Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Delaney at the FAI Thread - (Mod Notes in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

Oat23 wrote: »
    Just seen this thread bumped on ybig. Buys a few beers and train tickets and he's branded a legend. Embarrassing :o

https://forum.ybig.ie/fair-fking-play-john-delaney_topic24093_page1.html

If we are honest until JD let those very lads down he was untouchable. As I see it it only started after Scotland away that lads said enough is enough and went very public with it.

Still lads out there who love him........luckily more hate him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,586 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

JOHN DELANEY IS expected to leave the Football Association of Ireland, The42 understands, and an announcement confirming so may be made as early as tonight.

https://www.the42.ie/john-delaney-leaving-the-fai-4590636-Apr2019/?utm_source=shortlink

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Hopefully the 'revelations' in tomorrow's papers is enough to clear out a lot more of them.

Question is what they have........is it about JD personally or is it enough to take them all down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,586 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Well Delaney, Cody and Murray isn't enough so hopefully. Cody was leaving next year and Murray was leaving in 2021 anyways due to the term limits agreed at the EGM in February.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,706 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

If he leaves Delaney will be announced as the next pope in the morning...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Tippex

This will also scupper his role in UEFA ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,390 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Where oh where oh where is Chancer

• Subscribers Posts: 42,914 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Hibernating in delaneys hole.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,338 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

He's in Abbottstown taking one last feed from the trough.

Himself and Dots are clearing their desks in Abbotstown. Then both are charged with carrying JDs boxes and evidence to his car for removal before something is found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,097 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Just seen this thread bumped on ybig. Buys a few beers and train tickets and he's branded a legend. Embarrassing :o

https://forum.ybig.ie/fair-fking-play-john-delaney_topic24093_page1.html

Sad how cheap some people are.

Are we getting excited for nothing?? Or are JD and his merry men teasing us???

https://twitter.com/McDonnellDan/status/1117098972345188354

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,634 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Tippex wrote: »
    This will also scupper his role in UEFA ;)

He holds onto that role until his term is up in 2021.Cant be re elected unless he has a FAI job .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭s3rtvdbwfj81ch

I can't wait. I can't fúcking wait.

They always cheat
    They always lie

Now get the rest of the rotten vermin out with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Be a sad day if he does leave. Mob mentality winning the day.

Unless of course substantial wrongdpings have been proven that we're not privy to.

But if not, then i fear this is a kneejerk reaction to appease a few noisy empty vessels.

Unless of course substantial wrongdpings have been proven that we're not privy to.

But if not, then i fear this is a kneejerk reaction to appease a few noisy empty vessels.

Meeting over already or are ye just on a break?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,386 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

Ahh c'mon

If they had nothing to hide...
    1. Why did they hide behind consultants??
    2. Why did JD hide behind legal advice and not put everything on the table??

3. Why cant they explain what happened with the 100,000, how the situation came about?? Surely 1 of them knows the truth as this point, as he wrote the cheque.
    4. You got no files to destroy before the next press release??

Will they announce it late tonight to miss the Sunday Papers or was it a meeting to hide and destroy before papers report something tomorrow??

Update:

https://twitter.com/GerKeville/status/1117106764074356737

Slippery so and so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

1st reply - you must work for the fai

2nd reply - ah cmon (that was the entire post)

3rd reply - something about destroying ny fai files.

Hahahaha

And im the one accused of trolling.

Empty. Vessels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

1st reply - you must work for the fai

2nd reply - ah cmon (that was the entire post)

3rd reply - something about destroying ny fai files.

Hahahaha

And im the one accused of trolling.

Empty. Vessels.

I hear a lot of good about Delaney from any small clubs I have been to, but why is he hiding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

niallo27 wrote: »
    I hear a lot of good about Delaney from any small clubs I have been to, but why is he hiding.

But that’s the problem in this country in politics and stuff like this. Are those clubs saying Delaney is okay because of what he’s done for the game in the country or because he did something for them specifically.

I’ve heard Waterford fans, the same ones who decry politics in this country as parish pump, say Delaney is great because of what he’s done for local clubs. So many people in this country are susceptible to gombeenism.

For me, I was willing to give Delaney a chance but his position became very difficult on Wednesday. That’s unfortunate because nothings really been proven against him but he hasn’t helped himself.

Finally, since he came into power, he’s run the FAI as a dictator. No dissenting voices were allowed in the FAI, the media or the LOI. Hearing Mark Tighe describe how Delaney tried bullying him made Delaneys position more untenable in my view.

You have to admire him in away that he got away with it for 15 years but it was always going to end this way. I suspect there will be a lot more to come out too.

The skeletons in the closet of the FAI would make Glasnevin blush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,634 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

niallo27 wrote: »

He has played the well worn path of making people think he is doing them a favour.Coming to the club with a cheque for a pitch/dressing rooms etc .Presses the flesh and makes them all feel like he is their best mate.Classic politician routine.

In reality all he is doing his job but makes sure he is centre of it and will get the backing when votes are needed or his back is against the wall.Its government money he is using for most of these grants.

He is Blatter lite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,822 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

A good day for Irish football if this is true.

But he has surrounded himself with so many similar snouts-in-the-trough yes men that I wonder how much things will change overall.

But at least the publicity over this whoever takes the job will know they won't be able to go under the radar for as long as Delaney did.

I would prefer a complete outsider to come in and effectively gut the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,654 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

He was a master empire-builder.

Hopefully the foundations are starting to crumble and the whole charade is going to come crashing down.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,553 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Some posts in this thread would remind me of this lad
    bagdad-bob.gif