Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Protesters occupy privately owned house to raise awarness?

• Site Banned Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭DONTMATTER

P_1 wrote: »
    From what I understand of the situation the owner is turning Summerhill into a slum in a bid to lower property values. He owns significant land and wishes to build yet more glass and concrete monstrosity offices on it.

The people of Dublin are being priced out of their city and some are saying that enough is enough.

It seems their actions are completely justified. The powers that be need to take notice!

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Will they be offering free beauty treatments and photoshoots for fake homeless people

You think demanding someone else buys you a house is "doing something about" your housing situation?

What? Read about the protest and the shameful behaviour of the landlord.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Gatling wrote: »
    Will they be offering free beauty treatments and photosoots for fake homeless people

I'd say Erica F is on her way, not like she has anything better to do.

Them drafty windows are terrible during a heat wave

• Registered Users Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭sexmag

DONTMATTER wrote: »
    What? Read about the protest and the shameful behaviour of the landlord.

I dont like the behaviour of a lot of politicians, should I just break into somewhere to prove my point?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,208 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

By not letting out a house on which he could get considerable rental income, rents are at an all time high are they not?

You're going to have to explain this evil master plan to me, I must to be missing a step or two!

Well obviously these O'Donnell people are wealthy businessmen and must be educated somewhat on how these things work. Whereas the rest of the population are gobshites.

They have a lot of currently valuable properties in this area. Properties where they had 120 people paying 4-500 a month each to them (that's up to 60k a month).

Obviously, if you have those valuable properties, with that type of income, what you are going to want to do is to kick out the tenants so that you don't have to bother with the paperwork for that 60k a month.

Then you are going to try to turn the area into a slum instead of the Eden is was formerly (an idyllic paradise of 20-25 people crammed into a house).

Once it is turned into a slum, your property values plummet. and you no longer have to worry about the pesky 60k a month

Profit

apparently

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

sexmag wrote: »
    https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/news/housing-groups-occupying-vacant-dublin-building-say-theyre-overwhelmed-by-public-support-37195456.html

I'm sorry but how is breaking into a privately owned house raising awareness?

This is a criminal act and should be treated as such

To be fair, it's right there:
    “We want to raise awareness that local authorities have the power to CPO buildings from private landlords, and we want to expose the problem of vacant houses and slums being left with nobody in them while there is a massive problem with homelessness,” the spokeswoman said.

They're making the point that while the government blames low rates of building as the reason for the housing shortage, there are vacant properties all over the place. And rising property prices mean the property is generating significant wealth for the landlord without having to lift a finger.

It's a valid point; if not CPOing, we should at least be heavily penalising property hoarding so that it costs you money to hold onto it.

sexmag wrote: »
    I dont like the behaviour of a lot of politicians, should I just break into somewhere to prove my point?

What are you protesting against?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭wildlifeboy

can they occupy 169 clonsilla road and clean it up a bit please?

Better ice cream options in this weather

• Registered Users Posts: 24,300 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

insufficient levels of free stuff I'd say

I for one think that it makes perfect sense, especially from an efficient use of resource perspective, that very valuable property in the city centre should be purchased by public money and given to the least productive people in society. Why get up at 12pm for a solid afternoon **** and looking out the window in an estate in Longford when you can do that while looking out onto the busiest streets in the nation?

And the people paying the taxes to buy the houses, can be happy in the knowledge that they've been up six hours already at that stage, what with their daily commute from Mullingar or Drogheda so that they can earn money to pay for those houses for the **** crusties.

lawred2 wrote: »
    insufficient levels of free stuff I'd say

That rank gob****e Pat Flanagan in the Mirror today was riling these idiots up to "take direct action" like they did with water.

Do these AAA/PBP eejits EVER want to pay for anything ?????

I for one think that it makes perfect sense, especially from an efficient use of resource perspective, that very valuable property in the city centre should be purchased by public money and given to the least productive people in society. Why get up at 12pm for a solid afternoon **** and looking out the window in an estate in Longford when you can do that while looking out onto the busiest streets in the nation?

And the people paying the taxes to buy the houses, can be happy in the knowledge that they've been up six hours already at that stage, what with their daily commute from Mullingar or Drogheda so that they can earn money to pay for those houses for the **** crusties.

Bloody good point!

Love to Tiffany!! ;)

Bloody good point!

Love to Tiffany!! ;)

There is no Tiffany. We don't talk about here here or anywhere else. She is a myth

There is only Ivanka!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭AfterLife

Use it or lose it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭AfterLife

And that randomer "heard" it somewhere too.

Jesus there are some gullible folk around these parts.

Says the absolute biggest waffler on boards. Have you a fantastical anecdote about this story yet or can we expect it later?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,973 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

New age socialist are at it again :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It's not that simple for the landlord or the authorities.

We're dealing with people who could well be struggling with significant mental health issues.

Mental Health officials need to be on the scene when the forced removal takes place and protesters assessed before being taken into custody.

AfterLife wrote: »
    Says the absolute biggest waffler on boards. Have you a fantastical anecdote about this story yet or can we expect it later?

Please stop quoting that poster. Ignore doesn't work if they get quoted. Thanks. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Read boom baps posts or the facebook page.

I've read the post. I see the master plan in all it's evil genius now. It's called business as far as I can tell. Business man has bought some property and wants to redevelop it, what of it?
    You don't have some god given right to live in another persons house, even if you really, really, really want to be next your ma, or it's handy for signing on.

What made the evictions illegal by the way, I'm not familiar with the details?

There is no Tiffany. We don't talk about here here or anywhere else. She is a myth

There is only Ivanka!

I'd say love to Ivanka but dude you got that covered lol!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

I see there's been a few unsubstantiated allegations about the owners being slumlords. No doubt this will be repeated as fact ad nauseum with each moron pointing to another's post as evidence.

Any documentation or links to back this up?

I've read the post. I see the master plan in all it's evil genius now. It's called business as far as I can tell. Business man has bought some property and wants to redevelop it, what of it?
    You don't have some god given right to live in another persons house, even if you really, really, really want to be next your ma, or it's handy for signing on.

What made the evictions illegal by the way, I'm not familiar with the details?

You support the gangster landlord?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

how about a compromise? the dcc buys the house, gets it to a decent state, then sells it for a fair market value to someone who is working for a living.

the profit is then used to build social housing elsewhere for those looking for the "free gaff".

landlord does not make obscene profit from hoarding stock.

hard working people get a house at a reasonable price.

free loaders, eh i mean the less well off get a house albeit not in the center of a high price urban area.,

the dcc uses its money in a practical way to help all levels.

now to me, i think the landlord can do what he wants with HIS property, he took the risk of buying so he gets to do as he likes, but the above would seem like a good way to keep the protesters happy.

thoughts?

btw, if it were my house i would be demanding a riot squad clear the fkers out or its can of petrol time :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭sexmag

You support the gangster landlord?

Will show us proof they're a gangster please and not someone just doing business in a capitalist society

Red_Wake wrote: »
    I see there's been a few unsubstantiated allegations about the owners being slumlords. No doubt this will be repeated as fact ad nauseum with each moron pointing to another's post as evidence.

There's people on the ground who have local knowledge and information on this. Much more credible than those stating all the protesters are on the dole or living next to their ma despite not knowing who they are.

Red_Wake wrote: »

I'm guessing beyond "I heard", Facebook posts from the same scumbags and left wing chips on shoulders - no.

soups05 wrote: »
    how about a compromise? the dcc buys the house, gets it to a decent state, then sells it for a fair market value to someone who is working for a living.

the profit is then used to build social housing elsewhere for those looking for the "free gaff".

landlord does not make obscene profit from hoarding stock.

hard working people get a house at a reasonable price.

free loaders, eh i mean the less well off get a house albeit not in the center of a high price urban area.,

the dcc uses its money in a practical way to help all levels.

now to me, i think the landlord can do what he wants with HIS property, he took the risk of buying so he gets to do as he likes, but the above would seem like a good way to keep the protesters happy.

thoughts?

btw, if it were my house i would be demanding a riot squad clear the fkers out or its can of petrol time :)

Where are these free houses you speak of?