Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda shoots dog in Longford

• Registered Users Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

baldbear wrote: »
    There is no dog! Thats the thing.

Who are you hoping to convince? Anyone who has watched and listened to the posted video can tell there was very likely a dog there. If there wasn't then why did he shoot the man in the leg and not the chest as he is trained? What was the man holding in his right hand at the start of the video if not a dog's collar? Why was he saying "watch out watch out"? Why did the Garda say "tell him to let go of me"? Why did he shoot downwards? Why have witnesses backed up the account of the dog? Why have witnesses said a dog was shot?

Even if you are right and it wasn't a dog that had hold of the Garda's tie then it was the man who had hold of the Gardas tie and pull him to the ground and the Garda did what he had to do to prevent that with minimal injury to his attacker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

yew_tree wrote:
    No Officer armed or otherwise should have to deal with scum alone. Imagine the result in the same situation in the US....the amount of time and resources these thugs take up is unreal and none of them pay tax...ethnic status indeed.

In the US I can tell you it wouldn't be the dog that would have got the bullet and it wouldn't be just one bullet.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,501 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Between the ever vocal anti Garda crowd and the ever downtrodden traveller representatives, this detective is on for a scalding no matter what now.

I think he acted right, and if there was a dog and slash hook as being reported then I support him even further.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Guy about the no barking on video. Can't attack dogs be trained to only bark on command?
    The ARU was needed for the same family as they own many trained attack dogs. If you spend enough time training a dog I'm sure you can prevent it from barking while still doing it's job of attacking.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,209 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

tuxy wrote: »
    Guy about the no barking on video. Can't attack dogs be trained to only bark on command?
    The ARU was needed for the same family as they own many trained attack dogs. If you spend enough time training a dog I'm sure you can prevent it from barking will still doing it's job of attacking.

TBH you probably wouldn't hear it anyway over the screeching of yer wan.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

The ARU was needed for the same family as they own many trained attack dogs. If you spend enough time training a dog I'm sure you can prevent it from barking while still doing it's job of attacking.

I believe some criminals in the UK are known to cut the vocal cords of dogs protecting their homes so that an intruder won't hear the dog until it's too late.
    Not necessarily saying this is the case here, but it's a possibility I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,610 ✭✭✭Feisar

But what would John Connors do?

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 530 ✭✭✭yew_tree

In the US I can tell you it wouldn't be the dog that would have got the bullet and it wouldn't be just one bullet.

Exactly...lay your hands on a US cop and your committing suicide. I think recent scandals have Garda support at its lowest ever but I think most will support them in what they have to deal with in situations like this.

The problem I see here in rural Ireland is an overkill in checkpoints catching people who may be over the limit in the morning, coming from mass, weddings, football games etc....meanwhile when there are boy racers, fights in town and actual burglaries the cops aren’t around or so quick to act.

Gravelly wrote: »
    I believe some criminals in the UK are known to cut the vocal cords of dogs protecting their homes so that an intruder won't hear the dog until it's too late.
    Not necessarily saying this is the case here, but it's a possibility I suppose.

Debarking, never head of it before and now wish I didn't know about as I do have a soft spot for dogs.
    Probably not the case here though as I said it's not too difficult to prevent barking with the right training.

Feisar wrote:

Call the guard racist because the dag was German?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

Debarking, never head of it before and now wish I didn't know about as I do have a soft spot for dogs.
    Probably not the case here though as I said it's not too difficult to prevent barking with the right training.

Would be some trainer who could train a Dog not to bark when he gets shot :rolleyes:

archer22 wrote:
    Would be some trainer who could train a Dog not to bark when he gets shot

Bullet in the head can seriously hamper the ability to bark.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,405 ✭✭✭XsApollo

We need more of this.
    Only people that worry about this type of reaction are people that deserve this type of reaction.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

_Brian wrote: »
    Between the ever vocal anti Garda crowd and the ever downtrodden traveller representatives, this detective is on for a scalding no matter what now.

I think he acted right, and if there was a dog and slash hook as being reported then I support him even further.

The lad who got shot is lucky to be alive, what the hell did he expect to happen attacking an armed garda who was telling him to back off??!!

Bullet in the head can seriously hamper the ability to bark.

Ability to run as well...and there is no dead Dog in front of the shooter in that video.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭billie1b

BBFAN wrote: »
    He's on his own. Have you ever called the Gardaí in your life? Not a chance an armed detective would arrive if you called and said you were being assaulted.

Not a chance in hell. It has been said that rumour has it he was a friend of the person who owns the fan which seems a much more likely story wouldn't you agree?

Btw, I might add I have direct experience of ringing the Gardaí whilst being assaulted and NO-ONE arrived. You know why? Because they didn't have a car with 2 Gardaí in it available.

My house was broken into before and a lone detective armed with his gun arrived to take statements etc etc, it does happen, also from 7am to 7pm Garda are allowed perform their duties by themselves, as in one person in the car to respond to calls, from 7pm to 7am it has to be at least two Gardai together. Seen as this incident happened around 5pm it was seen as perfectly normal for one detective to respond to it by himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭baldbear

So again when the garda is aiming low and saying "I'll but a bullet in it's head" he is talking about what? A dwarf?
    The video has been edited to not show a dog yet everyone in the video is acting like there is a dog there.
    Is the traveller holding back and trying to control a dwarf also?

Yes Exactly he is called the dwarf slash hook Stokes. He is well known.

archer22 wrote:
    Ability to run as well...and there is no dead Dog in front of the shooter in that video.

Do you think it's possible that somebody may have removed the dag? Also the video never goes below waist height so what's on the ground is not visible, as mentioned multiple times on this thread plus don't be forgetting the obvious editing of same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Feisar wrote: »

Think of the childers?

Do you think it's possible that somebody may have removed the dag? Also the video never goes below waist height so what's on the ground is not visible, as mentioned multiple times on this thread plus don't be forgetting the obvious editing of same.

The video does go below waist height immediately after the shot when camera operator apparently steps back

Feisar wrote: »

Put in another terrible acting performance that gets praised as the next Marlon Brando by all the D4 luvvies?

Think of the childers?

The pregnant woman was really thinking of the childer when she got involved in trying to steal the van.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

archer22 wrote: »
    If the dog got shot in the head, the bullet wouldn't have made it to the guy's foot. He most likely caught the dog in neck or upper body.

In any case, a head shot isn't always instantly fatal, no reason why the dog wouldn't have bolted. If it ran 5 metres in any direction and collapsed, it would be out of camera shot.

archer22 wrote:
    The video does go below waist height immediately after the shot when camera operator apparently steps back

You need to look again the video goes to her injured husband's foot where he's gone from being on her left to her left. No footage of the group near the van where the dog was .

seamus wrote:
    If the dog got shot in the head, the bullet wouldn't have made it to the guy's foot. He most likely caught the dog in neck or upper body.

A 9 mm fired from close up can exist a skull, it depends on where the bullet enters and skull thickness.

You need to look again the video goes to her injured husband's foot where he's gone from being on her left to her left. No footage of the group near the van where the dog was .

Presumably when the husband sues for his foot injury, he'll have been the next Usain Bolt who's guaranteed gold in the Olympics was cruelly snatched from him by the actions of the Garda.

I don't know folks its impossible to know what exactly happened...GSOC are the only people who can now unravel the mystery of it all.

True there are bits missing and I hope the truth whatever it may be comes to light after a full investigation.

But do you think the Garda is talking to a dwarf or a dog when he aims low and say "I'm put a bullet in it's head, get him to let go of me"

Also is it a dwarf or dog the traveller is holding back earlier in the video?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,209 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

nobody here can say exactly what happened. But there is enough evidence in what we can see to suggest there was a dog present. If there was no dog present then parts of the video make no sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭Raheem Euro

Gravelly wrote: »
    Presumably when the husband sues for his foot injury, he'll have been the next Usain Bolt who's guaranteed gold in the Olympics was cruelly snatched from him by the actions of the Garda.

He won't be able to successfully sue for injuries he received in the course of a robbery. Liability is all on his side. If he had any legally held assets or income he would have ended up paying for the truck owner's and garda's PTS.