Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings [Mod Note in Post #1]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

I knew my own few scumbags growing up, many on a spectrum from alive to dead in an unmarked grave, but its still a bit strange reading this thread (and a few twitters) , where people seem to know these guys well.

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

from what I've seen and read, organized crime in the states were destroyed when they started hitting people with really heavy sentences, 30+ years, after that everyone ratted one everyone to escape jail, and the whole thing collapsed on itself more or less. Would a similar tactic work here? and if so, what would it take to have it implemented?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

I knew my own few scumbags growing up, many on a spectrum from alive to dead in an unmarked grave, but its still a bit strange reading this thread (and a few twitters) , where people seem to know these guys well.

Yea, people would be very surprised at how normal some high profile criminals are, I’ve known some from my own locality over the years and have had normal conversations with them, the one thing I have noticed if I’m honest is that I would look at them differently if I read something about them in the newspapers, media is a very powerful tool and can create something that is not actually there.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Dublin is a city and a small town at the same time. Everyone is related to someone who knows someone. The Byrne/Hutch thing is so insideous because of this. Many of the extended families are married into one another. Especially the ones from town. As I mentioned in a previous post, geography plays a big part in who your childhood friends are. Culchies wouldn't really get this(not implying yer a culchie yerself Herr Hassenforder), as a good portion of them feck off to college in different parts of the country and develop new friendships and the kids they grew up with do the same. This results in those childhood friendships to become less and less significant over time. Doesn't work like that in town, the kids from town that attend college wouldn't generally go looking for digs. Most would go home and sleep in the ma's and still see/socialise with the kids they grew up with.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Southdubin6

I’ve never ever drawn the attention of the police I’ve never been in a fight. But I grew up in certain clubs with a lot of these guys and to this day I’d never turn my nose at them. I know a lot of them outside the crime thing but as people.

begbysback wrote: »
    Yea, people would be very surprised at how normal some high profile criminals are, I’ve known some from my own locality over the years and have had normal conversations with them, the one thing I have noticed if I’m honest is that I would look at them differently if I read something about them in the newspapers, media is a very powerful tool and can create something that is not actually there.

I knew a few "allegedly" "active" republicans growing up. Never was afraid or intimidated by them. The scumbags though, you'd be wary of, even though they never did anything to me.

Dublin is a city and a small town at the same time. Everyone is related to someone who knows someone. The Byrne/Hutch thing is so insideous because of this. Many of the extended families are married into one another. Especially the ones from town. As I mentioned in a previous post, geography plays a big part in who your childhood friends are. Culchies wouldn't really get this(not implying yer a culchie yerself Herr Hassenforder), as a good portion of them feck off to college in different parts of the country and develop new friendships and the kids they grew up with do the same. This results in those childhood friendships to become less and less significant over time. Doesn't work like that in town, the kids from town that attend college wouldn't generally go looking for digs. Most would go home and sleep in the ma's and still see/socialise with the kids they grew up with.

S'ok i'm a culchie!
    :p

• Registered Users Posts: 4,748 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

El_Bee wrote: »
    from what I've seen and read, organized crime in the states were destroyed when they started hitting people with really heavy sentences, 30+ years, after that everyone ratted one everyone to escape jail, and the whole thing collapsed on itself more or less. Would a similar tactic work here? and if so, what would it take to have it implemented?

To say organised crime in the States has been destroyed is emmmmm a bit off?

Maybe it's not Italians as much anymore but crime is doing just fine over there despite harsh prisons/sentences

I’ve never ever drawn the attention of the police I’ve never been in a fight. But I grew up in certain clubs with a lot of these guys and to this day I’d never turn my nose at them. I know a lot of them outside the crime thing but as people.

Is it not difficult to seperate them from the criminality though? Maybe I can understand a fella with "a cause", but the drug/power thing is a bit more difficult to stomach (that might come accross a bit hypocritical)

I don’t know every one involved but I’d know most who drank in JUdge darleys and the POD. When they were starting out and some from when we were kids in school in syng street. I don’t have to listen to the drugs talk when I see them cause they know it doesn’t bother me what they say about it.

Jeez, it almost sounds like how they'd bang on about hurling here.
    It must be so easy to "get involved", i'd be terrified if i'd kids

Jeez, it almost sounds like how they'd bang on about hurling here.
    It must be so easy to "get involved", i'd be terrified if i'd kids

I’d rather work me ****ty job and ****ty hours then look over me shoulder for life

Reminds me of the Wire
    Kids playing "the game", knowing how short their shelf life was

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Dante7

I've known a good few of them due to where I grew up and also some family members. I could have easily got involved, but I got a scholarship to a private school and that took me away from it. Most of them are idiots who rely on the threat of violence and they tend to end up dead or spending most of their lives inside. But some of them are very clever and stay under the radar, and if they had different opportunities they would be running legit companies. One thing I will say though is that I have met far more evil, psychopathic people in the boardroom.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Man arrested and vehicles seized in Limerick CAB searches.

https://www.rte.ie/news/munster/2019/0212/1029106-cab-limerick/

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭monty_python

https://www.facebook.com/96796398469/posts/10157309696098470/

Armed gardai raid motorcycle club connected to kinahans

• Registered Users Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

Bikers as in Hells Angels bikers?

Yeah that’s there compound I live close to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭TheRepentent

yeah they're a 1% club called the chosen few....they were a guard of honour at David Byrnes funeral.

Have a reputation of being scumbags and have gone through a few name changes over the years due to getting hassle off the Gardai....they murdered a harmless Biker at a rally in Carnew years ago

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/dublin-man-found-not-guilty-of-the-murder-of-biker-1.106610

What MC is it?

^^^^ see it’s The Chosen Few

That's crazy I didn't know we had Biker Gangs over here at all! Well besides those braindead NPC's who drive up and down the same stretch of road on scramblers hundreds of times every day, but not Biker Bikers.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Motor Cycle Clubs, not Biker Gangs :)

That's crazy I didn't know we had Biker Gangs over here at all! Well besides those braindead NPC's who drive up and down the same stretch of road on scramblers hundreds of times every day, but not Biker Bikers.
    there's a good few here ...Bandidios,outlaws , Hells angels and then there's local MC's like the devils disciples,viking nomads,free wheelers, road tramps

And then there are MCCs :D

For the first time ever in this thread, I know the acronyms and others don’t!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,215 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Yeah, there are quite a few. Wasn't a guy shot in Limerick a few years ago?
    Weird story behind it. I can't remember the full story, just that it was odd.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/criminal-court/biker-found-guilty-of-murdering-member-of-rival-limerick-club-1.3172364

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 746 ✭✭✭GinAndBitter

Same lads that beat the shìt out of a few African criminals in Tyrrelstown a while back?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

there's a good few here ...Bandidios,outlaws , Hells angels and then there's local MC's like the devils disciples,viking nomads,free wheelers, road tramps

Isn't there also an "Alliance" of some of the 1% ers which is to protect Irish clubs from international clubs taking over?

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

Isn't there also an "Alliance" of some of the 1% ers which is to protect Irish clubs from international clubs taking over?
    yep
    http://www.alliancemcireland.com/main.htm

• Registered Users Posts: 8,134 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

The main thing you need to join is be 50+ and have a beer belly!