Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda shoots dog in Longford

• Registered Users Posts: 24,553 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Hurrache wrote: »
    Longford is a big county, and not everyone in the county speak with the same accent. You'd know that of course because of your mates from there.

Apart from the fact that Longford isn't a big county, there's a difference between a Longford accent and a traveller accent.

Fwiw, only 3 of 32 counties smaller than Longford.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Travellers Lives Matters

• Registered Users Posts: 24,271 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

GBX wrote: »
    There is transcript of a chat doing the rounds on Whatsapp: Anyway Johnjoe or whoever was disarmed of a hook beforehand. Which was why the Gda had his gun drawn.
    Fair enough if you ask me.

hooks and attack dogs

yeah - that's run of the mill paraphernalia when knocking about minding your own business alright

these lads need the same attention as our violent drug gangs get - won't happen though

• Registered Users Posts: 40,153 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

tuxy wrote: »
    But sending a lone garda even if he was a detective seems highly unusual.
    The discharge of his weapon seems justified but there will be questions asked on why he approached the situation on his own.

The guy in the van looked like he was about to get a digging.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

I heard that as well and was a bit confused. Dont see any shotgun in the Vid. Other stories say he was hit with a ricochet so it could just be bad terminology.

They probably meant "gunshot".

• Registered Users Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Quite often it is settled people who go onto halting sites and attack the Gardai with a dog.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Paulzx

lertsnim wrote: »
    Travellers Lives Matters

I think you meant "Travellers Dags Lives Matter"

Lets start a twitter campaign

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

The guy in the van looked like he was about to get a digging.

If the man had called the local station more than one garda would have shown up.

They probably meant "gunshot".

That is quite possible. You cant depend on the news for anything accurate in relation to firearms.

dan1895 wrote: »
    Quite often it is settled people who go onto halting sites and attack the Gardai with a dog.

After they've dumped their rubbish all over the halting site of course:)

If the man had called the local station more than one garda would have shown up.

Perhaps the detective was nearer. There is a lot we dont know here. I dont think we should be too hard on a guard who tried to protect a member of the public.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,903 ✭✭✭✭GBX

cursai wrote: »
    Would you be able to share the text?
    Effects wrote: »
    It'll only be an interpretation anyway, and probably not that accurate.

I'm not sharing it as it contains names (who may or may not be Gda) but as I said the Gda disarmed him of the slashook which is why he had the gun out. The reason he was there was to get back a car/van . They had set the dog on him which is when things turned as they did.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,271 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

grand

either way - with or without a dog - can't see much issue with that guard's response

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

dan1895 wrote: »
    never gets old

GBX wrote: »
    I'm not sharing it as it contains names (who may or may not be Gda) but as I said the Gda disarmed him of the slashook which is why he had the gun out. The reason he was there was to get back a car/van . They had set the dog on him which is when things turned as they did.

FFS!!..... Slashook? Must have been on his way home from a funeral

• Registered Users Posts: 4,478 ✭✭✭harr

The lad shot definitely seems to be holding something at the start of video as he seems to only have one hand free to have a swing at van driver.
    If he does have a dog and grabs the tie and pulls the guards head down towards the dog then no option but to shoot.
    Even if no dog garbing the tie only leaves the guard with one hand to defend himself and he can count himself lucky he only got it in the foot.
    Of course the video is edited enough not to show full story of why the detective had his gun drawn .. only logical reason would be if other man was armed or he had threatened to set the German shepherd on him.
    Scary situation to be on your own wor back up probably miles away...
    Them being on first names terms with the detective says a lot to be honest...

• Registered Users Posts: 591 ✭✭✭mike_cork

Broadsheet.ie have this up
    https://www.broadsheet.ie/2018/12/04/meanwhile-in-longford-8/?fbclid=IwAR0eM4TYuPfsUo84-kNhA13ojCEXPIhYkqnLvZnYxZxbmkk3EcYA-QyO1sw

"Shortly before 6pm, A garda in Edgeworthstown in Longford allegedly helping a friend remove a van that the repairs on it hadn’t been paid for…When the man who repaired it tried to stop the van from being taken, the garda, shoving the man and his wife and when his tie was grabbed, raised a pistol and shot the man having already allegedly shot and killed his dog…"

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,308 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Paulzx wrote: »
    FFS!!..... Slashook? Must have been on his way home from a funeral

No need to jump to conclusions like that
    Could easily have been a wedding

• Registered Users Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

mike_cork wrote: »
    https://www.broadsheet.ie/2018/12/04/meanwhile-in-longford-8/?fbclid=IwAR0eM4TYuPfsUo84-kNhA13ojCEXPIhYkqnLvZnYxZxbmkk3EcYA-QyO1sw

"Shortly before 6pm, A garda in Edgeworthstown in Longford allegedly helping a friend remove a van that the repairs on it hadn’t been paid for…When the man who repaired it tried to stop the van from being taken, the garda, shoving the man and his wife and when his tie was grabbed, raised a pistol and shot the man having already allegedly shot and killed his dog…"

That statement doesn't seem to make a lot of sense, and the guy posting it isn't exactly what you'd call impartial.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

The Master wrote: »
    No need to jump to conclusions like that
    Could easily have been a wedding

Or a christening.

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭thegetawaycar

Fair play to the guard. He was quite restrained at the start. We miss the reason that the woman screaming is claiming she is pressing charges?

If a guard has a weapon drawn and you insist on being abusive and aggressive especially physically, then getting shot in the leg should be the standard approach. The guard has 1 hand on a gun, if you then engage him expect to be shot.

In normal places, the police pull their guns and you cooperate, try that **** in Spain, France, US and see what happens. These ****ing low lives have no respect and a few more instances like this might help instill some.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

mike_cork wrote: »

If that is how it actually played out and is not based on stories and assumptions, the Garda may find himself in a lot of trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭hurler32

Every Day travellers are in the news .. Drogheda , Mullingar , Ennis ... Longford in this case , how much Garda resources etc are tied up trying to deal with their criminality ???
    Fine Gael and Sinn Fein seem to love travellers , what party is prepared to tackle Travellet Crime ??

Hurrache wrote: »
    If that is how it actually played out and is not based on stories and assumptions, the Garda may find himself in a lot of trouble.

why? it seems to leave out a lot we have heard elsewhere. like the presence of a slash hook.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

But sending a lone garda even if he was a detective seems highly unusual.
    The discharge of his weapon seems justified but there will be questions asked on why he approached the situation on his own.

We don't know he was on his own. The camerawork was a little one sided

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Hurrache wrote:

The guard won't be in trouble he can be clearly heard on camera telling the traveller to get his dog to let him go. He gave a warning it was ignored and his safety was compromised he had no choice but to protect himself. You also ignore the fact the traveller has hold of his tie before the warning and then the shot. What you quoted makes no sense whatsoever. Did you even read it first?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

why? it seems to leave out a lot we have heard elsewhere. like the presence of a slash hook.

Because there was no slash hook mentioned in that story, story I was specifically commenting on.

And even if there was, he's alleged to have been there unofficially helping a friend.

But like every time such a story happens, it's enveloped in Chinese whispers, hearsay and rumours. And most people then make their assumptions as facts based on this.
    The guard won't be in trouble he can be clearly heard on camera telling the traveller to get his dog to let him go. He gave a warning it was ignored and his safety was compromised he had no choice but to protect himself. You also ignore the fact the traveller has hold of his tie before the warning and then the shot. What you quoted makes no sense whatsoever. Did you even read it first?

See above, it's pretty simple. I'll make it even easier for you
    allegedly helping a friend

• Registered Users Posts: 669 ✭✭✭idnkph

Few issues with this.
    The cop didn't have a batton or pepper spray? Surely this is a first line of defence? I wonder had he called for back up before hand?!
    Why was the cop wearing a tie? If your in a dangerous job that can become physical with violent people why oh why wear a tie? Any doorman would never wear as tie because of the dangerous nature of their job so why should a cop wear one that's not a clip on?
    There is no dagg to be seen attacking him and holding onto his tie as someone said. You can clearly see it's the cream cracker holding onto his tie giving him an advantage with physical control.
    The cop made so many mistakes in that short bit of a clip we seen so how many more has he made from the start of the situation?!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭minikin

If your actions cause a Garda to unholster his firearm then you are 100% responsible for who or what ends up with lead in them.

idnkph wrote: »
    Few issues with this.
    The cop didn't have a batton or pepper spray? Surely this is a first line of defence? I wonder had he called for back up before hand?!
    Why was the cop wearing a tie? If your in a dangerous job that can become physical with violent people why oh why wear a tie? Any doorman would never wear as tie because of the dangerous nature of their job so why should a cop wear one that's not a clip on?
    There is no dagg to be seen attacking him and holding onto his tie as someone said. You can clearly see it's the cream cracker holding onto his tie giving him an advantage with physical control.
    The cop made so many mistakes in that short bit of a clip we seen so how many more has he made from the start of the situation?!

what use is a baton against a slash hook?