Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Conor McGregor Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

That 'cutting specialist' seems a right charlatan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

J Mysterio wrote: »

Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭removed2

Why?.
    we dont like violence

• Registered Users Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Jyst after watching the fight.
    Khabib anialated McGregor,. He couldn't wait for the torture to end, tapping out even before the choke was having full effect...
    And he wants a rematch!?

Why?

Just came across very unconvincing to me. Didnt seem to have real conviction in what he was talking about and veered all over the place. Guided the conversation from certified knowledge quite carefully too, even dismissing it. 'Pssh, what do dieticians know about nutrition, i'm a marine'. Just seemed a quack doctor to me.

Not particularly impressed with Kavanagh either. He always washes his hands of Conor 'that not what I'm like' - but you are his coach, his behaviour reflects on you, like it or not.

What was particularly weird was Kavanagh saying fighting in UFC is all about money. 'Dont ever lose sight of that' and 'if I hear a fighter say its for some other reason I would say retire'... Can you not also fight for the love of competition and to win a belt? Money is important, but its not the be all and end all for everyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

https://www.thesun.ie/sport/mma/3228076/conor-mcgregor-cancels-after-party-threats/

You just don't disrespect anyone's family or religion..
    McGregor is under threat.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

What was particularly weird was Kavanagh saying fighting in UFC is all about money. 'Dont ever lose sight of that' and 'if I hear a fighter say its for some other reason I would say retire'... Can you not also fight for the love of competition and to win a belt? Money is important, but its not the be all and end all for everyone.

I would have thought once you're a pro fighter it's your job and it's for the money. I imagine there's an equivalent Maslows hierarchy of needs for a pro fighter but money would have to be a major driver.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,261 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

So he did not jump on top of the cage and abuse Aldo's entourage after that fight? :confused:

As someone else pointed out, it was after the Siver fight that he jumped the cage and confronted Aldo. Note, confronted. Screamed and shouted at, did not throw a punch or kick at but shouted.

And the gif of him jumping on top of the cage and making the money gesture followed by double digits, I'm not sure but I think that may have been in New York after beating Alvarez. Again, I didn't see any violence or anything that compares to what Khabib did. Only his bus rampage fits that category.

I'm not a McGregor fan BTW. @Makikomi hits the nail on the head in that McGregor's behaviour brings shame and embarrassment to the sport and to this country, both of which McGregor is representing poorly. I just don't like to see BS go unchallenged and my post about after-fight respect was in response to a suggestion that in boxing there is always respect while not in MMA. Saturday nights post fight brawl was extremely rare just like in boxing. Find me any instance where McGregor continues animosity towards an opponent in the cage after the end of the fight and I'll concede my point.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,261 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

tapping out even before the choke was having full effect...

tenor.gif?itemid=5020960

DrPhilG wrote: »
    tenor.gif?itemid=5020960

I agree with him, it wasn't an airway or blood choke, it was Khabib's forearm cranked across Conor's jaw.

They're horrible & nasty but Conor had had enough and didn't even try defend it.

Sometimes you're done, I've been there & done that and seconds later you're thinking 'sh*t why didn't I fight it' but you have to be honest with yourself and admit you were done.

That's what the amateur ranks are for, that and learning.

Professionals should be making money, most don't but that should be your goal.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,203 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

If You Thought the McGregor Fight Was a Disaster, His Whiskey Is Worse......
    “I’d rather tap out than go another round with that vile, undrinkable sh--. Sorry, Conor, I mean sh-te.”

Further tasting notes from my informal panel included “watered-down,” “obviously artificially colored,” and “notes of turpentine interlaced with the musk from a crowded, poorly-maintained Turkish bathhouse sauna.”

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2018-10-08/conor-mcgregor-proper-twelve-irish-whiskey-review?cmpid=socialflow-twitter-business&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter&utm_content=business&utm_campaign=socialflow-organic

Not going to stop his fans buying it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

To be fair re his whiskey I have seen some credible whiskey website forums give it an alright rating. It knows it;s target audience and the price reflects that (ie it is a tad pricier than other similar basic whiskeys like Jameson, Bushmills, Tullamore Dew but nothing over significant ) and, at the end of the day, it is sourced from credible distilleries such as Bushmills.

It depends what people expect and what standard they EXPECTED it to be held against but as a mixer the Whiskey will sell very well.

It i going to be over hyped given it's affiliation with CM and him talking it up but most reviews are likening it to a basic average Irish whiskey (such as the 3 aformentioned) so that's hardly a bad thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭brainfreeze

Khabib anialated McGregor,. He couldn't wait for the torture to end, tapping out even before the choke was having full effect...

He wasn't trying to cut off blood from his neck, the move was a neck crank.

Incredibly painful move and can shatter your Jaw. McGregor tapped before his jaw was in pieces. To see it come to its conclusion look up Alex Nicholson.

Khabib wasn't lying when he said he wanted to change his face. He wasn't trying to make him unconscious, he was trying to break McGregors jaw.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,264 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Hurrache wrote: »

How many people will still be bothered to be "fans" if he's not competing or competes and gets beaten a few more times?

The problem with the "ya'll do foookin' nuttin'" persona is that it's difficult to apply it to anything else outside the ring/Octagon .

Just came across very unconvincing to me. Didnt seem to have real conviction in what he was talking about and veered all over the place. Guided the conversation from certified knowledge quite carefully too, even dismissing it. 'Pssh, what do dieticians know about nutrition, i'm a marine'. Just seemed a quack doctor to me.

Not particularly impressed with Kavanagh either. He always washes his hands of Conor 'that not what I'm like' - but you are his coach, his behaviour reflects on you, like it or not.

Sorry I forgot to reply to this.

JK is an intelligent and experienced coach, I trust his judgement re Lockhart.

And I'm somewhat in agreement with you re. Conor's behavior reflecting on JK and SBG. I'd imagine that's going to be a little subdued from here on, I hope it is anyway.

He's an awesome fighter, still is and no one can take that away from him but that scumbag carry on disgusted me.

I think young fighters should aspire to be martial artists and not gangsters, I don't like the example Conor has been setting.

Clubs, coaches, promotions etc should aspire to foster this and frown upon where Conor took this crap. Indeed I believe there should be a responsibility on clubs to foster this.

But do we really think the UFC can be bothered to promote any of this?. Not a chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

DrPhilG wrote: »
    As someone else pointed out, it was after the Siver fight that he jumped the cage and confronted Aldo. Note, confronted. Screamed and shouted at, did not throw a punch or kick at but shouted.

And the gif of him jumping on top of the cage and making the money gesture followed by double digits, I'm not sure but I think that may have been in New York after beating Alvarez. Again, I didn't see any violence or anything that compares to what Khabib did. Only his bus rampage fits that category.

I'm not a McGregor fan BTW. @Makikomi hits the nail on the head in that McGregor's behaviour brings shame and embarrassment to the sport and to this country, both of which McGregor is representing poorly. I just don't like to see BS go unchallenged and my post about after-fight respect was in response to a suggestion that in boxing there is always respect while not in MMA. Saturday nights post fight brawl was extremely rare just like in boxing. Find me any instance where McGregor continues animosity towards an opponent in the cage after the end of the fight and I'll concede my point.

Khabib was charging in Dillon's direction but people are saying it was Dillon that threw the first strike, which he's entitled to do IMO if he feels an assault is imminent. With that taken into account, Khabib and Conor's actions arnt very different, just had a verydifferent result due to their confrontee's reaction.

I also feel it's unfair to blame Conor for the melee in/on the cage as he threw the first punch. Members of Khabibs team were entering the cage when they had absolutely no good reason to do so, Conor had every reason to believe they planned to assault him so he acted preemptively.

Sorry I forgot to reply to this.

And I'm somewhat in agreement with you re. Conor's behavior reflecting on JK and SBG. I'd imagine that's going to be a little subdued from here on, I hope it is anyway.

He's an awesome fighter, still is and no one can take that away from him but that scumbag carry on disgusted me.

I think young fighters should aspire to be martial artists and not gangsters, I don't like the example Conor has been setting.

Clubs, coaches, promotions etc should aspire to foster this and frown upon where Conor took this crap. Indeed I believe there should be a responsibility on clubs to foster this.

But do we really think the UFC can be bothered to promote any of this?. Not a chance.

But Kavanagh should promote it. He just turns a blind eye as McGregor is a superstar. Rogan actually asked Kavanagh if young lads in his gym look up to McGregor and are influenced by his behaviour.. Kavanagh starting laughing and was like 'oh yes'.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

RWCNT wrote: »
    Khabib was charging in Dillon's direction but people are saying it was Dillon that threw the first strike, which he's entitled to do IMO if he feels an assault is imminent. With that taken into account, Khabib and Conor's actions arnt very different, just had a verydifferent result due to their confrontee's reaction.

I also feel it's unfair to blame Conor for the melee in/on the cage as he threw the first punch. Members of Khabibs team were entering the cage when they had absolutely no good reason to do so, Conor had every reason to believe they planned to assault him so he acted preemptively.

Khabib was soaring through the sky! Danis did land the first strike on him. He was also being hit from all angles.

Everyone is to blame. Everyone.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,093 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Boom_Bap wrote: »

Everyone is to blame. Everyone.

Don't bring me into this.....

THIS Post x 1000%

UH we take your body weight then multiply it by 10 then take away 200 depending on what workout you're doing (or words to that affect)!! absolute shyte! you could also feel Rogan knew it as he's around a long time doing this himself.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Beasty wrote: »
    Don't bring me into this.....

Change your name to 'The RingLeader' :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

I don't think it is JK's judgement that is to be trusted here. I think McGregor took a liking to Lockhart so that's that. JK isn't going to ever rock the boat and go against what McGregor wants. He's made too much money from all this to.

Lockhart is probably very good at helping fighters to cut weight. But Rogan asked what sort of credentials he has, and he blabbed on about being in the military and was specially selected for something or other.

He works with a lot of fighters so he must have something going for him. But he is basically the perfect example of how far a lie on your CV can get you in this life. He sounds like someone who has only read a few fitness and motivational magazines over his career.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,937 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Jk did establish that he had conor at 145 20 times before handing the conversation over to lockhart

• Registered Users Posts: 20,841 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Imo, Connor McG's aggressive and insulting rhetoric is an echo of what he heard from the bullies that he encountered growing up. Its a good example of what bullying can do to a person; in ways he has morphed into the type of person he hated as a teenager growing up in Crumlin. But he only becomes like this when he feels threatened in the lead up to a fight.

Behind it all there is a good person, although lately it has become increasingly more difficult to see.

Above is spot on - the guy needs help.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Imo, Connor McG's aggressive and insulting rhetoric is an echo of what he heard from the bullies that he encountered growing up. Its a good example of what bullying can do to a person; in ways he has morphed into the type of person he hated as a teenager growing up in Crumlin. But he only becomes like this when he feels threatened in the lead up to a fight.

Behind it all there is a good person, although lately it has become increasingly more difficult to see.

No need to be going all DR Phil on it.maybe he’s just a boll1x and his rise to fame has just multiplied the boll1xology.thats my belief.

Yeah, by all accounts he was a mouthy knacker as a young lad too..

• Registered Users Posts: 8,297 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Registered Users Posts: 16,724 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I really don't care about that sh*t, its for the fanboys to **** over.

I just don't want a rematch because I'm sick of the BS.

There is too much moola to be made for it not to happen again. Dana will get over his disgust when he starts to drool over the money to be made.

I don't want to see it because the result will be the same. Conor and his fans will try to convince themselves he can win a rematch, i just don't see it happening. He will be dominated again. Anyone with even a passing interest in MMA could see Khabib is all wrong for Conor. His ground game will never be good enough to enable him to be competitve against Khabib.

Those who have a deep antipathy for McGregor will no doubt wish to see him lose a succession of fights and fade into obscurity. I don't see that happening. While Khabib serves his suspension, McGregor will likely face either Ferguson or Diaz. Both are winnable fights for him

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Wasn't he known as a bully himself?

He's a tough guy, from a tough area, like a lot of kids. Don't read too much into it.