Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE Investigates programme on greyhound racing industry

• Registered Users Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

How can anyone honestly have any faith in an organisation that actively encourages children into a place of gambling, drinking, drug abuse and animal abuse?

https://www.igb.ie/go-greyhound-racing/our-stadiums/shelbourne-park-greyhound-stadium/prices-deals/communions-confirmations/

Beyond ridiculous.

Manys the family that goes to the curragh,leopardstown,Galway races,ballinrobe etc where there’s gambling and drinking.
    What do you think of that?
    As for the animal abuse can you highlight the abuse your average family are expected to observe at a race meeting?
    And also what drugs abuse are you referring to?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭jackboy

How can anyone honestly have any faith in an organisation that actively encourages children into a place of gambling, drinking, drug abuse and animal abuse?
    Every sport in Ireland hits at least one item on that list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

Manys the family that goes to the curragh,leopardstown,Galway races,ballinrobe etc where there’s gambling and drinking.
    What do you think of that?
    We can discuss that in the "ban horse racing" thread, as soon as you start it, you talk about it so much in this thread so I know it's a topic close top your heart
    As for the animal abuse can you highlight the abuse your average family are expected to observe at a race meeting?
    REPORTED GREYHOUND INJURIES AND DEATHS AT IRISH TRACKS

2018: 353 Injuries. 121 Deaths

2017: 357 Injuries. 124 Deaths

2016: 427 Injuries. 139 Deaths

2015: 422 Injuries. 122 Deaths

That's just the reported ones, at tracks. We all know that is just the tip of the iceberg.
    And also what drugs abuse are you referring to?
    The many, many cases of greyhounds being given cocaine.

https://www.igb.ie/go-greyhound-racing/our-stadiums/shelbourne-park-greyhound-stadium/prices-deals/communions-confirmations/

Beyond ridiculous.

So, we must stop taking our kids to restaurants now? They might see someone eating meat and drinking

Beyond ridiculous

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

So, we must stop taking our kids to restaurants now? They might see someone eating meat and drinking

And while I'm here can I just say - extra sex education for kids in junior infants.

I’ve brought my kids to the dogs since birth. They’ve seen drinking and gambling all their lives. They have a very healthy relationship with both, I’m glad to say.

I'd well believe it.

xckjoo wrote: »
    I thought the same about her too, but all her cracks at rescue centres, insistence that greyhounds are only greyhounds if they're registered correctly, insistence that the industry is fine and should be left to self-regulate and belief that the breed only exists because of the IGB/ICC, make me worry. If that's the "progressive" face of the greyhound industry I'm seriously worried. I don't doubt she loves her dogs and treats them well, but the opinions she shares on why they exist worry me. It makes me doubt the industry can reform.

I suppose that I know stuff because I’m so long involved in greyhound racing. Rescues DO get money from both the department of agriculture and IGB.
    An unregistered dog cannot be raced or coursed and is therefore a lurcher. Should you get your wish and greyhound racing and coursing becomes extinct, then there’ll be no need to breed them and the breed will also become extinct.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭xckjoo

I suppose that I know stuff because I’m so long involved in greyhound racing. Rescues DO get money from both the department of agriculture and IGB.
    An unregistered dog cannot be raced or coursed and is therefore a lurcher. Should you get your wish and greyhound racing and coursing becomes extinct, then there’ll be no need to breed them and the breed will also become extinct.
    I think you mean you're biased because you're so invested in the industry. So invested you refuse to accept proof that reality is not what you think it is. Everything you say here has been dis-proven multiple times in this thread already. TBH your insistence on sticking to these incorrect ideals is one of the main reasons I'm starting to think the industry is beyond reform. If this is representative of greyhound owners as a whole the industry is in worse state than I thought.

Rescues get a tiny amount of money from both of those groups and it often comes with completely unjust strings attached. The vast majority comes from fund raising. You can look back in this thread for the link to the financial breakdown that was already posted. If you've something to counter this please post it.
    Greyhounds are a breed of dog. Whether they are registered or not does not change their breed. A lurcher is a mongrel mix of a sighthound. Just because you and the lads at the track don't recognise that doesn't make it less true. By your reckoning a greyhound can't possibly exist outside of Ireland and yet they do. They're one of the oldest known breed of dog. Something tells me they'll be around long after the you, me and the IGB have ceased to exist. They aren't just a commodity for people to try and make money on at the race track. You'll notice most breeds of dog don't have a racing industry attached, yet somehow manage to keep existing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

Beyond ridiculous

I've never been to nor heard of a taxpayer- funded restaurant that features bookies...

Tell me how would I apply to keep a retired greyhound as a pet?

I think I'd be doing my part for the industry. Plus I could do with another dog around the place. I like the brindle one.

• Registered Users Posts: 582 ✭✭✭CiarraiAbu2

I've never been to nor heard of a taxpayer- funded restaurant that features bookies...

Never been Horse racing

• Registered Users Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

I think I'd be doing my part for the industry. Plus I could do with another dog around the place. I like the brindle one.

You can train them down the lamp too lad.
    They’re mad for work.
    They also make fantastic ratters

• Registered Users Posts: 11,933 ✭✭✭✭anewme

In fairness, you'd probably not pass the check.

anewme wrote: »
    In fairness, you'd probably not pass the check.

Why

Did a quick Google and there seems to be a few charities that specialise in rehoming retired greyhounds in Ireland. First one I checked has a requirement that they're kept indoors as family pets. Not sure if that matters to you. They're the biggest couch potatoes I've ever met.

Today in the Dail, Taoiseach Leo Varadkar suggested people go to the dogs and make up their own minds. He intends visiting Shelbourne Park as he does every year around Christmas. Fair play to him.

Did a quick Google and there seems to be a few charities that specialise in rehoming retired greyhounds in Ireland. First one I checked has a requirement that they're kept indoors as family pets. Not sure if that matters to you. They're the biggest couch potatoes I've ever met.

I will do. Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭wardides

Today in the Dail, Taoiseach Leo Varadkar suggested people go to the dogs and make up their own minds. He intends visiting Shelbourne Park as he does every year around Christmas. Fair play to him.

Don’t mean this to sound the way it will but you seem almost entranced into believing there is only good in the industry. Almost cult like.

And repeatedly saying the greyhound breed will become extinct, if we end greyhound racing, is borderline insane.

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭wardides

And that is a bizarre comment from Leo. Absolutely make your mind up yourself but going to Shelbourne Park should not sway the way your mind is on this issue. How could that have any relevance. Shelbourne Park is not the bloody issue.

wardides wrote: »
    And that is a bizarre comment from Leo. Absolutely make your mind up yourself but going to Shelbourne Park should not sway the way your mind is on this issue. How could that have any relevance. Shelbourne Park is not the bloody issue.

The issue is people believing what a biased TV programme told them rather than making their own minds up.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭klaaaz

The issue is people believing what a biased TV programme told them rather than making their own minds up.

Biased for telling the truth about the slaughter of thousands of dogs per year?

Over 500 dogs have died running for their lives on Irish tracks since 2015.

A person can make their own mind up whether to support the killing of dogs for this subsidised gambling "sport" or not.

klaaaz wrote: »
    Biased for telling the truth about the slaughter of thousands of dogs per year?

Over 500 dogs have died running for their lives on Irish tracks since 2015.

A person can make their own mind up whether to support the killing of dogs for this subsidised gambling "sport" or not.

As pointed out numerous times, there's a huge difference between dogs being unaccounted for and being killed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭klaaaz

As pointed out numerous times, there's a huge difference between dogs being unaccounted for and being killed.

Alot of them were shot at knackeries for being too slow to win a race, plenty of dead dogs piled high in that skip at the knackery in the programme. That's just one knackery caught out. The other 14 knackeries also killed lots of dogs...in Ireland.

wardides wrote: »
    Very bizarre. I haven't seen a single person complain about the dogs racing in and of itself. It's all been about how they're treated and what's going on behind the scenes.

klaaaz wrote: »
    Alot of them were shot at knackeries for being too slow to win a race, plenty of dead dogs piled high in that skip at the knackery in the programme. That's just one knackery caught out. The other 14 knackeries also killed lots of dogs...in Ireland.

That was the only fact in the programme. Did they kill 6,000 between them? Why did RTÉ not report their concerns to the Gardai BEFORE the show was aired?
    How many owners did the vet report for giving their dogs EPO and what scientific proof did he offer to support his claims?
    How many dogs did he treat with mutilated ears and what was the outcome of the legal proceedings that followed?
    How many greyhounds were exported from Ireland to China in last year? How much did such exports cost and is it possible to do so, ie any carriers that will take them.

That was the only fact in the programme. Did they kill 6,000 between them? Why did RTÉ not report their concerns to the Gardai BEFORE the show was aired?
    How many owners did the vet report for giving their dogs EPO and what scientific proof did he offer to support his claims?
    How many dogs did he treat with mutilated ears and what was the outcome of the legal proceedings that followed?
    How many greyhounds were exported from Ireland to China in last year? How much did such exports cost and is it possible to do so, ie any carriers that will take them.
    If the IGB did their job we might have answers to all those questions ;)
    Bit rich to be trying to push the blame onto other people though. Why didn't everyone else do the job the governing body couldn't be arsed doing?

Gee, I thought that some posters would know seeing as they are so sure of their facts!

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭deuces wild

They already fund similar schemes. Probably in conjunction with Europe. Redirecting the money that currently goes to ICC and you'd probably have more than enough from that alone.

ICC are self funded .NO state funding.
    The ICC are the only organisation who have the manpower,knowledge and are willing to net hares and vaccinate the Irish Hare which is a protected species and thrives in areas where coursing is present.

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭deuces wild

FACT. There hasn't been a case of EPO in ten years....if that vet had seen evidence of EPO use at his surgery why did he not report it to the relevant authorities?