Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda shoots dog in Longford

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Squatter wrote:
    And no need for a court trial either - Marcos has also considered all of the evidence, found the garda guilty and sentenced to ten years in jail!

How much compensation for the dag and I assume the lad that was shotted will be off work for several months. He'll need a few bob to, not forgetting Mrs Speilberg she is traumatized and I assume so is her unborn babba.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Wheres Me Jumper?

Has anyone pointed out that the Travellers shouldn't have been assaulting the driver in the van?

why do you insist on suppressing their culture!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

A couple of comments.

Garda should have had a clip on tie.

Pull out a gun, next natural step is pull the trigger.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Because if he was he wouldn't have been alone with his friend. He would have arrived with a squad car and uniformed officers. It's a civil dispute, the Gardai have no legal basis to get involved in this manner.

Gardaí often respond to calls alone.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

The Garda had no basis to be there in the first place. He was actibg of his own accord, not in his duties as a Gardai and as such should not have had his side arm to draw.

Again, how do you know?
    You can't just show up with your mate and use "I'm a gadra" to try and end disputes. That's not how the legal system works. Thankfully.

Telling someone "I'm a gadra" would just confuse them I'd imagine.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,164 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Gravelly wrote: »
    I did a couple of posts ago, but apparently they weren't assaulting him, they were merely discussing an invoice with him.

it certainly looks like they were about to assault the driver.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,045 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

The Guard should get a Medal.

Christ she is one loud woman too. Any reports of earthquake after she set off?

The Garda had no basis to be there in the first place. He was actibg of his own accord, not in his duties as a Gardai and as such should not have had his side arm to draw.

RTE news is carrying an article that contradicts your claim.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I honestly think we need to wait for more information and see what comes out of it, there’s a load of speculation going on but we don’t know what the craic is at all. Was there a dog? Was the cop actually on Garda business or was he some header who brought a gun along to a private civil dispute etc?

Too many what ifs really.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

RTE news is carrying an article that contradicts your claim.

RTE also saying it's a shotgun injury that gets yer man in the leg :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭cloudy90210

When a traveller sees a Garda, they have no respect for them. Let's be honest lads. Travellers are a law unto themselves. I'm sick of people tippy toeing around them. 9 times out of 10, travellers are knobs. Should round them up and let missionaries convert them to other religions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

FTA69 wrote: »
    I honestly think we need to wait for more information and see what comes out of it, there’s a load of speculation going on but we don’t know what the craic is at all. Was there a dog? Was the cop actually on Garda business or was he some header who brought a gun along to a private civil dispute etc?

Too many what ifs really.

Of course but this is after hours.
    We can save the serious discussion for a more appropriate forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭cloudy90210

tuxy wrote: »
    Of course but this is after hours.
    We can save the serious discussion for a more appropriate forum.

Where? The UN?

• Registered Users Posts: 592 ✭✭✭wotswattage

The vehicle wasn't taken, it was left with then for repair, and the repair bill was being disputed.

You can't just show up with your mate and use "I'm a gadra" to try and end disputes. That's not how the legal system works. Thankfully.

How do you know any of this?
    And what about the slash hook being used to dispute the repair bill?

Sky King wrote:
    RTE also saying it's a shotgun injury that gets yer man in the leg

So no more accurate than what the poster I responded to is using as his infallible source. I watched the one sided video. The guard still comes out of it in my opinion as having performed correctly. Facts at the moment are in short supply.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Where's the rest of the video? Always seem to be missing bits and pieces.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Dang recording in portrait mode should be ilegal in itself.

cursai wrote:
    Where's the rest of the video? Always seem to be missing bits and pieces.

Hopefully the people behind Tom the guard were also amatuer film makers like Mrs Speilberg.

Video should come with subtitles or better still dubbed

Well its all coming out in the wash now ,

Lets Call him the Sandy haired cultured gentleman had just been disarmed of a slash hook before the video was taken ( Hence the drawn weapon by the Guard )

The video was edited :eek::eek::eek::eek: so you don't see the dog , dog had attacked and bitten the Guard on the arm , dog was shot and bullet went through him and caught the cultured gentleman

The cultured family are well known to Gardai for a variety of reasons .............

Those damn Parisians again? I'm so sick of their shít.

Seriously though, if the story which is coming out now bears a line of truth, well then this guard has an utter shíte job. Poor doggie too.

Longford is a kip.
    apart from Luigi's it aint got much goin for it.

I hear your a racist now father......

Feckin greeks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭Squatter

Video should come with subtitles or better still dubbed

No. For me it provided a welcome insight into what makes the traveller culture distinctly different.

I assume that the video is among the teaching aids that will be used when - courtesy of Senator Collette Kelliher - traveller culture is added to the school curriculum.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/education/history-of-irish-traveller-community-to-be-added-to-school-curriculum-37361521.html

Longford is a kip.

Not the former travellers house just before the roundabout on n4 which was sold a few years back.....

It's nearly like the presidential house.....

• Registered Users Posts: 40,164 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Not the former travellers house just before the roundabout on n4 which was sold a few years back.....

and yet they still lived in a caravan at the side of the house.

She should have been shot......
    1. For portrait mode
    2. For portrait mode
    3. For portrait mode
    4. The screaming
    5. Pulling at the Garda.

That would be 5 bullets that are in no way wasted.

the rumour is that house was when built everything was got on tick, but they then refused to pay for anything. told the builders merchants to feck off.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

While the video looks bad, it's worth noting that it would be inadmissible in court. It's not possible to verify that it's complete and hasn't been tampered with.

In court, it would be the eyewitness accounts of the Garda & the van driver against those of the man and his wife.

i saw a good looking woman in Longford once...
    she was from Africa.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Has nobody else pointed out that the Gardai shouldn't have been there?
    He wasn't on official business, he should not have had a gun to draw. He was there to "help a mate" who was in dispute with the person shot over a repair bill. There are legal routes available to the winner of the van if the feels he is being over charged or taken advantage of.
    Imagine if a Gardai showed up to a ford dealers because their mate was in dispute of the bill and pulled a gun when they refused to let him.drive away in the van?

The usual right wing booklickers in here jumping to idiocy like "more Gardai shooting people would be a good thing" with their fake support for the "rule of law" being used like a bikini of a fat bird trying to cover their blatant bigotry.

The Gardai should be imprisoned.

Don't let the truth get in the way of a good story , he was there on official business helping a member of the public whom had been attacked , surprised the slash hook wasn't shown in the video actually ..............