Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Formula 1 2019 - General Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 4,046 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

In the hypothetical scenario where LeClerc prevails over both his 4 time champion team mate and LH to win the title - I'd fυcking love to see that documented on Netflix!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,087 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

I agree, it was good to focus on the "lesser known" teams and drivers. It shows that there's a world going on beyond just four drivers.

Would've liked more Kimi in Ferrari though, to see how he operated and interacted with his team.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

OSI wrote: »
    Mick has a F3 title to his name, and finished in the points in both the feature and spring F2 races in his debut weekend. It's far too early to judge him, but it's ridiculous to say he's there on name alone.

Bottas going from GP3 champion straight to F1 didn’t do him any harm...

• Registered Users Posts: 39,441 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I didn't know where else to put this video and didn't want to start a new thread so I'll put it here. It's colour footage of the race in Monaco in 1962 in superb quality. It shows the circuit which is different in safety barriers being non existent(different times I know) and the layout is different to the way it is now past where the tunnel is now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

Jolyon Palmer is the last one who can criticise anyone. He seems to have a short memory on how long his own F1 career lasted. Fine Vettel is spinning more than most but he's still in F1 and took victories in 3 different teams while Palmer struggled to score points with 1.

https://www.bbc.com/sport/formula1/47807590

• Registered Users Posts: 14,614 ✭✭✭✭skipper_G

Jolyon Palmer is the last one who can criticise anyone. He seems to have a short memory on how long his own F1 career lasted. Fine Vettel is spinning more than most but he's still in F1 and took victories in 3 different teams while Palmer struggled to score points with 1.

I'm not trying to defend Palmer, but while his F1 record wasn't great at least he made it to F1. Are you suggesting for a pundit's opinion to be valid they have to meet a certain performance criteria? Should you not judge it on the content rather than the career of the guy who wrote it?

In context, Palmer isn't wrong. Vettel is supremely talented, but is prone to errors. In Bahrain, Hamilton applied the pressure and Vettel duly made an error.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Ah, you can say that but he was a formula 1 driver and knows about what it's like to be a long way from the front of the grid. He was an elite driver - albeit at the back of the grid and helped by his father's money. He's in a great place to analyse and he's pretty self depreciating a out his own f1 career.

I would agree that he is a bit sensationalist though. Hams it up a bit.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Martin Brundle and David Coulthard aren't exactly World Champions either.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,264 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

In my opinion, Brundle was world class.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭donspeekinglesh

flazio wrote: »
    Martin Brundle and David Coulthard aren't exactly World Champions either.

Brundle was, just not in F1.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Close the thread, none of us has won in F1 so we can't critise any driver

Thought Palmers summery was spot on

Brundle was, just not in F1.

Ah, Palmer was GP2 world champion. So he's an elite driver he just wasn't very successful at f1.

His analysis is decent when he doesn't go over the top and he often says things that other commentators are reluctant to say.

GP2 isn't a World Championship.

I haven't read much of Palmer's stuff online, but I do enjoy the 5Live post race podcast. He does seem to be good addition to to their coverage.

Coulthard won multiple races and finished 2nd in the 2001 championship. He also got Red Bull's first podium. He was a good driver, but I don't think he was ruthless enough.

Brundle, while never winning an F1 race, drove for top teams with top drivers so has some insight there. He's also kept up with the tech side of things and has driven modern formula 1 cars.

GP2 isn't a World Championship.

I haven't read much of Palmer's stuff online, but I do enjoy the 5Live post race podcast. He does seem to be good addition to to their coverage.

Ah, I think it is a world championship by any normal definition. I don't think it's relevant either way. He's in the elite category and his analysis is good.

If someone wants to criticise him, his driving credentials aren't the way to go.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

While I agree with Palmer that Vettel has been error prone of late I don't necessarily agree with how he delivered the piece or his writing at all. He constantly seems to go for the kill if you wish, belittling to try drum up his views. Calling it amateurish that would result in him being a laughing stock if he was in a lower team, don't really agree with that. It's not his first time too, he's had pops at a lot of drivers both during his career and in his articles. He tends to try compliment them too in a way to lower the harsh assessments. Like when he praised Ocon before he tore into him for a "brainless decision" to unlap himself and how he would affect the harmony of a team.

I get it can be entertaining but why I can't get on board is because he was someone who had to deal with a lot of criticisms of his own driving and he wasn't a fan of it. Some cagey exchanges with the media who he felt were unfair or just constant with their criticisms and questioning. Now he's in their seat and doing the exact same thing he was unhappy with.

Maybe I'm bias as I'm not a fan of Palmer but he seems to be turning into the very thing he used to complain about.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,185 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Tbf Chandhok was hardly a good driver but I enjoy his analysis. Some good drivers could be awful pundits and some bad drivers could be great pundits.

Plenty of drivers have been mentioned/praised for the level of feedback they can provide a team regardless of pace. Luca Badoer stayed at Ferrari for a decade due to his quality of feedback. Iirc Renault welcomed Sirotkin back again highlighting the quality feedback he provides.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,506 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

Rossi IRL wrote: »
    Close the thread, none of us has won in F1 so we can't critise any driver

Thought Palmers summery was spot on

speak for yourself.
    i won the world chapionship 3 time in that year

• Registered Users Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

speak for yourself.

I knew I recognised the name!

Had a few decent seasons myself, was later on though.

5108FHYWDML._SX342_.jpg

The 97 game was my first foray into Playstation F1; I remember the 1999 version being really difficult.

I had the 2010 Xbox game but I never did career mode, I just raced the odd tracks here and there for fun.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,288 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

https://twitter.com/F1/status/1115333992000049152

Serious nostalgia here. Love it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Murray Walker interview

https://youtu.be/zGjqCoYNTbg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,027 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

speak for yourself.
    Adamocovic wrote: »
    I knew I recognised the name!

Had a few decent seasons myself, was later on though.

Amateurs.

6 World Championship, led Tyrrell to their first WCC since 1971, gave Ferrari their first WDC since 1979, beat Senna and Mansell as team mates, over 60 race victories, 100+ pole positions.

1451692878-6960-306.jpg
    :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

^ Great game. Based on the '91 season and Jordan was my favourite team with A de Cesaris and B Gachot as their drivers.

Jordan 199 wrote: »
    ^ Great game. Based on the '91 season and Jordan was my favourite team with A de Cesaris and B Gachot as their drivers.

Most of my after-school afternoons were spent on that game (while I should've been studying!), with my trusty 486DX/33. I've recently gotten back into it on the Amiga 500, it was an astounding game for that platform. It's still got a following - you can find editors, season updates et all!

It also was, like the entirety of the Grand Prix series, a near perfect balance between accessibility and depth - incredibly easy to pick up and play, extremely deep to master; It catered well to all players: it allowed little kids to play with almost everything automated, it was easy to "pick up and play" if you had limited time and just wanted to race, but it also offered a lot to "chew on" if you were a teenage F1 enthusiast with unlimited free time :p

Never managed to get as involved in any other F1 game, certainly not the recent F1 201x series - which is way too steep in its time/investment demands.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,843 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I'd love to see an F1 game with a career mode in the '80s and '90s, but I'd hazard a guess licensing (and modelling hundreds of cars) would be an issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭johnnysmack

I'd love to see an F1 game with a career mode in the '80s and '90s, but I'd hazard a guess licensing (and modelling hundreds of cars) would be an issue.

I've often wondered this about the current series as the same people have been making it for nearly a decade. They could make an unreal career mode spanning that time frame, they clearly have the licenses, the different tracks, drivers, cars. Considering they release classic cars each year also they could go even further back! Every year it's a missed opportunity.

Licensing issues - Codemasters usually only has the "current year license"; Also, IIRC before the 2000s FOM didn't hold all the licensing and that's for example the reason why F1 2013 had classic cars, but no McLarens amongst them, as the Woking outfit didn't grant / wasn't able to give the "go ahead" on time.

I would also imagine that, especially now with the smartphone generation whose attention span is roughly the same of an ant, that classic eras would be seen as "old" and "uninteresting". Games cost millions to develop and if they don't sell...you get the drivel. Same reason why there was never a sequel to GP Legends.

As for the F1 games themselves...I don't think Codies' F1 games are that great, honestly; Like many other holders of the license after Microprose/Geoff Crammond, they don't seem to understand F1 enthusiasts want a game that FIRST reproduces an F1 race, and second is a racing game - AI and single player must be paramount. I have no interest racing against "5cukMeB4llz2007" :)
    F1 2019's AI is still not even on the level of the Grand Prix 3/4 one when it comes to behave realistically on track...

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    Most of my after-school afternoons were spent on that game (while I should've been studying!), with my trusty 486DX/33.

Same here, though it was on a 286 running at 12Mhz with 1Mb of RAM...

Played with the keyboard and was fast even on Ace difficulty for full race distances.

Moved onto GP2 in the late 90s and that's when I discovered the internet, spent my time online downloading livery updates (instead of porn like most boys my age I'm sure!!).

Had GP3 and GP4 too, but never got into them as much. I play F1 2018 now, but I don't think it improves on the Geoff Crammond games in any way. Career mode to me seems like a pointless gimmick.

Bought GP1 on CD a few years ago, but I still don't have a machine to play it on (play F1 2018 on my Nvidia Shield).

• Registered Users Posts: 11,288 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

The Renault lads are running vintage helmet designs this weekend, they are fantastic.

D33jsQFXkAA0Qvu.jpg

D33jv45WAAAG9Gw.jpg

D34jgh9W0AEDLGe.jpg

D33aVQzWwAAs7IT.jpg

D33t1wyWsAA0RBP.jpg

D33t5QHWwAAc_CF.jpg