Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Now Ye're Talking - to an ex-prisoner

• Registered Users Posts: 34 murmer

Do you get a chance to organise your life before going to prison once you have been handed a sentence? Cancel gym memberships, move out of house etc etc?

• Registered Users Posts: 131 ✭✭Mark25

Excellent thread and fair play for doing it. I'm an ex prisoner too - did two sentences one 4 months and then 2 years so not as long as you but long enough. Most people seem to be curious about prison and want to know what it is really like and I agree with 95% of what you said. For me the whole impact of doing a longer sentence was very different than the 4 month one.

Overall I think we have a similar attitude. I'm a much different person to what I was like a few years ago. Now that I am out I am back at college too studying and trying to make a better life for me and my family. I won't answer your questions - probably not even allowed too - on this thread but will say this man is giving you a really good idea of the reality of it.

I don't know how long you are out but hope things continue to go well. I'm out nearly 3 years and have had a few bumps along the way but that;s life I guess. Good on ya for doing it man.

So a few questions:

Did you become a less picky eater when in prison - eat things you didn't usually? The food you mentioned seems exactly the same as we had - laughing at the gammon steaks. They were popular in prison but don't think i ever ate them before or after prison?

How did you cope with transferring from a regular prison to Loughan House> Find it hard not to get tempted to do something stupid there when you have more freedom. I was never in an open prison but was in The Training Unit in Mountjoy for a while but messed up with that and got sent to Wheatfield?

I am guessing you are still allowed smoke in your cell?

Did your family come visit you in prison - did they tell you how hard that was - or did you fall out with them over what happened?

Did you lose friends over what happened and did any of your old friends visit you?

How long were you waiting between getting caught and getting sentenced - were you on remand. Heard Cloverhill can be tough?

• Registered Users Posts: 657 ✭✭✭tracey turnblad

Do you tell other prisoners your crime? Is it asked? Can they find out if your lying? Like if you say your in for robbery and your actually a rapist or murderer?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭La_Gordy

You mentioned 'grat' being the gratuity that you can use in the shop.

Is there other slang you can share with us here?

(I used to live in Russia and their prisons have a whole other slang language called 'mat')

• Registered Users Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Best AMA yet.
    Did you cry yourself to sleep the first night? What was the most positive thing about being locked up?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Best AMA yet.
    Did you cry yourself to sleep the first night? What was the most positive thing about being locked up?

• Registered Users Posts: 308 ✭✭GypsyByName

How are ya all doing.... I'm just home from work and about to have my dinner! ( that answers one of the questions just asked) I'm gonna get back to this tomorrow in work. I'd rather do it on someone else's time rather than my own 😜😜 I gave up enough time in prison😜 9.30am il be back and answering all questions!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,466 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Did you ever get claustrophobia or freak out or just suddenly feel the need to be out of your cell during lockup?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

what was the worst part of being inside?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭Sono

Did you ever meet anyone in there ya knew or recognised from well known criminal activities which may have made the news?

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭TheBlock

Have you bumped into any Prison Officers since getting out? Any temptation to react to the ones who didnt treat you well?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

Do you ever miss it? Any aspect of it?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,726 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Hi.
    Don't think this was covered yet...

What story mode was your favorite on the PS4?

I loved MW3 and finished it 3 or 4 times.

• Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭Richmond Ultra

You mentioned reading books in your cell. Did anyone in particular have an effect on you after reading it?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Can't believe I'm writing this.........

Do you see the irony in being willing to write about bring a prisoner only while stealing from your current employer.

I am enjoying the thread though :)

• Registered Users Posts: 528 ✭✭✭marcus001

I'm in my 20s and have a bit of a posh accent or so I'm told, would I have trouble making friends inside?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,528 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Very interesting AMA, thanks!

Are you only allowed to smoke when you're locked up in your cell? Or are there other smoking areas?

You mention recreation time- so is there a communal area, like with a pool table and so on?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,131 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

The best thread I've read on boards ever, no questions to ask, just hoping to read more.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Thanks for the AMA always wondered what prison life was like.

Did you get into any serious fights inside?

Whats the most disrespectful thing a prison officer done to you or someone else, also whats the soundest thing a PO done?

Do the likes of the "cartels" try and recruit you?

I once read 2 lads got in a scrap over the last mars bar in the tuck shop, did anything like that ever happen?

Since you're out and have a job(congrats) how hard will it be for you to get a mortgage?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,881 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Charlie19 wrote:

Maybe they have changed things but they used to only allow playstation ones into the prisons. The thought behind this is that anything beyond the ps1 can play dvds. This would encourage smuggling of movies. Movies weren't allowed.

I head recently that they have movies in arbour Hill and dvd players. Can you imagine the jail reserved to wife killers and sex offenders and they have some smugglers smuggled blue movies that they share around.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Serving prison officer here. What's up man?!? Hope all is good for you. I did one of the first AMA's here in this subforum and think it's pretty fun that you're doing one now. Just starting the thread so shall be interesting to see what I learn from you and if you wanna check mine out and compare notes feel free to do so.

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057333310

Best of luck mate, hope all is working out for you.

Edit: Aaaaand I've just read you saying that you're pretty sure you might know me!!!! That's me out! Seriously though if you wanna send me a PM I'll say hi no problem but only if you get my identity right in 3 goes :p

Also wanna say that everything I've read is 100% bang on from my own point of view. No bs and no drama for the sake of drama. A good honest poster we have here. Delighted you're doing well brother.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Omackeral wrote: »
    Serving prison officer here. What's up man?!? Hope all is good for you. I did one of the first AMA's here in this subforum and think it's pretty fun that you're doing one now. Just starting the thread so shall be interesting to see what I learn from you and if you wanna check mine out and compare notes feel free to do so.

Edit: Aaaaand I've just read you saying that you're pretty sure you might know me!!!! That's me out! Seriously though if you wanna send me a PM I'll say hi no problem but only if you get my identity right in 3 goes :p

Also wanna say that everything I've read is 100% bang on from my own point of view. No bs and no drama for the sake of drama. A good honest poster we have here. Delighted you're doing well brother.

What's the pay like ? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Just reading it there...this line made me laugh out loud!
    We've retrieved things that they've attempted to 'hoop'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

You say the vulnerable got picked on. How did you go about not coming across weak? Was there any particular moment/moments when you had to get firm to prove yourself? Was how you're coming across regularly on your mind?

What were the gyms like? Was there weight limits so lads couldn't get really big if they wanted or was it standard enough?

begbysback wrote: »
    If you were back inside today, and you had internet connection for 15 mins - would it be boards or porn?

Porn without a doubt!
    Is there a D4 landing? :eek: ;)

Thanks for a great AMA and good luck for the future.....

No D4 Landing they ususally get jobs in the kitchen tho, handy shifts!
    How's Fran after the pool cue debacle?

Pool cue hasnt been the same since!
    John_D80 wrote: »
    Great AMA. Loving it. Fair play for doing it.

How well, or indeed not so well, do white collar criminals integrate with the guys who are in for drugs offences and assaults etc. ??

Were there any sex offenders on your wing?? Are they targeted for violence by the general population??

What about people who rob and seriously assault pensioners?? How are they viewed by prison population??

As above white collar lads ususally end up working in the kitchen, they are in there from 7.30 until about 5.30 so are kept away from the main population most of the day, unless of course they dont want to, most jump at the opportunity in fairness. Id say the day flies in when they work in there. I generally got on well with them lads. They just do their time like the rest of us. Ya get no medals for being in prison.

No sex offenders in Mountjoy, they are ususally in Arbour Hill or there is a landing in Wheatfield for them if i remember correctly.

They are scum, generally get treated as such or have the common sense to go on protection, 23 hr lock up!
    Tow wrote: »
    Do you think the Government should finish building Thornton Hall as:

1. It will offer better faculties to the prisoners, which are not possible in the limited size in the likes of Mountjoy.
    2. It will same the country money in the long run, via lower maintenance and staff costs?
    For example, Mountjoy has a ratio of around 1 prison officer to 2 prisoners, while the likes of a modern American super prison can (at the other extreme) have as low as 3 officers to 100 prisoners.
    Lead wrote: »
    How much would you have got if you didn't get caught?

NOT ENOUGH!
    murmer wrote: »
    Do you get a chance to organise your life before going to prison once you have been handed a sentence? Cancel gym memberships, move out of house etc etc?

Court to prison! I was on bail a long time so I knew what was happening though, I wasnt stupid enough to think I would be walking out of court for a pint! I did have one before I got sentenced though!
    Mark25 wrote: »
    Excellent thread and fair play for doing it. I'm an ex prisoner too - did two sentences one 4 months and then 2 years so not as long as you but long enough. Most people seem to be curious about prison and want to know what it is really like and I agree with 95% of what you said. For me the whole impact of doing a longer sentence was very different than the 4 month one.

Overall I think we have a similar attitude. I'm a much different person to what I was like a few years ago. Now that I am out I am back at college too studying and trying to make a better life for me and my family. I won't answer your questions - probably not even allowed too - on this thread but will say this man is giving you a really good idea of the reality of it.

I don't know how long you are out but hope things continue to go well. I'm out nearly 3 years and have had a few bumps along the way but that;s life I guess. Good on ya for doing it man.

So a few questions:

Did you become a less picky eater when in prison - eat things you didn't usually? The food you mentioned seems exactly the same as we had - laughing at the gammon steaks. They were popular in prison but don't think i ever ate them before or after prison?

How did you cope with transferring from a regular prison to Loughan House> Find it hard not to get tempted to do something stupid there when you have more freedom. I was never in an open prison but was in The Training Unit in Mountjoy for a while but messed up with that and got sent to Wheatfield?

I am guessing you are still allowed smoke in your cell?

Did your family come visit you in prison - did they tell you how hard that was - or did you fall out with them over what happened?

Did you lose friends over what happened and did any of your old friends visit you?

How long were you waiting between getting caught and getting sentenced - were you on remand. Heard Cloverhill can be tough?

20 months on bail, only 2 weeks in Cloverhill, its a dump! Prisoners have a totally different attitude in there!

Family visited fairly regularly but i actually got a bit bored of family coming in, like what did i have to say to them! not like my life was full of adventure or anything, probably portrayed things alot better than they were. Got my friends up to visit a bit too, that was always better.
    Didnt lose too many friends and if i did were they really friends anyway?
    Yep still smoke in cells, its my house, il do what I want in there! Walk around naked, the lot!
    Do you tell other prisoners your crime? Is it asked? Can they find out if your lying? Like if you say your in for robbery and your actually a rapist or murderer?

Most people know as soon as your in, no point lying!

lukesmom wrote: »
    Best AMA yet.

The first night I didnt sleep, I just read all night! cant remember what I read mind you, think it was a Martina Cole novel.

I got to sit and think! The most negative thing.......I got to sit and think!
    Did you ever get claustrophobia or freak out or just suddenly feel the need to be out of your cell during lockup?

No not really, you need to get comfortable with your own company fairly quick. Imagine I was a dickhead :)
    what was the worst part of being inside?

The stuff I missed on the outside was the worst part of being inside, friends weddings and that sort of thing! The world didnt stop when I was in there but mine did!
    Sono wrote: »
    Did you ever meet anyone in there ya knew or recognised from well known criminal activities which may have made the news?

I met a few!
    TheBlock wrote: »
    Have you bumped into any Prison Officers since getting out? Any temptation to react to the ones who didnt treat you well?

The one on boards! And a few other others! had a pint with one or two on the off chance, not prearranged mind you!
    Do you ever miss it? Any aspect of it?
    Yes all the time! In a way its a stress free life in there. You know whats gonna happen most of the time. You can control how your day is gonna be, your not gonna get a bill in the door etc.
    Charlie19 wrote: »
    Hi.
    Don't think this was covered yet...

I loved MW3 and finished it 3 or 4 times.

You might be great at MW3 but you didnt take the time to read that I never had a PS4!
    You mentioned reading books in your cell. Did anyone in particular have an effect on you after reading it?
    Can't believe I'm writing this.........

Do you see the irony in being willing to write about bring a prisoner only while stealing from your current employer.

I am enjoying the thread though :)

Stealing from my current employer? Thats just time! Iwork on commision only so in theory Im stealing nothing!
    marcus001 wrote: »
    I'm in my 20s and have a bit of a posh accent or so I'm told, would I have trouble making friends inside?

Nope, Once you keep your head down as get straight into the kitchen with the rest of the posh lads ya will be grand! :)
    Posy wrote: »
    Very interesting AMA, thanks!

Are you only allowed to smoke when you're locked up in your cell? Or are there other smoking areas?

You mention recreation time- so is there a communal area, like with a pool table and so on?

Answered these!
    Oranage2 wrote: »
    The best thread I've read on boards ever, no questions to ask, just hoping to read more.

Glad your enjoying it, can i charge for this no? :)
    Thanks for the AMA always wondered what prison life was like.

Did you get into any serious fights inside?

Whats the most disrespectful thing a prison officer done to you or someone else, also whats the soundest thing a PO done?

Do the likes of the "cartels" try and recruit you?

I once read 2 lads got in a scrap over the last mars bar in the tuck shop, did anything like that ever happen?

Since you're out and have a job(congrats) how hard will it be for you to get a mortgage?

I heard a prison officer ask a "lifer" what he was doing for the night, as he was locking his door. He then proceeded to tell the prisoner he was going home to his wife and kids.

No cartels recruited me!! Jaysus the media has a hold of you all :)

Seen fights over cartons of milk!
    Sleeper12 wrote: »
    Maybe they have changed things but they used to only allow playstation ones into the prisons. The thought behind this is that anything beyond the ps1 can play dvds. This would encourage smuggling of movies. Movies weren't allowed.

I head recently that they have movies in arbour Hill and dvd players. Can you imagine the jail reserved to wife killers and sex offenders and they have some smugglers smuggled blue movies that they share around.

Probably happens in Arbour Hill!!

Il Pm you!
    What's the pay like ? :pac:

€16 per week roughly, but Id a few little rackets that I wont divulge!

Rekop dog wrote: »
    You say the vulnerable got picked on. How did you go about not coming across weak? Was there any particular moment/moments when you had to get firm to prove yourself? Was how you're coming across regularly on your mind?

What were the gyms like? Was there weight limits so lads couldn't get really big if they wanted or was it standard enough?

No theres no weight limits, if there was the lads would find a way around it handy enough!!

Not really sure how I managed it, I guess the trick is to sit on the fence, dont act hard if your not is probably better than trying not to come across as weak!

Someone asked earlier If I was ever in a fight, I got a slap for being a cocky ****er during a game of cards! I soon learned when I got a black eye! He apologised though:) Was actually a good lad!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

What are travellers like in prison ? do they stick to their own group or do they integrate with the rest of the inmates ?

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

What's the scariest situation in prison that you witnessed?

What was the nicest situation that you saw in there too (apart from getting out)?

What are travellers like in prison ? do they stick to their own group or do they integrate with the rest of the inmates ?
    Most of them stick to their own in fairness but they certainly dont like being in there! They find it harder to accept than most. On the whole they were grand!!
    Neyite wrote: »
    What's the scariest situation in prison that you witnessed?

What was the nicest situation that you saw in there too (apart from getting out)?

I kinda witnessed a prison officer saving a prisoner from suicide! It was probably the nicest and scariest thing I ever saw in prison. Shows we are all human!