Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nice turn of phrase you've heard

• Registered Users Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Porklife

"He's pissing on his own lamp-post now"

(Doing his own thing/no longer my responsibility)

I would have taken that to mean he's shot himself in the foot and/or doing himself no favours.. but maybe I'm wrong. I like it either way.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭Up Donegal

"I'll be with you in a second - just wait a minute"

• Registered Users Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

"It's because of numpties like you that they put instructions on shampoo bottles!"

• Registered Users Posts: 439 ✭✭TedR

If you cant lift her, don't shift her

• Registered Users Posts: 15,176 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Let sleeping dogs lie.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,229 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

He has more chins than a Chinese phone book.

(fatso)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

holyhead wrote: »
    He'd mind mice at a crossroads

(someone who's miserly)

"Would you peel an orange in your pocket!?"

As sure as Dolly Parton sleeps on her back!

He/she has the perfect face for radio!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,507 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

you can feed to needy but you can never feed the greedy

• Registered Users Posts: 13,357 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

She wears the dick in that relationship.

At the end of the day, the king and pawn wind up in the same box.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,176 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Porklife wrote: »
    At the end of the day, the king and pawn wind up in the same box.
    Love it!

Love it!

It's a good one alright! Though-provoking.

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭Count Down

"He's the only man I know who has a face that comes with free garlic bread".
    (Ugly, face like a piazza) :D

As useful as a steering wheel on a train.

Smells worse than a gorilla's armpit. :eek:

"He's so stupid he thinks Sherlock Holmes is a new housing estate on the Northside".

• Registered Users Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

I've mentioned a few in passing while working in the London office. Just what I'd class as common enough phrases but one of the young lads thinks they're hilarious - and keeps reminding me that I said them. A couple that come to mind. . .

"There's more meat on a butchers pencil"

"It wouldn't fill a whole in your tooth" - in reference to someone getting McD's for lunch

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Stop moaning ffs

If you put a torch to one of his ears you’d see the light out the other one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Sheridan81

She doesn't have much upstairs-but what a staircase!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,298 ✭✭✭✭branie2

If you have a brain cell, it must be a tourist

My mother used to quote an old 'Tinker's Curse' whenever she spoke ill of someone:
    "My she die roarin'!" :eek:

Describing a woman of 'loose morals' :
    "She's had more men than the army". ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭evil_seed

"Running the gauntlet of stupidity"
    In reference to walking down grafton st after work

"He/she smells worse than a pair of farmer's boots."

Was it Joan Rivers who said of a well known British actress who had a reputation for being 'popular' with the men:
    "Her legs are like long-lost friends - they haven't met in years!" :o

There was an old lady who lived near us, growing up; she still has an outdoor toilet in the 1990s. She called diarrhea 'The hurry out and the delay abroad'.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Count Down wrote: »
    Describing a woman of 'loose morals' :
    "She's had more men than the army". ;)

More men than the grand old duke of york is another version i've heard:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭nthclare

When I lived in Edinburgh when they're saying not now maybe later...

"No the now but later"