Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you look down on people with tattoos?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭witchgirl26

JayZeus wrote: »
    She got it years before she met me. She wouldn’t get one now. In the same way as she might dye her hair purple, get her face pierced or whatever, I’m perfectly within my rights to decide what I find to be ugly. If she wants to do stupid things like that, she can make a bed for herself on the couch. If roles were reversed, I’d accept the same. She told me I was getting fat. I was. I sorted it out and did what I needed to so she wouldn’t lose physical attraction as a consequence. Fair is fair.

As for tattoos, might be fine for pornstars but most people getting tattooed would look better if they had a haircut and dressed like adults instead of trying to look like a scumbag or a whore.

Woah just woah. How do tattoos make people look any less of an adult?! And where do you get off with that sweeping statement?

You would seriously make your wife sleep on the sofa if she got another tattoo? That's a bit mad. Did she make you sleep on the sofa when she said that? And how superficial are you that a tattoo would lead your marriage to that point? Surely you know and love your wife for the person she is and not just her physical appearance.

Her physical appearance is part of who she is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

She got it years before she met me. She wouldn’t get one now. In the same way as she might dye her hair purple, get her face pierced or whatever, I’m perfectly within my rights to decide what I find to be ugly. If she wants to do stupid things like that, she can make a bed for herself on the couch. If roles were reversed, I’d accept the same. She told me I was getting fat. I was. I sorted it out and did what I needed to so she wouldn’t lose physical attraction as a consequence. Fair is fair.

As for tattoos, might be fine for pornstars but most people getting tattooed would look better if they had a haircut and dressed like adults instead of trying to look like a scumbag or a whore.

That says an awful lot more about you than it does anyone with a different hairstyle or any tattoos. And to be clear I have no tattoos and short black hair brushed to the side.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,427 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

The reason Ronaldo doesn’t have tattooes is so he can be a blood donor. Also has donated bone marrow for a team mates child.
    I think that’s pretty cool.

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭pawdee

I've been thinking about getting a tattoo for ages. I want to get a tiny one of a food mixer on my kneecap.

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Uncle_moe

People who don't get tattoos are idiots.

Obviously they're not, but hopefully it will show some people how utterly moronic their arguments are.

Uncle_moe wrote: »
    People who don't get tattoos are idiots.

Obviously they're not, but hopefully it will show some people how utterly moronic their arguments are.

Let me guess. A dolphin? Skull and tophat? Inane text?

• Registered Users Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Blazer wrote: »
    The reason Ronaldo doesn’t have tattooes is so he can be a blood donor. Also has donated bone marrow for a team mates child.
    I think that’s pretty cool.

You can donate blood if you've a tattoo.

Its an only issue if you've gotten a tattoo within the last 3 months or so.

Edit : Its 4 months

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/health/health_services/blood_and_organ_donation/blood_donation.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

You're perfectly entitled to dislike or hate tattoos but actually telling your wife that the small tattoo she got before she met you has to be removed before you'll allow her cut her hair short - and if she wants to dye her hair a vibrant color she can sleep on the couch - screams 'control freak' in the most alarming and disturbing way possible.

Hopefully that's all just high level trolling, I despair to think people are involved in such relationships with such intolerant, self-centered people.

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Uncle_moe

Let me guess. A dolphin? Skull and tophat? Inane text?

How did you guess? Thinking of a tribal one on my face next, you know a bit of a mauri look.

This is really a rather wild concept but did you ever think your life would be easier if you just stopped worrying / being annoyed by other people's appearances?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

I love them way when I express honestly what my opinions are regarding tattoos and give a personal example of how little regard I have for people who see fit to get them, suddenly a bunch of strangers on the internet think they have some valid insight into my marriage, because I wrote about my wife’s tattoo instead of some random stranger. I hate ALL tattoos equally and I think less of someone who is ‘into’ them than not.

I guess that just goes to prove my point about the kind of people who think tattoos are a good idea. My view is at odds with yours, so be it. But all of ye with stupid little doodles that you think is some kind of personal expression, saying people should care less, you all seem to care much more than you initially let on.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,126 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

....... wrote: »
    All you have shown is that you have little regard for your wife by speaking about her like she is your property with no choices in her own appearance.

And also shown he craves attention and goes for the shock factor to get it .

• Registered Users Posts: 9,804 ✭✭✭take everything

Not mad about tattoos myself but each to their own.

I would be lying however if I said it didn't affect how I viewed someone.

Unconsciously, no more than the clothes someone wears, their haircut, jewellery, piercings etc unconsciously or consciously affect your view of someone.

Not saying necessarily good or bad, but people are lying if they say it doesn't affect their perception of someone.

Again maybe for some it just means the person is interesting etc.

But personally for me, I wonder why people get any sort of an adornment at all. Be that makeup, jewellery, piercings, tattoos, whatever. It always strikes me as (and please do not kill me for this) "I'm not worthy, i need to adorn/beautify myself". Why not just embrace and love yourself as you are.

Now in fairness im being a bit provocative saying that but I think there's a grain of truth in there. I do think there's a self-esteem thing with most of this stuff.

I'm going to get killed for this post. I'm being (partly) pierced tongue-in cheek.

I'm completely unadorned and ****ing amazing.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,224 ✭✭✭✭Water John

If you, Jay have a child or one of their partners chooses this option in life are they downgraded in your estimation or simply removed from your environment totally?
    My daughter in law has tattoos, what it to me, she's a lovely and kind person.

• Registered Users Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Dramatik

I always hear it will look **** when you're older, that's not necessarily true, it depends on the design, the tattoo artist, the placement, whether the person used propper care for the tattoo over the years and even things like how much the tattoo has been exposed to sun over time. So saying every tattoo will be **** when you are older is an untrue statement. Also you can have a touch up done on an old tattoo if it's starting to fade or even have it re-worked is the desire is so. So the chances are that the horrible tattoo on that old person was horrible in the first place and also probably not looked after over the years, that's why it looks ****ty. People weren't told how to look after their tattoos back then and they didn't know as much about how tattoos age over time, as artists do these days. If the person getting the tattoo has made the right choices there is no reason that the tattoo will not stand the test of time

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    And also shown he craves attention and goes for the shock factor to get it .

Would you ever go away out of that. My view might shock you but that’s hardly my intention. I care little for your opinion and not at all for your reaction.

As for my wife, what would you suggest I do to distort my correct use of language so it meets your ridiculous expectations?

Tattoos are horrible. If my spouse/wife/woman/ball-and-chain got another, knowing my disdain for them, you’re damned right she’d be sleeping on the couch.

Same goes for cutting her hair as short as a man. If I grew my hair long or deliberately made a significant change to my appearance in a way she has told me (and she did so when I was getting fat), I’d have little to stand on by way of argument.

You’re supposed to find your partner physically attractive. Short hair, bright hair dye, face/body piercings and tattoos are ugly to my eyes. She knows that, so if she makes that decision she’ll live with the consequences, including being told to **** right off and sleep on the couch.

Water John wrote: »
    If you, Jay have a child or one of their partners chooses this option in life are they downgraded in your estimation or simply removed from your environment totally?
    My daughter in law has tattoos, what it to me, she's a lovely and kind person.

Not removed, not at all. My wife and I made certain commitments, knowing what’s okay and what’s not with each other. Different kind of relationship there entirely.

Now, will I think less of them, particularly in their ability to make smart decisions? Yeah, probably. Their fault, not mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Including applying your standards retroactively....eg, you literally said that she's not allowed to get her hair cut short because it'll reveal an old tattoo she got before she met you.

Did she tell you to sleep on the couch until you lost all the extra weight? Or insist that you only wear baggy clothes so she doesn't have to look at it?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,126 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Would you ever go away out of that. My view might shock you but that’s hardly my intention. I care little for your opinion and not at all for your reaction.

As for my wife, what would you suggest I do to distort my correct use of language so it meets your ridiculous expectations?

Tattoos are horrible. If my spouse/wife/woman/ball-and-chain got another, knowing my disdain for them, you’re damned right she’d be sleeping on the couch.

Same goes for cutting her hair as short as a man. If I grew my hair long or deliberately made a significant change to my appearance in a way she has told me (and she did so when I was getting fat), I’d have little to stand on by way of argument.

You’re supposed to find your partner physically attractive. Short hair, bright hair dye, face/body piercings and tattoos are ugly to my eyes. She knows that, so if she makes that decision she’ll live with the consequences, including being told to **** right off and sleep on the couch.

I rest my case .

Including applying your standards retroactively....eg, you literally said that she's not allowed to get her hair cut short because it'll reveal an old tattoo she got before she met you.

Did she tell you to sleep on the couch until you lost all the extra weight? Or insist that you only wear baggy clothes so she doesn't have to look at it?

I got a few verbal warning digs from her. Fair enough, she was right so I took care of it.

She can shave her head and get a tattoo of a big hairy cock on her head if she wants. It’s stupid to basically say I should be happy to go to bed with someone who would do something to deliberately make herself ugly to me. Couch time. Out you get until your hair grows back. Jesus.

Yeah, extreme example, but she’ll have the same reaction if she gets ANY tattoo, ever again, or does anything that increases how visible her existing ‘tramp stamp’ is. She knows it, there was no ambiguity since long before we got married. It’s all right there in the verbal terms and conditions of our contract with each other. Penalties will be applied for breach of terms.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭irishproduce

I'm with jay.
    They're hideous deplorable attention seeking beacons and so should be hidden out of shame for getting one in the first place.

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    I rest my case .

Good move.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,614 ✭✭✭Mozzeltoff

A lot of people won't like what I'm about to say. I'm in Dublin at the moment and it's almost as if, that if you want to be cool and modern then you need to get a tattoo. I even find myself seeing guys with tattoos who don't seem to fit the stereotype for getting a tattoo! I even over heard a conversation recently where by a group of lads were confused why Ronaldo doesn't have tattoos!!

When I see senior managers with tattoos I often think to myself "fair play to you for getting so far, it's a pity you had to let yourself down with that disgusting ink marking on your wrist. That's how I know this is far as you'll get". They won't get to be CEO! Especially if they also say "I done"

When I see tattoos, all I think is that such a person is likely from a certain social class, that they're a trend follower, that they probably smoke, or that they're seeking validation of some sort. Effectively, tattoos all look the same, and all look horrible. I don't think much people pay attention to what the tattoos are, and more so "oh he's got a tattoo"

Says more about you OP than it does about people with tattoos..

• Registered Users Posts: 21,867 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

I'm with jay.
    They're hideous deplorable attention seeking beacons and so should be hidden out of shame for getting one in the first place.

I always wanted to be a beacon of light in this dark , narrow minded world , now I know I can :D

• Registered Users Posts: 17,427 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

GavRedKing wrote: »
    You can donate blood if you've a tattoo.

Its an only issue if you've gotten a tattoo within the last 3 months or so.

Edit : Its 4 months

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/health/health_services/blood_and_organ_donation/blood_donation.html

That’s the Irish blood board :)
    Last time I checked Ronaldo played in Spain where he was a regular donor and now he’s in Italy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Deusexmachina

....... wrote: »

Do you think older people stop caring abut their appearance? You must be young.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Deusexmachina

Does having a tattoo effect intelligence?

Many posters on here cannot seem to grasp that they will be judged if they have an obvious visible tattoo.

Straight away they are back with 'I don't care about those small minded judgemental people and their opinions ..etc ..etc"

If you don't care, why the anger?

You will be judged - not everybody thinks tattoos look good. Many people think they look ugly and you look stupid for having one.

Personally, I think they can look okay but I would not like to label myself permanently like that. seems very shortsighted to me.

Trends change. I can remember when most guys got earrings (in one ear), when mullets were cool, when high waist trousers and doc martins was a good look... or skinheads, mohawks, punks, rastas, mods, goths....etc.