Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda shoots dog in Longford

• Registered Users Posts: 9,502 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

archer22 wrote: »
    Are you the other yokes brother?

You guys are making statements and I am asking you for evidence...but you just twist and turn, insult and prevaricate...but no reliable evidence ever!!

There will be no verified evidence until the results from the investigation are released. In the mean time we can all look at the video of a travellers dog being shot and enjoy the weak efforts of people trolling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

There will be no verified evidence until the results from the investigation are released. In the mean time we can all look at the video of a travellers dog being shot and enjoy the weak efforts of people trolling

I'd say it's more of an attempt to try and get people banned or close the thread. You'd have to wonder why though?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,035 ✭✭✭✭Esel

I'm agnostic about dog at this stage...

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Mattser should be along soon....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Woof woof! BANG!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

so nobody has any real facts, all still just AH bull**** and conjecture again.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,432 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Remember, even imaginary dogs are not just for Christmas.

According to a podge and rodge bumper sticker I saw once, they'll keep for up to 6 months in the freezer.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,379 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Does it matter if the dog was there, if it was not the dog pulling the the, it would have been the man, either way it would have justified shooting. Given the nature of the family involved and the situation, shooting into the chest would have been appropriate.

Dog or no dog, using the weapon in a lethal manner was justifiable.

Facebook have their work cut out removing posts about the Garda.

I wonder would they get free legal aid in their case against the Gardai?

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/facebook-takes-down-posts-about-garda-in-longford-shooting-1.3721574

“Facebook takes down posts about garda in Longford shooting
    Online threats were made against detective but gardaí said he was not under armed protection

Conor Gallagher Crime Correspondent
    Updated: Wed, Dec 5, 2018, 20:16

A detective involved in a confrontation in Longford on Monday during which a man was shot has received threats online but is not under armed protection, senior garda sources say.

Details of the detective sergeant, including his home address, have been shared widely in the local community and online since Monday night’s incident, which was partly caught on video.

However, despite widespread reporting otherwise, the man is not under armed protection, senior gardaí said. “He is receiving all the welfare supports that would be usual in this situation but there is no armed protection,” a source said.

Facebook has been removing posts which shared personal details of the garda, including a photograph of the garda and his family. The detective has been a garda for over 20 years and was recently approved for promotion to inspector.

The man shot in the incident, a 28 year old father of two, remained in hospital on Wednesday receiving treatment for a non-life threatening bullet wound to his foot.

An Alsatian dog was also injured during the incident but gardaí have yet to locate it.

It is understood the injured man and his wife have taken on legal representation and intend to pursue a case against An Garda Síochána.

The detective had attended the scene at Ferriskill, between Granard and Edgeworthstown, shortly before 5pm following a dispute between members of the family and a Cork man over a truck.

The video of Monday’s incident, which appears to have been taken by the man’s wife, shows the plain-clothes garda in a confrontation with the male. The male appears to be trying to keep the door of a vehicle open while the occupant of the truck and the garda attempt to close it.

At one stage, the male lunges at the occupant of the truck causing him to recoil. The garda is then pulled downwards by his tie, but it is not clear who is pulling the tie. The garda can heard saying “get her to let go”.

At this point, he fires his weapon and the woman taking the video starts screaming and saying “You’ve shot my husband.””

• Registered Users Posts: 9,761 ✭✭✭Effects

It came out of a dog so it's probably a dogs blood. I'm not a scientist though.

Clearly you're not a scientist.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,156 ✭✭✭✭blade1

cursai wrote: »
    Woof woof! BANG!!!

Gun dog.

cursai wrote: »
    Woof woof! BANG!!!

Doggone.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Doggone.

Dog is knackered.

• Registered Users Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Joe Don Dante

both the dog and the Itinerant should have been shot in the Penis so the breeding would stop

• Registered Users Posts: 21,149 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Did you not know certain ethnic groups have an allergy to latex?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

What do you mean, Ash?

Lugh

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Do ye think the Gardai will use cadaver dogs to find where Fido Stokes is buried?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 738 ✭✭✭at9qu5vp0wcix7

From a purely functional point of view, the use of a tie in any police uniform is not a good idea. There are tons of videos online showing how a tie can be used against you in a fight.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,149 ✭✭✭✭Water John

You could well be correct but the Garda in question has to go by the present operational procedures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Water John wrote: »
    You could well be correct but the Garda in question has to go by the present operational procedures.

Exactly, while the standard garda uniform has been modernised the investigator/detective dress code has not been updated.

The longford leader seems to get one or two stories out of the Stokes every week. This is what happened to the grave of Martin Nevin(daughter married to a Stokes). Cant' link becuase of pay wall

112ca6a027fc9ab4514909dc9e2b2334.jpg

Now would would have a grudge against this lovely family.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

tuxy wrote: »
    The longford leader seems to get one or two stories out of the Stokes every week. This is what happened to the grave of Martin Nevin(daughter married to a Stokes). Cant' link becuase of pay wall

Now would would have a grudge against this lovely family.......

Wouldnt be Sylvia would it?

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/eight-face-court-after-undercover-garda-drug-sting-37033601.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Mother of god, googling 'Longford and Stokes' shows the locals' lives are enjoying significant cultural enrichment....

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/man-fighting-life-after-being-11938911.amp

Can see why now why the cop had his gat and popped a cap

Could be the same person for all we know, they all have a number of names and nicknames.

And yes it looks like the people of that area of Longford are living in fear. I would be if such a small community had such a large gang presence.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

Slightly ominous appeal that I thought. Re-assuringly she mentions the grave desecration is not 'feud related' (how does she know ??) she then asks anyone with information to 'make contact' and 'Please help us to find who did this'. No mention of the Guards at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,754 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Mother of god, googling 'Longford and Stokes' shows the locals' lives are enjoying significant cultural enrichment....

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/man-fighting-life-after-being-11938911.amp

Can see why now why the cop had his gat and popped a cap

Great way to honour your dead, head out on to the road and kick 7 shades out of each other.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭von Smallhausen

tuxy wrote: »
    Could be the same person for all we know, they all have a number of names and nicknames.

And yes it looks like the people of that area of Longford are living in fear. I would be if such a small community had such a large gang presence.
    The intimidation factor is stupidly out of proportion in some estates where some of them are.
    Some of the areas, would make you think twice about moving there.
    I even had one or two of them sniff around looking to do the driveway, looking for sponsorship's and strangely collecting for the ISPCA...all swiftly told to take a long walk off a short pier.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,754 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Danny_B wrote: »
    collecting for the ISPCA

:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭pablo128

:D:D:D

Traveller kids were forever going around Fettercairn with sponsorship forms printed out looking for money. And I'm talking little children who couldn't possibly be able to use a printer. So who was sending them out?