Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin's Inner City 'Zombies'

• Registered Users Posts: 5,748 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

murpho999 wrote: »
    You said look at the news, so I'm asking what crimes are you referring to? Please share the article that evidnces your claim of Dublin being dangerous.

You might want to look at this thread and see what other Dubs are saying.
    https://www.thejournal.ie/tourist-crimes-3973767-Apr2018/
    https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/man-jailed-three-months-nine-15283039
    https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/gang-romanian-criminals-involved-dublin-13077535
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/drug-crime-rises-in-dublin-amid-surge-in-consumption-1.3619605
    http://www.dublinpeople.com/news/roundup/articles/2018/04/30/4155374-comment-we-need-to-protect-our-tourists-from-crime/
    Do you need more? I could keep going.

Can you also name anywhere in the world where crime does not happen?.

Of course not, where did I make that claim?
    Have you seen other places? 5 fatal stabbings in the last week in London alone.

That's a fact backed by an article.

Dublin is nowhere near that level despite what people think or say.

I have not compared Dublin to London or even said anything particularly bad about the place so why you're arguing that with me, I have no earthly idea. In fact I've said its just as bad as other cities and largely populated areas.

You might want to imagine its a utopia, its not, but few places are.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,391 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Well the only crime fact you showed there was an increase in thefts on tourists.

An increase in general drug use or a specific Romanian Crime gang activity is not really proof that Dublin city centre is dangerous.

Of course not, where did I make that claim?

You asked if I thought Dublin was crime free and I asked you to name a place that is?

I have not compared Dublin to London or even said anything particularly bad about the place so why you're arguing that with me, I have no earthly idea. In fact I've said its just as bad as other cities and largely populated areas.

You might want to imagine its a utopia, its not, but few places are.

You said crime was bad in Dublin and just look at the news. I'm just saying is not as bad as people make out. Simple.

I never mentioned Utopia but I have never ever felt unsafe or threatened or unsafe in DUblin at anytime of the night or day.

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭newspower

Part of the problem with Dublin City Centre is that in the 80's, 90's and early Noughties people in parts of the Dublin suburbs objected to Drug Treatment Centres in their area even though the Drug users were from their area. As a result most of the Treatment Centres were opened in the city centre.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,356 ✭✭✭corner of hells

newspower wrote: »
    Part of the problem with Dublin City Centre is that in the 80's, 90's and early Noughties people in parts of the Dublin suburbs objected to Drug Treatment Centres in their area even though the Drug users were from their area. As a result most of the Treatment Centres were opened in the city centre.

What type of treatment centre are you referring to ?
    Methadone clinics/dispensing chemists were originally established in areas where heroin was historically an issue.

Residential detox like Coolmine or High Park are in suburban residential areas . Coolmine is about 45 years in existence with High Park nearly 30 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,004 ✭✭✭✭Interested Observer

Are you saying Dublin is not dangerous? Its a kind of utopia where crime never happens? I get playing it down as some folks are going OTT but c'mon.

I'm referring to the crimes that happen in Dublin city centre, like in any other city or large town.

It's not a dangerous city at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

Residential detox like Coolmine or High Park are in suburban residential areas . Coolmine is about 45 years in existence with High Park nearly 30 years.

Coolmine doesn't do detox as such, only takes in clients on 40ml methadone or less with nothing else in their system ... only exception I think is pregnant women.

There's actually feck all detox beds in Ireland, with massive waiting lists. Residential treatment centres like Coolmine do incredible work, but so many people just can't get clean and stay clean long enough to get in there. The nature of the condition!

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭newspower

What type of treatment centre are you referring to ?
    Methadone clinics/dispensing chemists were originally established in areas where heroin was historically an issue.

Yes I am referring to Methadone and at that time Physeptone clinics. There were objections from areas in Dublin's suburbs, on the Southside in particular, to these clinics being set up in "their" area. This is the reason that most of the Detox Clinics started in the city to begin with.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,748 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

It's not a dangerous city at all.

Oh I know yeah, been told already :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Vicarious Function

Daylight is fine but after dark is scary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Some delicate constitutions on here. I work on Abbey Street, and regularly walk on Talbot, Parnell, Jervis Street. Alone. At night. And I am a five foot two woman.

I don't get the logic here. You can walk on Talbot street, therefore it's safe? There's no junkies? Help me out here.

Talbot st and the surrounding area is a crime hotspot. Check out the start for Store St garda station.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,017 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I don't get the logic here. You can walk on Talbot street, therefore it's safe? There's no junkies? Help me out here.

Talbot st and the surrounding area is a crime hotspot. Check out the start for Store St garda station.

What's Store Street got to do with it? It's the other side of the river.

I think the false logic here is that there are junkies therefore it's automatically dangerous. I've walked along it - as have the dozens of people around me any given time - and seen the occasional junkie, but never had a problem. No idea what the crime stats are on that street versus any other street (or if stats even exist) though.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,153 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

What's Store Street got to do with it? It's the other side of the river.

I think the false logic here is that there are junkies therefore it's automatically dangerous. I've walked along it - as have the dozens of people around me any given time - and seen the occasional junkie, but never had a problem. No idea what the crime stats are on that street versus any other street (or if stats even exist) though.

Store street station is opposite Busaras.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,017 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Store street station is opposite Busaras.

Ah, my apologies. Getting my stations mixed up....

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Coolmine doesn't do detox as such, only takes in clients on 40ml methadone or less with nothing else in their system ... only exception I think is pregnant women.

There's actually feck all detox beds in Ireland, with massive waiting lists. Residential treatment centres like Coolmine do incredible work, but so many people just can't get clean and stay clean long enough to get in there. The nature of the condition!

That is thier detox , you work towards 40ml linked in with outreach teams , stabilisation groups , pre entry etc.
    Residential detox from methadone set between 40 and 50mls as thier criteria.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

Daylight is fine but after dark is scary.
    It's certainly scary this evening with biblical rain!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,533 ✭✭✭Floppybits

It's certainly scary this evening with biblical rain!

Ah there would be no zombies out in this weather.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

That is thier detox , you work towards 40ml linked in with outreach teams , stabilisation groups , pre entry etc.
    Residential detox from methadone set between 40 and 50mls as thier criteria.

The point is though that plenty of people aren't able to get anywhere near that on the outside, even with all that support. Their only hope is to get into St Francis Farm or somewhere, and you could be waiting a long time for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,148 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

It’s a sh!thole. It’s been a sh!thole as long as I can remember. It will probably always be a sh!thole. All capital cities have problems with drugs and homelessness but in Dublin it just seems to be much more in your face than most other places I’ve been.

The point is though that plenty of people aren't able to get anywhere near that on the outside, even with all that support. Their only hope is to get into St Francis Farm or somewhere, and you could be waiting a long time for that.

I work in homeless services and have worked in drug services , St Francis Farm and High Park are both MQI providing medical and therapeutic detox , both have similar criteria and are broadly similar to Coolmine.
    All accessable through referrals once you meet thier criteria .

There is definitely waiting times but often someone methadone dependent will use this time to reach the 40mls or whatever it is by attending groups pre entry , stabilisation etc.

You'll find a motivated person will have a keyworker somewhere, access to and is attending a counselor , thier GP on board etc.

I understand what you're saying when say there is a limited number of beds , Beaumont will do a medical detox in three weeks but the secret is the aftercare attending groups , one to one , living in recovery houses.

It does work , it's difficult but doable.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,722 ✭✭✭Greyfox

MadYaker wrote: »
    It’s a sh!thole. It’s been a sh!thole as long as I can remember. It will probably always be a sh!thole. All capital cities have problems with drugs and homelessness but in Dublin it just seems to be much more in your face than most other places I’ve been.
    What alternative world are you in? Dublin is still much safer and friendlier that 95% of the world's other capital cities.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

I lived in Temple Bar (Cows Lane Area) right beside the Corpo building from 2003 to 2008. There was an alley way just outside our building that seemed to be the place where they would come to shoot up, take a dump and get together to see what they had stolen and divide it out to sell. So many times the front door to the apartment building was kicked in so they could sit on the stairs and shoot up. Needles left sitting around everywhere. That front door had to get a re-enforced. You'd always see cars with their window smashed in parked on fishamble st.

I also got the bus to work at the bus stop at the quays there right beside the Corpo building. It was an open drug dealing meetup point. Literally a guy turning up with a sportsbag and dishing it out. Blatant. Didn't give a damn. It got worse and worse as the years went on there. Seen all sorts. I moved out to the suburbs and would be in town every couple of weeks and nothing much seemed to have changed. It was the same all around the boardwalk areas, northside around Jervis St, all the way down to Connolly etc.

I moved to San Francisco Bay Area 3 years ago and get home a few times per year on average. Seeing Dublin city centre less frequently gives you a bit more perspective on the change. For me it seems to have gotten worse. Compared to other cities, it seems to be a lot more visible. There are certainly cities where they have equal or bigger problems, but for me Dublin has it right there on show.

In saying that... San Francisco is a disgrace in the past few years. If you think Dublin looks like the walking dead, you ain't seen nothing yet! It is literally thousands of homeless and junkies on the streets at all hours of the day. Been to a few concerts that finish late and have to then walk to transport or car park in the dark around downtown or Tenderloin. It is genuinely scary... Dublin doesn't have that, but it is still pretty bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,272 ✭✭✭AllForIt

wakka12 wrote: »
    Except you either missed it or didnt go the places where it was present. Every , every, every city on earth has drug and homeless problems many or most of them with far worse problems than dublin

You are making my point for me. They werent in the places that were popular and thats why I didnt see them! I didnt for a second suggest they don't exist in London. I seen some in a London A&E one night and they scared the hell out of me the state they were in. The point is they exist but not in the West End tourist and social hotspot it is. That's by design, not by chance.

Edit: there is no way I missed it. I worked in the London west end for over a decade and socialised there on the days I wasnt working. The only types you would see us the mentally disturbed homeless types, not out and out drug addicts. One particular guy who hung around The Ritz hotel wore plastic bags as clothing attached to his body with string. Those types were mostly harmless and rare. You did not ever see gangs of chavs the equivalent of Dublin Knackers walking around the London West End, ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Way more obvious visible problem with junkies in Dublin than there is in London. Fact.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Been about 5 years since I've done anything but pass through Dublin city centre, is it really that much worse than it was then? Drug deals in the open, lads falling around trying to walk.
    8 years since I've been there and it was like that then. The Boardwalk was a no go area from the moment it opened (16 years ago?) . Jervis and Houston Luas stops always had junkies hanging around dealing and begging. Is it really any worse?

• Registered Users Posts: 43,024 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Sheets of misery stolen from our home grown American drug companies is making them like that

It's not herion

• Registered Users Posts: 8,272 ✭✭✭AllForIt

FTA69 wrote: »
    Way more obvious visible problem with junkies in Dublin than there is in London. Fact.

Yes and that is by design. We have in Ireland a bizzar attitute that says poor ppl must be visibly seen for all to seen, especially in the one place you dont want to see them. I think thats a vile attutude. Its as if some ppl think thats its your very sucess in life is causing a horrible underclass.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

I'm not saying that there isn't a problem, but it's nowhere near as bad as most other major cities.

Was in Vienna last week, what a difference.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 206 ✭✭JustAYoungLad

Theres a culture of partying and drugs in dublin. Thats why these people propagate. Theyre not scum. Theyre just on a mad one. Or so the culture says

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭KyussB

Dublin is definitely getting worse again. I'd say it's the worst it's been, since shortly before the head shops were banned in 2010 - when it was (briefly) fairly normal to see people barely able to walk without banging into others, or collapsing into their meal at fast food places - all in the middle of the day.

Now, I've experienced an abusive drunk guy, on an intercity bus, assault the driver and nearly crash the fucking thing - and get arrested with his mates afterwards (one of them apparently carrying heroin).

I've experienced fuckwits on public transport plenty of times before - but not like this. I'm starting to have to watch out for people like this on busses more - and looking at having to change the modes of transport I use, to avoid this shit.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,223 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

How many cities have you visited? Dublin's drug and homeless problem is relatively minuscule compared to most other major international cities.

This is a bloody cop-out, we're talking about Ireland's capital city, it's main thoroughfares and streets, the op is 100% correct. He's talking about the shame and embarrassment of what is visible to people when they walk the beautiful streets of our capital city....