Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prison officer recruitment 2018

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Paddy 42 wrote: »
    I'm sure some of the serving officers on here can advise tho if these are annual requirements

Absolutely not an annual requirement. I think there should be something yearly. To be quite frank, there are some very obese serving officers. We get decent breaks throughout the day and many of them will just binge eat on all three breaks and then probably again when they go home. That's not to judge, just telling it how it is. If you're able to jog to any degree, you'll be grand for the physical though.

I don't mean to bring doom and gloom! There's loads of free gym facilities in the job, great running clubs and lads&girls sharing routines and diets etc.

Are you a serving officer?
    Or do you know this for sure that there is no annual fitness test?
    Is there an annual CNR refresher?

Serving PO here. C & R refreshers roll around every so often, I'd say I've done two refreshers since I've come in nearly 10 years ago. Not quite every year but it is very useful. A refresher is a full day of training so it's pretty thorough and is a great opportunity to showcase and introduce new techniques and equipment.

• Registered Users Posts: 151 ✭✭Paddy 42

Wow,
    That is strange that there isn't an annual fitness test.
    Job is physicaly demanding lot walking and standing for long periods. When you press the bell for help you want to know the troops will arrive quickly.

Wow,
    That is strange that there isn't an annual fitness test.
    Job is physicaly demanding lot walking and standing for long periods. When you press the bell for help you want to know the troops will arrive quickly.

In fairness when the alarm goes off the staff are there in seconds. The adrenaline gets you there and gets you doing what you have to do. When all calms down, you'll see a good few red faces and huffing and puffing!

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭po candidate

suremaybe wrote: »
    Hope so . Goosed without it

PAS provide calculator unless something has changed this campaign

I see the IPS are creating a new unit in the midlands prison is it VDP unit(violent and disruptive prisoner unit) or something
    What is the ragimes like?
    Is it unlock for work, education etc bang up for lunch then unlock again for afternoon?
    Do they get evening association or what?

I see the IPS are creating a new unit in the midlands prison is it VDP unit(violent and disruptive prisoner unit) or something
    What is the ragimes like?
    Is it unlock for work, education etc bang up for lunch then unlock again for afternoon?
    Do they get everything association or what?

In Mountjoy they have the CBU or Challenging Behaviour Unit. Segregated from all the other landings. No free association, no school, no work. Basically 23 hours lock up, meals delivered to cell and 1 hour solitary exercise. Not sure if that's what the VDP Unit will be but going on the name alone, it sounds the same.

Is that just the regime because of staff shortages?
    Are there a lot of staff assaults in the joy?
    Have the POA negotiated for PPE for staff yet issuing of Barton's? or are staff still not issued them and only allowed to carry them for external escorts?

Is that just the regime because of staff shortages?

That regime is for prisoners who have breached serious rules. The Governor places them on that for an amount of time based on what breaches of the rules were carried out.
    Are there a lot of staff assaults in the joy?

Wouldn't have the numbers to hand. They're published internally most years I believe. Assaults on staff would be much less than prisoner on prisoner violence though.
    Have the POA negotiated for PPE for staff yet issuing of batons? or are staff still not issued them and only allowed to carry them for external escorts?

Staff on the landings are without batons when all is normal. Batons are issued for external escorts, that's correct.

Is the external escorts done by unit staff or are they mostly done by operations group the prisoner escorts service?
    How do staff work do they normally work on the same unit? (Wing)Or do you get biffed about for operational needs to other units?(wings)

Do ye have a segeration unit in the joy as well as the chalanging behaviour unit?
    Or is that the SEG unit?

Is the external escorts done by unit staff or are they mostly done by operations group the prisoner escorts service?
    How do staff work do they normally work on the same unit? (Wing)Or do you get biffed about for operational needs to other units?(wings)

The Prison Service Escort Corps (PSEC) look after the majority of courts in the country. Normal PO's make up the shortfall where necessary for things like annual leave etc. Other escorts like A&E or compassionate family escorts are looked after by individual prisons.

As a PO, you'll nominate the unit you'd like to work on e.g. A Wing, B Wing, Gym, Tuck Shop and so on. Dealt with on a seniority basis. You'll be on your own unit most days, with some exceptions.

Do ye have a segeration unit in the joy as well as the chalanging behaviour unit?
    Or is that the SEG unit?

Seperation Unit was closed a few years ago, seen as unfit for purpose. CBU is the only true seg unit or ''block'' in Mountjoy but it's not called that officially.

I know the wadges are made up of a lot of allowances is it like a base salary then other allowances for nights, weekends public holidays etc? And mandatory additional contacted hours?

Cheers for the information .
    I've bombarded you enough lol

I know the wadges are made up of a lot of allowances is it like a base salary then other allowances for nights, weekends public holidays etc? And mandatory additional contacted hours?

Nail on the head ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭lfcsean101

Can i ask whats attracting people to these positions ?

I know what mine are and just wondering is it the same ?

• Registered Users Posts: 11 thomasefc3

Hi as a serving PO have you got the pay scales? As I am finding it very hard to get them other than the pay scale for Recruits. I would like to see the pay scales beyond that. Any help I would be grateful.

• Registered Users Posts: 22 Paddy1507

thomasefc3 wrote: »
    Hi as a serving PO have you got the pay scales? As I am finding it very hard to get them other than the pay scale for Recruits. I would like to see the pay scales beyond that. Any help I would be grateful.
    There in this thread

cheers found it there. thanks.
    how does the rent allowance work? does everyone recieve it? i have a mortgage and live in dublin, would i receive it? thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 22 Paddy1507

Yes everyone receives it

Paddy1507 wrote: »
    Yes everyone receives it
    Cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 31 S00100668

I noted that in stage 2 we have to do verbal reasoning and the maths again but are they providing us with a calculator it only say we provide pen paper etc does that include calculator says we cannot being anything in with us :/

Don't panic,
    You will be provided with all the nessessary materials required to take the assessments ,this will include a calculator for the varifey calculation test.
    Best of luck to all who are undertaking the re tests in Dublin next week.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 ynwamac

anybody know a good site for the stage two prison officer aptitude test.
    looking for a free one

• Registered Users Posts: 31 S00100668

ynwamac wrote: »
    anybody know a good site for the stage two prison officer aptitude test.
    looking for a free one

Look at the message you were sent by the public appointments to inform you of you stage one scores there's a link for being familiar with the tests ... btw it's the verbal reasoning and the maths again ðŸ‘

Does it give you the Same numberof practice questions in each assessment as the real test eg :
    Verbal Reasoning 17 minutes for 30 Q's
    Varify Calculation Test 10 minutes 20 Q's

Guys.. I am slightly jumping the gun here but I am wondering if anyone has any Idea whether a family member with a conviction will be an issue should I progress to that stage. I don't have a strong relationship with my cousins and some Aunts/Uncles for example so I don't know their backround too well. I don't have any issues myself, never been arrested or anything. Just wondering what criteria you have to pass for the clearance to go through. Cheers.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Guys.. I am slightly jumping the gun here but I am wondering if anyone has any Idea whether a family member with a conviction will be an issue should I progress to that stage. I don't have a strong relationship with my cousins and some Aunts/Uncles for example so I don't know their backround too well. I don't have any issues myself, never been arrested or anything. Just wondering what criteria you have to pass for the clearance to go through. Cheers.

That wouldn't be a hit on your background.

If your nose is clean you'll be fine.

That wouldn't be a hit on your background.

If your nose is clean you'll be fine.

Thanks.. thats good to know