Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I sold a 2012 petrol auto for near that at the start of the year. Tiny miles though, and lovely spec.

Mine has the same spec as that one IIRC just diesel and manual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Only realised after I bought the Octavia that the Rear tyres had a very similar manufacture date to when the car was built late 2016. They are Michelin Energy to look at overall are ok but are starting to crack a little and go hard meaning they are a little noisy when driving but actually grip ok even in the wet overall not bad by any means.

As I had expected when I bought it I will get new tyres soon for it. These Michelin on the back are wore perfectly even with 2.5-3.0mm left on them. However the shocking thing here is if they are original to the car which everything points to them being they have 134K Km on them :eek: I have heard/seen rear tyres on cars do 80K km or so before but never over 100K Km.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,902 ✭✭✭hooch-85

Sorry lads but it's "brakes", breaks are those things you take during your work day to eat your lunch

It's funny that's what's impressed me about the car :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

CIP4 wrote: »
    It's funny that's what's impressed me about the car :pac:

Likely not driven hard if they're the original, not heavy loads and most likely just the driver in it....

Straight roads and motorway, no back roads or country roads as such...

Likely not driven hard if they're the original, not heavy loads and most likely just the driver in it....

Straight roads and motorway, no back roads or country roads as such...

Yes I’d say it was all driver only no wear on other passenger seats not that there is a whole lot on the drivers. Yes based on the mileage it did plenty of long trips and journeys. To look at / drive the car you wouldn’t think it had half the mileage on it, it has.

I actually did a lot of driving in it the last few days have 900km put up on it and can’t really fault it. It’s going in for a service tomorrow as they didn’t get to service it before I collected it.

So far seems like it was a pretty good buy.

Does anyone know at what point can you tax a car online can you do it on ‘transferred to an individual’ stage or do you need to wait till the VRC has been issued ? I am assuming the pin retrieval online still works when you have no VRC ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,121 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

When the cert has been issued, you can do the forgot password email , not before

Does anyone know at what point can you tax a car online can you do it on ‘transferred to an individual’ stage or do you need to wait till the CRC has been issued ? I am assuming the pin retrieval online still works when you have no VRC ?

Just keep an eye on the change of ownership section and you will be able to then as mentioned.
    If it's a new car it usually last 6 digits on vin. I know not new but just saying.

............ I have heard/seen rear tyres on cars do 80K km or so before but never over 100K Km.

Loads of cars put there that do little urban or poor road driving would have rear tyres with 100k kms + on them and still be over 2 mm thread I would think.

The Sorento is AWD, the factory tyres were swapped front/rear at 40k kms, when the rears had 5mm thread and the fronts were just under 4mm ........ at 63.5k kms they were all just under 3 mm ish. Approx 20k kms per mm of thread on the rear.

There's Nexan N'FERA RU1 on it from the factory and that's what I got put on at 63.5k kms. I measured the new ones to be 7mm depth. Suggests that unrotated the rears would do 100k kms :)

Crude measure admittedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭TheShow

Buying a new car would you expect it to come with a full tank of fuel?

TheShow wrote: »

Half at least

TheShow wrote: »

For all the cars I bought none of them had a full tank of fuel. I’d expect around half a tank and that’s what I typically got. Depends on the car cost aswell if it is very low cost <1000 euro maybe you can’t expect much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭padyjoe

I saw and HEARD a a 07' Hummer H2 moving yesterday. That thing akin to the dead dinos it was burning: huge and roaring. 6.0 V8, 3t, the features of a baby suv. :-D

There is a fine balance with tyres: you can have either long lasting or grippy ones. You can't have both.

padyjoe wrote: »

There is a fine balance with tyres: you can have either long lasting or grippy ones. You can't have both.

If you are doing loads of 60/70mph cruising you can have both without extremes of either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,121 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

padyjoe wrote: »
    I saw and HEARD a a 07' Hummer H2 moving yesterday. That thing akin to the dead dinos it was burning: huge and roaring. 6.0 V8, 3t, the features of a baby suv. :-D

Interesting point to note on the H2. The GVWR is 3900kg so you cannot drive it on a car license here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

ELM327 wrote: »
    Interesting point to note on the H2. The GVWR is 3900kg so you cannot drive it on a car license here.

I got one of the Hummer limo's to my debs back in boom times, it couldn't even get from Newbridge to Navan on a tank of juice. I think I recall the driver saying it got somewhere between 0 and 4mpg depending on where it was. Horrible yoke too, the height of tack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

They tend to be reserved for the, minority, folk these days. Usually a bright pink one.

I think that's the Ford Galaxy on it's death bed. I think I owned it, what.. 10 weeks?

Drove it on Thursday and it started overheating, needle started going to hot very fast, so I pulled in, thankfully enough next to a Nissan dealers. I got a bottle of 5ltr ready to use coolant off them (€16! seemed hefty?) and the galaxy drank, easily 4.5ltrs of it. Must not have been a drop in it.

Drove on, and not a bother out of the car. Was in it for about 8-9 hours driving after that, and no issue at all. Drove it on Friday for about 2-3 hours, no bother at all.

Then yesterday (saturday) Was on the M1 home and with no prior notice, the temperature gauge jumped up to the max, and the engine cut out. I coasted into the hard shoulder, opened the bonnet to the smell of (something) burning.

When it had cooled ever so slightly (about 15-20 mins later, with the bonnet open), I checked oil and coolant, and both were practically empty. I topped them up (watered down the coolant I still had in the bottle, so about 1.5ltr) and about 1ltr of oil that was left in a bottle in the boot.

It started again, but it sounds horrendous. A little bit like this, albeit not as pronounced when it's idling, but becomes more noticeable and moves with the RPM.

So I'm planning to drop it down to a mechanic in the morning (about 10mins driving) and he'll hopefully tell me it's grand, just needed a bolt tightened and charge me €10. More realistically, i reckon he'll tell me to get it away from him before it explodes. :o

Assuming it's off to the scrap yard, I wonder can I get a cert of destruction and write the whole cost of the car and repairs off as a business expense..?

I think that's the Ford Galaxy on it's death bed. I think I owned it, what.. 10 weeks?

Drove it on Thursday and it started overheating, needle started going to hot very fast, so I pulled in, thankfully enough next to a Nissan dealers. I got a bottle of 5ltr ready to use coolant off them (€16! seemed hefty?) and the galaxy drank, easily 4.5ltrs of it. Must not have been a drop in it.

Drove on, and not a bother out of the car. Was in it for about 8-9 hours driving after that, and no issue at all. Drove it on Friday for about 2-3 hours, no bother at all.

Then yesterday (saturday) Was on the M1 home and with no prior notice, the temperature gauge jumped up to the max, and the engine cut out. I coasted into the hard shoulder, opened the bonnet to the smell of (something) burning.

When it had cooled ever so slightly (about 15-20 mins later, with the bonnet open), I checked oil and coolant, and both were practically empty. I topped them up (watered down the coolant I still had in the bottle, so about 1.5ltr) and about 1ltr of oil that was left in a bottle in the boot.

It started again, but it sounds horrendous. A little bit like this, albeit not as pronounced when it's idling, but becomes more noticeable and moves with the RPM.

So I'm planning to drop it down to a mechanic in the morning (about 10mins driving) and he'll hopefully tell me it's grand, just needed a bolt tightened and charge me €10. More realistically, i reckon he'll tell me to get it away from him before it explodes. :o

Assuming it's off to the scrap yard, I wonder can I get a cert of destruction and write the whole cost of the car and repairs off as a business expense..?

Buy a Toyota.... Get someone to look over the car before you buy another money pit....

@KKV would you consider buying something fresher as the older bangernomics doesn’t seem to work for you well in recent years. I think part of the issue is you seem to do absolutely massive mileage which if the car is anything other than perfect it won’t survive. I don’t know exactly how much mileage you do but didn’t you say a few weeks ago you had a lot of miles put on that Galaxy and as you said you only have it 10 weeks.

I know it’s hard to win as if you buy something for 10k and it blows up you are down a lot of money. But if you get a well minded reliable model car with FSH and look after it, it should be quite reliable.

I am not sure on your question re business expenses.

Buy a Toyota.... Get someone to look over the car before you buy another money pit....

@KKV would you consider buying something fresher as the older bangernomics doesn’t seem to work for you well in recent years. I think part of the issue is you seem to do absolutely massive mileage which if the car is anything other than perfect it won’t survive. I don’t know exactly how much mileage you do but didn’t you say a few weeks ago you had a lot of miles put on that Galaxy and as you said you only have it 10 weeks.

I know it’s hard to win as if you buy something for 10k and it blows up you are down a lot of money. But if you get a well minded reliable model car with FSH and look after it, it should be quite reliable.

I am not sure on your question re business expenses.

I'm fully anticipating I'll be told by the mechanic that the car needs it's engine rebuilt. If this can be done for about €500 then I might take a punt on it, to keep it on the road for even another 6 months to get some value out of it. However, the last engine issues I had (C5) cost me over 3k, so I presume I'll get a similar quote again, and the Galaxy will be scrapped.

I've literally, this week, used almost every spare penny I had, to pay off my revenue bills and such, and to jump ahead on the mortgage. Which means anything I buy will be getting paid for by the Credit Union.

I'm tempted to throw a budget together of about €10k and see what that can get me, car wise. The last 2 years weren't dreadful with bangernomics. I got two mondeos in a row, both for less than a grand, and both went for a full year, each, with no maintenance work really needed (a quick service on both when i first got them).

I really wanted a Galaxy (I love the space and the little extra ground clearance is handy too as I tend to go down some crappy roads/boreens). And I think my problem is that I just settled on a galaxy as I felt it was quite cheap for what it was (2k) and figured even if I'd to spend another 1k on it, it'd still be worth it. I've sunk about €900 into it now, between tyres, servicing, exhaust and NCT. I just hoped it would last a bit longer than it did.

Look up likes of corolla, avensis, verso version if you want the height and Prius or Prius+

A 1.4 corolla petrol or avensis 1.6 would do the job as they're reliable.... Obviously diesel is what you need but you need a better budget.

I'd go honestly go for the avensis, drive it on and see from there. The galaxy is toast and if it's drinking that much head gaskets, leaks etc. It's going to cost.

The megane I'm using I've put up over 60k km in 1½ years, I've serviced it twice and due another now. Seriously you need to be looking at the likes of these and they're picked up cheap enough. Fluence, megane or Laguna (not many left really)
    Also something nice and powerful would be to consider the Saab 93 or 95 diesel, get the one with the cheaper tax 2010/11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,110 ✭✭✭selectamatic

The right type of bangernomics will work.

A galaxy that was left up for a year and then tested and sold on by a trader was always going to be a very risky move.

Ba_barabus has a very clean 13 avensis on dd for €8500 kkv could be an option for ya.

Don't go the recon engine route maybe a cheap replacement engine from a breakers and then sell the galaxy to recoup costs but its a risky move.

If going bangernomics old school 1.9pd tdi car is what you want. One that has been somewhat minded and isn't being sold by a complete cowboy.

And a man doing the mileage you are should be checking oil and coolant levels at least once a week.

Look up likes of corolla, avensis, verso version if you want the height and Prius or Prius+

A 1.4 petrol or avensis 1.6 would do the job as they're reliable.... Obviously diesel is what you need but you need a better budget.

I'd go honestly go for the avensis, drive it on and see from there. The galaxy is toast and if it's drinking that much head gaskets, leaks etc. It's going to cost.

Unfortunately, I'm VAT registered, so I have to drive a diesel or I can't claim back the VAT on fuel. My experience with cars is that petrol engines tend to cost more to run, and less to maintain, so it sorta balances out, but the VAT not being able to be claimed back on Petrol rules it out (and is a very stupid stance from Revenue, especially now with diesel being the bad guy again).

I have heard the 1.5 diesel engine in the Megane/Clio/Captur/Kadjar is supposed to be fairly reliable. I believe this is used across a few Fords aswell (and presumably Citroens?)

I'm wondering if I should perhaps join the Duster Fan Club?

I found a Touran by mistake, wonder are they any good?

Not finding many Toyota's in my quick glance, but this Auris looks okay?

Or perhaps this Megane?

And a man doing the mileage you are should be checking oil and coolant levels at least once a week.

Bastard of a thing only got a full service a few weeks ago. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

1.4 Corolla my ass,

Those things have plenty of problems too including needing a litre of oil a week because of the piston seal issue.

I'd avoid anything horrible like that altogether.

Also, unrelated, but i just seen this (a brand new 2020 Captur)

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/renault-captur-iconic-tce-90-my19-evap/25286871?campaign=6

How would Kearys end up with a brand new car? 7 Miles? I thought all their stuff was traded in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,544 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I have heard the 1.5 diesel engine in the Megane/Clio/Captur/Kadjar is supposed to be fairly reliable. I believe this is used across a few Fords aswell (and presumably Citroens?)

Fords and Citroens do not use Renault diesel engines. The only thing they have in common is they are the same capacity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭ofcork

They have a renault dealership in cork might have come from there.