Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weddings - a terrible day out.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Jamsiek wrote: »
    The bride and groom, the families.
    Nobody else should matter except maybe close friends.

I have one daughter. Do you think I would forget about her wedding day if she doesn’t pull some kind of stupid stunt filmed (in portrait of course) on an iPhone and uploaded to YouTube?
    This is the kind of nonsense people are complaining about.
    1. Your wedding MUST stand out from all the other weddings. (Why?)
    Answer: It won’t be “memorable” otherwise.
    2. You will attempt to make it stand out by pulling some kind of stunt that has already been pulled 50 times and posting it on Facebook. (Why?)
    Answer: all manner of terrible things will happen if your weddings not memorable.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Here's where that "No thank you" phrase comes in handy...

It certainly does, I use it frequently.

Well if you want a short sharp in and out. "I do" "So do I" quick sherry reception, perfunctory meal and then everybody out of the gaff by 6pm......just marry an Englishwoman. In england

That's how they do it.

Boring bastards!

I was at a similar wedding here in Boston. 12 guests, fantastic Italian food, over in a couple of hours. Best wedding I have ever attended.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

splinter65 wrote: »
    I have one daughter. Do you think I would forget about her wedding day if she doesn’t pull some kind of stupid stunt filmed (in portrait of course) on an iPhone and uploaded to YouTube?
    This is the kind of nonsense people are complaining about.
    1. Your wedding MUST stand out from all the other weddings. (Why?)
    Answer: It won’t be “memorable” otherwise.
    2. You will attempt to make it stand out by pulling some kind of stunt that has already been pulled 50 times and posting it on Facebook. (Why?)
    Answer: all manner of terrible things will happen if your weddings not memorable.

I agree, I already agreed with mcgiggles about this.
    No need for gimmicks
    However, people shouldn't be condemned for wanting to do it either
    It should be up to the bride and groom IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

The second day of a wedding is weird. I did that once or twice as I was abroad for about 3 weddings so you stay around for the weekend.

I was invited to a meal the next day once. At the end of the meal the best man asked us all for speeches re the lovely couple.

This was a large group of 40-50 people. Even girlfriends and boyfriends, people who hadn’t seen the bride before in their life, had to opine about how amazing the couple were and destined for a fabled life of happiness. I got my speech in first or second to get it over with (anyway the best man was at my table).

I just did a toast. After that it was copy cat rhetoric until a priest ranted on for 30 minutes, followed by another self indulgent public speaker. When I spoke I spoke for 1 minute but after the priest the speeches got longer and more uncomfortable as people not used to public speaking felt they had to talk for minutes following the priest lecture. (What was he talking about? No idea. Blanked from my brain).

Eventually a few people just plain out refused and it stopped. Then the priest said a few more words. For 20 more minutes.

We left at midnight. The meal started at 7. I drank my last coffee at 9:30.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

Irish weddings are absolute crap. After being to a few polish weddings I'd never go to another crappy generic Irish do again, sir around all day listening to lads talk muck about football all day, rubbish bands.....

Nah, yer alright lol

We have decided the day after our wedding this year will be just us spending the day together. Then a barbeque with our families that evening.

The following day we are having a party for friends to celebrate with us.
    Best way to have it IMO

Our second day is going to be another party with loads of family, friends etc. We are having a fairly big wedding so there could be potentially up to 100 people at our second day even if lots who attended the wedding don't come so I'd expect to be around people for the full day and night and to be honest this is what we would want.

Plenty of time to spend alone with each other on honeymoon which will be a few days after the wedding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

italodisco wrote: »
    Irish weddings are absolute crap. After being to a few polish weddings I'd never go to another crappy generic Irish do again, sir around all day listening to lads talk muck about football all day, rubbish bands.....

Nah, yer alright lol

I agree with you but what was so good about the Polish wedding?

Our second day is going to be another party with loads of family, friends etc. We are having a big wedding so there could be potentially up to 100 people at our second day even if lots who attended the wedding don't come so I'd expect to be around people for the full day and night and to be honest this is what we would want.

Plenty of time to spend alone with each other on honeymoon which will be a few days after the wedding.

The difference is we are having the party 2 days after the wedding so in a way we are spreading it to 3 days :D

We will more or less have 3 days too as lots will be around the night before the wedding so we expect a bit of a session that night too :D!

• Registered Users Posts: 928 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

A lot of people are giving out about the music at weddings, there's obviously a reason that every wedding will play Come on Eileen, because everyone knows it and most people like the song.

What are your alternatives?

My friend hired a DJ but gave a list of songs that he wanted played throughout the night. The order was up to the end DJ, for him to do his job. Is that more to your liking.

Personally, I love the cheesy music at weddings and the awful but fun dancing.

I suppose it depends how much annual leave you have and how flexible your job is. For single days off like weddings etc I usually just "work from home" rather than use up a days holiday.

You work for the state right?

How can you not be available for a whole day and not get called or texted or emailed?

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭Shadowstrife

Hard pass on any invite.

Yes, do tell more more about your narcissistic, ego-stroking event congratulating you paying less tax than single people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

I suppose it depends how much annual leave you have and how flexible your job is. For single days off like weddings etc I usually just "work from home" rather than use up a days holiday.

You work for the state right?

How can you not be available for a whole day and not get called or texted or emailed?

I've done that loads of times for things I wanted to do, usually a Friday.
    I'd be contactable alright, have the laptop up to about lunchtime then phone for the afternoon.
    Never a problem.

I'd be contactable alright, have the laptop up to about lunchtime then phone for the afternoon.
    Never a problem.

I don’t really care if you don’t work for the state but it’s not really “working from home” is it.

• Registered Users Posts: 350 ✭✭skylight1987

I think if the food is good , the wine is good and the band are good its going to be great day, I eat, drink then dance all night but a bad meal or a bad band can make the day very long and and dull

Did you read the post? I would have email access all day on the phone and would be online for a few hours in the morning keeping an eye on things before the wedding. I never get called, my work correspondence is all over email or pre-organised conf calls (which I would say I'm unavailable for if it clashed with something like this)

Also the nature of people's work varies I have a very good handle on my work so it's very rare I'd get any surprises coming in of a Friday afternoon or what ever.

Working for the state or not has noting to do with it, there would be more than me doing this at weddings I've gone to and it would be a mix of state and private. Not everyone works in rigid work places stuck in old ways of working.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,418 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Its actually in Vancouver, Canada in July so the weather should be good.
    However we have tents on standby in case they are needed.

You are lucky it's July... Vancouver is Canada's third most rainy city, with over 161 rainy days per year! Not much different to Dublin...

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Did you read the post? I would have email access all day on the phone and would be online for a few hours in the morning keeping an eye on things before the wedding. I never get called, my work correspondence is all over email or pre-organised conf calls (which I would say I'm unavailable for if it clashed with something like this)
    Also the nature of people's work varies I have a very good handle on my work so it's very rare I'd get any surprises coming in of a Friday afternoon or what ever.

Working for the state or not has noting to do with it, there would be Moreno than me doing this at weddings I've gone to and it would be a mix of state and private.

You drink at weddings right (clearly you admitted that) ergo you admitted to being drunk for a working day.

Should be a firable offense but this is the Irish State sector.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

odyssey06 wrote: »
    You are lucky it's July... Vancouver is Canada's third most rainy city, with over 161 rainy days per year! Not much different to Dublin...
    Yeah, a good portion of Washington State and southern B.C seem to have a similar climate to Ireland and UK.

odyssey06 wrote: »

Yes we picked it in July as we knew the weather would be at it's best.
    Its a beautiful location when the weather is good so I have my fingers crossed.

Yeah, a good portion of Washington State and southern B.C seem to have a similar climate to Ireland and UK.

Yes the winters are mild and rainy but the summers are much better here than in Ireland as they are usually hot and dry.
    Lots of forest fires last summer :(

You drink at weddings right (clearly you admitted that) ergo you admitted to being drunk for a working day.

Should be a firable offense but this is the Irish State sector.

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: how do people comeback up with this sort of nonsense. Who cares if you have drink on you while "working". Firstly its not like I tell anyone I'm at a wedding on the beer and secondly if they cared we would end long gone for coming into the office after heavy nights out.

Also I get emails to my phone at all times of the day and night (and while on holidays etc) due to working across time zones and it's not unknown for me to reply on normal night out (and not remember doing it the next day :pac:) never mind a wedding.

Also I never said I work for the state.

Never a problem.

I can work from home all the time (except once a fortnight) and I often knock off early in the summer on a Friday. However, I always let my team know I am knocking off early, I don't pretend to be working. Swings and roundabouts, but I would not abuse the trust of my team.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: how do people comeback up with this sort of nonsense. Who cares if you have drink on you while "working". Firstly its not like I tell anyone I'm at a wedding on the beer and secondly if they cared we would end long gone for coming into the office after heavy nights out.

Also I get emails to my phone at all times of the day and night (and while on holidays etc) due to working across time zones and it's not unknown for me to reply on normal night out (and not remember doing it the next day :pac:) never mind a wedding.

Also I never said I work for the state.

Exactly that's whats wrong in the civil service, you literally can't be fired for all the p1sstakery you're pulling off. You certainly wouldn't get through with that in the private sector. Thank god the internet is anonymous.
    Weren't you bragging about your heavy 2-day piss ups you enjoy so much? Jesus take a bit of pride in what you're doing, be professional and take the day off when you want to get clinically drunk.
    It's pretty impolite being on the phone or on the laptop when socialising.

Edit: I'm 99,9% sure that you went on a good while ago that you work for the state. Would at least be believable, my guy is a Civil servant and the amount of p1sstaking there is absolutely unreal.

LirW wrote: »
    Exactly that's whats wrong in the civil service, you literally can't be fired for all the p1sstakery you're pulling off. You certainly wouldn't get through with that in the private sector. Thank god the internet is anonymous.
    Weren't you bragging about your heavy 2-day piss ups you enjoy so much? Jesus take a bit of pride in what you're doing, be professional and take the day off when you want to get clinically drunk.
    It's pretty impolite being on the phone or on the laptop when socialising.

Where are you getting the idea that I work in the civil service? I don't.

Also I'm very good at my job and work damn hard at it hence why people don't keep tabs on you like a child and allow you to manage your work in the way you see best as they trust you with it. When I'm online while away on holidays or working at 11pm at night trying to meet a deadline you would understand why it's all swings and roundabouts.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,418 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Also I get emails to my phone at all times of the day and night (and while on holidays etc) due to working across time zones and it's not unknown for me to reply on normal night out (and not remember doing it the next day :pac:) never mind a wedding. Also I never said I work for the state.

I would class it as being on call \ available... it doesn't fit my definition of 'working' and I can work from home. But if I disappeared for three hours and wasn't actively working and available immediately for calls & email responses, my manager would be having a serious chat with me come return to the office...

It's not an option that's available to the vast majority of people faced with a wedding in an awkward location midweek...
    My strategy there would be to skip the church, assuming I'm not in the main wedding party.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Where are you getting the idea that I work in the civil service? I don't.

Also I'm very good at my job and work damn hard at it hence why people don't keep tabs on you like a child and allow you to manage your work in the way you see best as they trust you with it.

That doesn't matter though because it is absolutely unprofessional taking and out of office day when in reality going on a piss-up. I wouldn't care how hard you work, this certainly shines a pretty bad picture on the company.
    Worked in a company myself where a guy was kicked out for similar clownery.
    That's plain and simple just gaming the system of your employer that's being built on trust. Not cool.

LirW wrote: »
    That doesn't matter though because it is absolutely unprofessional taking and out of office day when in reality going on a piss-up. I wouldn't care how hard you work, this certainly shines a pretty bad picture on the company.
    Worked in a company myself where a guy was kicked out for similar clownery.
    That's plain and simple just gaming the system of your employer that's being built on trust. Not cool.

You sound like the sort of person who would like the good old clock in clock out system with no flexibility. People work best when they are not being followed around like a child. It's not gaming the system it's just a different way of working.

You also ignored the fact that I'd be online most of the morning keeping an eye on things and on a Friday heading away around lunch time is not a rarity even on a normal week.

You sound like the sort of person who would like the good old clock in clock out system with no flexibility. People work best when they are not being followed around like a child. It's not gaming the system it's just a different way of working.

You also ignored the fact that I'd be online most of the morning keeping an eye on things and on a Friday heading away around lunch time is not a rarity even on a normal week.

Been working flexible myself and loved it, it's an amazing way to work. It is not a different way of working though when you call an out of office day and going on the piss-up, that is a huge difference and none of my previous employers with flexible hours would have tolerated.

Anyway, this could be carried on forever and I don't wanna derail the thread really, so the case is closed for me.