Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strokestown **Mod Note in Post #4461**

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭klaaaz

A certain billionaire who has a controlling interest in the media has had hundreds of millions written off in Ireland, not a wink of protest from the bank supporters about that yet they condemn the farmers over a much smaller debt!

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Apologies for finding your homonymic wordplay DULL and INGRATIATING.

Apology accepted, Lefty.

• Administrators Posts: 53,659 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

klaaaz wrote: »
    A certain billionaire who has a controlling interest in the media has had hundreds of millions written off in Ireland, not a wink of protest from the bank supporters about that yet they condemn the farmers over a much smaller debt!
    Here's klaaaz back to ignore all the facts and throw in some more irrelevant soundbites. Did you read that one on facebook too?

Were you defending Michael Lowry when he was defrauding the state of tax?

terrified elderly family who are in their final years

Ah jaysis they're on the death bed now!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

awec wrote: »
    Here's klaaaz back to ignore all the facts and throw in some more irrelevant soundbites. Did you read that one on facebook too?

Awec, I think its bedtime.

Do I have my family threatened? Like McCabe you mean? Take the work glasses off, your organisation is rotten to the core. Gladly debate you in real life if you wish.

Firstly, I'm not a Garda.
    Secondly, I'll decline your weirdo meet up invitation if that's ok.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

blanch152 wrote: »
    You will probably be whinging next week about the higher variable rates paid by Irish mortgage holders. Do you not realise that if banks cannot get their hands on the property of the defaulters, they have to charge everyone else more?

I don't see the need for for-profit usury at all. It's yet another function which should be performed on an entirely break-even, non-profit basis as a public service by a publicly owned organisation. Functions which are this important to the wellbeing of a society should be run with that as their primary objective. Once you run any sector which is vital to society's wellbeing with private profits
    as its first concern - see US healthcare, Irish housing, and the reasons people were so worried about Irish Water being privatised down the road - society's wellbeing takes a back seat to private profits, and society suffers as a result.

I have been on the record as feeling this way about private banking for at least the last fifteen years. It's an outdated mechanism for administering the monetary system and needs to be replaced with a public one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭0cp71eyxkb94qf

368100 wrote: »
    I agree.....but 14 years later you would have to assume that all the nice debt recovery processes were exhausted, particularly since CCMA came in force.....so its reasonable to think this was last resort. Not a single payment would say to me that tgey fully intended not to pay it when they took it out

I agree with you 100 percent. My position is always violence begets violence. If you have a pile of loyalist scum (assisted by our brave and glorious police force full of brave people) show up at your front doorstep dragging your mother or father out of the house and assaulting them who knows how you would react.

What im saying is that it could have been handled much better.

I'm very much in favour of a UK type system which in my opinion is a lot more fair to businesses and people. They have trained security firms who deal with this everyday and 90 percent of the evictions are non violent.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,463 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

mikeym wrote: »
    So people are ok with thugs from Northern Ireland physically assaulting people because theres a court order.

I just listened to a neighbour of the family say that one man was kicked to the ground and his teeth were knocked out.

But thats ok because they are law enforcers from Northern Ireland I dont care if they are loyalist or unionist. These people are scum.

These people hate everything Irish they hate our flag our language and our culture we are 2nd class citizens in the eyes of those Thugs.

So one man was kicked the ground and his teeth were knocked out?? Even if that is true, does that make it ok to go back and kill the dog, burn out several cars and put people in hospital?

The lengths people are going to to defend a vigilante mob out defending the rights of a major tax defaulter are staggering.

Do you accept the proposition that it'd be perfectly possible for an individual to despise and condemn Michael Lowry for his behaviour, while at the same time despising and condemning an organisation belonging to a corrupt sector of the economy which sought to remove him from his home on the basis of greed?

The enemy of one's enemy isn't necessarily one's friend.

I agree with you 100 percent. My position is always violence begets violence. If you have a pile of loyalist scum (assisted by our brave and glorious police force full of brave people) show up at your front doorstep dragging your mother or father out of the house and assaulting them who knows how you would react.

I'm very much in favour of a UK type system which in my opinion is a lot more fair to businesses and people. They have trained security firms who deal with this everyday and 90 percent of the evictions are non violent.

Violence begets more violence only from violent people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭0cp71eyxkb94qf

Omackeral wrote: »
    Firstly, I'm not a Garda.
    Secondly, I'll decline your weirdo meet up invitation if that's ok.

....and you call me a keyboard warrior. Smh.

blanch152 wrote: »
    So one man was kicked the ground and his teeth were knocked out?? Even if that is true, does that make it ok to go back and kill the dog, burn out several cars and put people in hospital?

I'd argue that yes, it does. Someone has to teach these f*ckers a lesson so they won't be back to try the same sh!te again. Of course, had the Gardai prevented them from assaulting anyone and dealt with the ones who did so in the first place, vigilantism wouldn't have been necessary.

Vigilantism arises when there is a disconnect between the justice the public expect from those representing them, and the justice which is actually administered. When that happens, it is the fault of the state for failing the people, not the people themselves.

Here's the thing.

If you are a person who:

- Complains about banking interest rates in Ireland
    - Complains about tax rates in Ireland
    - Thinks Ireland is failing to provide adequate services to it's citizens

But also supports someone who:

- Cheats the taxpayer out of almost half a million
    - Cheats a family business out of 18,000 euro
    - Fails to pay the mortgage
    - Amasses other debts of 40,000+

Then you're a fcuking idiot.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭klaaaz

It's good to state the facts that are conveniently buried by the FFG establishment and their media buddies. Lowry was FG and ex-FG now allegedly.
    There has been many of the wealthy elite who have had huge debts running into the hundreds of millions if not billions written off by the banks with the taxpayer having socialised the banks losses, where is the outrage at this from the bank supporters here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

Tensions brewing in the area again tonight.

The 'security firm' are back in the area... Reports saying they are stationed (blockading according to some reports) at either end of the through road where the home is situated, with up to 100 neighbours standing around the home in question. Pretty clear that these guys have no good business in this area in the dark of night, whatever the rights and wrongs of what's happened last week there is an obvious public order 'event' brewing and these lads should be moved on.

Long night ahead in Strokestown....

Reading on twitter there’s apparently 50 guards gathered in the town
    Surely ta fu€k that isn’t true?

Whatever side of the the fence people are on, how anyone can’t see it’s lunacy if they go back in tonight to back up an eviction tonight is beyond me.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,545 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

I don't see the need for for-profit usury at all. It's yet another function which should be performed on an entirely break-even, non-profit basis as a public service by a publicly owned organisation.

I have been on the record as feeling this way about private banking for at least the last fifteen years. It's an outdated mechanism for administering the monetary system and needs to be replaced with a public one.

This guy would get the exact same treatment from a public bank.

Remember, the revenue nailed him to a cross with 100% penalties before the bank moved in.

Do you think in the interest of social solidarity that revenue should let him off with the vat offences?

Maybe if they have him that money back he could sort the bank and keep his home and land.

Billcarson wrote: »
    So what absolute pony have I been talking?

The likes of this;
    Billcarson wrote: »
    There are people out there being brought to court for not paying a tv licence yet the bankers who helped destroy this country got away with what they did.

S do you think every other single criminal should be absolved because of rogue bankers? That's what your argument amounts to. ''But the bankers...''. Deal with the facts of this case. The 6 figure VAT, the unpaid loans, the fact KBC didn't wreck the country. Those type of things.

Do you accept the proposition that it'd be perfectly possible for an individual to despise and condemn Michael Lowry for his behaviour, while at the same time despising and condemning an organisation belonging to a corrupt sector of the economy which sought to remove him from his home on the basis of greed?

This guy owed a similar amount of tax to Lowry, in fact we don't even know if he paid it. As well as that, he has had several judgements against his property. He makes Lowry look like a legitimate businessman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭368100

Agreed....you would think KBC could have handled it a better way, at least employ an Irish crew to do it that have experience...but I understand that there aren't many willing to do the job and this crew is the only one willing to do it.

Also, for info to some of the other posts...KBC wasn't bailed out by Irish Taxpayer, it got support from it's Belgian parent. Only BOI, AIB and PTSB were bailed out by Irish Taxpayer. UB was supported by its parent Royal bank of scotland

Here's the thing.

If you are a person who:

Again, do you understand the basic concept that one doesn't have to actually support any side in a dispute in order to condemn unacceptable and morally reprehensible behaviour? Attacking the banks for doing what they do, private thugs for being thugs, and Gardai for failing to intervene during an assault, are not predicated on defending or supporting the individual who was being evicted.

To give you an analogy, you can believe that gangland criminals are total scumbags, and still also believe that someone who murders them is also a total scumbag. In fact, I think most people felt this way on the day of the Regency Hotel shooting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

Here's the thing.

If you are a person who:

Awec, you seem like someone who has difficulty with comprehension.

I would be happy to help explain the matters at hand if you wish.

Should you wish to continue in ignorance, then that's ok also.

I love the way it's all about the terrible security from the North, with their paramilitary links, heavy handedness etc etc.
    Unfortunately, there were people in the house, ready to fight the eviction long before the security showed up.

So, not really an issue with the nordies at all.

No.

This farmer, after being audited by Revenue, was found to have deliberately dodged paying €177,000 in VAT.

What is that, if not greed? What is that, if not corrupt?

What about the guy he owes €18,000 to? Is he supposed to just lump it?

This is not some random guy who has made a single mistake, he has debt of many kinds going back years. This is a guy deliberately playing the system.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

entirely different cultural attitude to rogue borrowers over there , apples and oranges .

....and you call me a keyboard warrior. Smh.

How does that even make sense? I don't want to accept your invitation to debate in real life. It's weird. It's odd.

368100 wrote: »
    Agreed....you would think KBC could have handled it a better way, at least employ an Irish crew to do it that have experience...but I understand that there aren't many willing to do the job and this crew is the only one willing to do it.

The reason there aren't many willing to do the job is the vigilante mob of 100 neighbours gathered to intimidate.

What do their families think of those thugs who killed the dog and burned out the cars.

It's good to state the facts that are conveniently buried by the FFG establishment and their media buddies. Lowry was FG and ex-FG now allegedly.
    There has been many of the wealthy elite who have had huge debts running into the hundreds of millions if not billions written off by the banks with the taxpayer having socialised the banks losses, where is the outrage at this from the bank supporters here?
    I'm sorry, are you asking where was the outrage when we bailed out the banks?

Were you living under a rock or something?

Where do you draw the line klaaaz? What debt should be paid back, and who gets away without having to pay anything in your utopian Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭pablo128

There's absolutely nothing stopping you from starting a thread about Lowry. In fact, send me a link to it and I'll be the first to condemn the man.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,224 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

The people defending the property owner are just as bad as the leaches who gouge the state for all they can.

These will be the same people decrying the homesless situation and housing crisis while on the same hand backing a property owner who owed the state (i.e. tax payer) over €400,000 and by the sounds of it never paid anything their loan.
    They also left lots of local business in the lurch. Why do people support these parasites?