helps develop these players to their max potential. Playing at home helps Dublin win tight games they would lose if playing elsewhere.

You're just looking at the outputs though (matches won, All-Ireland finals reached etc.). What's more important is the inputs into team performance though. In Dublin's case these inputs an enormous population, funding etc. So even if they don't win every year they are still unfairly advantaged. Just as if a rugby team took steroids but didn't win every year, they are also unfairly advantaged.

I agree distribution of resources is an issue, that's why I'm in favour of equalising it across counties. But one of the best ways of distributing resources more fairly would be to do so across 4+ subdivisional county teams, rather than just concentrating the resources into a single one.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

I dont accept anything you say , you have provided no evidence that splitting Dublin helps Leitrim , i said splitting Dublin or not makes no difference to Leitrim Longford etc as these weaker Counties cant compete with Cork Kerry Galway Mayo etc , please try harder , we will never be on the same side , stop dreaming lol....

Again Dublin are not the only team unfairly advantaged , what is it so hard for you to understand you poor individual , Dublin wont be split but keep going with your nonsense tis great crack so it is

Oh again you never answered why don't you reveal which County you are from ?

Not partisan, I just want what is best for gaelic games in all counties- including Dublin. If a Dublin sub-divisional side won fairly every year, I'd be delighted for them. But we all know that is not the case for Dublin currently.

Your tired, stale points have been dealt with by me and others many times already but I'll humour you for now and answer them again. In absolute terms, which is the most important, no county is anywhere near as populated as Dublin, as well funded as Dublin etc. The gap between Dublin and Cork, also a massive statistical outlier, is larger in absolute terms than Cork and Leitrim. Any of these advantages alone would be grounds for a split, but combine the scale of Dublin's advantages with the fact they have been going on for decades and that they are unique in their combination, means a split is the best way forward. Minor discrepancies can be tolerated but not ones as large as Dublin's. As I've said before, it's the combination, nature, scale and duration of Dublin's advantages that mean they need to be split, not just any one of those things individually (population alone is grounds for a two-way split given how much larger they are, but the other ones means a larger split is desirable).

So I haven't contradicted myself anywhere and the discrepancy between e.g. Cork and other counties is not anywhere near the scale of the gap between Dublin and other counties, on any of these criteria- hence why Dublin, and Dublin alone, should be split. As the competition becomes fairer, the prestige and integrity are improved. So any county taking part in the competition benefits, which means all counties benefit.

What you're also ignoring is that as Colm O'Rourke has previously said, a split of Dublin actually helps Dublin more than any other county- more players challenging for the All-Ireland, as well as intra-Dublin rivalries developing. People may complain at the beginning but they'd rapidly row in behind their new subdivisional teams. And playing at home is absolutely an advantage for Dublin, as it is for all sports teams- make no mistake, if Dublin weren't unfairly home advantaged for all those All-Irelands from 2013-2020, they'd have lost at least one of them. No matter what some other county boards may think. Home advantage is an advantage in sport.

Basically, it's clear that Dublin alone are unfairly advantaged, so Dublin alone should be split. All counties, including Dublin would benefit from this.

Again more anti Dublin nonsense , all the top counties have plenty of funding and want for nothing , still whinging about home matches Croke Park is in Dublin , ALL Ireland semi and finals are played in Croke Park that's GAA Policy , you dont like it , do something about it , whinging on here will not help your agenda .

Again more lnonsense , you want what's best for your County . Colm O'Rourke WOW your scraping the end of the barrel now lol... Are you a Meath man ? 😁

Keep it going lad , sure tis great crack so it is

Fortunately, we can see through you , but I'll humour you for now and continue to answer your nonsense, so please carry on , tis great crack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

"I'm not partisan, I'm just going to ignore all the holes in my argument, the rank hypocrisy I'm spouting and the contradictory nature of every turd that comes out of my mouth and single out one single county for my bollocksology, all while refusing to say which county I'm from/support".

As the username says, yeah, right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭MrRigsby

Let’s split Ireland’s rugby team into 4 provinces so Italy’s team of no hopers can win a 6 (or is it 9 ) nations while we’re at it . God forbid other counties could just try to match Dublins level. No it’s much easier to whine and make excuses . Mayo were given a tonne of money a while back by an America based millionaire benefactor and what difference did it make ? Nothing. As far as I remember he ended up looking for a refund

Well Ireland aren't uniquely unfairly advantaged relative to every other team in the Six Nations. This is not the case for Dublin in the All-Ireland- they are uniquely advantaged in terms of population, funding, playing at home etc.- It's not just about successes, it's about the unfair inputs that Dublin achieve those successes. If they won fairly, or a Dublin divisional team won fairly, I wouldn't mind. Sadly, that is not the case with the current Dublin team. Even if Dublin don't win every year, they are still unfairly advantaged.

There's nothing partisan about wanting what is best for all counties, including Dublin. Partisanship would be if I just wanted what I perceived what is best for my own team, and to hell with everyone this. This is the position of many Dublin supporters, although I think a lot of Dublin supporters who GAA men first, and Dublin supporters second, agree they are unfairly advantaged and would favour a split. So there is no contradictions or hypocrisy- as Dublin are the only county uniquely unfairly advantaged in terms of population, funding etc., I focus on them. And as they are the only county uniquely unfairly advantaged, they are the only county who should be split.

• Therefore England and France need to be split up? They do have massive financial and population advantages afterall.

Again Dublin Cork Kerry Galway Down Derry Antrim etc are unfairly advantaged in terms of population and funding compared to Leitrim Longford Carlow etc , sadly your blinded to this , gladly your 10+ years of whinging on this site is going nowhere ,but please continue tis great crack

Again what a load of nonsense , in nearly 50 years supporting Dublin Gaa , i have never met 0ne supporter who would support a split

Again a Dublin split will only help a handful of Counties " which no doubt your County is one of " so yea its all about helping your own County

Which you refuse to reveal , all these years whinging and still no split for Dublin 😁 but please continue on tis great crack

27-12-2014 11:56am#1

gaffer91

Registered Users

✭✭✭

Bit early yes, but always interesting to have a look back on these threads at the end of the season.

I'd personally back Dublin for both. Despite Kerry's victory I would view them as a good team but not a great one, and I don't see them going on to dominate as they did in the 2000s. I think Donegal and Mayo will find it tough to be as competitive after losing McGuinness and Horan and I also simply don't think they're as good a team, and have as good players, as Dublin.

"""""I don't see Dublin losing to anyone in the manner they lost to Donegal in 2014. Throw in their massive unfair population and funding advantage they have over the rest of the country, as well as the advantage they get from playing in Croke Park,""""""""" and it's tough to see past them.

12 years on and this lad still posting the exact same nonsense , oh the bitterness you can just taste it .🤣😂

I rarely watch rugby tbh. Do England and France have massive financial advantages? But I can answer your question by saying that from my fairly basic knowledge, France or England don't enjoy the unique combination, nature, scale and duration of unfair advantages that Dublin have enjoyed and continue to enjoy (for instance, France and England don't play their important games at home, all world cup finals and semi-finals and so on). As I've said before, it's not just one unfair advantage by itself that is so harmful to the GAA, it's the fact they all exist together, are in such critical areas, are so sizeable both in absolute terms and compared to other counties, have persisted for decades etc. So I definitely agree with splitting Dublin but I can't really comment on rugby teams.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

Again Croke park is in Dublin , as i have said before .That's were important GAA matches are held , no point in whinging here for 12+ years

Who are you agreeing with Colm o'rourke ? lol.... and once again splitting Dublin would only help a handful of Counties your own included no doubt

Wait you still havn't said who your own County is , please do .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,112 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Just saw the headline on RTE News channel Micko giving his pronouncement on Gaelic Football. Kerry and Dublin dominating and the rest behind.

--

"For all that however, "the game of football is not far from being perfect at the moment from a technical level".

Yet the main issue highlighted was around the overall competitive landscape, or more to the point, the lack of one.

It had been six years since a team outside of Kerry or Dublin lifted Sam, with three of the previous four finals featuring those two sides."

--

But I would argue that view is very myopic. It has been shown in the league that the standard of football has been lifted overall. Plus Tyrone have a great side but downed tools after the one Sam win, plus Mayo again have proven that they have a good side but don't have it between the ears. Galway seemed to implode - both Comer and Walsh did not perform when it mattered.

I believe last season was one that other counties feel like they let it slip, it was one of the most open championships for a long time. Dublin limped along and only changed when Farrell changed starting personnel drastically.

If I was from Galway and Mayo in particular I would have major regrets about the season.

Edit - regrets not rejects. Maybe I was thinking of rejects!

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Dublin’s home is Parnell Park . Croke Park isn’t a home advantage. Most of the population play other sports unlike other counties where it’s GAA or nothing . Funding doesn’t make winners . Meath for example have a fabulous training facility near Navan and their team are useless. They had nothing close to it when they were winning All Irelands

Be honest . It’s about bitter culchies who can’t bear to see Dublin winning. I haven’t heard anyone wanting to split Limerick for “what is best for the GAA” . Dublin will never be split because our fans wouldn’t tolerate it for a second and we bring in the most money to the GAA in sponsorship , gate receipts , merchandising etc . He who pays the piper calls the tune

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,343 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

Any Dubs have any details on your team that played Cavan recently in a challenge? Apparently ye had a strong enough team out with 6/7 regular starters - according to someone on the Cavan thread anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,805 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

If you look through the perspective of decades of being the only county to receive special treatment then calls for a little bit of equality would seem like an anti Dublin bias alright

"Funding doesn't make winners" - it surely doesn't, but it does, for example, put full time professional coaches in almost every club in the county. They would go a long way to creating winners 🏆

Nothing stopping other counties upping their coaching standards. Plenty of money around. Dublin are reaping the benefits of smart decisions made by smart people years ago after some very lean years . Mayo got a huge injection of cash from a USA based benefactor and did nothing with it . Every county getting a million off JP McManus , that buys a lot of coaching but many will squander it . It’s not like you can go out and buy players like Premiership football . The current crop of Dublin and Kerry players are just better than everyone else . Take Mayo as for comparison . No amount of coaching will stop for example Cillian O Connor missing final winning frees or Vaughan punching someone in front of the ref and getting sent off handing Dublin an advantage. I still struggle to see why they always play Aidan O Shea who contributes nothing . I’m sure a time will come when Dublin have a poor squad . All these things are cyclical. Meath had a great team when the likes of Giles and Dowd were playing for them . Now they have a poor squad despite having much better facilities and nutrition etc .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,112 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Plus Mayo had a glorious chance of winning Sam I had them as favourites v Tyrone - but Mayo completely bottled it. Save from bribing the ref to retake the penalty there is only so much money can do. Or ruling out Murphy's goal for Donegal in another AI final they made a balls of.

As for Meath the great Sean Boylan papered over the cracks, Meath GAA has been run extremely poorly. There is a poster on here (from Meath) who likes to paint Dublin GAA as the source of all Meath's problems. Or as the bogeyman in some sort of of theatrical sense.

But the poster in particular prefers to obsess about Dublin rather than look closely at his own county. Which is very odd. As Meath fail time and again since they last won Sam to beat teams that are not Dublin. Carlow. Wicklow. Westmeath etc. How have they fared in the league, or against teams that are not Dublin, or outside Leinster in the qualifiers etc?

At least Mayo have a certain standard of consistency about them they stay in div1 and challenge for div1 etc. It is just Mayo have a psychological problem at the latter stages of the championship - in other words the final.

But Meath cannot even stay in div1 for any extended period, how you can blame Dublin for this I don't know? That Meath poster on here who obsess about Dublin. It reminds me of the girl who lost her looks let herself go bug style (Meath Football) while looking on enviously at the neighbour (the former supermodel Dublin Football) who still constantly put the work and hard graft in to maintain standards/ attempt to increase them, as good as they can. Meath GAA are now not even the best looking girl on their road, but it no one else's fault but their own.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

I was in here looking up re a response to the Cavan challenge but your post has lot of inaccuracies in it.

For example, the JP McManus funding is for clubs. Not county teams or county boards. In most counties, clubs will get about €10,000 each. That won’t go very far to be honest when it comes to the costs of running a modern day club.

You say it buys a lot of coaching but that shows a lack of knowledge of the club scene on your behalf, A professional coach is maybe €200 a session so that’d buy a max of about 50 sessions. One a week. Do you know many clubs have one session a week?

”Smart decisions made by smart people” were greatly helped by an injection of a million a year towards coaching.

A podcast is my own county talks about how if the GAA were realistic about actually levelling the playing field, they should be using an NFL type format e.g. in the NFL, the worst team gets the first draft pick the following year. In football, should the worst county in Ireland not be getting the most help and funding? If the GAA are worried about money being “squandered” as you put it, put a professional in place in each county to oversee spending.

Follow the Dublin model that has worked so well for others. Surely even ardent supporters like yourself would love to see a competitive Leinster championship at this stage.

“Unlike other counties where it’s GAA or nothing “ - This point made me laugh. Have you driven outside the “pale” in the last 20 years? What you’re talking about ended in most counties in the 80s. For example, one of Cavan’s best young Gaelic players was Cillian Sheridan 20 years ago. He’s coming to the end of his soccer career. I wonder how he ended up playing soccer if it was “GAA or nothing” in most counties? Tommy Bowe is a Monaghan man isn’t he? Do you want me to continue through the various sports people from numerous counties?

With ten minutes drive of my home here, I have two rugby clubs, several soccer clubs, a tennis club, boxing club, cycling and triathalon club, two to three athletics clubs and the list keeps going……