Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things That Trialvilly Annoy You.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,748 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

cj maxx wrote: »
    The queues are because most shops are only letting a few people at a time in

They've been doing that for a while. It doesn't explain the amount of people shopping at the same time. They will spread it.

The queues will be gone after the weekend, once the missing chromosome brigade calm down.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,369 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

They've been doing that for a while. It doesn't explain the amount of people doing it at the same time. They will spread it.

The queues will be gone after the weekend, once the missing chromosome brigade calm down.

Fcucking eejits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

Guy, I'm going to disagree with you here. People need to use common sense and cop on.

We know this is going to get worse, we don't have the ICU capacity to deal with the expected demand and they're building temporary mortuaries.

Some of the people who will die from this will likely do so because they can't get the specialist treatment they need, rather than not responding to it - think about that. The building of temporary mortuaries tells us this won't be just a few unlucky people.

We all need to follow the updates and guidelines, watch online if you can't access RTE as someone said not everyone can.

Now, do people seriously think they're expected to starve to death if they live more than 2km from a shop? Or that they can't make a solo trip in their car to a cheaper shop further away?

We've have 2 posters here attest that the panic buying morons were out again in force, and ignoring social distancing guidelines while they were at it.

TA - lack of basic common sense and I really don't care if I'm slated for this. It's time to cop on and the speech last night was very clear, apart from the changes to what are deemed essential businesses. They're available now.
    I don't disagree with most of what you say, I saw the panic buyers myself this morning when I was on my walk. I went by an Aldi, Lidl and Supervalu between 8-9 this morning and the car parks were near full with big queues of people waiting to get in the doors.

The point I was making is if someone asks a question then the question can be answered without being snarky. Some people in life are very sensitive to that kind of stuff and take it personally, internalise it even. There is a time and place for bluntness and even snarkiness but I think last night wasn't that time. They said themselves that they are isolating and disinfecting everything, they are being careful.

People aren't rational when they are scared, maybe they didn't fully understand what was said, maybe they didn't see the news but were on Boards so asked the question etc...
    The bluntness and snarkiness should be directed towards people jamming up parks, beaches and supermarkets in my opinion, not someone just asking a question on a web forum.

Perhaps although for someone, me, who loves being alone and dreams of a little house in the middle of nowhere, this is still proving a challenge.
    We humans are so damn complicated and yes praise be for the internet :)
    I only mentioned this here last night but I haven't physically seen anyone bar passing strangers in a month now with no sign seeing anyone anytime soon. I like my alone time too but this is perhaps a bit too much of it, the mind starts to wander to some mad places being alone too much I think. I am talking to more people than ever these last few weeks with all the media we have but still not actually being around people in so long is....different.

Still shouldn't complain too much, I get to walk around the apartment in the nip and poop with the bathroom door wide open. That to me is the very definition of freedom. I am very lucky really.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,294 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Many people cannot get RTE on their TV ? I am sure you are right but I wouldn't have realised that ??

All we have is Netflix, Amazon and now Disney. No saorview box or aerial. There is an RTE iPlayer app but it has not worked for a number of years and even when it did work it was often unwatchable.
    The speech was made late enough last night at bedtime for kids so between putting kids to bed and cleaning up it is not beyond the realms of possibility that a person may not have looked at the issue in depth until this morning.

9am has people here sneering at them :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Living Off The Splash

Guy Person wrote: »

Still shouldn't complain too much, I get to walk around the apartment in the nip and poop with the bathroom door wide open.

Are you inside the bathroom or outside when this happens?

It's best I say no more on that. We have veered off topic...

TA that my secret love of pooping in the sitting room has been found out :(

• Registered Users Posts: 12,959 ✭✭✭✭bnt

People mixing up the words "steal" and "rob" e.g. "we robbed some sweets". No: you stole some sweets when you robbed the corner shop. People and places are robbed, things are stolen. :o

From out there on the moon, international politics look so petty. You want to grab a politician by the scruff of the neck and drag him a quarter of a million miles out and say, ‘Look at that, you son of a bitch’.

— Edgar Mitchell, Apollo 14 Astronaut

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭bubbles o hara

Seriously? It's well established that you can shop outside the 2km rule!!!!!!!!

Have you read anything about it or just jumped to this conclusion!!!!!

Well don't I feel foolish! Leo himself had to clarify that traveling more than 2km for shopping was allowed, it wasn't made clear in his initial speech last night. I know it's the wrong thread, but I'm more than trivially happy not to be in isolation with someone like you. Thanks for your valued input. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,661 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

while extroverts will wither.

Jebus - they'll be intolerable when this is over! :D

Guy Person wrote: »
    Still shouldn't complain too much, I get to walk around the apartment in the nip

Make sure your blinds are closed. I got forwarded some guy engaging in hand to gland combat being filmed through his apartment window on whatsapp...

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,364 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

bnt wrote: »
    People mixing up the words "steal" and "rob" e.g. "we robbed some sweets". No: you stole some sweets when you robbed the corner shop. People and places are robbed, things are stolen. :o

Envious and jealous are my pet peeves. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Jebus - they'll be intolerable when this is over! :D

Make sure your blinds are closed. I got forwarded some guy engaging in hand to gland combat being filmed through his apartment window on whatsapp...

Jebus, who'd do that? (Film it and send it on, that is) Surely the thing to do is pull your own blinds down and MYOB. Unless he was deliberately being an exhibitionist. In which case I'd still pull my blinds down and let him carry on.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

New Home wrote: »
    Envious and jealous are my pet peeves. :)

Can you elaborate?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Calling children ''smallies''. You deserve a dig in the kidneys for that.

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Can you elaborate?

I think envy is wanting something whereas jealousy isn't always connected to things. You can feel jealous of your partner having opposite sex friends and you can be envious of your neighbours new car.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,364 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Can you elaborate?

https://www.diffen.com/difference/Envy_vs_Jealousy
    The main difference between envy and jealousy is that envy is the emotion of coveting what someone else has, while jealousy is the emotion related to fear that something you have will be taken away by someone else.

I think envy is wanting something whereas jealousy isn't always connected to things. You can feel jealous of your partner having opposite sex friends and you can be envious of your neighbours new car.

You can also be envious of someone's relationship, or someone's partner, for instance.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,369 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

That effing Sofology as. The the one with Owen Wilson. Drives me nuts , the stupidity of it

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Haven't read much of this thread. I see people still venting their feelings on others!
    Seeing people savaging people on threads is a TA.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Why is there a whole forum for mustard? Am I missing something?
    And it's not in food and drink but social and fun. Since when was mustard fun :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 13,813 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

bnt wrote: »

When I was a Garda, that was a TA of mine! Get a call from someone 'I've just been robbed' and they roaring down the phone at you. Try to get a description of the suspect and get yelled at further for not knowing it's actually a burglary and happened while they were out.

TA'd that I bought Dreams on the PS4 earlier today and I'm not yet a world renowned games developer.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,355 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Bredabe wrote: »
    There are, I just have no comprehension of how far from my starting point 2 km are, and up to a few mins ago I could not get 2kmfromhome to work.
    Its much further than I thought.

TA, how patchy my broadband is today.

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0328/1127002-coronavirus-2km-limit/

Link to a website that will show you a 2km radius from your location.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭Kylta

When you visit a thread and its MOVED.what does that mean?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,272 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Kylta wrote: »
    When you visit a thread and its MOVED.what does that mean?

It means the thread itself got emotional.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

When you look at the time now and realise you’ve lost an hour with the clock change, didn’t intend to be up at 2:20 am.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭misstearheus

Temples Headache.

And no clue what time it's supposed to be r.n.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,765 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

All these "ruin a (insert noun) with one letter threads.

I know, I don't have to read them. I don't.
    But they still trivially annoy me.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭Kylta

AllForIt wrote: »
    It means the thread itself got emotional.

Thanks for that bit of info.
    Who decides its emotional?.and is basically MOVED another word for shutdown?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Old laptop wasn't connected to WiFi.

So itunes auto-imported the CD without song names

I had to push the CD tray back in again :(

• Registered Users Posts: 16,765 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Sausage producers that don't cut the links between sausages.
    I don't want to have to cut them, what's the point of leaving them linked?
    Just cut them in the factory, ffs.