Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Raves

• Registered Users Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

I remember myself and a few lads trying to get in to a rave that had been organised in a big rundown house in rural Limerick. Could hear Born Slippy and Voodoo People banging out from half a mile away.

Didn't get in after all, probably just as well as we were all pure innocent to that craic, we were 17 at most I'd say. Looking in from the outside it seemed cool as hell though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Noveight wrote: »
    I remember myself and a few lads trying to get in to a rave that had been organised in a big rundown house in rural Limerick. Could hear Born Slippy and Voodoo People banging out from half a mile away.

Didn't get in after all, probably just as well as we were all pure innocent to that craic, we were 17 at most I'd say. Looking in from the outside it seemed cool as hell though.

I don't think anything truly dodgy apart from the obvious widespread pill popping and open dealing goes on, and drugs are part of every party scene. The dealers don't hold people down and pour pills down their throats, a fair few of us still enjoyed raves without the pills and nobody else cared as they were in their own happy worlds. And there was more sexy shennanigans at my teenage discos tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Maniac was not a rave/techno song, it was a shíte attempt at it and failed miserably probably because (a) it was utter shíte (b) McCabe is utter shíte (c) the rave scene had died by the time shíteface McCabe put together his shíte attempt at techno/rave music.

I'm around since old school, and have to say in the beginning a lot of the music wasn't great - google Doncaster rave and have a listen, a lot of real heavy house music which wouldn't exactly be to my taste - to me it only started getting better with the likes of Balearic kind of aged - but here, Maniac is pure cheese but I still have a soft spot for it for some reason - actually putting the earphones on now and hitting play - enjoy!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭thebull85

begbysback wrote: »

Reach for the lasers.. Safe as ****

• Registered Users Posts: 9,681 ✭✭✭buried

There was some serious music going on back in the early/mid nineties for going to raves. Sampling breaks and adding noise and sirens, artists such as these gadges made some serious tracks for the oppurtunity for going cracked, and the likes of 'The Chemical Brothers' were pretty much mainstream outfits back then doing that sort of work so it was all good and great.

Nowadays it's difficult to find that kind of sound in a modern 'rave' setting but artists similar or definitely influenced by that sort of sound production do exist but are not pushed by the mainstream outlets. This artist - MESH, has that sort of brilliant mid 90's 'Chemical Brothers' sound they utilised. Real drums, real breaks, real sirens, real sound. If any of ye were into the likes of The Chemical Brothers back then, ye will dig this MESH outfit for sure

This f**ker though, this is what I want to go raving to now. On a full system. Full volume. RP Boo. Modern funk rave genius. I wouldn't even need yokes.

https://soundcloud.com/rinsefm/rpboo100218

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭Cheerful Spring

I used to love a rave when I was younger. Last time I was at a rave was on foreign holiday. I did not take drugs, but I drank enough alcohol to enjoy it with friends.

• Registered Users Posts: 359 ✭✭garyskeepers

This is the best thread ever

• Registered Users Posts: 6,040 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

You can't beat a bit of Mr. Vain.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭evosteo

Was in Hamburg 2 weeks ago. Ended up outside a WW2 flak tower bunker at 1am at night queuing to get into a techo rave. Was some experience all the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,681 ✭✭✭buried

Seriously thinking of going to see Lee Gamble & Regis over in Berlin in March. On in the Berghain Panorama bar, anyone ever been to that venue? What it like?

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Then you have Life Festival and Bump Musick Festival in Clare organised by the Limerick lads in 2010/11.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,062 ✭✭✭✭beertons

buried wrote: »
    On in the Berghain Panorama bar, anyone ever been to that venue? What it like?

A friend of mine was literally there last night. Queued for 3 hours, then told he couldn't get in. Or so he says.

• Registered Users Posts: 401 ✭✭soiseztomabel

beertons wrote: »
    A friend of mine was literally there last night. Queued for 3 hours, then told he couldn't get in. Or so he says.

Loads of people I know say the same, I guess it's more feasible than telling porky pies and saying you got in lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭circadian

Not sure about the venue but Regis is always a good show.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,124 ✭✭✭✭blade1

• Registered Users Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭draiochtanois

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,062 ✭✭✭✭beertons

That's Progressive Trance rather than Techno

It was all the same to me. All I needed was a beat to boogie.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,124 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Labels.. ugh. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 13,083 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Wasn't at any raves as such but at lot party's and clubs.

I've had a love for all kinds dance music since was kid. Ranging from very mellow to incredibly industrial hardcore. What I listen to depends on my mood but memory's and feelings you get are amazing. So cool hear all random stuff people been posting.

I'm not even into the whole drugs thing and best I didn't get to into as my head is melted enough as it is!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭thebull85

• Registered Users Posts: 500 ✭✭✭justfillmein

great one^

• Registered Users Posts: 309 ✭✭O'Neill

• Registered Users Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

• Registered Users Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

Heh, this thread brings back memories. First proper club I went to was the Parkzicht in 92. The place was nuts, lot of the music was utter gabber lunacy, but with some excellent Detroit mixed in as well.

Pills were sold openly, the dealers had two bum bags-one for product the other for cash. Lots of edgy right-winger skinheads about-but mostly sound as long as they know you weren't English. The had bars, a casino a 20ft pyramid, topless hostesses etc. we ended up at some metal parties as well, as a 20-year-old working in europort, mind truly fcuking blown. :)
    Came back a few years later and frequented the System, Henrys and Strictly Rhythm.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Schwanz

Was at Heaven '98 in some kip near the airport, place was mental.

Went to loads of them Point Depot raves in 00's and they were OK but finished well too early.

Traveled to Birmingham in 05 for a Villa v United game and hit Godskitchen - now this place opened my eyes, Judge Jules & Armin Van Buuren 'til 6am. Place was truly amazing & completely unforgettable.

Hit Ibiza once, went to Space. No words needed.

Playing The Age of Love (above) whilst typing this is curing my hangover.

All good times & I'm glad I done what I done in them. I never bothered anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭beefburrito

The best of the raves were back in the early 90s

The best one I went to was in Castle Morten in the UK

Proper rave music, suits,new age travellers, streetwise ravers, indi heads and heavy metal fans all raving away in the country side.

None of your new wave dance music, this was rave music......

• Registered Users Posts: 766 ✭✭✭ger vallely

The best of the raves were back in the early 90s

The best one I went to was in Castle Morten in the UK

Proper rave music, suits,new age travellers, streetwise ravers, indi heads and heavy metal fans all raving away in the country side.

None of your new wave dance music, this was rave music......

Were Spiral Tribe at that one? I wasn't at it myself but it was the stuff of legends. Definitely seemed like the real spirit of rave culture. Loved Spiral Tribe, must dig out my old tape of them 'the doors are where the Windows should be.' Fantastic punky rave, nothing like a bit of crusty culture, love it and miss it.