Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lunchtime Live with Ciara Kelly [Mod warning post #1]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Drifter50

Yep, thats me done as well, can`t listen to her anymore. Final straw today was that unbelievable guff - if you don`t speak like me and the other media South Dublin County accents its unusual when you succeed. I mean Really!!!!!!!!!
    At least George Hook was honest. The 12 to 2 slot is a desert, Ronan Collins, God help us on R1, Muireann on Today FM, have to look at Lyric FM now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,310 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Drifter50 wrote:
    Yep, thats me done as well, can`t listen to her anymore. Final straw today was that unbelievable guff - if you don`t speak like me and the other media South Dublin County accents its unusual when you succeed. I mean Really!!!!!!!!! At least George Hook was honest. The 12 to 2 slot is a desert, Ronan Collins, God help us on R1, Muireann on Today FM, have to look at Lyric FM now

I agree. She kept digging a bigger & bigger hole for herself in the first 20 minutes of the show, going on about how she speaks. She didn't really recover from that point imo.

Everyone loves to compare her to George. Well George is as big if not bigger snob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    I agree. She kept digging a bigger & bigger hole for herself in the first 20 minutes of the show, going on about how she speaks. She didn't really recover from that point imo.

Everyone loves to compare her to George. Well George is as big if not bigger snob.

He may well be, although his regular references to having only an outside loo growing up is unbecoming for someone with upwardly mobile aspirations. As for leafy Foxrock - he lives in a fecking housing estate not one of the grand villas. :rolleyes:

Del.Monte wrote: »
    He may well be, although his regular references to having only an outside loo growing up is unbecoming for someone with upwardly mobile aspirations. As for leafy Foxrock - he lives in a fecking housing estate not one of the grand villas. :rolleyes:

Ah I only brought George up because the thread is becoming a "I hate Ciara & love George" thread. I think the thread is better when discussing the topics. I actually like both George & Ciara at times & they both can annoy me at times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

Drifter50 wrote: »
    if you don`t speak like me and the other media South Dublin County accents its unusual when you succeed.

What was the context for this? With a guest? Or just in general? (I know I could just listen back, I don't see that happening)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

What was the context for this? With a guest? Or just in general? (I know I could just listen back, I don't see that happening)

Was only half listening, but it seemed to be in the context of: people with accents like Conor McGregor don't often get the chance to become so socially mobile...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

It was either her saying that people used to be harsh towards McGregor because he was from wrong neighbourhood. Or it was about phrases people overuse in public speaking or on radio etc. I thought the programme on Friday was very entertaining (although unlike her I never liked McGregor) and delicate flowers are just looking for something to be offended by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller

meeeeh wrote: »
    It was either her saying that people used to be harsh towards McGregor because he was from wrong neighbourhood. Or it was about phrases people overuse in public speaking or on radio etc. I thought the programme on Friday was very entertaining (although unlike her I never liked McGregor) and delicate flowers are just looking for something to be offended by.

Are you Ciara's husband?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,081 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Are you Ciara's husband?

You could use the same logic to ask are those complaining jilted exes...

It was a joke...

I know. But you opened the door for me to make a point. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

Are you Ciara's husband?

Can't see Ciara's husband using the online name "DickSwiveller ".

I know. But you opened the door for me to make a point. :)

What is that you like about her show exactly? Is it hearing about the gender pay gap, alcohol, rape culture for the billionth time? Or is it the smug sanctimonious delivery? Or her intolerance of anyone who disagrees with her? I'm struggling...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Ray D'Arcy and Ciara could do a great double hander show. What do you think?

BarryD2 wrote: »
    Ray D'Arcy and Ciara could do a great double hander show. What do you think?

*Shivers uncontrollably*

What is that you like about her show exactly? Is it hearing about the gender pay gap, alcohol, rape culture for the billionth time? Or is it the smug sanctimonious delivery? Or her intolerance of anyone who disagrees with her? I'm struggling...

I'm not a massive fan, but, I have no problem listening to someone I disagree with to hear differing views.
    If I just listened to those that I agree with, it would be an echo chamber.
    When she has articles I'm not gone on, I just turn off.

I've no problem anyone disliking her style or persona, I just can't understand constant complaining while still listening.

I'm not a massive fan, but, I have no problem listening to someone I disagree with to hear differing views.
    If I just listened to those that I agree with, it would be an echo chamber.
    When she has articles I'm not gone on, I just turn off.

I've no problem anyone disliking her style or persona, I just can't understand constant complaining while still listening.

I've no problem listening to people I disagree with either, which is why I listen to the show. However, I like complaining about things that annoy me and this seems to be the place to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Sadly, I have to confess that I find Ciara's only redeeming feature is her voice and accent. Then again I also have a thing for Sarah McInerney's voice.... I probably need counselling or perhaps not. :D

Del.Monte wrote: »
    Sadly, I have to confess that I find Ciara's only redeeming feature is her voice and accent. Then again I also have a thing for Sarah McInerney's voice.... I probably need counselling or perhaps not. :D

Sarah has a lovely voice. Not sure about Kelly though.

Nice voices?

Rachel English in runner up spot but the winner is Aedin Gormley on Lyric on weekend afternoons. She could read you your death sentence and you'd ask her to repeat it just to hear her speak.

Nice voices?

Rachel English in runner up spot but the winner is Aedin Gormley on Lyric on weekend afternoons. She could read you your death sentence and you'd ask her to repeat it just to hear her speak.

Indeed. Love Evonne Ferguson's voice too.

In a non-sensual way, Brian Jennings on Radio one has the perfect newsreaders voice.

Yes. Aongus Mac Grianna was also good.

On Newstalk, Pat Kenny has the perfect voice for the role and it's easy see why Tom Dunne does a lot of voice-over work.

I wonder to they hate their voice when they hear it back like most people do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,424 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

quintana76 wrote: »
    Can't see Ciara's husband using the online name "DickSwiveller ".

Dr. Dick Swiveller to you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

The differing opinions I can deal with. Ciara Kelly's smugness and insincerity is what puts me off. Ray D'arcy is a perfect comparison.

Have found myself listening to Talk Back on Radio Ulster which I don't mind any way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

She is interviewing Bacik on David Quinn's comment on men being for responsible for building the world around us. Clueless ideologue. Like asking Ian Paisley for a neutral view on the failings of the Catholic Church.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,267 ✭✭✭✭manual_man

Absolute garbage radio. And Ciara bringing it down further with her faux concern

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

While she was asking all of her sarcastic, loaded, smart ar$e questions... why didn't she take a second to ask Ivana how many women actually worked on the building of her house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

While she was asking all of her sarcastic, loaded, smart ar$e questions... why didn't she take a second to ask Ivana how many women actually worked on the building of her house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

I don't know why Kelly has any guests at all tbh. In her mind her opinion is fact, so she might as well do a 2 hour monologue talking her own particular brand of smug, ill-informed nonsense.

I figured this thread would light up like a Christmas tree after her opening segment.

I have a wife and daughter and I stand up for for equality but even I found her a condescending cow in the first 20 minutes of the show.

On another note her producer keeps repeating topics that have already been on that morning. It makes boring listening for people who have Newstalk on all the morning