Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€7000 in fines for doing donuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭redcup342

1/. It's illegal.
    2/. It's dangerous.
    3/. No such thing as perfect visibility.
    4/. You aren't the world's best driver.
    5/. Chance of mechanical failure.
    6/. It's stupid.

I could go on but won't.

7. You might get caught :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,658 ✭✭✭secman

Cars are not toys
    Public Roads are not playgrounds

Simples.............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,618 ✭✭✭grogi

1/. It's illegal.

Any reference to any particular law?!
    2/. It's dangerous.

As dangerous as driving.
    3/. No such thing as perfect visibility.

When did we invent teleportation?
    4/. You aren't the world's best driver.

Top hundred will suffice.
    5/. Chance of mechanical failure.

Again, driving is straight line brings similar risks.
    6/. It's stupid.

But at least not boring...

secman wrote: »
    Cars are not toys

Some are, some aren't...
    Public Roads are not playgrounds

Doing same in a playground would be even more dangerous...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,432 ✭✭✭bladespin

Not picking any side in this (guilty as the next person for doing something stupid at least once lol) but you have to ask yourself a question, would you be willing to drive a car into court and perform a doughnut infront of both gardai and judiciary and expect to get away with doing so? That's what these guys did, or the vid did; if it's felt that someone is taking the proverbial the law will be lash out.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭nogoodnamesleft

Being from the Killarney area originally. No sympathy for the two lads that were caught and hope it sends a clear message to anyone else thinking about it.

Many locals have no problem with the Rally of the Lakes as it brings a few quid into the town . However Killarney is visited by more than just rally goers over the May bank holiday weekend and some of the supporters give it a bad name by their behaviour. For example being pissed drunk first thing in the morning, pissing up against cars, additional violence at night in the pubs, antisocial behaviour in cars, residents being blocked into their own houses by supporters double, triple parking or even parking on their drive! Most businesses with open spaces and public car parks will typically park a large trailer, round bales, employ security etc over the long weekend to ensure that their property isnt used for donuts.

Regards the doing the donuts during the day. I have seen a group of lads do burn outs, donuts in close proximity to some horses near a tourist spot a number of years ago . They were spoken to that they were causing anxiety to the horses and to stop...they continued. Next time they were spoken to it was dealt with in a different manner if you catch my drift.

Regards doing donuts at night time sound travels a considerable distance at night and many locals know the open areas where they are more than likely and its usually reported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Being from the Killarney area originally. No sympathy for the two lads that were caught and hope it sends a clear message to anyone else thinking about it.

Many locals have no problem with the Rally of the Lakes as it brings a few quid into the town . However Killarney is visited by more than just rally goers over the May bank holiday weekend and some of the supporters give it a bad name by their behaviour. For example being pissed drunk first thing in the morning, pissing up against cars, additional violence at night in the pubs, antisocial behaviour in cars, residents being blocked into their own houses by supporters double, triple parking or even parking on their drive! Most businesses with open spaces and public car parks will typically park a large trailer, round bales, employ security etc over the long weekend to ensure that their property isnt used for donuts.

Regards the doing the donuts during the day. I have seen a group of lads do burn outs, donuts in close proximity to some horses near a tourist spot a number of years ago . They were spoken to that they were causing anxiety to the horses and to stop...they continued. Next time they were spoken to it was dealt with in a different manner if you catch my drift.

Regards doing donuts at night time sound travels a considerable distance at night and many locals know the open areas where they are more than likely and its usually reported.

The Donegal Rally is the exact same. This year every Altezza and IS200 in the country must have been in Letterkenny, I'd say less than 5% actually seen a stage of the rally over the 3 days. They spent most of the days in private yards burning their tyres off and doing laps of the town at night.

Most of them couldn't even have told you who won the rally once it was all over.

They are a nuisance and do not contribute to the rally or local economy in any meaningful way.

They should be hammered by the courts every opportunity they get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭marcus001

I would never do it to my car. Can't understand why a car lover would ever risk damaging it for a petty thrill.

I think these lads could do with a better hobby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,541 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

You could draw parallels to the Rose of Tralee festival. Nobody cares about the actual roses but, they're just down for the mayhem and crowds.

marcus001 wrote: »
    I would never do it to my car. Can't understand why a car lover would ever risk damaging it for a petty thrill.

I think these lads could do with a better hobby.

I seriously cannot tell if you're sarcastic or simply hypocritical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

The problem we have in Ireland is that we have good laws to deal with motoring offences such as dangerous driving (doughnuts), speeding, drink & drug driving but the chance of getting caught is so small that it is leading drivers to believe they are entitled to do what they want on public roads

They should be hammered by the courts every opportunity they get.

Idiots should be prosecuted, no doubt about that. The eejits in the video were doing seriously stupid stuff, endangering loads of people.

CiniO wrote: »
    So what's wrong if I decide to take a bend with powerslide or skid?
    Assuming it's an area with perfect visibility and can be seen there's no one around?

Why is it stupid if no harm can be made to anyone?

Assuming this isn't trolling... When you die, I hope its just you in the car.

grogi wrote: »
    I seriously cannot tell if your sarcastic or simply hypocritical.

How exactly is that sarcastic or hypocritical?

The problem we have in Ireland is that we have good laws to deal with motoring offences such as dangerous driving (doughnuts), speeding, drink & drug driving but the chance of getting caught is so small that it is leading drivers to believe they are entitled to do what they want on public roads

This. On the other side, the dangerous driving offence is often used when the person did not really drive dangerously. It is often a catch-all case...

All that together results in no respect to the law nor to the Gardaí.

This. On the other side, the dangerous driving offence is often used when the person did not really drive dangerously. It is often a catch-all case...

All that together results in no respect to the law nor to the Gardaí.

That's ridiculous. You're saying that because a driver doesn't agree with a dangerous driving conviction imposed in court, that a lack of respect for the law is justified

No, not at all. Lack of respect for law is never justified.

It is however an expected consequence of applying the law to harshly or to loosely. Somehow in Ireland we manage to do both at the same time ;)

No, not at all. Lack of respect for law is never justified.

It is however an expected consequence of applying the law to harshly or to loosely. Somehow in Ireland we manage to do both at the same time ;)

It is not for individuals to decide if they are driving dangerously or not, the court will rule if the charge is justified. As an example, this forum is riddled with posters saying they are well able to cope with driving at speeds significantly in excess of the speed limit. Sorry, but you're not the great driver you think you are and it is dangerous driving. If the only consequence of dangerous driving is that you maim yourself, I'd say it is none of my business. Unfortunately, that is not the case

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Not at all the same.

If your doing donuts, skids etc in isolated rural place, ideally parking or some other open area, there won'tt be anyone around. And if someone else is approaching then you'll see him and can stop doing what you're doing in advance.

If you're driving drunk, then you might meet other traffic and will have deal with it which might be difficult when drunk.

A car park or open area? So a defined place and any other place... are you actually serious? The car park belongs to someone or a company. Maybe, just maybe the owners don't want you doing stupid crap on their property?

Your logic is so flawed it's alarming. It's ok to do illegal things once you stop when somebody is coming. Is theft ok? What about setting sombodies car on fire? Maybe it's ok to take a crap in your letterbox, I mean, once nobody is harmed in the process it should be ok, right?
    So what's wrong if I decide to take a bend with powerslide or skid?
    Assuming it's an area with perfect visibility and can be seen there's no one around?

Why is it stupid if no harm can be made to anyone?

You are not in control of your vehicle. Taking a bend with a skid or a power slide, are you for real...? How can you see that as being ok?

Stupidity can exist without harm, as can be seen in this thread.

As dangerous as driving.

Again, driving is straight line brings similar risks.

But at least not boring...

Anything to back up your claims or are you just talking out your rear end?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 328 ✭✭Synthol

amcalester wrote: »
    If you can't do it safely then don't do it.

It's pretty simple really, applies to loads of other aspects of life too.

Speed limits still apply when overtaking as well.

I can overtake you in the same lane.

Synthol wrote:
    I can overtake you in the same lane.

Not on imaginary motorbikes you cant ;)
    Untitled Image

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 328 ✭✭Synthol

bladespin wrote: »
    Not on imaninary motorbikes you cant ;)

Pm me and we will meet any time after 7pm, we will see.

Synthol wrote: »

I believe you, really I do but even a supercharged turbo hayabusa can't pass in the same lane without risking getting nabbed for dangerous driving.
    Untitled Image

Childish attitude

Punishment overtake? how we lol'd :D
    Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,143 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

bladespin wrote: »
    Punishment overtake? how we lol'd :D
    Oh I remember that guy.
    I think he should go back to the cycling forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭Negative_G

Only one word springs to mind when I see someone driving one of these cars - scroat.

You are not in control of your vehicle.

You can't beat Heisenberg's Uncertainty...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

marcus001 wrote: »
    Assuming this isn't trolling... When you die, I hope its just you in the car.

See, your post is a perfect example of how people perceive it.
    Skidding, powersliding, drifting etc equals deadly danger.
    That's what most people think including judges and that's why situation is what it is.

In fact skidding can be done in fully controlled manner and it can be great fun.
    It's just a skill which requires lots of training and possibly some talent, but it definitely can be learnt. Similar like mountainbiking, surfing, paragliding and other things which might seem difficult and dangerous for someone who never tried.

I spent huge amount of my time training that kind of driving, skid control, etc, and I feel confident about negotiating bends with a skid, especially when driving in snow.
    And normally when I do drive on snow on quite roads with no one around, i purposely skid a lot and have fun. Can't see anything dangerous in doing that, the same as I don't see anything dangerous in mountain biking or windsurfing etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭baaba maal

Not at all the same.

If your doing donuts, skids etc in isolated rural place, ideally parking or some other open area, there won'tt be anyone around. And if someone else is approaching then you'll see him and can stop doing what you're doing in advance.

If you're driving drunk, then you might meet other traffic and will have deal with it which might be difficult when drunk.

I could show you 80-90 "isolated rural places" in Kildare where these loons practice their 'skills'. In most cases (and most being junctions) there are houses nearby- many times the marks are directly outside houses. Do these lads check with the houses in advance that they're ok with a bunch of unknown people doing illegal road manoeuvres directly outside-sometimes very late at night? And yes, demographically, many rural houses are populated by elderly people, frequently alone. I'm not sure if the participants are mainly urban or not, but the idea that they're not bothering anybody is certainly a myth. Obviously I'm not referring to the safety/danger aspect of this, I'm highlighting that there are other negatives to the practice.
    As a former motorbike user, I should also add that I wasn't that fond of the increased rubber build up at junctions.

You highlight how they control any negative outcomes because 'ideally' they can see other cars approach by positioning themselves in an area. They should also be thinking about the people who are in the area but not driving, and what they're leaving behind for other road users.