Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin's Inner City 'Zombies'

• 07-11-2018 12:50pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭

Honest question, is it me or are there more and more 'zombies' marauding around Dublin City Centre these days?

I left Dublin in December 2017 having lived in the city centre for the bones of 5 years and it seems to have gotten noticeably worse with each visit over the past year.

I've never seen anything like it in any other city I've ever visited...why Dublin? Not to generalize but the place has a chronic drug problem that doesn't seem to warrant discussion/action.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,048 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Same As wrote: »
    Honest question, is it me or are there more and more 'zombies' marauding around Dublin City Centre these days?

I left Dublin in December 2017 having lived in the city centre for the bones of 5 years and it seems to have gotten noticeably worse with each visit over the past year.

I've never seen anything like it in any other city I've ever visited...why Dublin? Not to generalize but the place has a chronic drug problem that doesn't seem to warrant discussion/action.

It's not specifci to the drug problem (well, not the illegal ones, anyway) - try being in Temple Bar around to 2am on a weekend when you're sober. It's like a scene from the Walking Dead.

(I could also make an argument for 8.30am on Monday morning...)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Same As

It's not specifci to the drug problem (well, not the illegal ones, anyway) - try being in Temple Bar around to 2am on a weekend when you're sober. It's like a scene from the Walking Dead.

(I could also make an argument for 8.30am on Monday morning...)

Isn't that almost to be expected though for someone passing through there at that time of the night?

Trying to see it from the perspective of a visitor/tourist in Dublin in the city center during the day and seeing what they see.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,321 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I've never seen anything like it in any other city I've ever visited...why Dublin?

How many cities have you visited? Dublin's drug and homeless problem is relatively minuscule compared to most other major international cities.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭MarkY91

How many cities have you visited? Dublin's drug and homeless problem is relatively minuscule compared to most other major international cities.

It's far worse than most first world cities I've been to.

Zombies-wise I've been to enough to know that I've never seen anything like it in the main thoroughfares of those other cities.

Some day a real rain...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Been about 5 years since I've done anything but pass through Dublin city centre, is it really that much worse than it was then? Drug deals in the open, lads falling around trying to walk.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,048 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Isn't that almost to be expected though for someone passing through there at that time of the night?

Trying to see it from the perspective of a visitor/tourist in Dublin in the city center during the day and seeing what they see.

Maybe - doesn't make your point any different.

Lots of cities have problems with drug users and homelessness. Dublin isn't the worst. I do see it as a place where there are a lot of people that just seem to lack direction though and seem to be drifitng through life. This I see more than a lot of other places I've lived in.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Been about 5 years since I've done anything but pass through Dublin city centre, is it really that much worse than it was then? Drug deals in the open, lads falling around trying to walk.

The congregation at the corner of Westmoreland street is no longer, but Abbey, Capel, Jervis, Parnell, Henry, O Connell streets are in my opinion far worse than they were when I moved up to Dublin, when things in the economy were actually seemingly worse!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

If you don't want to get a y more upset or annoyed don't go anywhere near the boardwalks, they are well and truly gone beyond saving.

You can't walk down them or enjoy a few minutes to watch the water and world go by.

They pester and pester and shout and pee and sh1t everywhere.
    Drug deal in the open.

Constantly fighting and screaming etc etc.

Guards do nothing.

This carry on of another homeless person found dead can in many cases be down to themselves and have opportunities to change or get a place to stay but many still choose the street.

It's very sad.

If you don't want to get a y more upset or annoyed don't go anywhere near the boardwalks, they are well and truly gone beyond saving.

You can't walk down them or enjoy a few minutes to watch the water and world go by.

They pester and pester and shout and pee and sh1t everywhere.
    Drug deal in the open.

Constantly fighting and screaming etc etc.

Guards do nothing.

This carry on of another homeless person found dead can in many cases be down to themselves and have opportunities to change or get a place to stay but many still choose the street.

It's very sad.

Rosie Hackett bridge is pretty bad now too, Boardwalks are absolutely no-go.

Notice it a lot at Heuston and Connolly too and anywhere the Luas traverses in the north city really. It's so bleak now

• Registered Users Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Notice it a lot at Heuston and Connolly too and anywhere the Luas traverses in the north city really. It's so bleak now

The parts of the baordwalk with the coffee shops are still okay. The other parts are often used by junkies but not necessarily a no go area(in my opinion at least).

• Registered Users Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Zombies-wise I've been to enough to know that I've never seen anything like it in the main thoroughfares of those other cities.

That doesn't really say much you could be talking about 5 cities which isn't much. You don't really see them on Grafton Street. You as a native would go routes tourists wouldn't. Walk around any western city and you will find them.
    Go to Madrid and walk around the place is full of hookers at all times of the day. Paris is filthy and lots of homeless and drug addicts. Take a stroll around Camden in London.
    I don't think there is a single western city that has not similar problems I have seen with my own eyes. So what cities are you talking about?

I'm getting all reminiscent now. Do they still deal openly out the front of the corpo building on the quays?

• Registered Users Posts: 27,321 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Madrid, Paris, London, Manchester, Glasgow Lisbon, San Francisco - sweet Jesus I've never seen more people **** in the street than in San Francisco - they're all much, much worse than Dublin. Even Rome is collapsing under it's own rubbish.

I'm not saying that there isn't a problem, but it's nowhere near as bad as most other major cities.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,411 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Usual exaggerations in here.

Was in town last week walked from Connolly Station via Talbot Street to O’Connell Street at around 6pm and later back via the quays at around 10.

Delibrately looked out for these ‘zombies’ as they're spoken about so often here and in "The Journal"

Saw a few ropey looking people that I would suspect of being a drug addict. For the rest I just saw thousands and thousands of people going about their business.

People out socialising, office workers on their way home, shoppers, tourists taking pictures and enjoying the city.
    The city centre was buzzing and thriving.

It’s nowhere near as bad people make out and I think it’s just that some people only see what they want to see.

Go walk around parts of San Francisco, Amsterdam, New York, London etc and you'll see worse sights.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,411 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

So you don't notice all the outher people around Heuston and Connolly?

You don't notice the Boardwalk full of other people?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭Qrt

The Zombies aren't at all a daily sight. I get the Luas from Abbey Street every evening, and it's about once a month I'll see a zombie. They typically get off at James's, but tbh I don't think they know where they are.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,395 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

The congregation at the corner of Westmoreland street is no longer, but Abbey, Capel, Jervis, Parnell, Henry, O Connell streets are in my opinion far worse than they were when I moved up to Dublin, when things in the economy were actually seemingly worse!

You haven’t been in town recently. That and Tara Street are the two worst areas in town.

I suppose my main point is that in my opinion it's getting worse. Daylight hours in particular are bad.

Re; Heuston I'm taking the train to and from there for 15 or so years. Sure I see all the other people, there's just significantly more down and outs there in recent times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭dont bother

so, mostly it's culchies that are giving out about Dublin Zombies?
    but... i found in most experiences, especially aggressive beggar junkies around Heuston and Connolly ARE culchies.

they come up on the bus eireann busses and traipse around between bus aras and connolly houding people for "money for da bus home"

most of the junkies you see around dublin are culchies.

Doubtful. Culchie junkies have their own towns to stumble around.

but... i found in most experiences, especially aggressive beggar junkies around Heuston and Connolly ARE culchies.

they come up on the bus eireann busses and traipse around between bus aras and connolly houding people for "money for da bus home"

While it's sometimes hard to decipher the mumbles, the greater majority are natives based on accents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭2cool4school

they don't have culchie accents...

"change for a hostel buuuuuuuuuuuud...."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭dont bother

While it's sometimes hard to decipher the mumbles, the greater majority are natives.

so how come then literally every single time i pass by bus aras, there are culchie scum asking for money to get "Home"?

it may be that the "zombies" are dublin natives, however they are not usually the ones who get violent or beg for money and react violently when they are refused.

hang around bus aras/connolly for a few mins next time and you will see it immediately.

Yeah, go on the Dubs!

By the way, I don't think they really want the money for a bus.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Doubtful. Culchie junkies have their own towns to stumble around.
    They always come to the big smoke for the good gear

• Registered Users Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Pete Moss

Turtyturd wrote:
    You haven’t been in town recently. That and Tara Street are the two worst areas in town.

Westmorland Street is nowhere near as bad as it used to be, particularly in the summer months. It used to look like some sort of AGM for gearheads.

I'm not saying it's completely clear of shady characters, but it has definitely improved.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Madrid, Paris, London, Manchester, Glasgow Lisbon, San Francisco - sweet Jesus I've never seen more people **** in the street than in San Francisco - they're all much, much worse than Dublin. Even Rome is collapsing under it's own rubbish.

I'm not saying that there isn't a problem, but it's nowhere near as bad as most other major cities.

Agreed - I love San Francisco but parts of the city are true no go areas. As in, you dont go there because you wont come back e.g. Tenderloin.

I've seen literally hundreds of people sleeping in car parks in San Francisco. More homeless people there than I've seen anywhere else and lots of lunatics walking around shouting for no reason.

Dublin has bad parts e.g. Talbot street is a kip. Just stay away from those areas. Was in town with the kids on Sat, mainly on Grafton st and surrounding areas, no bother at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭pxdf9i5cmoavkz

When people run with this dismissive approach what point are they trying to make?

Yes, it happens in other cities, so what? The topic clearly stated Dublin. Not Dublin compared to other cities. Dublin and Dublin only.

It is so damn stupid to compare to "other major international cities" that have it worse and go "At least we're not as bad as them!".

Those other cities you're mentioning? They were also at the same levels that Dublin is currently at. Those cities should be viewed as a WARNING of what will happen if the problem is ignored.

Rather look at cities that are doing better than Dublin and then copy what they're doing.

Compare to your betters, not your lessors.