Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day Part 6

• Registered Users Posts: 7,042 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

Katy c is a guy???

Bring a registered mechanic???.

She is and has several sisters who are this guy too.:D

Yeah. Spotted that one too.
    What had he to say?

His ads are distinctive, always has a couple of different cars advertised every few weeks. All under ladies names too! :P

He just didn't seem interested Duke. I rang about the Mondeo. I asked him a few basic questions and he wouldn't answer them really, just repeated what was in the ad. Ad says Westmeath but he says he only works in Mullingar but the car is in Edgeworthstown...he's clearly a Dub though.
    He also said he had someone coming to view that evening but when I said I could be there around 2 he said he was going to Dublin and wouldn't be back.:confused:

Distinctive ads alright but always uses annoying filters on the photos which makes it impossible to make out whether the car is rough or not without downloading and zooming. Like the photo you posted of the Legacy. That damage on the front corner isn't obvious when looking at the ad.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭W123-80's

colm_mcm wrote: »
    They’re a great car, the brother had one back in the day.

They’re every bit as good as the Corolla of the day, and better in a lot of areas.

Thanks Colm, appreciate your input.
    That was my experience of the older model to be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

• Registered Users Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Oops!

kaizersoze wrote: »
    I'm after an automatic estate in as low a tax band as possible and around the 2k mark if anyone comes across one.
    Definitely with decent NCT and a bit of tax would be a bonus.
    Mondeo or similar.
    Something like this.....
    https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mondeo-tdci-automatic-tax-new-nct/25534626

I actually rang this guy...he didn't inspire confidence.

Mabey he's just an odd ball... Doesn't mean their is anything wrong with the car! Just bring a good mechanic with you... Then you won't be long figuring out what's what!

I bought a car from a certain gent in firhouse recently, a pure odd ball! Told me i wasn't interested in buying the car at all, i told him i didn't drive up from Tipp with a roll of 50's in my pocket for the laugh!

5 mins down the road he rings me back and accepts my offer... :rolleyes::D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

I hate these small time dealers. I went to see a car a few months ago for my sister, an 05 fiesta priced at 1600 imagine. It was a tidy car but way over priced. I said it to him and he said, "I've been offered full price already by two people". Nearly fell over laughing, why in gods name was the car still for sale.

Oops! wrote: »
    Mabey he's just an odd ball... Doesn't mean their is anything wrong with the car! Just bring a good mechanic with you... Then you won't be long figuring out what's what!

I bought a car from a certain gent in firhouse recently, a pure odd ball! Told me i wasn't interested in buying the car at all, i told him i didn't drive up from Tipp with a roll of 50's in my pocket for the laugh!

5 mins down the road he rings me back and accepts my offer... :rolleyes::D

I'm sure he's lovely.....:D but he didn't even seem interested in me even looking at it.
    I've had several experiences like you had too and going back to the time of the old Buy and Sell magazine. There's no accounting for people.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Oops!

kaizersoze wrote: »
    I'm sure he's lovely.....:D but he didn't even seem interested in me even looking at it.
    I've had several experiences like you had too and going back to the time of the old Buy and Sell magazine. There's no accounting for people.:)

Bought and sold many a car on the good old buy and sell...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,074 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/subaru-forester-2-5-turbo/25548099

ZTZkNjE1YTlkMzg3YTUyNzE4N2U3ZDJiOWFlYjc4YmTAh28VL6wDSz0-RaxxJliuaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNTI5NjcyNzJ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Nicely spec'd Forester 2.5 turbo with NCT til January 2021, €1900

Nice bus if you can deal with the tax. Is 170k cause for concern though?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Kilboor

2007 1.6 Audi A4 with NCT to February. 137k KM

1000 quid

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/07-audi-a4/25556976

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 387 ✭✭Ta ceist agam

Kilboor wrote: »
    Tidy 2007 1.6 Audi A4 with NCT to February. 137k KM

1000 quid

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/07-audi-a4/25556976

Please declare your self-interest Andy!

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/subaru-forester-2-5-turbo/25548099

ZTZkNjE1YTlkMzg3YTUyNzE4N2U3ZDJiOWFlYjc4YmTAh28VL6wDSz0-RaxxJliuaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNTI5NjcyNzJ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Nicely spec'd Forester 2.5 turbo with NCT til January 2021, €1900

Nice bus if you can deal with the tax. Is 170k cause for concern though?

I was looking at that earlier. The 180k mileage wouldn't bother me but the tax and living with a 2.5l petrol would!:(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭trixiebust

Few here were asking about my non starting V50...

http://www.adverts.ie/21169178

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

trixiebust wrote: »

Seats would be nice for man cave, then part the rest of her....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

€1900 is too much for a 15 year old, high-tax, high miler. It might be worth it to a niche Subaru fan with a horse fetish, but that's a pretty narrow market!

Wheels are fab, though.

trixiebust wrote: »

Why is this in the bangeromics thread?

It's a non starter, parts car with no NCT.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

Why is this in the bangeromics thread?

It's a non starter, parts car with no NCT.

It was just from interest in a discussion earlier, connected to his search for a replacement bangernomics- he got an avensis in the end.

Oh that's grand so, I didn't see that clause in the rule charter!

You're a bundle of joy

Kilboor wrote: »
    You're a bundle of joy

How's the keyboard warrior life going for you?

Says Mr passive aggressive himself

• Registered Users Posts: 160 ✭✭KB22

Put the handbag's away girl's ?

I won't stoop to Kilboors level!

• Registered Users Posts: 717 ✭✭✭kalkat2002

Back to work please lads...

2002 bmw 318 ci petrol

1200 eur

http://www.adverts.ie/21171390

• Registered Users Posts: 6,367 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

kalkat2002 wrote: »
    Back to work please lads...

2002 bmw 318 ci petrol

1200 eur

http://www.adverts.ie/21171390

How many shades of silver can you get on one car :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 786 ✭✭✭aw

€1900 is too much for a 15 year old, high-tax, high miler. It might be worth it to a niche Subaru fan with a horse fetish, but that's a pretty narrow market!

Wheels are fab, though.

When it was first posted, I'm fairly sure it was €1650.
    Could a post in this thread be worth an extra €250!?

iwillhtfu wrote: »
    How many shades of silver can you get on one car :eek:

50 at least as per the movie...;)

Nearly banger one

2008 honda civic 1.8 petrol

2250 eur
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/honda-civic/25456006

• Registered Users Posts: 73,382 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I won't stoop to Kilboors level!

You still hold grudges from your days as Dia_Anseo I see.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,382 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

kalkat2002 wrote: »
    Nearly banger one

2008 honda civic 1.8 petrol

2250 eur
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/honda-civic/25456006

Nice car, these always held a nice premium over the 5 door models. Pity the tax is that bit higher on them.

Passenger door was badly resprayed. Panoramic roof is brilliant on them, transforms them.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,074 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mint-1-owner-service-history-3-months-warranty/25548337

MmY3MjEwYmI1YzYwN2NjYzk4YWQxMDE1ZjgxZjgwN2WNQ0_AHLfZGAhfyaQ-mo7aaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNTI5NjU2MTd8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Nice looking 1 owner Avensis with NCT til April 2021, and 3 months warranty apparently. €1950

Looks in really nice nick. Brand new tyres and main dealer history