Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings [Mod Note in Post #1]

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭Aska

Silly question alert.

Is all this IRA affilliation from gang members just powertripping? I mean i am in my 40s so I know what the IRA was, like many of you but now guys get arrested and they are in their 20s etc... the IRA haven't been relevant in some of their lifetimes. But it's always thrown out re: membership, so is it gang mentality similar to MCC clubs ?

Just a query

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭Flyingsnowball

Aska wrote: »
    Silly question alert.

Is all this IRA affilliation from gang members just powertripping? I mean i am in my 40s so I know what the IRA was, like many of you but now guys get arrested and they are in their 20s etc... the IRA haven't been relevant in some of their lifetimes. But it's always thrown out re: membership, so is it gang mentality similar to MCC clubs ?

Just a query

Maybe the kinehans decided they arnt paying them tax anymore because they are irrelevant.

MC clubs not MCC clubs.

MCC clubs are just regular guys and gals.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Telly wrote: »
    His kids did go to private school and one went to Trinity believe it or not.

Wow, I never realised there was so much money in driving kids to the Debs in a limo!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Southdubin6

Wow, I never realised there was so much money in driving kids to the Debs in a limo!

There’s it but Brinks stock plenty

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I dunno if it's a sad situation as such..the people you're talking about weren't shot for singing too loud in church. and don't forget he's a career criminal himself..lay down with dogs,get fleas.

Well I was more thinking for the innocent family memebers who get shot in order to hurt a gangster relative, I mean it's not their fault who's family they were born into :/

In fairness, I left school (private) in 2008 right at the tail end of the Celtic Tiger (bank shares collapsed the previous summer in 2007, knock on effects didn't hit the wider economy until Autumn 2008) and you'd be amazed at the ridiculous amounts of money which were thrown at things like that. Wouldn't surprise me at all if someone providing a service like that could get completely loaded from it - it wasn't just debs, people would hire stuff like that for their birthdays, going away / coming home parties, end of exams, etc. It was a normal thing for a lot of the D4 crowd, at least for a while.

I always preferred to save my socialising budget for actual booze, so we'd get the DART into town but we'd be downing vodka and other such niceties on it the whole way in :D:D:D

In fairness, I left school (private) in 2008 right at the tail end of the Celtic Tiger (bank shares collapsed the previous summer in 2007, knock on effects didn't hit the wider economy until Autumn 2008) and you'd be amazed at the ridiculous amounts of money which were thrown at things like that. Wouldn't surprise me at all if someone providing a service like that could get completely loaded from it - it wasn't just debs, people would hire stuff like that for their birthdays, going away / coming home parties, end of exams, etc. It was a normal thing for a lot of the D4 crowd, at least for a while.

I always preferred to save my socialising budget for actual booze, so we'd get the DART into town but we'd be downing vodka and other such niceties on it the whole way in :D:D:D

People get limos for Funerals nowadays too. ZWP!!

Nowadays?

Honestly where do you people go during the day. I don’t think I’ve ever been to a funeral without some limos or at least towncars.

It’s part of the package.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

He got rid of that back in 2009 I think.

I loved the name he gave that Limo company, CAB & he claimed it stood for "Carry any body" but we all knew it was really giving two fingers to the Criminal assets bureau (CAB).

Actually, now that I think of it, there could have been a "body" in the boot the odd time too!

Old article:
    https://www.herald.ie/news/credit-crunch-forces-monk-to-sell-luxury-limo-27908917.html

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭PLOPS

begbysback wrote: »
    When I die I don’t want any limos at my funeral, or people who would get limos to a funeral.

Don't get mixed up between Hummer limos and a limo that all Irish funerals have at them.

• Registered Users Posts: 590 ✭✭✭Monkeynut

When I die I don’t want any limos at my funeral, or people who would get limos to a funeral.

I don't want a stretch Hummer limo. But I really think a limo is the norm for a funeral to hold your relatives behind the hearse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Ok you’ve twisted me arm, but only 1 limo

But I have a large family. Lol

I just don’t want a limo at mine with the 2 men who colluded with the 3rd lad to shoot me. No names no scandal caolan.

I want my funeral to be a massive sesh, so f*ck the expensive limos or caskets or anything for my actual body,if I have cash I'll put some aside for a free bar and a DJ so people will be like "Remember Paddy's funeral? That was a f*cking epic day" :D:D:D

I've never really understood the idea of a grandiose funeral procession or aesthetic tbh, if I had that kind of money to spend on it I'd rather spend it on entertaining whoever shows up. I suppose maybe the grandiose procession offers some kind of comfort to the grieving? Call me a cynic, but when I look at photos of David Byrne's funeral (which took place literally next door to where I went to college, they closed the building for the day on the grounds that the Gardai were sweeping the street for bombs etc the morning before) it strikes me that the grandiosity wasn't so much for him or his family, as much as it was the crew sending out a message that "we're rich and powerful as f*ck, don't mess with us" to those who had targeted them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Chris P Bacon

Gerry Hutchs kids did not go to private school but they are not involved in crime either. Good people imo and kept well away from that life.

Wasn’t one of them shot?

No

No

Sorry makes sense now. Mixed up there.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,845 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Sorry makes sense now. Mixed up there.

LOL

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

LOL

Does he have no male children?
    How come the media are claiming innocent women are being burnt out of their Gaf’s and innocent women are being attacked at their jobs.

You never hear of innocent lads being chased around the place,

• Registered Users Posts: 7,845 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Does he have no male children?
    How come the media are claiming innocent women are being burnt out of their Gaf’s and innocent women are being attacked at their jobs.

You never hear of innocent lads being chased around the place,

Slightly over 24 hours ago you came bursting into this thread like Mr. Billy Big Balls telling us all not to believe what we read in the papers.

You tried to come across as the big tough man who knew the real story.

LOL.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭KM792

Just out of curiosity,are all these gangland figures as fearsome as the media make them out to be?Finglas' Mr Flashy took me by surprise when I actually saw a picture of him.Nothing like what I expected. Would he be an intimidating figure when he's walking round his local area,or would people just say "Ah shur we know him since he's young".
    Just a query.

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Telly

KM792 wrote: »
    Just out of curiosity,are all these gangland figures as fearsome as the media make them out to be?Finglas' Mr Flashy took me by surprise when I actually saw a picture of him.Nothing like what I expected. Would he be an intimidating figure when he's walking round his local area,or would people just say "Ah shur we know him since he's young".
    Just a query.
    He’s tiny and looks like a child

• Registered Users Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Telly wrote: »
    He’s tiny and looks like a child

Its not his physical properties you need to worry about, its his mind & the things he's prepared to get others to do for him.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭KM792

Oh I'm well aware what him and his ilk are capable of,just making the point he wasn't what I'd envisaged in my minds eye.I suppose what I was trying to ask was is he someone who would terrorise his neighbours and intimitate or is he just an ordinary guy in his "day to day life"?

Ive been around a few of these "heads" down through the years, on both sides of the feud and another serious player whos not involved and tbh they are usually charming not intimidating people and somtimes even quiet, but ive never been on the bad side of them.

Actions speak louder than words though and there actions usually lead to one of two things.

End of the day there bullys and cowards, the real hardman is the one stands up to them.

It's a joke the way these people can, Order hummers to funerals, pay for funerals, pay for free bar at funerals. Everyone knows they sell drugs. But yet nothing can be done till it's in their hands and they're caught.
    Most are either on social or not collecting at all. But still can buy all these things... Should be searched daily and prove how they have the funds for such an extravagant life or get the hammer.

Not going to happen though. Or they have fronts to bypass it.