Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nice turn of phrase you've heard

• Registered Users Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

"He'd crawl 5 miles on his hands and knees over broken glass to sniff the wheels of the van that brought her knickers to the dry cleaners ."

I like when speaking of an attractive lady - like Natalie Portman : - "I would crawl through broken glass and barbed wire - just to suck the cock of the last guy that f*cked her"

• Registered Users Posts: 134 ✭✭A Knight of Ireland

"Only dead fish go with the flow"

My grandad used to say when he was starving

"I'm so hungry I'd eat a horse and chase the jockey"

And the less PC

"I'm so hungry I'd eat a childs arse through a chair"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭CPTM

My grandad used to say when he was starving

"I'm so hungry I'd eat a horse and chase the jockey"

Haha, that's a good one

• Registered Users Posts: 12,201 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

"I'm so hungry I'd eat a childs arse through a chair"

"I could eat the head off a scabby wain" is the version around here.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭3rdDegree

From Tipperary (I think): "I'm broke to the jaws of Jaysus". Meaning "I have absolutely no money whatsoever".

Tipp is gas, isn't it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭magic_murph

_blaaz wrote: »
    You'd see more meat on a tinkers stick after a fight

Reference to a very thin person

You'd see more meat on good Friday (reference to a skinny person)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭magic_murph

DrPhilG wrote: »
    "I could eat the head off a scabby wain" is the version around here.

I'd eat the crotch of a low flying duck.

"She'd put a horn on ya that would bring order to a Wicklow GAA match"

Think that was from a Ross O carrol kelly book ...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,201 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Cracker I've never heard before until it featured on Derry Girls...

"That woman has a smell off her that would turn an Orange march"

• Registered Users Posts: 3,907 ✭✭✭trashcan

"She'd put a horn on ya that would bring order to a Wicklow GAA match"

Think that was from a Ross O carrol kelly book ...

The one I remember from Ross was "I had a baton on me that would put manners on a reclaim the streets march"

• Registered Users Posts: 5,644 ✭✭✭storker

One of my dad's...

"There's great freedom in having no choice."

• Registered Users Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Neames

In response to someone saying the early bird gets the worm....

It's always the second mouse gets the cheese.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭Up Donegal

He’d turn up for the opening of an envelope.

(A politician or other worthy who goes to lots of events).

Good One!:D:)

He/she would talk sh1te for Ireland!!

Feisar wrote: »
    She put a horn on me that’d bait a bad ass out of a sand pit.

Something similar:

She'd give a horn to a snowman!

adgib wrote: »
    To someone wearing cheap perfume or aftershave, you smell like the inside of a whores handbag

If it was said to me, my reply would be "How do you know what the inside of a whore's handbag smells like??"

About someone who's known to be light-fingered:

She/he would steal the milk from your tea!

I work at a deli and while making up a wrap for someone this week they told me I have more questions for them than the guards... made me laugh :)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,012 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

I have a mouth on me like Ghandi's flip-flop!

(I'm parched)

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

I'd eat the leg of the lamb of god.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Money won't make you someone your not, it allows you to be who you really are.

Never step on anyone's toes to get ahead, in the future they may lead to the ass you need to kiss

God doesn't take a check (Meaning your money's no good to you when you die)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

storker wrote: »
    One of my dad's...

"There's great freedom in having no choice."

Really like that one!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

Oh I'd say they'd cut yer hair with yer hat on.

Referring to a cute hoor.

First they came for the socialists...

A good pun is its own reword.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭amber2

It’s like rubbing lard to a fat pigs arse.

After a gatherer comes a scatterer.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

Cool as a breeze

• Registered Users Posts: 10,292 ✭✭✭✭branie2

He'd rob you of a decade of the rosary

I've seen more fat on an oven chip.

He'd rob the eye out of your head and come back for your eyelashes.

He'd get up on a cracked plate.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

She's a pair of legs on her that would kickstart a JCB on a frosty morning.