Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scumbags in city centre

• Registered Users Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

I'd hazard a guess and say wood quay

Could well be. I find those east of O'Connell Bridge (south quays) to be less confrontational.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

From merchants arch as far as the bond you'll always be asked if your scoring, even if you don't look any way like an addict

You obviously fancy yourself ;)

Many many years ago a young girl, talking pre-teen maybe, asked me did I want any Charlie. I did not know what that was. I said no any way...missed opportunities..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭paw patrol

No i wouldnt be weak minded, as for being a liberal you must be joking haha, complete opposite end of that spectrum, ive been stabbed before, in a situation where i could of and should of walked away. I tend to advise people to avoid conflict if they can.

tbh I was only joking. I'm sorry to hear what happened in the past.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

You obviously fancy yourself ;)

Many many years ago a young girl, talking pre-teen maybe, asked me did I want any Charlie...missed opportunities..

Jaysus!

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Ronaldinho

Jaysus!

I can top that. I was around 12 years old walking down Talbot St. going to get a bus back down the country. Some aul wan randomly tells me she has a daughter 'that could make me very happy'.

They were more innocent times and I genuinely hadn't a f*ing clue what she was on about :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭DS86DS

The boardwalk is littered with these pests. They are more intrusive and irritating than pigeons, and seem to breed at the same rate.

Though I did get a good laugh a while back when a junkie couple got into an argument on the boardwalk. Let's just call them Anto and Jacinta.

Anto and Jacinta decided to start shouting their heads off in front of a load of seated tourists whose facial expressions was halfway between embarrassment and silent hillarity. It must have been like a free trip to the zoo for many of them.......... the couples drug addled speech been as legible as that of a bunch of chimpanzees

Anyways, Jacinta got so angry that she grabbed Antos phone and flung it into the river and then barged off with Anto roaring "wha did ya bleedin do dat for".

It was great entertainment.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,223 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Omackeral wrote: »
    Yeah just the old acid attacks in London.

Eyy sorry to disappoint you,... but there was an acid attack in Dundalk a couple of days ago. I know not what anyone wants to hear.

• Registered Users Posts: 359 ✭✭tintin67

3 inbreds were upstairs on a bus earlier.....

You couldn't find 3 more absolutely simple people together with maybe 1 brain cell between them.

The girls were the worst going on about the husband's and kicking them out and Lisa a friend messed her around so she picked her up by her face and is kicking her there many times next time.

And these tools were given extra status and more protection then you and I .....

What the fcuk is wrong with Ends Kenny and his crony pals.

Ashamed of them really am.

I was on a bus just after Christmas with a gang of our ethnics who had apparently come up from Tipperary to attend the Funderland at the RDS. Feet on seats, banging on the windows, the f word in every sentence. There were a few well dressed German tourists sitting in front of them and I genuinely felt embarrassed to be from the same country.

Best bit was when one young ethnic lady in her 20s loudly said to mammy : "I hope there's no f*****g foreigners running these rides this year."

• Registered Users Posts: 415 ✭✭chosen1

Hammer89 wrote: »
    I do have a bit of sympathy and empathy for those we call 'scumbags'. That's what I label them as well, but scumbag-ish behaviour is usually a symptom of something else I imagine. If you were to take a quick glance into their background you'd see dysfunction, instability and in many cases violence, and they just never had a chance at anything decent.
    You sound perfect to be picked as a judge in our criminal courts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

If you read the the thread you will see the OP acknowledged quite early that it was WOOD QUAY, and still idiots ask what city hes talking about now correct me if im wrong but there is only one wood quay in Ireland.

There is a Wood Quay in Galway but it's full of pubs and restaurants.

I get the train to Dublin regularly and often used to walk up the quays to the city centre. Not anymore. Too many scumbags. Air of menace. Getting the Luas is safer but often see scumbags on that too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭paw patrol

Eyy sorry to disappoint you,... but there was an acid attack in Dundalk a couple of days ago. I know not what anyone wants to hear.

one attack. on his hand too.

hardly comparable to the multiple attacks in London leaving victims with serious life changing injuries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

I remember I was heading up Capel street and this out of his head on something junky looking lad came around a corner and said 'Don't scream' as he blocked my path. He could barely stand and it was about 6pm on a summers evening. I just dodged him and kept strolling he didn't even have the ability to spin around after me. That whole area is riddled.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I remember I was heading up Capel street and this out of his head on something junky looking lad came around a corner and said 'Don't scream' as he blocked my path. He could barely stand and it was about 6pm on a summers evening. I just dodged him and kept strolling he didn't even have the ability to spin around after me. That whole area is riddled.

But you didn't tell...... How big a scream did ya let out...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

If you read the the thread you will see the OP acknowledged quite early that it was WOOD QUAY, and still idiots ask what city hes talking about now correct me if im wrong but there is only one wood quay in Ireland.

Don't give a ****e what ya say the first post (read what i said) does not make it clear the OP is referring to dublin. Also someone else just said there is a wood quay in Galway so who's the idiot.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

Zipppy wrote: »
    Left work this eve in city centre to walk home. Walking along South quays I was met with 'You looking' 'You looking bud' by two scummers hanging about.
    I ignored and walked on..'Not first time I been asked that'..but this time I was met with 'Looking to get your head kicked in' and ' Looking to get fcu*in battered' etc probably cos I was ignoring them...
    So I know they're just scummers but surely folk should be able to walk home after work without being abused? Why can't they all not just be 'put down' or something...

In Seville this ****e never happens because the police would have you batoned or shot with rubber bullets. The Irish justice system is too soft and they know they can get away with It.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

In Seville this ****e never happens because the police would have you batoned or shot with rubber bullets. The Irish justice system is too soft and they know they can get away with It.

I've never been to Seville. What makes it different from other major Spanish cities that have similar problems to Dublin?

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭Robocop Corcoran

Don't give a ****e what ya say the first post (read what i said) does not make it clear the OP is referring to dublin. Also someone else just said there is a wood quay in Galway so who's the idiot.

You're the idiot, if we want talk about your little town we'll post in the regional forum. Dont be such a bitter culchie.

Wood quay on the south quays, doesn't take a genius to work out where it is, you could also of googled it instead of coming on here trying to make a petty point.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭irishproduce

The beauty of it is that the op is going to work each day to pay for these lads giving abuse.

You're the idiot, if we want talk about your little town we'll post in the regional forum. Dont be such a bitter culchie.

Wood quay on the south quays, doesn't take a genius to work out where it is, you could also of googled it instead of coming on here trying to make a petty point.

You're not really making much sense. You said there was only one wood quay in Ireland. I replied there is one in Galway. Large area full of pubs and restaurants.

There is also a wood quay in Ennis although I suspect you are too angry now to care.

You're not really making much sense. You said there was only one wood quay in Ireland. I replied there is one in Galway. Large area full of pubs and restaurants.

There is also a wood quay in Ennis although I suspect you are too angry now to care.

1. Ennis is not a city (poster stated city centre)
    2. Wood quay in Galway is not on the south quay.
    3. I said i was ok to be corrected if i was wrong
    4.Im not angry, im happy, bitter culchies make me laugh.

Process of elimination should lead people that aren't retarded to know where the OP is talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

The answer to this is sterilisation.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Process of elimination should lead people that aren't retarded to know where the OP is talking about.

Honestly if I was a dub i'd be embarrassed at the way your going on.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,315 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Welfare begets dirtbags begets welfare begets dirtbags.....

Honestly if I was a dub i'd be embarrassed at the way your going on.

Yeah ok, get out of here with your smileys, what age are you? 12? Embarrassing.

• Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭josephsoap

Zipppy wrote: »
    Left work this eve in city centre to walk home. Walking along South quays I was met with 'You looking' 'You looking bud' by two scummers hanging about.
    I ignored and walked on..'Not first time I been asked that'..but this time I was met with 'Looking to get your head kicked in' and ' Looking to get fcu*in battered' etc probably cos I was ignoring them...
    So I know they're just scummers but surely folk should be able to walk home after work without being abused? Why can't they all not just be 'put down' or something...

Is it best these days to just put your head down and don’t make any eye contact with these ‘civil chaps’ until you have passed them ?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

josephsoap wrote: »
    Is it best these days to just put your head down and don’t make any eye contact with these ‘civil chaps’ until you have passed them ?

Headphones help.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,839 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Headphones help.

Not good ones though or they'll snatch them right upside your head.

Consider yourself corrected then. You're welcome.

Btw Ennis is a city in Texas.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,320 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Pkiernan wrote: »
    Welfare begets dirtbags begets welfare begets dirtbags.....

Yes but it doesn't beget dirbags having free reign to wander around all of our capital city wherever they like.

The reason that happens is a matter of social policy that allows them to do so thanks to dirbag socialists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

For the new year could with have

1 scumbags thread
    1 traveller thread
    1 social welfare thread

I'm sure I'm missing at least 2 other topics

They could stickied at the top to keep it nice and tidy!