Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheltenham 2018 - Day 1

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 393 ✭✭Didactic Ninja

a snatch like a bear trap

• Registered Users Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭akelly02

Had shantou flyer in my L15 :(

• Registered Users Posts: 11,880 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

They hadnt much to begin with, but since brian gleeson put himself into matt chapmans interview with jp mcmanus, the chemistry seems to have gone through the floor

• Registered Users Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

Funny to see the current prices on Betfair and contrast them with the bookies boards at the course. BF offering 20 or more (less deduction) bar the top 2 in the Champion Hurdle. All the course bookies offering 10/12/14 on Melon, Elgin, Yorkhill, Wicklow Brave!

• Registered Users Posts: 525 ✭✭✭irish_major

I've backed John Constable each way here, maybe he's slightly over-priced. Really hope to see faugheen back to himself.

Gotta a free bet with PP, put it ew on mick jazz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

byronbay2 wrote: »
    Funny to see the current prices on Betfair and contrast them with the bookies boards at the course. BF offering 20 or more (less deduction) bar the top 2 in the Champion Hurdle. All the course bookies offering 10/12/14 on Melon, Elgin, Yorkhill, Wicklow Brave!

Has to be done to stop them going overbroke in the place market. Especially with a 1/2 fav in the race.

If they offered the same price as betfair theyd be basically offering 4/1+ a place on the rest of the runners. Which is not a good business plan.:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭akelly02

9/2 the machine. please god

• Registered Users Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

Plenty of EW money around for Elgin and Melon

• Registered Users Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭Jim Gazebo

On Wicklow Brave E/W here at 20/1 since about 3 weeks ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

How on earth did Beware The Bear finish 4th there. Unbelievable where he came from.

Wicklow Brave here lads. Hopefully. BD overrated (there i said it)

Is there a better hurdler in the field than Buveur Dair.
    I dont get the negatives on him. He is short enough for me and I wont be betting. But jesus he is a joy to watch over a hurdle. Hope he hacks up.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

ID Thief was 100/1 this morning.....now 50/1.

Surely its only each way thieves who are backing this former fighting fifth winner, who was second to VVM back in Nam.

elgin for me. air drinker to get turned over

• Registered Users Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭gazza1

A few pennies on Identity Thief at 50s in the wo market PP

• Registered Users Posts: 4,016 ✭✭✭Itziger

I'd be a tiny bit worried that the Mullins gang could do a job on BD here (if I had money on the fave)

• Registered Users Posts: 211 ✭✭Graham1978

I
    Graham1978 wrote: »
    Have a lucky ew lucky 15
    Summerville boy
    Beware the bear
    Rathvindan
    De plotting shed
    Am I right in saying that my bet will only pay the e/w odds even if the last 2 win ?

faugheen to the glue factory. finito

Gotta a free bet with PP, put it ew on mick jazz

I'll take that

• Registered Users Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Johner wrote: »
    1.30 - Mengli Khan 14/1 e/w.

Price looks too big, should enjoy the hill.

2.10 Footpad

Can't see him being beat.

2.50 Cogry 16/1

One who'll love the conditions at a price.

3.30 Mick Jazz 40/1 e/w

Hopefully pick up the pieces late on and sneak a place, cant see Buveur D'air being beat.

4.10 Will probably throw Apples Jade into a double with Footpad.

Nothing for the last two.

Yes Micky J. :cool:

Decent day so far.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 568 ✭✭✭Auroras_encore

Just proves buvear dair is no superstar but we knew that already, you don't get annihilated in a supreme and be anything special

• Registered Users Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭superfurry1

Really frustrating

• Registered Users Posts: 6,083 ✭✭✭Chesty08

2 placed out of 2 so far from Gordon Elliott!
    I'll be following him closely.
    Apples Jade
    Mossback / Jury Duty
    De Plotting Shed / Tycoon Prince
    left to go today

• Registered Users Posts: 6,083 ✭✭✭Chesty08

2 placed out of 2 so far from Gordon Elliott!
    I'll be following him closely.
    Apples Jade
    Mossback / Jury Duty
    De Plotting Shed / Tycoon Prince
    left to go today

• Registered Users Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭gazza1

gazza1 wrote: »
    A few pennies on Identity Thief at 50s in the wo market PP

Placed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭WickIow Brave

Away for a looooong walk.

Just proves buvear dair is no superstar but we knew that already, you don't get annihilated in a supreme and be anything special

You dont win 2 champion hurdles without being close to a superstar.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Any chance Mick jazz gets a little credit for another fine run?

Labaik the moral winner of the 2018 champion hurdle.

Wonder why CAB didnt give him the go ahead to run :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭Jim Gazebo

Disappointing run from Wicklow Brave, made a good run but came from so far back (last) and couldn't finish! On La Bague au Roi in the next, then Jury Duty and Testify. All e/w/. Apples Jade also.