Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 34,045 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Shedite27 wrote: »
    To all those saying no to the ideas out there already, have ye any candidates in mind?

Not having Donal Og would be a good start :pac:

Ben O Connor or Kingston for me. Tom Kenny might need bit more time

• Registered Users Posts: 1,334 ✭✭✭Seadin

Not having Donal Og would be a good start :pac:

Ben O Connor or Kingston for me. Tom Kenny might need bit more time

Why is every one reverting back to Kingston? He wasn't really a success when he was there before was he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Mahony0509

Riquelme wrote: »
    Kieran Kingston with Ger Cunningham in a coaching role would be ideal.

Kingston couldn’t do it last time, what makes this time different?

Is this a piss take ? We were a shambles , one game aside, this yr. Clueless o the line. Daft selections, TO'M centreback ect.

Ah here is this a pisstake? You retained Munster under Meyler. His stint wasnt all that bad. Since John Allen left after 2006 you've had Gerald McCarthy, Denis Walsh, JBM, Kieran Kingston and John Meyler. OK, JBM was unlucky, he was seconds away from winning the All Ireland in 13 and it seemed Kieran Kingston was building something until he stepped down. Honestly though, I dont think Meyler was a bad manager on the balance of things. Any team that can get a win against Limerick in their own backyard is not badly managed. Ok, he may not have been the long term solution, but i think Cork are in decent shape for the next man to take over and there is no doubting you have some very very talented kids coming through.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Ah here is this a pisstake? You retained Munster under Meyler. His stint wasnt all that bad. Since John Allen left after 2006 you've had Gerald McCarthy, Denis Walsh, JBM, Kieran Kingston and John Meyler. OK, JBM was unlucky, he was seconds away from winning the All Ireland in 13 and it seemed Kieran Kingston was building something until he stepped down. Honestly though, I dont think Meyler was a bad manager on the balance of things. Any team that can get a win against Limerick in their own backyard is not badly managed. Ok, he may not have been the long term solution, but i think Cork are in decent shape for the next man to take over and there is no doubting you have some very very talented kids coming through.

Munster titles are meaningless in the backdoor era.Would you have been happy enough with Meylers record as Cork manager, if he was managing Tipp?Oh and i do think we were badly managed under Meyler.Just look at that second half performance against Kilkenny for evidence.Also poor decisions on the sideline, cost us against Limerick in croke park last year.Honestly this is the equivalent of me going on the Tipp thread, and saying that Babs Keatings second coming, and Declan Ryans tenures as Tipp managers were resounding successes.But we won't split hairs too much here.We have high standards in Cork, and anything short of the all Ireland, will always be seen and considered to be failure.Sure if you're that big a fan of John Meyler, then im sure you would be delighted if he ever takes on the Tipp job?But i do agree that we have good hurlers coming through in Cork.But we need to toughen up with regards to the physical side of things.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users Posts: 385 ✭✭GS11

What about Davy, he might be free, would ye have him.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

Lets big up the one decent performance all yr and ignore all the rest LOL!As for the " very very talented kids coming through" we couldnt even put a bog average Tipp side to the sword in last yrs All Ire U21 final.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

GS11 wrote: »

Davy and FREE in the same sentence :D

GS11 wrote: »

I think Davy would bring one thing to Cork hurling that is missing for years and that is fight. He would get the best out of our hurlers. Small change could make a big difference to cork teams. Kingston had his chance lads.

Seadin wrote: »
    Why is every one reverting back to Kingston? He wasn't really a success when he was there before was he?

True although I still think he overacheived in 2017. Brought on a group that just neded another year you felt. Semi final result on paper looked one sided but in reality it was nip and tick till sending off and Cork going hung ho in defense.

Would have Davy but let's be honest we might as well mention Brian Cody too. Both have the same chance, Zero.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Joe Quaid..??
    He's been doing the rounds now for the last few years, albeit at a lower tier.
    Will Cork ever pick an outside manager? 'in-house managers' seem to be thin on the ground at the moment.

washman3 wrote: »
    Joe Quaid..??
    He's been doing the rounds now for the last few years, albeit at a lower tier.
    Will Cork ever pick an outside manager? 'in-house managers' seem to be thin on the ground at the moment.

When Frank is still the boss, and let's be honest, he still is, in all but name, Cork will never go outside. Maybe I will get the shock of my life someday though

• Registered Users Posts: 4,856 ✭✭✭gifted

Can someone tell me what Donal o Cusack has achieved as a coach?...

gifted wrote: »
    Can someone tell me what Donal o Cusack has achieved as a coach?...

Not a whole pile that would warrant him into consideration for such a coaching position with the Cork senior hurlers.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭whatever76

Wish people stop suggesting Donal Og - that appointment would bring nothing but agitation and divide to the county and that's the last thing Cork Hurling needs right now - move on please !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭tototoe

whatever76 wrote: »
    Wish people stop suggesting Donal Og - that appointment would bring nothing but agitation and divide to the county and that's the last thing Cork Hurling needs right now - move on please !!!!

Might keep him from waffling on the panel on the sundayy game though that's a bonus

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

Seadin wrote: »
    I think Davy would bring one thing to Cork hurling that is missing for years and that is fight. He would get the best out of our hurlers. Small change could make a big difference to cork teams. Kingston had his chance lads.
    If the fight isnt in them it cant be brought out. A number of them had chances to show whether or not they had a bit of aggression and they failed.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭Shedite27

Manager isn't the same as a coach. Most teams these days have big backroom staff to take care of the training, manager is a focal point for media/fans really. Donal Og would be perfect for that. An absolute Cork legend too, and enemy number 1 of the Frank-brigade. Would be a very popular manager IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Grats

Donal Og Cusack would be a great choice. At leady we'd no longer have to suffer him on TV. Please let it be him.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,038 ✭✭✭zetecescort

The Cork Under 20 Team to play Kilkenny in the Bord Gais Energy All Ireland Semi-Final on Saturday has been announced.

1.Ger Collins (Ballinhassig)
    2.Conor O’ Callaghan (Dromtarrife)
    3.James Keating (Kildorrery) - Captain
    4.Eoin Roche (Bride Rovers)
    5.Ger Millerick (Fr O’Neills)
    6.Sean O’ Leary Hayes (Midleton)
    7.Robert Downey (Glen Rovers)
    8.Ryan Walsh (Kanturk )
    9.Daire Connery ( Na Piarsaigh )
    10.Sean Twomey (Courcey Rovers)
    11.Craig Hanifin (Na Piarsaigh
    12.Tommy O’Connell (Midleton)
    13.Brian Turnbull (Douglas)
    14.Shane O’ Regan (Watergrasshill)
    15.Liam O’ Shea (Lisgoold)

16.Ian Butler (Kildorrery)
    17.Ronan Sheehan (Mallow)
    18.Jamie Copps (Ballyhea )
    19.Brian Roche (Bride Rovers
    20.Declan Hanlon (Blarney)
    21.Barry Murphy (Castlelyons)
    22.Simon Kennefick (Glen Rovers )
    23.Evan Sheehan (Na Piarsaigh)
    24.Padraig Power (Blarney)

The Cork Senior Football Team to play Roscommon on Sunday has been announced.

1. Micheál Martin (Nemo Rangers)
    2. James Loughrey (Mallow)
    3. Thomas Clancy (Clonakilty)
    4. Kevin Flahive (Douglas)
    5. Sean White (Clonakilty)
    6. Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
    7. Mattie Taylor (Mallow)
    8. Ian Maguire (St Finbarrs) - Captain
    9. Killian O' Hanlon (Kilshannig)
    10. Eoghan McSweeney (Knocknagree)
    11. Ruairi Deane (Bantry Blues)
    12. Kevin O' Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
    13. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)
    14. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
    15. Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers)

16. Mark White (Clonakilty)
    17. Peter Murphy (Bandon)
    18. Aidan Browne (Newmarket)
    19. Paul Walsh (Kanturk)
    20. Tadhg Corkery (Cill Na Martra)
    21. Cian Kiely (Ballincollig)
    22. Ronan O' Toole (Eire Og)
    23. John O' Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
    24. Stephen Sherlock (St Finbarrs)
    25. Michael Hurley (Castlehaven)
    26. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)

Shedite27 wrote: »
    Donal Og would be perfect for that. Would be a very popular manager IMO.

He isnt popular anyway that's for sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,038 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Peil na mBan Live on TG4

Monday

Minor Final @ 2.55pm
    Cork v Monaghan

Heard from a lot of people today that Kingston is odds on.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,415 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Mahony0509 wrote: »

This could be the news teased here by the Examiner writer

https://twitter.com/MikeMoynihanEx/status/1157020780087185408?s=20

Munster titles are meaningless in the backdoor era.Would you have been happy enough with Meylers record as Cork manager, if he was managing Tipp?Oh and i do think we were badly managed under Meyler.Just look at that second half performance against Kilkenny for evidence.Also poor decisions on the sideline, cost us against Limerick in croke park last year.Honestly this is the equivalent of me going on the Tipp thread, and saying that Babs Keatings second coming, and Declan Ryans tenures as Tipp managers were resounding successes.But we won't split hairs too much here.We have high standards in Cork, and anything short of the all Ireland, will always be seen and considered to be failure.Sure if you're that big a fan of John Meyler, then im sure you would be delighted if he ever takes on the Tipp job?But i do agree that we have good hurlers coming through in Cork.But we need to toughen up with regards to the physical side of things.

I'm just saying you need more perspective. Toughening up on the physical side of things is something you'll have to address at underage.

As for Kilkenny they do that to loads of teams. Christ they beat the all Ireland champions the weekend. Of course maybe it's time for a new man but if I'm being quite honest I think you are unfairly singling Meyler out. As for comparisons with Babs, I think you are being totally unfair.

No I wouldn't take him in Tipp over Sheedy or Cahill but I'd take him over William Maher or Declan Ryan if given a choice. Declan won two Munsters and only lost to one team who for over a decade and a half were best in Ireland. Dec was never an archetypical manager tbh. Meyler strikes me as an energetic manager who will do well if he is offered another county job after Cork

Lets big up the one decent performance all yr and ignore all the rest LOL!As for the " very very talented kids coming through" we couldnt even put a bog average Tipp side to the sword in last yrs All Ire U21 final.

Bullshíte. Bog average??? Jake Morris??? Mark Kehoe?? Colin English??? Cian Darcy?? Jerome Cahill?? Paddy Cadell?? Robert Byrne??? All these are on our senior panel. Jake and Mark Kehoe came on and scored a point each the weekend. Laughable comment. Tipp didnt do themselves justice in that Munster final down in Cork but Cork were sensational on the night and blew us away.

Id rate the likes of Turnbull as an exciting talent. Was very impressed with your minor team in 2017. It was some battle in Thurles and then ye gave us a trimming down in Flower lodge. Yes we came back but it was too late. I agree ye lack a bit of brute but there is no doubting the skill ye have.

Look im not saying Meyler is your long term answer or that he deserves another term, but given that Cork havent won the All Ireland in 15 years, other than JBM's second coming, ye havent threatened to win an All ireland in a way that Cork should. I just dont think he should be singled out as a bad manager. I suppose to be fair to you, you view Cork through a microscope and i dont, but i think that more of your forwards need to stand up. Harnedy was very good in that first half v KK but disappeared in the second.

Just on the Cork County board. Is Frank still involved to a degree or is Tracey Kennedy actually the main woman these times? Just seen that talk of Kingston possibly returning, did he fall out with Frank per se or the whole board?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

Just on the Cork County board. Is Frank still involved to a degree or is Tracey Kennedy actually the main woman these times? Just seen that talk of Kingston possibly returning, did he fall out with Frank per se or the whole board?

On paper Tracey Kennedy main woman but in reality Frank and his cronies still have a massive influence in Cork GAA,