Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

Speaking of bad ads, saw this last night:

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-rs4/25682987

Lots of description which is good, but my god he's an awful photographer!
    Looks like a gem if it does have just 88,000km

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

One pic of the front of the car and then loads of close ups of random bits..

Also didn't realised a flat bottomed steering wheel was a selling point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

Tazzimus wrote: »
    One pic of the front of the car and then loads of close ups of random bits..

Also didn't realised a flat bottomed steering wheel was a selling point.

To be fair, the RS4 came with either the flat or the round wheel & the round one looks the same as one you'd get in a Diesel A3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Look at the Daimler he has for sale though

They're a world of rusty pain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi/25757392

anyone think this is weird the date is so far in the past on the dash alongside duct tape on the reg?

If they were just reusing old pictures I'm sure it has more than 260k km on it now if the pics are a year old. Date could just be wrong on the dash

See the Audi is free now... €13k to zero....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

It was €130k before that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,544 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Using the Harvey Norman business model so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Well that's that over then, and I was going to offer him 129,999 in the morning for it and all.... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Not sure do many on here follow Car throttle but a while ago they bought a 2003 A4 with over 540K miles on it.

Just looked through the MOT history on it, its plain outrageous the only thing its every failed for is blown bulbs and one worn brake hose fair enough there was other advisories but no major fails for anything big. It just goes to show what cars can do mileage wise and plenty or people in Ireland think 100K miles is high mileage. Personally I'd think of anything with 250-300k km on it as being high mileage and on the way out then you have that Audi going around with 800K km on it, it's mad.

Reg is WP03LNF
    https://www.check-mot.service.gov.uk

CIP4 wrote: »
    Not sure do many on here follow Car throttle but a while ago they bought a 2003 A4 with over 540K miles on it.

Just looked through the MOT history on it, its plain outrageous the only thing its every failed for is blown bulbs and one worn brake hose fair enough there was other advisories but no major fails for anything big. It just goes to show what cars can do mileage wise and plenty or people in Ireland think 100K miles is high mileage. Personally I'd think of anything with 250-300k km on it as being high mileage and on the way out then you have that Audi going around with 800K km on it, it's mad.

Reg is WP03LNF
    https://www.check-mot.service.gov.uk

That could be down to owner been anul about keeping her right though.... Is great to see though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Good preventive maintenance and not using the MOT to highlight items to service is probably the reason.

That could be down to owner been anul about keeping her right though.... Is great to see though.
    Good preventive maintenance and not using the MOT to highlight items to service is probably the reason.

Oh I would say you are right it was definitely looked after and maintained but at the same time most of been reasonably reliable as if the owner was piling money into it every month it would of been long gone. Definitely regular servicing and sticking to intervals is a great starting point and prevents a lot of issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Didn’t they meet the previous owner of that?

Or was that the Octavia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

That was the Octavia.

A drop in the ocean compared to those but i had a run in with a Qashqai there the other week, 378k kms, drove perfectly. Modern cars in general take mileage really well IMO if you do any bit of looking after them.

20200802-181840.jpg

I had a 3 year old Passat before with 190km it. It’s not massive mileage but it’s big for the year. Honestly bar the dent in the door trim from the drivers elbow, it could of had 25kms in it.

Always makes me fear when I see low mileage ex lease plan cars floating around lol

That was the Octavia.

A drop in the ocean compared to those but i had a run in with a Qashqai there the other week, 378k kms, drove perfectly. Modern cars in general take mileage really well IMO if you do any bit of looking after them.

20200802-181840.jpg

I use to be at moving stock etc and found huge miles on stuff 2 or 3 years old...ainly rental or lease.... Even likes of alfalfa's..... Some would be absolutely mint, others falling apart, seemed to depend mainly on the driver, like in my work some absolutely destroy the buses and are extremely hard wearing.

Yeah, Mrs FB's previous MK7 Golf would have been similar, when it got traded in re PCP'd it was just shy of 3 years of age with 140k kms on it. Still had it's original tyres on the back axle with around 4mm tread depth left, still on original pads and discs all round, original wipers etc. Could have passed for 40k no bother.

Still had a little equity too :pac:.

Yeah, Mrs FB's previous MK7 Golf would have been similar, when it got traded in re PCP'd it was just shy of 3 years of age with 140k kms on it. Still had it's original tyres on the back axle with around 4mm tread depth left, still on original pads and discs all round, original wipers etc. Could have passed for 40k no bother.

She is a driver that reads the road ahead so....

Jaysus. The most I ever saw on a tyres was 87kms on a Passat with origional back tyre (other side was changed due to a puncture)

A question for all the Toyota enthusiasts :)

Is the starter the same on a 1.4 d4d 2007 Corolla E13 saloon and a 1.4 d4d 2006 Corolla E12 hatchback?

I'm hoping so because I've just bough one used from ebay from a 06 to go on the 07. I reckon it's the same, using Toyodiy without a chassis number suggests it's the same but have a fear now that the block connector could be different.

Long shot, anyone :pac:
    PsychoPete wrote: »
    Supposed to be the same across the Corolla, Auris and Yaris, you'll find them in the first gen Mini as well
    They’re the same.

For those of you waiting with baited breath. They were not the same.

It arrived today and it looks similar but definitely not the same. The solenoid housing looks the same size, the block connector is the same and the mating surface looks the same but the motor housing is smaller looking on the one i'm after buying.

Probably should have got my current one refurbed.

The solenoid was sticking on my old one i think. I'm going to throw on the "new" on tomorrow anyway and see how it goes.

20200828-221525.jpg

20200828-221616.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

My A3 had just shy of 300,000 miles on it when I got rid of it and the engine was grand on it. Those older diesel engines were great.

L-M wrote: »
    Jaysus. The most I ever saw on a tyres was 87kms on a Passat with origional back tyre (other side was changed due to a puncture)

I said this earlier on but the Octavia I bought recently has 134K km on original rear tyres 3mm left on them. Changing them soon though as they are just gone noisy obviously never rotated. But grip wise they are actually fine they are Michelin Energy. It's the most I have ever seen on a car tyre.

My car search continues.. Has anyone ever had any dealings with Dublin Diagnostics? They offer pre-purchase checks. I think one of the selling points (unless I'm misinterpreting it) is that they will go and look at a car without me attending. Just pay them in advance, and if it turns out to be a pile of sh/te I can avoid a wasted journey.. is the theory, anyway. Google brings up some complaints in a Liveline argument, but I don't know if it's entirely fair to take that as a be-all and end-all of a company..?

Someone posted a nice 2013 Renault Megane Estate with 135k on it for €8k recently, and it's still in the back of my head. It looks lovely and ticks all the boxes for me.

But as i have bad luck, i've been looking at a similar 2012 Renault Megane Hatchback with 125k on it for €5.5k as it is quite similar, just not as sexy looking, but a good bit cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,914 ✭✭✭User1998

There’s always mixed opinions on Dublin Diagnostic, he came to look at a car I was selling and he done a fairly thorough inspection but others claim he is a con man

User1998 wrote: »
    There’s always mixed opinions on Dublin Diagnostic, he came to look at a car I was selling and he done a fairly thorough inspection but others claim he is a con man

Sounds like he could be legitimate enough. I suppose anyone that has a bad experience will label him a con-man, but I'm sure the same is said about the NCT, too when a car fails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,914 ✭✭✭User1998

Yeah he’d definitely be handy to use to save you a wasted journey if you had to travel far, I’d trust him to inspect a car after the inspection he done on mine. Had a really good look around the car for accident damage and done a good long test drive and a diagnostic. He does a full UK and Irish history check as well included in the price. I saw on Donedeal you can book a pre purchase inspection now as well with a company called Auto Guru, €99 for an inspection that doesn’t even include a test drive? Or a more thorough one for €150

I've arranged with him to go and look at the car on Monday. It's about 45 minutes away from me, so I might swing over myself while he's there, depending on how my day goes, work-wise.

I do much prefer the look of the blue estate version, and if it was a grand cheaper I'd probably go for it, but I can't shake the feeling I'll be standing looking at it in a year's time, on the back of a tow truck. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,373 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

CIP4 wrote: »
    I said this earlier on but the Octavia I bought recently has 134K km on original rear tyres 3mm left on them. Changing them soon though as they are just gone noisy obviously never rotated. But grip wise they are actually fine they are Michelin Energy. It's the most I have ever seen on a car tyre.

I always went for those due to the huge mileage we got out of them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 387 ✭✭Ta ceist agam

Dublin Diagnostics was on Liveline 3 years ago about doing dodgy checks or no checks at all and saying everything is fine. He was also confronted about selling clocked cars himself.

Have a listen

https://www.rte.ie/radio/radioplayer/html5/#/radio1/10796360

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,144 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

I have seen multiples times a dodgy trader will often try find out who is doing the checks and offer them a few quid to "miss" something. Part of the many reasons I gave up working in the motor trade. It's been infiltrated by too many worms.