Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Irish" tourists dump rubbish on NZ beach, threaten locals

• Registered Users Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

pah wrote: »
    Nobody cares

Ah don’t be lik that. It’s not nice.

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

You are assuming I’m working class? I’ve never said either way. Don’t let my handle here fool you.
    I’ve already stated why I think the plane story is unbelievable. If it turns out I’m wrong I’m big enough to hold my hands up. No denial here.

Yes I agree there are disproportionate levels of crime in the Traveler community and it’s not racist to assume this. It’s a fair comment.
    But it goes far beyond that around here and Tbh I haven’t the energy to go into the detail of why I think that because it’s been done to death.

Maybe I went a bit over the top calling people racist, but I genuinely believe there are distinct racist tendencies creeping into society and it’s very evident here.
    I’ve stated on boards before I have more a reason to bear a grudge against Travelers, but I’m determined not to let one (serious) incident cloud my judgement. Maybe I’m too soft, I don’t know.

Anyway apologies again for the name calling, probably best if I don’t post here again.

Fair play to you on that post, you're a better poster than I had you down as. We can all disagree without name-calling.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,898 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

I hear the travellers in New Zealand have a rugby team - the All Knacks

That is brilliant...doff of the hat to you sir...

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The surname is Curnow.

These are Romanichal English gypsy men.

Not the Irish variety.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,264 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

The surname is Curnow.

Not the Irish variety.

So nothing to do with us then. Thank god for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭ArrBee

NZ is being hailed hero's for their no tolerance approach but they have lots to improve on in their own country too . I lived there and have strong connections still back there and Auckland is one of the most racist cities in the world. I worked with CYF and I have witnessed some horrendous things and the police didn't always do what they could . NZ has one of the highest rates of child abuse in the developed world. NZ also has of the worst rates of child death by maltreatment within the family unit.

True, true.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,765 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

The surname is Curnow.

Not the Irish variety.

Nah, that's the name of the woman who took the first video.

• Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭ArrBee

The surname is Curnow.

Not the Irish variety.

I think that was the lady who approached them at the beach, no?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,264 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

The surname is Curnow.

Not the Irish variety.
    So nothing to do with us then. Thank god for that.
    Nah, that's the name of the woman who took the first video.
    ArrBee wrote: »
    I think that was the lady who approached them at the beach, no?

So much for that. False hope

Sorry my mistake.

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

The NZ people need to learn to be more like the Irish and look at their feet and pretend to not notice this kind of behaviour, then have a grumble about it afterwards.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,382 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Deport them to some rock off the coast of Antarctica.

El_Bee wrote: »
    The NZ people need to learn to be more like the Irish and look at their feet and pretend to not notice this kind of behaviour, then have a grumble about it afterwards.

Kiwis in general just aren't like that though, if they have a problem with you they will address it in a direct manner.

It's a different culture entirely to here.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

onrail wrote: »
    https://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=12190605

Auckland Mayor: "They're worse than Pigs and I'd like to see them out of our country"

Well said - Fair play to the man

Just imagine if an elected official said the same here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

1874 wrote: »
    probably moved on from Aus after their business model was discovered, new victims surely couldn't believe people would behave this way, they probably don't know how to deal with it at all, Id suggest they boot then out of the country, but I'd probably be slated for being racist against them somehow and their culture.

Same group??

https://www.couriermail.com.au/news/queensland/crime-and-justice/irish-group-wanted-over-more-alleged-scams/news-story/505ce5d5dd6fccb6a431e087953ee075

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

Please please please please please send them to the Philippines and they can meet President duarte

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Please please please please please send them to the Philippines and they can meet President duarte
    Funny, imagine them trying to explain their 'rights' to Duarte.

Why is anyone surprised that this is the behaviour of Travellers when they are abroad? They are allowed to get away with it in Ireland, so when they 'travel' outside the country they believe that their tradition of thievery, mayhem, and general scumbaggery will be accepted by their hosts.
    Question: Why are they allowed to get away with it in Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Wheres Me Jumper?

Gravelly wrote: »
    Won the title with Chelsea if memory serves.

definitely knackers so...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

CosmicJay wrote: »
    Paa Connors stole my mint 6 speed Raleigh back in 2008.

I want my bike back Paa. Paa give me back my bike.

topper75 wrote: »
    True Detective: Season 4, starring Brendan Gleeson and Colm Meaney.

And Margaret €ash as the Bike

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Registered Users Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

https://www.philippineslifestyle.com/rude-foreigners-deported-2018/

archer22 wrote: »

Jaysus they wouldn't make it out of the airport

• Registered Users Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

And if they did they wouldn't fare too well in the shops or McDonalds either..every one of them has a guard toting a Revolver or Shotgun there.

Lets go fund them a holiday in the Philippines tell them theres a **** load of roofin needs doing after the typhoon 😂🀣😂🀣😂🀣😂🀣😉

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

They wouldn't make it off the plane!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭tomoliver

have the travelers got worse since they got their new rights recently?

certainly seems to be the case

theres some pubs and town nearly closed off in spain too recently in the news

• Registered Users Posts: 25,765 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

ChikiChiki wrote: »

Pics look different, those women are skinnier and dark haired.

But I'd say that all Irish people can expect a harder time from Immigration in both Oz and NZ from now on, being asked to prove you've got adequate funds for the stay etc.

Ye all sound the same to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

Since they have their own ethnicity now i wouldnt be surprised if countries start rejecting travel visas because of this.

Don't you mean "traveller" visas...:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Oddly, air quotes are being used around the word Irish and/or Tourist in media outlets, don't bash the OP for that.

This, sadly, is getting a lot of traction locally, in NZ.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 193 ✭✭Sonic Youth

Pics look different, those women are skinnier and dark haired.

But I'd say that all Irish people can expect a harder time from Immigration in both Oz and NZ from now on, being asked to prove you've got adequate funds for the stay etc.

Ye all sound the same to them.

Good. The travellers and other low class Irish types should be kept out.

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭TCM

And there was me thinking you were going to make your points respectfully. But no. A vile racist you are. Sleep well.

Ah now, in fairness he has a point.