Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€7000 in fines for doing donuts.

• 05-09-2017 9:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭

https://www.rte.ie/news/2017/0905/902559-garda-boy-racer-investigation/

Some sting for these two doughnuts with a €3.5k fine each and a limiter to be fitted to their cars to a max of 100km per hour. I think the limiter is a bit of an overkill, it actually could be dangerous in some situations such as safe overtaking and such but the fine might deter others in future. The Garda in question must have had a real bee in his bonnet about catching these lads as he tracked them down via facebook.

I know a few people living outside Killarney and they basically have to say goodbye to sleep whenever the lakes are on because of these clowns. I've no problem with drifting or doing donuts, I've been known to try it once of twice myself but not on a public road ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

Good enough for them.

And eh, if they can't safely overtake then they shouldn't overtake. Limiter or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

King of the cone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

They should be banned for 12 months.
    Typical Kerry judge and Famine Era poor box justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭mikeecho

Delighted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,544 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

"Handbrake spins!"

Limiting to 100kmph is hardly going to stop them doing donuts!

This is a bit of a silly sentence but they could have easily injured someone and I suppose they want to send out a message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,541 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

And drive the wrong way up a motorway and your fined a massive €80.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭Neilw

A speed limiter isn't going to stop them doing rings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭JC01

colm_mcm wrote: »
    "Handbrake spins!"

Limiting to 100kmph is hardly going to stop them doing donuts!

This is a bit of a silly sentence but they could have easily injured someone and I suppose they want to send out a message.

How? How could they easily have injured somebody?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Doltanian

Hal1 wrote: »
    King of the cone!

Springs to mind! for these eejits.

silly_dunce_party_hat-ra2accbb83f3a43d3b64e8c941b84bc70_6w0a4_540.jpg?rlvnet=1

All cos someone uploaded it to YouTube :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭JimmyMcGill

amcalester wrote: »
    Good enough for them.

And eh, if they can't safely overtake then they shouldn't overtake. Limiter or not.

Nothing safer than spending longer than necessary driving on the wrong side of the road.
    Lack of speed kills too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

And drive the wrong way up a motorway and your fined a massive €80.

It more to send out a message I'd imagine as Killarney is a tourist town, having a bunch of louts around the town on a bank holiday weekend isn't good for businesses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

I honestly think there's way too much public hate toward people doing donuts, skids, handbrake turns and other funky stuff.

Sure - should be penalised when doing in public busy place, but what harm is it, if lads find a rural spot at night where no one is going to be around anyway?

Fines of €3500 seems crazy for what it is - just few lads playing, learning skills, and risking damaging their wheels or suspension when hitting the kerb... nothing more.

It's not as bad as people think.

CiniO wrote: »
    I honestly think there's way too much public hate toward people doing donuts, skids, handbrake turns and other funky stuff.

Sure - should be penalised when doing in public busy place, but what harm is it, if lads find a rural spot at night where no one is going to be around anyway?

Fines of €3500 seems crazy for what it is - just few lads playing, learning skills, and risking damaging their wheels or suspension when hitting the kerb... nothing more.

Doing it with a crowd around you isn't that clever though

Nothing safer than spending longer than necessary driving on the wrong side of the road.
    Lack of speed kills too.

This is a special kind of stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I would say biggest worry now will actually been able to stay on the road legally.

Insurance will be a sh1tstorm.

Doughnuts isn't as bad as they can make out.

Yes they should have done off road but it is great fun to watch and the noise and smell is something you will never forget.

Many a car cruise I went to and the cops would even sit by and watch.

Now in these cases it was off road on private grounds for most and some industrial estates which were empty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭JimmyMcGill

This is a special kind of stupid.

Spend as long as you want overtaking another car, I'd sooner get the whole process over as fast as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

I've done it a few times on a deserted and private beach in herselfs 1 series. It is great craic, there is no denying it but not on a public road lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭rebel456

Good work by the Garda involved in tracking them down. While some may just see it as a 'bit of fun' the lads are blocking a public road and endangering those around them, cars could spin out of control etc. (Yes, I know people voluntarily go and watch them). More importantly it serves as a warning to those who do this in even more dangerous places such as town squares, motorways, etc that law enforcement isn't just for when you are caught 'red handed' but you can be tracked down via video evidence.

I've mixed feelings about the fine, a road ban would have been more appropriate given the offences committed. The limiter is interesting, never heard of that type of punishment handed out by judges - on an old car such as the AE86 would it have to be mechanical in nature?

Only a dopey mong wouldn't understand what I mean.
    Spend as long as you want overtaking another car, I'd sooner get the whole process over as fast as possible.

If you can't do it safely then don't do it.

It's pretty simple really, applies to loads of other aspects of life too.

Speed limits still apply when overtaking as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,268 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

And here I was thinking that cops love donuts .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,184 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I'd love to live out beside where some planks burn their tires and wheel bearings out every weekend. Sounds class sign me up.

Awesome way to get some sleep and live a peaceful life....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,111 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Good enough for them.

Lack of speed kills too.
    The limit is the limit regardless of weather or not you are overtaking , if it's not safe to overtake within the limit you don't overtake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,953 ✭✭✭Bigus

Not too clever in an uncontrolled environment as below

http://www.dailystar.co.uk/news/latest-news/639001/car-ploughs-into-crowds-people-knocked-down-donut-error-shocking-video

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 119 ✭✭mezzz

Nice twin.cams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Lack of speed kills too.

I agree, and as others have pointed out, putting a speed limiter into the car isn't going to stop them from doing doughnuts, you don't need to be going that fast to do one... typical Ireland like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

rebel456 wrote: »

The limiter is interesting, never heard of that type of punishment handed out by judges - on an old car such as the AE86 would it have to be mechanical in nature?

Easy to do :

mp0ABFA.jpg

I've never seen a twin cam speeding to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭rebel456

gctest50 wrote: »
    Easy to do :

mp0ABFA.jpg

Cheers. Looks as easy to bypass too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭brightspark

Lack of speed kills too.

Judging from the tyre marks I've seen when doing donuts they spend time unnecessarily on the wrong side of the road already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

I'm fairly big into modified cars and in fairness doing doughnuts in fairly boring to do and watch. Everyone knows this sort of thing is illegal so if you get caught you can't complain. If your going to be at that **** at least go somewhere away from houses and roads that aren't busy

Seen a good few people calling the Garda awful names because of this and at the end of the day they are actually doing their job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Saw a lot of donut marks on the N11 leaving Wexford today. They deserve harsher penalties. Don't care if it's late and nobodies on the roads. Find private land, plenty of it around. The rules are the rules.

rebel456 wrote: »
    Cheers. Looks as easy to bypass too!

They'd have the physical evidence if you were caught over 100 km/h

especially when it shows " LIMITED TO 100KM/H " on this yoke :

EIrDgcK.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

Several junctions close to me in a rural area regularly coated with fresh rings of melted rubber.. didn't pass too many remarks early on, but fairly sick of it now. Good enough to get fines, as long as they don't get put on a 2 euro a week payment plan because they 'can't afford it'. Can't see any valid argument for allowing this on public roads.

Little tidy 6x4 is what they need :

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Old Perry

Some fella fell out of a Lexus mid donut, at Donegal rally this year, and got crossed God love him. Punishment for these lads is a bit harsh imo especially since it was at an organized event with like minded ppl probably on closed roads aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭carsQhere

Poor box is just archaic. Should have been dealt with by way of points/ban/resit test as appropriate. The lads might see it differently of course.

If they were being used to send out a message then that's wrong too because by definition the punishment is is excessive in that case.

Modified car crowd get a bad name for the antics of a minority. No excuse for blocking a public road at the end of the day but this 7 grand poor box and speed limiters stuff just makes the court case read like a Fr. Ted script.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,760 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

The court report sounds as if he is asking for poor box donations then giving them Peobation Act benefit (adjourned until November) meaning no actual conviction and not even a single penalty point or licence suspension.

Sounds like a crap decision to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Negative_G

Scroats. €3,500 fine will soften their cough.

The poor lads just got caught up in the moment. You would think at 21 and 25 they would have a bit of cop on. Obviously not much between the ears.

Great work by the Gardai.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,890 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I think the fines will be the least of these drivers issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,316 ✭✭✭circadian

JC01 wrote: »
    How? How could they easily have injured somebody?

Is this a serious question?

I think the fines will be the least of these drivers issues.

this will :P

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/200X120MM-100-kmh-SPEED-LIMITER-FITTED-STICKER-VAN-BUS-CAR-COACH-BUSINESS-/141311955914

vDcYr4n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Doing it with a crowd around you isn't that clever though
    Bigus wrote: »

Have to agree.
    Having an audience right around is not greatest idea.

Still think there's nothing wrong with lads doing their stuff in quite place on their own or in small group.

I always used to do lots of vehicle control / skid training around quite roads, forest roads, especially on snow.
    Sometimes as well on big supermarket parkings after closing hours, or even city junctions when empty at night when covered in snow. Control skidding is lots of fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,209 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

No issue with car enthusiasts and with that kind of stuff as such, we all have our hobbies and to some others they seem silly. But the article said it was done on a busy public road and that is a bit stupid and in fact potentially very dangerous. FFs I've seen donut marks on motorways. There is no excuse for that kind of sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,913 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Sure can't they just sell the car, buy a different model of the same car, and move on with no speed limiter.

No excuses for young lads doing rings, you see it all the time, I have to travel the back roads near the border sometimes with work and every crossroad nearly is covered in donut marks.

ELM327 wrote: »
    Sure can't they just sell the car, buy a different model of the same car, and move on with no speed limiter.

nope, limiter in whatever they drive

Judge James O'Connor ordered both men to pay €3,500 each and to install devices in whatever vehicles they drive to limit their speed to a maximum of 100km/h.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

How has no one asked how you get insured on an AE86 at 21... Anyone?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,890 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

How has no one asked how you get insured on an AE86 at 21... Anyone?

I suspect it has just gotten considerably more expensive for those two drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

If it's a public place, then there are people around. End of story.

If they want to go off and be idiots, they can do it on private land where they only stand to harm other likeminded idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

I suspect it has just gotten considerably more expensive for those two drivers.

No denying a conviction like that will ramp up the premiums significantly, regardless of what they insure next, but to insure an AE86 at 21 seems like it would be extremely expensive initially or... :confused: