Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to do during hosepipe ban?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,294 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

LirW wrote: »
    Well there is a lot, an awful lot of rain here, it's so much rain that people go on about the rain all the time. It's at least almost half of the year for the driest parts of the country.

There is not half as much as you would think. It doesn't rain for close to half the time. That said it does rain enough to keep a small sparsely populated place like Ireland well supplied.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

There's one of those outdoor pools coming up for sale in a large supermarket chain next week,
    and to fill it up to 90%, can you guess how many litres?

9rQU6l0.png

Yes, 7,480 frickin litres!

If there's a case for imposing restrictions on the sale of goods, even for short specfic periods, it's now.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,390 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

There's one of those outdoor pools coming up for sale in a large supermarket chain next week, and to fill it up to 90%, can you guess how many litres?

Did you read any of the thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Dial Hard wrote: »
    Did you read any of the thread?

Bits of it, imposed water restrictions and such. 7,000+ litres is a fair bit of hosepipe, bucket or mains connection.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

Fill the watering can from the sink and focus on the pots and hanging baskets for now.

Patww79 wrote: »

Ah come on anyone buying this next week will have it ripped out of the packaging and on the lawn in under 30mins. They not going to wait, it's 30oC outside.

The best time to buy these is mid-winter, a regular summer weather is fine (rainy), but looks like no rain for weeks, possible summer of '76-78 type records broken and yellow grass galore.

Likely available on-line mid-winter.

What are the chances anyone with kids etc will buy this and not actually use it asap. Estimate 80% or so. Like buying ice-creams and leaving in freezer until Sept.

Any other summer, fine but the outlook is for blocking highs and sweaty bits for some time.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭standardg60

Ah come on anyone buying this next week will have it ripped out of the packaging and on the lawn in under 30mins. They not going to wait, it's 30oC outside.

The best time to buy these is mid-winter, a regular summer weather is fine (rainy), but looks like no rain for weeks, possible summer of '76-78 type records broken and yellow grass galore.

Agreed. I'd imagine these will be withdrawn from sale for the moment.

Bits of it, imposed water restrictions and such. 7,000+ litres is a fair bit of hosepipe, bucket or mains connection.

That pool has come up already.

Dial Hard wrote: »
    That pool has come up already.

Cool, 7,000 litres is worth thinking about twice.

Maybe the FireBrigade (many have drones now) can do a quick 'eye in the sky' scan next weekend to count the 'blue pools of pleasure', in between detecting early gorse fire hazards.

Patww79 wrote:

It's really not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Cool, 7,000 litres is worth thinking about twice.

Maybe the FireBrigade (many have drones now) can do a quick 'eye in the sky' scan next weekend to count the 'blue pools of pleasure', in between detecting early gorse fire hazards.

They can sell plenty outside Dublin.

True, more a case of temporary 'social responsibility'. They're good at all the charity stuff and sponsoring sports clubs, so not unthinkable.
    // As mentioned above just now, might only affect Dublin sales, so not going to impact on the end of year Balance Sheet.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Ms2011

The purpof a hammer is not to bludgeon your neighbour to death with it, the sole purpose of a pool is to be filled with water.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    There is not half as much as you would think. It doesn't rain for close to half the time. That said it does rain enough to keep a small sparsely populated place like Ireland well supplied.

Well in that case I think the population should think even more about a private tank for rainwater harvesting, especially with the prospect of that happening a lot more. Even I thought of getting a second one in the back garden so there's one in the front and one in the back.
    Said it before, why aren't new houses fitted with harvesting systems for outside taps and all non-drinking water jobs like the toilet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

So anyway, gardening.....would you mow the lawn (albeit quite high) to remove stalky growth while it's brown or leave it alone?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

So anyway, gardening.....would you mow the lawn (albeit quite high) to remove stalky growth while it's brown or leave it alone?

I wouldn't, if you cut short it can burn the remaining lawn down with strong sun exposure, lawn has a better chance to stay grand when you don't mow in the time strong heat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭May Contain Small Parts

Well in that case I think the population should think even more about a private tank for rainwater harvesting, especially with the prospect of that happening a lot more. Even I thought of getting a second one in the back garden so there's one in the front and one in the back.
    Said it before, why aren't new houses fitted with harvesting systems for outside taps and all non-drinking water jobs like the toilet.

Or we could not moan so much about paying taxes and lobby/enable the government to actually build proper infrastructure.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 48,401 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

It says quite a lot about the state of a country if a few days of warm weather can cause a serious crisis in supply
    a few days? are we living in the same country?
    i live in dublin and we've not had significant rain in 6 or 8 weeks.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 48,401 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

source? the law explicitly mentions hoses and hoses only, IW have confirmed as much, and it's been mentioned several times in thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

a few days? are we living in the same country?
    i live in dublin and we've not had significant rain in 6 or 8 weeks.

And, given that you live in Dub!in, ye've fook all water at the best of times. Sure aren't ye trying to hijack the Shannon these days. Just be careful about that strategy though- the culchies love to dump their sh!t directly into that river.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

If only there was some means which financially affected those who use more water than others

BOHtox wrote: »
    If only there was some means which financially affected those who use more water than others

I wonder would those on limited incomes get a paddling pool bonus at this time of year, to use against their water charges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

But the purpose of a pool isn't specifically to fill it the second you get home during a hosepipe ban.

Ah... Ya it is.

Or else the dad goes... no it's too sunny kids. Let's wait till it rains before I set it up!!