Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If You Won The Lottery

• 05-09-2017 1:43pm
    Registered Users Posts: 530 ✭✭✭

What would you do?

If it was 1 million in the lotto, or 100 million in the Euromillions?

Would you give up working or keep going?

Most ridiculous thing you'd like to do with it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

I'd give up work and sign on the dole.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Big difference between 1 mill and 100 mill tbh.

1 mill I'd buy a nice big house on a decent piece of land outright, stick 200k in a pension scheme, then work a relatively easy going job with short/easy hours, just enough to keep things ticking over. €30-40k or so a year should be more than enough when you've no mortgage to service.

100 mill obviously I'd have no need to work. Throw a decent wedge of cash at all the siblings and parents, stick 1 million in a pension scheme for myself. Then I'd probably set up a charity and run that myself in order to oversee the rest of the cash spent the way I want it to be spent.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,571 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I've already made a formal agreement with my wife that 50% of any lottery winnings over €5 million is to be spent on Limerick FC.

The fact that we don't do the lottery is a slight issue however.

• Registered Users Posts: 530 ✭✭✭_Roz_

seamus wrote: »
    Big difference between 1 mill and 100 mill tbh.

That's why I asked! :)

I like the idea of setting up a charity - I always say I'd donate, but setting up a charity is a much better idea. I'd certainly contribute more to the world by setting up a charity with a lottery win and never again working a day, than I ever will in my actual job. Bit disheartening really.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,478 ✭✭✭✭nullzero

Stop posting here and move on to rich.ie where redacted, Chris de burgh's young Wan and lord Henry mount charles go to post up threads about what they'd do if they ended up poor.

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭alberto67

Give up work and buy Boards.ie
    - AH would renamed A67.
    - Thunderdome would be back.
    - I'd unban Facekicker.

I'd also buy an electric car and a house with solar panels.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

_Roz_ wrote: »

I like the idea of setting up a charity - I always say I'd donate, but setting up a charity is a much better idea. I'd certainly contribute more to the world by setting up a charity with a lottery win and never again working a day, than I ever will in my actual job. Bit disheartening really.
    Any charity that you handed €50m to would end up squandering a big chunk of it on wages and assorted nonsense. That's before you consider how many charities seem to be run by immoral scumbags.

If you set up your own, then as CEO/director you don't need to be paid, and you can be sure that there's not some greedy fncker sticking his hand in the jar and paying for expensive holidays/dinners/mortgages out of your donation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

Loving the funny answers :D

And Seamus, yes, you're right about charities, particularly the immoral scumbags element.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

If i won £100m...first thing I would do is buy a £1m quickpick!!

Then sort out the family...hitmen cost a small fortune these days!!

Then hookers n coke!!

• Registered Users Posts: 72 ✭✭tevey08

Reality is I'd be off on a holiday 40 weeks of the year. Buy a massive house with 24 hour security. Buy top of the range BMW and Range rover. Help out all immediate family. Possibly look at moving to a place where wealth doesn't stand out like a sore thumb. Off on cruises and a holiday home in the south of France and probably 10 other countries. Then broke 10 years later :D

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭alberto67

tevey08 wrote: »
    Reality is I'd be off on a holiday 40 weeks of the year. Buy a massive house with 24 hour security. Buy top of the range BMW and Range rover. Help out all immediate family. Possibly look at moving to a place where wealth doesn't stand out like a sore thumb. Off on cruises and a holiday home in the south of France and probably 10 other countries. Then broke 10 years later :D

Not very environment-friendly...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

I'd buy a full tank of petrol. Thats if i won the €100m, obviously.

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

I'd go straight to the property porn thread and shop for a gaff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Registered Users Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

I don't do the lotto, so the question is moot, but if I did do it and won, I certainly wouldn't give up work for €1 million. In fact I doubt it would change my life to any real extent. €100 million would be a different proposition. I would have to seriously think about work - I enjoy my job, and I'd imagine that, no matter how many holidays I took, I'd end up being bored out of my mind. I think I'd go part-time, and invest a lot of the money to protect my family inter-generationally - i.e, ensure that my grandkids and great-grandkids had the best possible start. I'm not sure I'd buy an awful lot, as there isn't really anything I can think of off the top of my head that I really want that I couldn't buy now if my wife would only let me!

Damn, I'm boring!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,458 ✭✭✭valoren

1 million.

Keep the house, keep the job. Treat ourselves to something nice, holiday, nice cars, watches etc.

Definitely stay in work. If I quit I know I'd be bored and I'd end up spending, spending, spending.
    Nice 2 week cruises annually for sure though.

I'd figure out a way to replace the income from my current job, through passive investment.
    Probably keep the moolah in cash, wait for dip in the market, then buy tranches of dividend paying stocks.
    The kind of companies that raise the dividend every year. Coke, Procter & Gamble, Colgate etc etc
    Average yield would be 3% initially, so looking at €30,000 gross immediately.

I'd just reinvest the dividends until the income from that allows us to be comfortable (i.e. the dividends outweigh the income from working, i'd be looking at double current income), then I'd look to retire early and play golf a lot, keep healthy and spend lot's of time with the family.

100 million.

That's funny money. I'd do much the same as above but on a much larger scale.
    3% in this case is €3m.
    Close family would be taken care of using a similar approach i.e. they'd all have blocks of stock in the likes of Exxon and Johnson & Johnson etc.

At that level of wealth, I'd try to leave a mark on society. I'd look to setting up an investment fund as a business. I would badger the government to set up something along the lines of the Roth IRA/ISA accounts for stocks and shares for this country. They'd even name it after me, Valoren Individual Stock Account :cool:

With time, patience and compound interest we'd be billionaires by the time I pass away.

At the same time, I would try (and fail to get a card for the European Tour). When I turned 50, I'd try and make a go at the Senior's tour comfortable in the knowledge that I'm both shíte at golf and filthy rich.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,200 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

How does that work then? Do charities run themselves? Give them a push and they sort themselves out?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Bag of cans

How does that work then? Do charities run themselves? Give them a push and they sort themselves out?

For profit, is obviously what I meant.

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Bag of cans

Prolly get more than one bag no?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,731 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

1 mil.. would clear debts, buy a house/new cars, bits and pieces, a holiday etc, but keep working. Save/invest 40-50% of it.

100mil...

- Call Lotto HQ but leave unclaimed for a few weeks till the attention dies down.
    - Tell no-one (except obviously wife etc). Continue working as normal
    - Take 2 weeks Annual Leave. Go claim it and deposit it. Check into a nice hotel for a week and make plans. Get professional advice.
    - Figure to leave 85-90 mil untouched no matter what. Plan to live off this for the rest of your life and leave trust funds for any kids
    - Return to work. A week or so later hand in notice saying you found another job. Work out notice as expected
    - Leave.. enjoy life. Not necessarily give up working completely but do so on your own terms (part-time, interesting contracts etc)
    - Only then tell those who you want to know.

I've thought about this before :)

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Prolly get more than one bag no?

Ah now, let's not get ahead of ourselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,458 ✭✭✭valoren

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    1 mil.. would clear debts, buy a house and keep working. Save/invest 40-50% of it.

100mil...

- Call Lotto HQ but leave unclaimed for a few weeks till the attention dies down.
    - Tell no-one (except obviously wife etc). Continue working as normal
    - Take 2 weeks Annual Leave. Go claim it and deposit it. Check into a nice hotel for a week and make plans. Get professional advice.
    - Figure to leave 85-90 mil untouched no matter what. Plan to live off this for the rest of your life and leave trust funds for any kids
    - Return to work. A week or so later hand in notice saying you found another job. Work out notice as expected
    - Leave.. enjoy life. Only then tell those who you want to know.

I've thought about this before :)

Agreed about leaving the job. It would be bad karma to just up and leave.
    You'd be leaving behind a lot of pissed off colleagues. Your reputation is priceless even if you had €100,000,000 sitting in a bank account.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,731 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

valoren wrote: »
    Agreed about leaving the job. It would be bad karma to just up and leave.
    You'd be leaving behind a lot of pissed off colleagues. Your reputation is priceless even if you had €100,000,000 sitting in a bank account.

It's not even that... when you leave a job you very quickly find out who your friends are. In my experience, you'll never hear from 95% of them again despite the best intentions.

Knowing you were a major lotto winner would make EVERYONE your best friend, plus the begging/sob stories.

No thanks... the people who knew I'd struck it lucky would be very few.

That's a great plan Kaiser. If I ever win, I'll do that. You can have a few bob for giving me the idea. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,562 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

If I won 100 Million

I'd start my own Political Party and I'd call it something like:
    "The No Idiots, Fat Cats, Developers, Wasters, Bankers, Political Dynasty Party"

I'd ensure I had someone running in every constituency and become Taoiseach.
    I'd then sort out the mess the country is in so that you wouldn't have to have a million in the bank to have decent lifestyle.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭dancingqueen

€1M - buy a modest house somewhere in Dublin, stay working part time, possibly go back to education full time to learn something I am really interested in without being under pressure. Live a less stressed life without the worry of paying the mortgage!

€100M - sort my immediate family out with their mortgages and loans. Buy a house that won't cost a fortune to run i.e. not a mansion with ridiculous overheads, but that is pretty extravagant in another way. Maybe I'd build one in fact, a super environmentally friendly house. It would have lots of land for growing my own veg and chickens and dogs all over the place. Do all the travelling and find a little house / apartment to have to go to on a weekend whim, maybe in Portugal. I love Portugal. I haven't thought beyond that. The charity idea is very interesting - perhaps I'd set up a giant animal shelter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

if you won 100,000,000 you could live on the interest quite easily.

you'd comfortably earn 10 grand a week.

You couldn't do that on 1,000,000

• Registered Users Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

I'd fûck off back to Perth.