If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Waterford GAA thread - mod warning post #1 and #51

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

April fools?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭Jjjjjjjbarry

That has to be April Fool's and a cruel one at that!

Waterford GAA Fixtures

Saturday 6th April

•Ballygunner v Clonea
    At 3pm
    In Walsh Park

•Roanmore v Mount Sion
    At 4:30pm
    In Walsh Park

•Passage v Ballyduff Upper
    At 6pm
    In Fraher Field

•Abbeyside v Fourmilewater
    At 7:30pm
    in Fraher Field

Sunday 7th April

•Tallow v Dungarvan
    At 2:15pm
    In Fraher Field

•De la Salle v Lismore
    At 4pm
    In Fraher Field

I'm thinking of going to the double header in Walsh Park on Saturday. Sick of looking at Ballygunner but would like a look at Clonea and think the Mount Sion v Roanmore should be a great battle. Hopefully no injuries for the county lads there!!
    Also would like to see Fourmilewater to see how Conor Gleeson gets on. Someone said he was due back with the club in April.

What's everyone's game of the week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,697 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Roanmore v Sion and DLS lismore both have the potential to be tasty enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

In other news, Derek has finally left his teaching position to become director of Hurling for Dublin.. 150k contract

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭upthedeise16

Waterford GAA Fixtures

Saturday 6th April

•Ballygunner v Clonea
    At 3pm
    In Walsh Park

•Roanmore v Mount Sion
    At 4:30pm
    In Walsh Park

•Passage v Ballyduff Upper
    At 6pm
    In Fraher Field

•Abbeyside v Fourmilewater
    At 7:30pm
    in Fraher Field

Sunday 7th April

•Tallow v Dungarvan
    At 2:15pm
    In Fraher Field

•De la Salle v Lismore
    At 4pm
    In Fraher Field

I'm thinking of going to the double header in Walsh Park on Saturday. Sick of looking at Ballygunner but would like a look at Clonea and think the Mount Sion v Roanmore should be a great battle. Hopefully no injuries for the county lads there!!
    Also would like to see Fourmilewater to see how Conor Gleeson gets on. Someone said he was due back with the club in April.

What's everyone's game of the week?

Think the double header on Sunday is the more attractive as both games are hard to call, especially Tallow and Dungarvan. DLS May have too much for Lismore but it all depends on how they handle Dan and Maurice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭DiscoStew

914 wrote: »
    2016 Aussie wins young hurler of the year and hurler of the year awards playing centre back

I won’t bother arguing the merits of some of the points, but this..... if you actually believe Austin Gleeson played centre back in 2016 I really don’t know what to say to you. Maybe watch back some of those games. He may have had 6 on his back but he was undoubtedly playing in the half forward line.

Every championship game

Is there not a condition on that of depending on capacity? Not all Mayo fans were catered for in Newbridge last year I believe so I think the wording may have changed slightly.
    In any case, surely the game being at home has to be to the home teams advantage. If for example Waterford had 2,000 season ticket holders and Clare had 8,000, surely not all 8,000 Clare will be accommodated or you would be giving up a significant part of your home advantage.

Simple solution to this I think.

2013 Aussie played centre back in a team which won the Minor All Ireland and he was excellent

2016 Aussie played centre back in a team which won the u21 All Ireland and again he was excellent especially in the Munster final win over Tipp

2016 Aussie wins young hurler of the year and hurler of the year awards playing centre back

2017-present Aussie has played nearly every position bar the half back line.

Stick the young fella in the half back line and let him do what he does best. He is liable to score 4-5 points from half back which is probably what he may score from the half forward line.

Moving him from position to position is no way going to help him. We done the same with Ken McGrath for a number of years also, madness.

I think a lot of people (including me) thought it was that simple. Paraic Fanning also possibly thought that too as he played Aussie in the half back line in the early games this year. The problem is that his form wasn't good enough so he either had to just drop him and keep him as a defensive sub due to Moran flying it at wing back and with Tadhg and Philip on the way or else try him in the forwards... because he's Aussie and just has to be in the team. He then went and scored 5 points from play against Clare in Walsh Park without seeming to play that well for more than ten minutes.
    What do you do?!

Interestingly, last year Derek played him centre back and he was contender for man of the match against Tipp in the league game up in Thurles before hobbling off injured. He got injured again in a club game against Roanmore. He then played wing back against Tipp in the Munster championship game up in Limerick and was rushed back from injury as we had so many other casualties. The year was over after that really and he missed the guts of it through injury.

The only way he's going back now is if Fanning decides he needs Moran back at midfield and even at that, it's another risk as the chap is being messed around again. The big factor for me is that we need consistency in the backs and Aussie has struggled with that. At least in the forwards, hot and cold can still work.
    It's a right head wrecker of a problem in fairness as we can't crash out of the championship with Austin Gleeson on the bench. Maybe next year if he's fit early on we try him centre back for the year and leave him there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Alpha Centauri

Highlights Of DLS v Lismore and Dungarvan v Tallow on TG4 monday night

Wow that's great. Go TG4!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭914

DiscoStew wrote: »
    I won’t bother arguing the merits of some of the points, but this..... if you actually believe Austin Gleeson played centre back in 2016 I really don’t know what to say to you. Maybe watch back some of those games. He may have had 6 on his back but he was undoubtedly playing in the half forward line.

Sorry you are correct, I had forgot McGrath pushed him into the half forward line in 2016.

Clare in Munster semi and Kilkenny games he shined in the half forward line.

Either way, I feel he is best facing the ball and making those surging runs from the half back line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭914

I think a lot of people (including me) thought it was that simple. Paraic Fanning also possibly thought that too as he played Aussie in the half back line in the early games this year. The problem is that his form wasn't good enough so he either had to just drop him and keep him as a defensive sub due to Moran flying it at wing back and with Tadhg and Philip on the way or else try him in the forwards... because he's Aussie and just has to be in the team. He then went and scored 5 points from play against Clare in Walsh Park without seeming to play that well for more than ten minutes.
    What do you do?!

Interestingly, last year Derek played him centre back and he was contender for man of the match against Tipp in the league game up in Thurles before hobbling off injured. He got injured again in a club game against Roanmore. He then played wing back against Tipp in the Munster championship game up in Limerick and was rushed back from injury as we had so many other casualties. The year was over after that really and he missed the guts of it through injury.

The only way he's going back now is if Fanning decides he needs Moran back at midfield and even at that, it's another risk as the chap is being messed around again. The big factor for me is that we need consistency in the backs and Aussie has struggled with that. At least in the forwards, hot and cold can still work.
    It's a right head wrecker of a problem in fairness as we can't crash out of the championship with Austin Gleeson on the bench. Maybe next year if he's fit early on we try him centre back for the year and leave him there.

A lot of good points in this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭upthedeise16

Ssssshh!!! No one will go now and people will be giving out in this forum!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭lim4ev

A win would have been good but it wasn’t to be. Lots to be positive about heading into the championship. A better league campaign than anyone would have thought and a few new lads in the mix aswell.

A few lads got found out in different positions and maybe no harm that it happened today and not in the Munster Championship. Plenty of lads still to come back. Limerick are still on the highs of last years All Ireland and have carried that form through the league, they are in great condition and have a super bench but I’m not convinced if they can maintain that intensity right through til August. A few other teams are hiding in the long grass and I think we can only improve aswell. I won’t be losing too much sleep over losing a league final, there’s bigger days ahead.

I totally agree with this yes we won yesterday big question here in Limerick is are we going too well too early I honestly don't know but I do trust our mgmt team and I know for a fact the limerick players are ravenous. I think it'll be a totally different game come championship despite Waterford being flat yesterday I think ye have a team that can compete with the best shall we say I wouldn't be banking on anything heading to walsh pk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭hurler on de ditch

lim4ev wrote: »
    I totally agree with this yes we won yesterday big question here in Limerick is are we going too well too early I honestly don't know but I do trust our mgmt team and I know for a fact the limerick players are ravenous. I think it'll be a totally different game come championship despite Waterford being flat yesterday I think ye have a team that can compete with the best shall we say I wouldn't be banking on anything heading to walsh pk
    it never bothered KK .theyd win the walsh cup,go on and win the league then theyd piss through leinster before capturing the all Ireland .go for everything .when and if they fail to win the All Ireland , the experts will say they peaked too early and the usual bull about how they overtrained etc .but the truth being its just really dificult to win one all Ireland let alone retain it ...we lost yesterday not because we were lighter,smaller,touch wasnt great .werent fit enough etc etc .we lost to a better team on the day ...end of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭twistables

it never bothered KK .theyd win the walsh cup,go on and win the league then theyd piss through leinster before capturing the all Ireland .go for everything .when and if they fail to win the All Ireland , the experts will say they peaked too early and the usual bull about how they overtrained etc .but the truth being its just really dificult to win one all Ireland let alone retain it ...we lost yesterday not because we were lighter,smaller,touch wasnt great .werent fit enough etc etc .we lost to a better team on the day ...end of.

When kk dominated from 06 to 15 the Lenister chapionship was the equivalent of a Munster cup allowing them to go into the AL series mostly fresh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭hurler on de ditch

twistables wrote: »

When kk dominated from 06 to 15 the Lenister chapionship was the equivalent of a Munster cup allowing them to go into the AL series mostly fresh.
    True enough .bit my point is every team goes for everything they are in .it works out for some and not so for the majority .I was making the point of .if they fail the experts will be out with the usual bull****

Yeah winning is a state of month and as you said, it's very very hard to win back to back All Ireland's and when it doesn't happen everyone is an expert on why. KK did have an easier path though. If Limerick were to go on and win back to back Ireland's coming from the new munster format, it would be an incredible achievement.

Sorry you are correct, I had forgot McGrath pushed him into the half forward line in 2016.

Clare in Munster semi and Kilkenny games he shined in the half forward line.

Either way, I feel he is best facing the ball and making those surging runs from the half back line.

But yet he won Young Hurler and Hurler of the Year playing half forward in 2016.

I do understand where you are coming from though. Having Aussie playing very well would be a big boost but if we can get him playing well half forward it will be worth so much to us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭whiteandblue

https://www.tipperarylive.ie/news/sport/373378/you-can-watch-twenty-two-tipperary-county-club-hurling-championship-games-this-weekend-for-just-15.html

Between senior and intermediate, you can take your pick from 22 games on this weekend in Tipp, great value even if a lot do clash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

hardybuck wrote: »
    I know everyone has things to do, but I've often wondered about whether half the Waterford support were GAA fans at all. A hell of a lot of people I know who attend games aren't interested in the clubs, or wider GAA. They support the Waterford senior hurling team and that's pretty much it.

What you did miss was the better of the two fixtures yesterday, and you possibly spent longer driving than enjoying the event.

How is that an issue for you, what people who paid to see their team play do with their time after the game is over?? As anyone defending football is at pains to remind everyone any time the sport is criticized, they are two different sports. Just because you've an interest in one doesn't mean you've an interest in the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,718 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Hard too see anyone beat Ballygunner this year but ya never knw 5 in a row is hard too do in any sport

The intermediate championships seem to be competitive esp the Western one

Hopefully no Injuries from these club games and the football and hurling panels will be 100% going into the championships

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

How is that an issue for you, what people who paid to see their team play do with their time after the game is over?? As anyone defending football is at pains to remind everyone any time the sport is criticized, they are two different sports. Just because you've an interest in one doesn't mean you've an interest in the other.

I've obviously touched a nerve, sorry pet.

Rather than an issue for me, it was something that I was surprised by.

I would possibly have a different philosophy from you in terms of what a GAA person is as opposed to a hurling or football supporter - which is absolutely fine.

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Hard too see anyone beat Ballygunner this year but ya never knw 5 in a row is hard too do in any sport

The intermediate championships seem to be competitive esp the Western one

Hopefully no Injuries from these club games and the football and hurling panels will be 100% going into the championships

Did any transfers take place, or lads coming or going overseas, which could impact the senior championship this year? Otherwise Ballygunner should be too good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭fuinneamh

While our first touch and our physicality was off in the middle third was off last Sunday, I think a large part of this is explained by both counties schedules.

Waterford went 3 weeks in a row with Clare, Galway and Limerick.
    Limerick has Laois, break week and then Dublin and Waterford.

Last year every team in the championship got slaughtered on their 3rd week out on the trot. So this is a big factor to explain our performance on Sunday.

At the same time, we do have to do some major work on our short puck outs. The amount of ball that McNulty/Connors got in the second half short and just hit down the line to marked men or aimlessly long loopy ball was terrible. At the very least they need to draw the man and give the ball short to a free man in the centre of the pitch on our 45 who can then hit either corner with good ball or run through the midfield cover or short pass again.

Very encouraging league and really looking forward to championship now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Mulbert

Spot on, u may as well compare hurling to rounders or cricket than to football.

Mulbert wrote: »
    Spot on, u may as well compare hurling to rounders or cricket than to football.

Should we rename this thread to the Waterford senior hurling team thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,802 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

hardybuck wrote: »
    Should we rename this thread to the Waterford senior hurling team thread?

What about Waterford/Mayo/Kerry GAA thread since you're getting your knickers in such a twist over people not staying on for the second game.

JeffKenna wrote: »
    What about Waterford/Mayo/Kerry GAA thread since you're getting your knickers in such a twist over people not staying on for the second game.

The only people getting their knickers in a twist are those who've taken umbridge to me noting the lack of interest of many Waterford hurling fans in the wider GAA.