Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Lads if ye have to order anything from BMW I have a trade discount.

I'll have a 2018 M5 with the ceramic brake option thanks :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

I'll have a 2018 M5 with the ceramic brake option thanks :D

Just the one?;)

bazz26 wrote: »
    Any ideas? I'm thinking maybe a damaged front track rod?

Impact damage to a track rod would be very rare (aside from hitting a wall etc of course)... is the wobble on good surfaces when going in a straight line or turning?

You might have wear on inner track rods that you are only noticing now. It can be very subtle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,580 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

It's not bad or anything but I notice the subtle difference in the ride given I drive the car all the time. Feels like a small bobble on good surfaces in a straight line. Car isn't pulling to one side outside of road camber either. I had a look the wheels today and I couldn't see anything to suggest a buckle or tyre damage and I didn't really hit the ramp fast enough to indicate that sort of damage happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Harcrid

It's not bad or anything but I notice the subtle difference in the ride given I drive the car all the time. Feels like a small bobble on good surfaces in a straight line. Car isn't pulling to one side outside of road camber either. I had a look the wheels today and I couldn't see anything to suggest a buckle or tyre damage and I didn't really hit the ramp fast enough to indicate that sort of damage happened.

Sounds like one of those things that will be a bastard to find. I know it would drive me crazy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Might be a long shot but you could have knocked a weight off a wheel. Balancing might sort it.

All balance weights present and accounted for. No dead bodies hiding under the arches either.

My OCD is probably making more out of it than there is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭Dartz

Try driving my yoke.

It's recently developed a new feature. Sink the shoe at speeds above 80kph and it'll start to automatically change lanes to the right. Release, and it comes back.

Probably a bushing. Possibly the diff.

It can't be checked until the weather ****s off but it's not unstable. And it's not the only thing gone wrong with the undercarriage.

Engine's OK though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Dartz wrote: »
    Try driving my yoke.

It's recently developed a new feature. Sink the shoe at speeds above 80kph and it'll start to automatically change lanes to the right. Release, and it comes back.

Probably a bushing. Possibly the diff.

It can't be checked until the weather ****s off but it's not unstable. And it's not the only thing gone wrong with the undercarriage.

Engine's OK though.

Is that not really useful for overtaking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Anyone have apple car play, is it any good worth getting ?

I am thinking of getting it retrofitted mainly for the Spotify app which seems to work well on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,732 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

CIP4 wrote: »
    Anyone have apple car play, is it any good worth getting ?

I am thinking of getting it retrofitted mainly for the Spotify app which seems to work well on it.

Is it not already in the A4? Was in all the A3's I was driving last year, even the bog basic version.

R.O.R wrote: »
    Is it not already in the A4? Was in all the A3's I was driving last year, even the bog basic version.

In everything from 171 mine is 161. Funny part is mine has the upgraded MMI Nav plus with the bigger screen yet still doesn’t have it.

OSI wrote: »
    I paid €350 for it on the Golf and still thought it was worth the money, gets used every time I'm in the car.

Just seen on the Audi Service website there is a special offer on it at the moment for €279 but reckon I would get the use out of it as I am going to keep the car for a good few years. I will double check with them to ensure it can be done on my car but imagine it can.

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭markc1184

Can anyone recommend a SIM card for use in a car. Preferably one that has data amounts preloaded rather than having to top up monthly.

[IMG][/img]

Ah I think I am growing out of the changing cars every season phase :pac: It took a while to realise it’s probably not the best way to do it financially plus I want to buy a house next year / 2020 so more of a focus on that. All that aside still very happy with the A4 definitely my favourite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,541 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

1_C5_F8_F02-1034-4324-_B995-_C94_E45_B5_D271.jpg

They’ve done a ton of modifications to it!

Ah, seriously though, there she is.
    FABF469_C-9_D92-4_B3_A-89_F7-7270_DF11622_A.jpg

On the press release the reg is 182–D-9093. See what the did there?

colm_mcm wrote: »

You think they could of at least got him a Superb at a minimum not exactly mad fancy either even from a space point of view going around bet into the back of a rapid isn’t great. Although I suppose maybe he wouldn’t want to go around in anything that could be perceived as being prestigious.

Like his Lamborghini?

07_E26_CF2-6_F6_E-4_A6_F-8070-7_F322_FACA8_F0.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

Although I suppose maybe he wouldn’t want to go around in anything that could be perceived as being prestigious.

That was the point of it, basic cars seem to be his thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

Like his Lamborghini?

07_E26_CF2-6_F6_E-4_A6_F-8070-7_F322_FACA8_F0.jpg

Imagine a padre pio sticker on the windscreen of that yoke.. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭morritty

Apparently, he had the Vatican requested a small car, same with the public plane.

Could’ve rented a car for €30. What are Skoda Ireland going to do with a LHD Rapid, they can’t even sell them in RHD here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,281 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Seeing the photo above I am pretty sure it's RHD.

Even though, whatever it is, it more than likely will be sold on auction after pope's departure.

joujoujou wrote: »
    Seeing the photo above I am pretty sure it's RHD.

Even though, whatever it is, it more than likely will be sold on auction after pope's departure.

You are indeed correct.

Picture reminds me of David Cameron cycling to work with his chauffeur behind carrying his briefcase

8_D89_F611-29_C1-476_B-8216-4_DBE96_D741_C7.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I just keep an eye on dd for the car. Be a cheap, SAFE car

They’re donating that and the Karoq with the stained glass windows to charity to be fair to them. Not a hope of the Karoq getting through an NCT though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

1_C5_F8_F02-1034-4324-_B995-_C94_E45_B5_D271.jpg

They’ve done a ton of modifications to it!

FABF469_C-9_D92-4_B3_A-89_F7-7270_DF11622_A.jpg

He has an Isuzu D-Max now in Knock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,281 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

The skoda he was in during Knock visit is not the same he had in Dublin AFAIK. And speaking about white pope-mobiles, my guess is they're all came from Vatican, aren't they?