Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things That Trialvilly Annoy You.

Pedants? clueless post, can go to a shop further than 2kms.

It was a tongue-in-cheek remark, feel free to work yourself into a lather. I'm going to sit outside in the garden with me cuppa and read the newspaper.

your post gave me a great laugh - thanks! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭All that fandango

Nope they're all doing that...........just knocking the door or ringing the bell then immediately leaving the parcel at the door or outside. They're no longer handing them to people. To be honest I dont blame them at all, at least they're delivering the parcels and not bringing them back to the depot! They're doing a great job considering how many people have jumped to online shopping in the current situation.

What was their excuse before the virus? Had a courier guy knock on the door once and without waiting actually opened the front door and threw it into the hallway. Is this usual practice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

Seriously? It's well established that you can shop outside the 2km rule!!!!!!!!

Have you read anything about it or just jumped to this conclusion!!!!!
    Pedants? clueless post, can go to a shop further than 2kms.
    This thread has TA'd me big time, with posters who haven't a clue about the actual restrictions posting ****e.
    If it is possible I would suggest you go on outside for a brisk walk. I'm not long back from one and feel great. It is not even 10 am and you seem quite angry.

And just to defend bubbles o hara a bit here, he/she may have been worried, afraid or panicked and posted here asking a question. Maybe just point them to the correct information instead of being snarky? I think now more than ever is the time to help to each other.

Guy Person wrote: »
    If it is possible I would suggest you go on outside for a brisk walk. I'm not long back from one and feel great. It is not even 10 am and you seem quite angry.

Just dont go beyond 2000 metres :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

Just dont go beyond 2000 metres :pac:
    I walked exactly 2001 metres. I'm a rebel....

giphy.gif

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Waking up with a headache and a bad nights sleep.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Gamer Bhoy 89

Waking up with a headache and a bad nights sleep.

Welcome, friend. Been up and on this computer since half 8 and my head is like razor blades

• Registered Users Posts: 16,765 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

People on the animals and pet forum.

Should I bring my cat for his vaccination booster?

No, of course you ****ing shouldn't bring your cat for its booster, ffs!

• Registered Users Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Nevin Parsnipp

i.e. no policing.

Are guards going to be running around like Keystone Kops after joggers, cyclists and people walking a dog? What's the penalty, a stern talking to?

No I don't think so ...they will be just politely discouraging any non compliance...maybe using the toe of their boot for emphasis :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,294 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Agreed............so many people haven't either listened properly to Leo last night, or havent read the new rules! .

Give people a chance. It was only announced last night and there were some vagaries in Leo's statement which required clarification. Many people these days (me for one) cannot get RTE on their TV, for example. Others do not follow the news closely. Or if they do may not read Irish media.
    If people have questions then answer them if you can rather than criticise the question.

• Registered Users Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Nevin Parsnipp

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    Give people a chance. It was only announced last night and there were some vagaries in Leo's statement which required clarification. Many people these days (me for one) cannot get RTE on their TV, for example. Others do not follow the news closely. Or if they do may not read Irish media.
    If people have questions then answer them if you can rather than criticise the question.

In the middle of a life threatening pandemic....not following the news closely or not reading Irish media is somewhat ill advised. ?

Many people cannot get RTE on their TV ? I am sure you are right but I wouldn't have realised that ??

• Registered Users Posts: 10,527 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

"Panic mode" activated again by imbeciles. Realised that Weetibix was gone when preparing breakfast, walked over to nearby Lidl (within 2km for the pedants) to purchase two boxes & newspaper for good measure. This just after opening at 8.05, innocently thinking I might get ahead of posse. Instead I interrupted the stampede of the wildebeest on the Serengeti. Everyone twitchy and harried with urgency. Went to counter with three items, #9 in queue behind stacked large trolleys. "Do you I mind if go ahead with these few items?" "I do mind, sorrrreeeee..." You might lose one minute on your quest to immortality miss. To top off the slapstick, the checkout operator wasn't even sporting gloves. In any event it will probably take 2/3 days for this latest wave of idiocy to subside, staying rooted at home to avert further pathetic carry on.

Lidl in Dundrum was the same. They didn’t “limit” numbers, people didn’t distance, lots of shouting and one couple were wheeling suitcases up and down the aisles.

Once again, this virus is mostly being “spread” through the steer, and boundless, stupidity of people.

I didn’t stay long, Donnybrook Fair was a much nicer “experience”.

The tide is turning…

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Panda Killa

Just to give people an idea of whats what

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Does anyone remember these?

Well, I've been hearing a sound like the alarm from one of these from down the street at odd hours for some time now, waking me up. Seems to be some sort of bird and the sun rising earlier means the fecker is doing his alarm routine earlier as well. Sod.

Sounds like a starling, darling :)

This is a bit more of a TA for me. I feel like there is no space to talk about the difficulties of the impact of isolation. It's as if by expressing my fears people will assume I am selfish and not understanding of how necessary this is.
    That's not true. I am scared for us all and am very aware of the challenges being isolated will bring to people. This doesn't mean I don't think its important though :(

These are difficult times and I don't think its helpful to dismiss peoples fears and anxieties with a "suck it up" response.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,454 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I have been told that I've to work as normal on Monday. I'm sure I can (bike journey, slightly less than 2km), but I don't want to disseminate the virus. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 16,356 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Guy Person wrote: »

And just to defend bubbles o hara a bit here, he/she may have been worried, afraid or panicked and posted here asking a question. Maybe just point them to the correct information instead of being snarky? I think now more than ever is the time to help to each other.

Guy, I'm going to disagree with you here. People need to use common sense and cop on.

We know this is going to get worse, we don't have the ICU capacity to deal with the expected demand and they're building temporary mortuaries.

Some of the people who will die from this will likely do so because they can't get the specialist treatment they need, rather than not responding to it - think about that. The building of temporary mortuaries tells us this won't be just a few unlucky people.

We all need to follow the updates and guidelines, watch online if you can't access RTE as someone said not everyone can.

Now, do people seriously think they're expected to starve to death if they live more than 2km from a shop? Or that they can't make a solo trip in their car to a cheaper shop further away?

We've have 2 posters here attest that the panic buying morons were out again in force, and ignoring social distancing guidelines while they were at it.

TA - lack of basic common sense and I really don't care if I'm slated for this. It's time to cop on and the speech last night was very clear, apart from the changes to what are deemed essential businesses. They're available now.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Leave your house.
    Walk for 25 minutes.
    Turn around.
    Walk home.

How can there not be walks?
    There are, I just have no comprehension of how far from my starting point 2 km are, and up to a few mins ago I could not get 2kmfromhome to work.
    Its much further than I thought.

TA, how patchy my broadband is today.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

This is a bit more of a TA for me. I feel like there is no space to talk about the difficulties of the impact of isolation. It's as if by expressing my fears people will assume I am selfish and not understanding of how necessary this is.
    That's not true. I am scared for us all and am very aware of the challenges being isolated will bring to people. This doesn't mean I don't think its important though :(

These are difficult times and I don't think its helpful to dismiss peoples fears and anxieties with a "suck it up" response.

Perse, the isolation is going to be tough alright.

People who live alone, people in unhappy relationships, abusive relationships etc, even healthy relationships where you can't get a few hours to yourself. The saddest part is family not being able to visit a sick relative, that is just heartbreaking.

Hopefully, the current situation will have an impact and some of the more draconian measures can be lifted. I don't have a solution, but it weighs very heavily on me too.

Bredabe wrote: »
    There are, I just have no comprehension of how far from my starting point 2 km are, and up to a few mins ago I could not get 2kmfromhome to work.
    Its much further than I thought.

Walk for an hour - half hour one way, turn around and walk back.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,661 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Once again, this virus is mostly being “spread” through the steer, and boundless, stupidity of people.

I've quietly decided to avoid people I know to be morons. I mean, we're all avoiding everyone anyway, but I plan to make extra efforts to avoid morons now, and continue to do so for a long time after we're given the all clear.

I met one moron I know in Nexttownover last week. He lives in Threetownsfurtherthanthat and was supposed to be self isolating after having come back from holiday the weekend before. I don't think he understood what it meant. His girlfriend who was also on holiday with him, had gone to visit her parents for mothers' day. Clueless.....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Its what, 12 hours since the new regs came in? already the whining has started.
    This one from this am, can I walk the dog in x part or y beach?
    He listens to local media hourly and is still planning to break the 2k barrier for a dog walk.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,527 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I've quietly decided to avoid people I know to be morons. I mean, we're all avoiding everyone anyway, but I plan to make extra efforts to avoid morons now, and continue to do so for a long time after we're given the all clear.

I met one moron I know in Nexttownover last week. He lives in Threetownsfurtherthanthat and was supposed to be self isolating after having come back from holiday the weekend before. I don't think he understood what it meant. His girlfriend who was also on holiday with him, had gone to visit her parents for mothers' day. Clueless.....

The Moronic Plague.

The tide is turning…

Perse, the isolation is going to be tough alright.

People who live alone, people in unhappy relationships, abusive relationships etc, even healthy relationships where you can't get a few hours to yourself. The saddest part is family not being able to visit a sick relative, that is just heartbreaking.

Hopefully, the current situation will have an impact and some of the more draconian measures can be lifted. I don't have a solution, but it weighs very heavily on me too.

Thanks Leg end. I foolishly attempted to voice my fears in the Covid forum. I read an article on The Guardian. It's on the app so I don't know how to link to it here. It was written by Francesca Melandri. These parts really stood out to me.

"The true nature of the people around you will be revealed with total clarity. You will have confirmations and surprises".

"You will be told that society is united in a communal effort, that you are all in the same boat. It will be true. This experience will change for good how you perceive yourself as an individual part of a larger whole.

Class, however, will make all the difference. Being locked up in a house with a pretty garden or in an overcrowded housing project will not be the same. Nor is being able to keep on working from home or seeing your job disappear. That boat in which you’ll be sailing in order to defeat the epidemic will not look the same to everyone nor is it actually the same for everyone: it never was"

Thanks Leg end. I foolishly attempted to voice my fears in the Covid forum. I read an article on The Guardian. It's on the app so I don't know how to link to it here. It was written by Francesca Melandri. These parts really stood out to me.

"The true nature of the people around you will be revealed with total clarity. You will have confirmations and surprises".

"You will be told that society is united in a communal effort, that you are all in the same boat. It will be true. This experience will change for good how you perceive yourself as an individual part of a larger whole.

Class, however, will make all the difference. Being locked up in a house with a pretty garden or in an overcrowded housing project will not be the same. Nor is being able to keep on working from home or seeing your job disappear. That boat in which you’ll be sailing in order to defeat the epidemic will not look the same to everyone nor is it actually the same for everyone: it never was"

Even your personality will determine how you cope, the more extreme introverts may thrive on the solitude, while extroverts will wither.

It's a long road ahead of us, at least we have phones and the internet. It's not the same but we can still keep in touch with others.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,748 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Same TA as already mentioned here, the panic buyers are back. Queues out the door at all supermarkets apparently. I haven't seen it myself. I'm one of the 1% of the population who didn't suddenly have to buy everything this morning. F*cking idiots.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,371 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Cali girl posted about toffee pops.
    I love toffee pops and I've none and I can't go to get some :(

• Registered Users Posts: 13,371 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Same TA as already mentioned here, the panic buyers are back. Queues out the door at all supermarkets apparently. I haven't seen it myself. I'm one of the 1% of the population who didn't suddenly have to buy everything this morning. F*cking idiots.
    The queues are because most shops are only letting a few people at a time in

Even your personality will determine how you cope, the more extreme introverts may thrive on the solitude, while extroverts will wither.

It's a long road ahead of us, at least we have phones and the internet. It's not the same but we can still keep in touch with others.

Perhaps although for someone, me, who loves being alone and dreams of a little house in the middle of nowhere, this is still proving a challenge.
    We humans are so damn complicated and yes praise be for the internet :)