Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings [Mod Note in Post #1]

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭richiepurgas

A combination torch and stun gun - which is illegal to own and possess in the UK - were recovered following a search.

Can't see any lengthy sentence if that's all they have on him. Maybe the property searches might throw up more.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Can't see any lengthy sentence if that's all they have on him. Maybe the property searches might throw up more.

I think that was after the property search.
    NCA officers and gardaí investigating organised crime along with officers from Staffordshire police force carried out a number of searches following the arrest.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

Is Bomber any relation to Hatchet/Paul/Jamie does anyone know?

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭White lighting

Is Bomber any relation to Hatchet/Paul/Jamie does anyone know?

Cousin of Hatchet and Paul i think.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,721 ✭✭✭CZ 453

Is Ballymun a blackout from last night? There seems to be only 2 lines given to it by the Mirror and the rest is tweets from locals.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,733 ✭✭✭ASOT

CZ 453 wrote: »
    Is Ballymun a blackout from last night? There seems to be only 2 lines given to it by the Mirror and the rest is tweets from locals.

Doesn't seem to be anything in the media but It was connected to the Sheridan killing from back in October.

CZ 453 wrote: »

The Mirror article has been removed, maybe it was fake news?

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

The Mirror article has been removed, maybe it was fake news?

It wasn't fake news.

ASOT wrote: »
    It wasn't fake news.

Deemed to be insignificant then?

Yeah, it's nothing to do with any of the big feuds or even the Ballymun fueds. Not life threatening either so id imagine nobody cares. He's a clown anyway. The family are scumbags.

• Registered Users Posts: 864 ✭✭✭septictank

Quick search on Google says they are a fine bunch of lads alright lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,119 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

A combination torch and stun gun - which is illegal to own and possess in the UK - were recovered following a search.

I heard Paul Reynolds on radio saying it carries a Minimum sentence of 5 years, Surely he meant Maximum?

In the UK Tasers are considered "prohibited weapons" under the Firearms Act 1968 and possession is an offence. The maximum sentence for possession is ten years in prison and an unlimited fine. There is a minimum sentence of 5 years imprisonment if the taser is disguised as another object such as a torch or a mobile phone.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭6541

Something doesn't smell right here. So they arrested them in the Airport and only charged with possession.
    Also the picture of the Gardai and the UK cops going into search his house.
    Something is not as it seems here.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

6541 wrote: »
    Something doesn't smell right here. So they arrested them in the Airport and only charged with possession.
    Also the picture of the Gardai and the UK cops going into search his house.
    Something is not as it seems here.

Perhaps they're building a conspiracy case and don't want to say more until they've netted others. I remember this was a big thing with some international crime cases a few years ago where they'd arrest people on seemingly small charges and then eventually drop a massive indictment naming everyone previously arrested and caught as co-conspirators in a huge operation. Probably easier to catch people out that way.

So for instance, they arrest him, announce that it's on this single charge, and then closely monitor other suspects to see how they react - see if they can be caught in the destruction of evidence or anything like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Up to ten years apparently

• Registered Users Posts: 40,154 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Up to ten years apparently

up to 10 years but with a minimum of 5 except in exceptional circumstances. I cant imagine there are much in the way of exceptional circumstances in this case.

A minimum of five if the stun gun was disguised as another object such as a torch or a mobile phone. In other words, if you try to conceal it's identity you get at least 5 years whereas unconcealed could get you anything from 0-10.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,154 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

A minimum of five if the stun gun was disguised as another object such as a torch or a mobile phone. In other words, if you try to conceal it's identity you get at least 5 years whereas unconcealed could get you anything from 0-10.

It seems that it was

https://www.independent.ie/world-news/europe/britain/senior-kinahan-cartel-suspect-due-before-court-in-england-this-morning-on-stungun-charge-37707639.html

Thomas 'Bomber' Kavanagh (51) is due at North Staffordshire Magistrates court after a combination torch and stun gun was discovered during a search targeting his trafficking network in Britain.

Apparently he was initially granted bail but then this!

https://twitter.com/Healyhack/status/1084794271893458947

• Registered Users Posts: 282 ✭✭Bubblegummers

• Registered Users Posts: 7,833 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

I'm gonna guess that the stun gun is only a holding charge and there are a lot more serious charges in the pipeline for this chap.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭pablo128

I'm gonna guess that the stun gun is only a holding charge and there are a lot more serious charges in the pipeline for this chap.

The fact that he was getting bail for a measly stun gun and the prosecution objected... they want him out of the way for a bit so they can land something big on him.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,985 ✭✭✭Jeff2

Just the fact they kept him on remand will put it up to others.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,119 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Looks like they are taking the same approach that the guards did in Limerick to tackle the Dundons & Coloppys. Put them away for a few years on smallish stuff like threatening to kill etc and while they are away then work on the ones lower down the pecking order and maybe entice them to give evidence against the bigger boys.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Haven't heard anything about any firebomb attacks in Dublin recently, can anyone shed more light on that claim?

EDIT: Wow. https://www.herald.ie/news/firebomb-attack-terror-for-two-hutch-women-in-kinahan-gang-intimidation-37700963.html

Surprised this wasn't a bigger headline.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭6541

I really can't figure what that whole episode was about.
    That chap got bail

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/thomas-kavanagh-gets-bail-on-stun-gun-charge-37717000.html

Why would they arrest such a major figure on such small charges. Something does not add up here.

The pink-coloured stun-gun was discovered on top of a kitchen cupboard, the previous hearing was told.

He'll probably claim it was the wife's for protection in the home while he was away on business... Pink!