Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Intl Series 2018

12345679»

• Registered Users Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

aj89 wrote: »
    Definitely worth going to! Decent enough q&a with Neil Reynolds. Mind you Darren Fletcher was there last weekend and was quite annoying. Standard festival food stalls, but there is a Subway stall. I was there for about 5hrs and just had pints. I'd get there at pretty much opening time!
    It opens at 9.30 a.m. next question and it's my last on topic, if you had to meet someone with tickets could you meet them between tailgate and stadium or is it once in tailgate no going back?

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭aj89

Deco99 wrote: »
    It opens at 9.30 a.m. next question and it's my last on topic, if you had to meet someone with tickets could you meet them between tailgate and stadium or is it once in tailgate no going back?

I would get there as early as possible, bump in random people to have a good laugh with. We got stopped on Wembley way for tickets, and then your tickets get checked again at the tailgate entrance... Tailgate is just off Wembley way, so you you won't get near it without a ticket. The best place to meet some is at the exit/entrance of Wembley Park station!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Dymo

Was there yesterday and wow the surrounding area around wembley is getting so developed a couple of years ago it was scrubland and now apartments everywhere. The weather was brilliant nearly T-Shirt weather

There are now the normal shops (Co-op, Sainsburys express) right at Wembley you can buy a cans of beer there for £2.50 and drink outside instead of the £6.20 for the 300ml plastic bottle of warm Budweiser. So that was a nice warm up before the game and plenty of people to talk to.

I didn't bother with the tailgate, I've seen them before and not really something I'd rush back to but if it's your first time there it's worth a look.

The queues for the toilets for men were a disaster expect to be waiting 10 minutes at halftime, same for the draft beer queue, I was there for 10 minutes and walked away and I didn't buy anything inside Wembley and expect to get ripped off if you go there, £8 plain burger, Chips and chicken tenders £9 etc... I did buy a program as a souvenir very well put together.

Security is tight but most of the guys there seemed sound

I thought the atmosphere inside the stadium was better than most games and they tried to keep it interesting with the breaks. There was a lot of US charger fans there which I thought was good.

Getting to the Tube after the match was the usually hour plus in the queue so decided to go the the Green Man for a pint, and it's still the usual dump I remembered but there was a good atmosphere there.

Overall a very enjoyable day and the game was good too, some great plays by Rivers and I was looking forward to overtime, still don't know what the Titans were thinking.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

flight from dublin was delayed so ended up just getting to the game at kick off.

Titans unsurprisingly inept on offense, mariota put together a good drive to tie it up, but not surprised Vrabel went for it twice.

Tiring day trip though

• Registered Users Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Dymo

Titans unsurprisingly inept on offense, mariota put together a good drive to tie it up, but not surprised Vrabel went for it twice.

I think that was among the worst 2-pt conversion calls I've ever seen. They needed one point to not lose the game.At least threaten the run bring on another RB. Or put Mariota on a bootleg so they have to worry about him running it.

The lineup was all wrong so to me it looks like it was a spur of the moment call

But instead they run an empty backfield and have Mariota stand flat footed? I still think it was a cazy call

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Dymo wrote: »
    I think that was among the worst 2-pt conversion calls I've ever seen. They needed one point to not lose the game.At least threaten the run bring on another RB. Or put Mariota on a bootleg so they have to worry about him running it.

The lineup was all wrong so to me it looks like it was a spur of the moment call

But instead they run an empty backfield and have Mariota stand flat footed? I still think it was a cazy call

yeah agree, consenus was it was good to go for it, but awful play calling

• Registered Users Posts: 7,776 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Was there myself as well and I thought it was very good. I stayed at a hotel just beside the stadium for the previous 2 nights and there was 3 bus loads of Titans fans all from the States brought there Sat evening. There was definitely more Chargers fans though and it contributed a lot to a good atmosphere. The weather was definitely very helpful in that regard also!

The match program was 10 pound but it's very good. A nice souvenir as said above. Food was expensive but nice. Toilet queues weren't bad in club section.

Getting to the tube after was a feckin disaster though. I didn't think it'd be much worse than Croker but jaysis I was wrong. At 4 points along Wembley way (or whatever the road to the tube is called) you're stopped by a line of security guards - you and thousands of others so you're just standing in a massive flock of people unable to move in any direction.
    When we eventually got to Paddington then we realised the train to Heathrow is the same price as an Uber so it was all a waste of time! I'll know for again though.

Last but least I'm happy with how the game went. Don't have any love for either team really so for it to come down to a 2 pointer with 30 odd seconds left was a bonus.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,553 ✭✭✭madalig12

Anyone going to the next game going back into town to a sports bar to watch the later games?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

madalig12 wrote: »
    Anyone going to the next game going back into town to a sports bar to watch the later games?

Going back to the casino again for them I think, great sports bar area and need to finish losing a fortune!

• Registered Users Posts: 869 ✭✭✭pedatron

We've had one late withdrawal from our group of six heading at the weekend lads. If anyone here knows of someone looking for a ticket or the best way to find someone deserving of it could you PM me?

hots wrote: »
    Going back to the casino again for them I think, great sports bar area and need to finish losing a fortune!

Casino you say......

• Registered Users Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭hots

madalig12 wrote: »
    Casino you say......

Leicester Square area has loads in a small area, and plenty of others across the city too. We're not talking Vegas or anything but more than Dublin has to offer.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,941 ✭✭✭✭titan18

hots wrote: »
    Leicester Square area has loads in a small area, and plenty of others across the city too. We're not talking Vegas or anything but more than Dublin has to offer.

Hippodrome I assume?

• Registered Users Posts: 12 arnoldnewyear

long shot, any chance anyone has 2x spare tickets, flying over tomorrow morning

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭keng66

Was over there last Sunday and going back this Sunday.
    There was a good few blokes selling tickets all the way from the tube station up the stadium, no idea how much they were asking over the odds for.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,941 ✭✭✭✭titan18

There's a lot of Eagles fans around. Seems to be a load who've flown over.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

The Empire casino is a nicer venue for watching sports imo. But also Riley's sports bar, Haymarket. Showing NFL, food, pool tables. Get off tube at Green Park straight from game and it's just around cormer

Deco99 wrote: »
    The Empire casino is a nicer venue for watching sports imo. But also Riley's sports bar, Haymarket. Showing NFL, food, pool tables. Get off tube at Green Park straight from game and it's just around cormer

Where is the Empire? Leicester sq?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Children's choir is a nice change to the tone deaf B-list "singers" they usually throw out there.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,645 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

36,000 dollars ? Did they buy for the parish or what ?

• Registered Users Posts: 666 ✭✭✭collie0708

Hi all

What did you all think of the tailgate?

I’m not sure what I expected but I thought it was really poor massive q’s for everything with no real atmosphere.

• Registered Users Posts: 869 ✭✭✭pedatron

collie0708 wrote: »
    Hi all

What did you all think of the tailgate?

I’m not sure what I expected but I thought it was really poor massive q’s for everything with no real atmosphere.

I expected Q's but couldn't get over how bad they were for everything. We were out at the stadium at around 10 and we couldn't get near the merch shop at the tailgate. I know the click and collect option was there but what they had up on that section was very limited.

I reckon there were 1000s that would have spent more in various places but just weren't prepared to join all the q's for everything.

Despite that, I really enjoyed the day and would definitely do it again. Great day out. Hilarious that it was a home game for the Jags too. It was easily 5 to 1 Philly fans and I feel most of the neutrals were shouting for the Eagles too!

We had a single spare ticket that we wanted to get rid of. Touts were only offering 20 pounds for it so we gave it to an Eagles fan that hadn't a ticket for nothing trying to be sound. Didn't wanna make a profit but were hoping to get somewhere near cost for it if possible. Good deed for the day done we thought!

Before the game, another guy came into that seat and told us he'd bought the ticket off a tout for 100 pounds!! We were sickened, to say the least! Those lads are so greasy! Hated even having to listen to them around the place!

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Just announced: 2 games in Wembley and 2 games in WHL next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭Hococop

Just announced: 2 games in Wembley and 2 games in WHL next year.

I'm assuming jags is the only team so far(still under contract?)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭tripperman

Hococop wrote: »
    I'm assuming jags is the only team so far(still under contract?)

Chargers also due to terms from relocation to L.A.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭Justin10

tripperman wrote: »
    Chargers also due to terms from relocation to L.A.

Supposedly Chargers have already confirmed they will play an international game again, if that is London or Mexico that's another question.

Chargers Packers makes sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Rochey18 wrote: »
    Supposedly Chargers have already confirmed they will play an international game again, if that is London or Mexico that's another question.

Chargers Packers makes sense.

That would be a brilliant game, almost too good for London.