Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If You Won The Lottery

• 05-09-2017 12:43pm
    Registered Users Posts: 530 ✭✭✭_Roz_

What would you do?

If it was 1 million in the lotto, or 100 million in the Euromillions?

Would you give up working or keep going?

Most ridiculous thing you'd like to do with it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

I'd give up work and sign on the dole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Big difference between 1 mill and 100 mill tbh.

1 mill I'd buy a nice big house on a decent piece of land outright, stick 200k in a pension scheme, then work a relatively easy going job with short/easy hours, just enough to keep things ticking over. €30-40k or so a year should be more than enough when you've no mortgage to service.

100 mill obviously I'd have no need to work. Throw a decent wedge of cash at all the siblings and parents, stick 1 million in a pension scheme for myself. Then I'd probably set up a charity and run that myself in order to oversee the rest of the cash spent the way I want it to be spent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I've already made a formal agreement with my wife that 50% of any lottery winnings over €5 million is to be spent on Limerick FC.

The fact that we don't do the lottery is a slight issue however.

• Registered Users Posts: 530 ✭✭✭_Roz_

seamus wrote: »
    Big difference between 1 mill and 100 mill tbh.

That's why I asked! :)

I like the idea of setting up a charity - I always say I'd donate, but setting up a charity is a much better idea. I'd certainly contribute more to the world by setting up a charity with a lottery win and never again working a day, than I ever will in my actual job. Bit disheartening really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,685 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Stop posting here and move on to rich.ie where redacted, Chris de burgh's young Wan and lord Henry mount charles go to post up threads about what they'd do if they ended up poor.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭alberto67

Give up work and buy Boards.ie
    - AH would renamed A67.
    - Thunderdome would be back.
    - I'd unban Facekicker.

I'd also buy an electric car and a house with solar panels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

_Roz_ wrote: »

I like the idea of setting up a charity - I always say I'd donate, but setting up a charity is a much better idea. I'd certainly contribute more to the world by setting up a charity with a lottery win and never again working a day, than I ever will in my actual job. Bit disheartening really.
    Any charity that you handed €50m to would end up squandering a big chunk of it on wages and assorted nonsense. That's before you consider how many charities seem to be run by immoral scumbags.

If you set up your own, then as CEO/director you don't need to be paid, and you can be sure that there's not some greedy fncker sticking his hand in the jar and paying for expensive holidays/dinners/mortgages out of your donation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

Loving the funny answers :D

And Seamus, yes, you're right about charities, particularly the immoral scumbags element.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,160 ✭✭✭frag420

If i won £100m...first thing I would do is buy a £1m quickpick!!

Then sort out the family...hitmen cost a small fortune these days!!

Then hookers n coke!!

• Registered Users Posts: 72 ✭✭tevey08

Reality is I'd be off on a holiday 40 weeks of the year. Buy a massive house with 24 hour security. Buy top of the range BMW and Range rover. Help out all immediate family. Possibly look at moving to a place where wealth doesn't stand out like a sore thumb. Off on cruises and a holiday home in the south of France and probably 10 other countries. Then broke 10 years later :D

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭alberto67

tevey08 wrote: »
    Reality is I'd be off on a holiday 40 weeks of the year. Buy a massive house with 24 hour security. Buy top of the range BMW and Range rover. Help out all immediate family. Possibly look at moving to a place where wealth doesn't stand out like a sore thumb. Off on cruises and a holiday home in the south of France and probably 10 other countries. Then broke 10 years later :D

Not very environment-friendly...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

I'd buy a full tank of petrol. Thats if i won the €100m, obviously.

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

I'd go straight to the property porn thread and shop for a gaff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

I don't do the lotto, so the question is moot, but if I did do it and won, I certainly wouldn't give up work for €1 million. In fact I doubt it would change my life to any real extent. €100 million would be a different proposition. I would have to seriously think about work - I enjoy my job, and I'd imagine that, no matter how many holidays I took, I'd end up being bored out of my mind. I think I'd go part-time, and invest a lot of the money to protect my family inter-generationally - i.e, ensure that my grandkids and great-grandkids had the best possible start. I'm not sure I'd buy an awful lot, as there isn't really anything I can think of off the top of my head that I really want that I couldn't buy now if my wife would only let me!

Damn, I'm boring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,535 ✭✭✭valoren

1 million.

Keep the house, keep the job. Treat ourselves to something nice, holiday, nice cars, watches etc.

Definitely stay in work. If I quit I know I'd be bored and I'd end up spending, spending, spending.
    Nice 2 week cruises annually for sure though.

I'd figure out a way to replace the income from my current job, through passive investment.
    Probably keep the moolah in cash, wait for dip in the market, then buy tranches of dividend paying stocks.
    The kind of companies that raise the dividend every year. Coke, Procter & Gamble, Colgate etc etc
    Average yield would be 3% initially, so looking at €30,000 gross immediately.

I'd just reinvest the dividends until the income from that allows us to be comfortable (i.e. the dividends outweigh the income from working, i'd be looking at double current income), then I'd look to retire early and play golf a lot, keep healthy and spend lot's of time with the family.

100 million.

That's funny money. I'd do much the same as above but on a much larger scale.
    3% in this case is €3m.
    Close family would be taken care of using a similar approach i.e. they'd all have blocks of stock in the likes of Exxon and Johnson & Johnson etc.

At that level of wealth, I'd try to leave a mark on society. I'd look to setting up an investment fund as a business. I would badger the government to set up something along the lines of the Roth IRA/ISA accounts for stocks and shares for this country. They'd even name it after me, Valoren Individual Stock Account :cool:

With time, patience and compound interest we'd be billionaires by the time I pass away.

At the same time, I would try (and fail to get a card for the European Tour). When I turned 50, I'd try and make a go at the Senior's tour comfortable in the knowledge that I'm both shíte at golf and filthy rich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,504 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

How does that work then? Do charities run themselves? Give them a push and they sort themselves out?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Bag of cans

How does that work then? Do charities run themselves? Give them a push and they sort themselves out?

For profit, is obviously what I meant.

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Bag of cans

Prolly get more than one bag no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,017 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

1 mil.. would clear debts, buy a house/new cars, bits and pieces, a holiday etc, but keep working. Save/invest 40-50% of it.

100mil...

- Call Lotto HQ but leave unclaimed for a few weeks till the attention dies down.
    - Tell no-one (except obviously wife etc). Continue working as normal
    - Take 2 weeks Annual Leave. Go claim it and deposit it. Check into a nice hotel for a week and make plans. Get professional advice.
    - Figure to leave 85-90 mil untouched no matter what. Plan to live off this for the rest of your life and leave trust funds for any kids
    - Return to work. A week or so later hand in notice saying you found another job. Work out notice as expected
    - Leave.. enjoy life. Not necessarily give up working completely but do so on your own terms (part-time, interesting contracts etc)
    - Only then tell those who you want to know.

I've thought about this before :)

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Prolly get more than one bag no?

Ah now, let's not get ahead of ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,535 ✭✭✭valoren

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    1 mil.. would clear debts, buy a house and keep working. Save/invest 40-50% of it.

100mil...

- Call Lotto HQ but leave unclaimed for a few weeks till the attention dies down.
    - Tell no-one (except obviously wife etc). Continue working as normal
    - Take 2 weeks Annual Leave. Go claim it and deposit it. Check into a nice hotel for a week and make plans. Get professional advice.
    - Figure to leave 85-90 mil untouched no matter what. Plan to live off this for the rest of your life and leave trust funds for any kids
    - Return to work. A week or so later hand in notice saying you found another job. Work out notice as expected
    - Leave.. enjoy life. Only then tell those who you want to know.

I've thought about this before :)

Agreed about leaving the job. It would be bad karma to just up and leave.
    You'd be leaving behind a lot of pissed off colleagues. Your reputation is priceless even if you had €100,000,000 sitting in a bank account.

valoren wrote: »
    Agreed about leaving the job. It would be bad karma to just up and leave.
    You'd be leaving behind a lot of pissed off colleagues. Your reputation is priceless even if you had €100,000,000 sitting in a bank account.

It's not even that... when you leave a job you very quickly find out who your friends are. In my experience, you'll never hear from 95% of them again despite the best intentions.

Knowing you were a major lotto winner would make EVERYONE your best friend, plus the begging/sob stories.

No thanks... the people who knew I'd struck it lucky would be very few.

That's a great plan Kaiser. If I ever win, I'll do that. You can have a few bob for giving me the idea. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

If I won 100 Million

I'd start my own Political Party and I'd call it something like:
    "The No Idiots, Fat Cats, Developers, Wasters, Bankers, Political Dynasty Party"

I'd ensure I had someone running in every constituency and become Taoiseach.
    I'd then sort out the mess the country is in so that you wouldn't have to have a million in the bank to have decent lifestyle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭dancingqueen

€1M - buy a modest house somewhere in Dublin, stay working part time, possibly go back to education full time to learn something I am really interested in without being under pressure. Live a less stressed life without the worry of paying the mortgage!

€100M - sort my immediate family out with their mortgages and loans. Buy a house that won't cost a fortune to run i.e. not a mansion with ridiculous overheads, but that is pretty extravagant in another way. Maybe I'd build one in fact, a super environmentally friendly house. It would have lots of land for growing my own veg and chickens and dogs all over the place. Do all the travelling and find a little house / apartment to have to go to on a weekend whim, maybe in Portugal. I love Portugal. I haven't thought beyond that. The charity idea is very interesting - perhaps I'd set up a giant animal shelter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

if you won 100,000,000 you could live on the interest quite easily.

you'd comfortably earn 10 grand a week.

You couldn't do that on 1,000,000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

I'd fûck off back to Perth.

maybe in Portugal. I love Portugal.

Never been there, but OH's parents retired to there so I suspect I'll be going there someday. He has notions of retiring to there, but as I hate heat and summer, he'll be retiring there alone! :P

I too would likely go back to full time education.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,504 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I always wonder about those who say they will work on for a few weeks in their jobs.

Its a nice thought, but I suspect that if I had €100m in the bank my tolerance for any of the various little irritations that make up a normal work day would quickly drop to zero. Are you really going to put up with moaning from a manager or client when you know you could immediately go straight from there to a 5 star beach resort if you felt like it.

Its a nice thought to be professional, but I have little doubt that as a multimillionaire my relationship with my employer will be very different than it is today. I might be around to help hand over to a replacement but damn sure that will be on my terms, it certainly won't be the daily grind of a normal work week.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

€1M - buy a modest house somewhere in Dublin, stay working part time, possibly go back to education full time to learn something I am really interested in without being under pressure. Live a less stressed life without the worry of paying the mortgage!

€100M - sort my immediate family out with their mortgages and loans. Buy a house that won't cost a fortune to run i.e. not a mansion with ridiculous overheads, but that is pretty extravagant in another way. Maybe I'd build one in fact, a super environmentally friendly house. It would have lots of land for growing my own veg and chickens and dogs all over the place. Do all the travelling and find a little house / apartment to have to go to on a weekend whim, maybe in Portugal. I love Portugal. I haven't thought beyond that. The charity idea is very interesting - perhaps I'd set up a giant animal shelter.

You'd need to be careful of how much money you are giving people. They would be supposed to declare it as income.

€1 million would buy me a house. Location wise I'm not sure. The remainder would go towards my family, friends and work.

€100 million is a whole different ball game. I would have two houses here in Ireland. One in Dublin city and another little spot down the country. Some place beside the Sea would do nicely.

My dad is a very modest man and wouldn't even be interested in a new car but he would be we looked after anyway. Himself would be well looked after too. My best friend would get a new house for her and her family. One or two others would also get a few bob.

After that I would need to think. And think and think. I'd like to make peoples lives easier in some way. It is lovely to dream :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭s3rtvdbwfj81ch

100m

pay off my mortgage, and my 2 siblings' mortgages too - they are all living in an area close to my parents, and my parents won't be for moving, so just allow my siblings to spec out their homes as they wish, or move somewhere else if they want, they can keep their current place and get a nice income off it as a rental. Spec out my parents' house too, although they almost have it how they like it. They love their cruises so set them up for one a year until they don't want it any more.

Pay for annual holidays for family, parents. It doesn't have to be all together - no mad restrictions.

buy a house in Dublin, near my family

buy an apartment in Dublin to crash in after nights out etc

buy an apartment in Barcelona, into which I'll eventually move to full time when I'm about 50

Sizeable and structured payments to Shelbourne FC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,308 ✭✭✭✭branie2

If I were working, I'd still keep my job, but I'd take some time off for a great holiday

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

You'd need to be careful of how much money you are giving people. They would be supposed to declare it as income.

They have this sorted when you win and you fill in a form with tax free "syndicate" members listed, apparently...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,410 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Its nice to dream.

As one comedian put it when asked if he would go public if he won the lotto, he replied that he most definitely would. When the interviewer asked "What about all the begging letters?" he replied "Oh, I would still send them".

1 mill - pay off mortgage and cars, herself to quit her job, a treat for each of my friends and family.

100 mill - reminds me of a saying. "Those who say money can't buy you happiness don't know where to spend their money". I would keep it low key, not go public. Tell people I won a holiday and take two weeks off. I would probably wind down my current job and become a personal trainer full time to keep me busy. I would sell up and move to a house on land. Would also pay off the mortgages of my immediate family. I would buy a property in the sun and try do six months here and six months there. I would also clear the vet bills for a fair few dog homes. I would also donate a fair bit to various charities - uncertain of which and how much.

I always wonder about those who say they will work on for a few weeks in their jobs.

Its a nice thought, but I suspect that if I had €100m in the bank my tolerance for any of the various little irritations that make up a normal work day would quickly drop to zero. Are you really going to put up with moaning from a manager or client when you know you could immediately go straight from there to a 5 star beach resort if you felt like it.

Its a nice thought to be professional, but I have little doubt that as a multimillionaire my relationship with my employer will be very different than it is today. I might be around to help hand over to a replacement but damn sure that will be on my terms, it certainly won't be the daily grind of a normal work week.

As I said above, it's nothing to do with being professional (although I don't hate my job so I wouldn't mind finishing out "properly" anyway), it's more to save the hassle of a few dozen/hundred "new best friends", or the begging/sob stories trying to guilt you into giving out cash.

No, as far as everyone would know I just got a new job elsewhere. Only after I had all my plans in place would I let friends know - and even then I would probably undersell what I'd actually won to most people ("yea I won 500k so bought a house and changed the car, but sure it doesn't go far in this country!" etc).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,344 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

If i won the million, i'd give up the job and think about opening a restaurant, but not before i splurge on a few cars and a house, and a holiday or 10.

If i won 100 million, i'd give up the job, spend the next few years visiting every theme park worth visiting, buy a few houses around the world, build a 'house' for my cars and gaming, open the restaurant, and wonder where all my money went.

Suppose that now that I've covered how I'd claim it and finish up in work, what WOULD I do with 100 mil ?:)

- Keep 85-90 mil untouched. Plan to live off the interest
    - Buy nice house for myself, the missus and the little fella. Not a Southfork ranch, but a decent sized 4/5 bed on its own land
    - Buy house my sister is in for her, or wherever she wants to live. Give her say 3 mil.
    - Buy apartment in Dublin for weekends/visits. Allow close friends to use this for same reason
    - Buy an apartment somewhere sunny, with am eye on potentially retiring out there eventually
    - Buy new car - fully-specced Audi A8 (think the Transporter/Taken movies), plus car for herself.
    - Regular holidays. I haven't been out of this country since 2001. That would change!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Bet the whole 100 mil on the horse with the most ridiculous name in Cheltenham 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

One Million? Sell the house, pay off the mortgage, then buy that house in Strandhill, a nice 2015/16 car, gotta think about the depreciation, and not show off to much. A nice pension plan, carry on working, but maybe drop from my average 42hrs a week to 36. Earn enough to stay comfortable, and within means, with one less bill.

Hundred Million. Probably still all the above, half my normal hours though, just to keep sain. A enough to each parent, and half brother and sister, so that they are not screwed by the inheritance tax. Would help out the folks with their homes and retirement, and to set up/start of the brother and sister, both still young, but I imagine they would still be successful enough in their chosen profession/field, even without the leg up. Couple of charities, Irish Cancer Society, and MacMillian Nurses in GB/NI, a regular contribution rather than a lump sum. Possibly buy a few properties as an investment as well. Finally, buy my Grandparents old homestead/site from the current owners, knock down the new house that was built on the site, and build a new house as close as possible to the original design/structure/size, obviously to modern regs, and with SOME mod cons. This would be more sentimental, for my self, cousins, and for an escape visit, miles from everywhere.

Now I just have to play the thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,257 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Solid gold house and a rocket car of course. What else could you possibly want?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 42 Funny how?

If I won a million I'd travel for a solid year to every continent. I wouldn't be wasting money on fancy accomadation or anything, anthin with a bed does me.
    I'd come back and then buy a ok house and ok car.
    I'd go back to work then for a few years only doing a three day week and take another year off and go travelling again.

If I won the 100 million hooker of the highest calibre, Cocaine of the highest calibre and open an animal rescue place and probably a restraunt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

1 mill i would set up a company and hire myself, seems the only way i will get a job anyway.

100 mill i would set up a company, hire a few people i hate, make their lives miserable and then close down after 11 months to avoid paying redundancy :P

yes am a bitter man, deal with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

soups05 wrote: »
    1 mill i would set up a company and hire myself, seems the only way i will get a job anyway.

100 mill i would set up a company, hire a few people i hate, make their lives miserable and then close down after 11 months to avoid paying redundancy :P

yes am a bitter man, deal with it

Do it in a way that the state has to bail you out, Ideally in a smaller city you hate so your company would be considered essential, then take the bail out and bet it all on a horse at Cheltenham :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Just did the Euromillions, I'll let you know later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

If I won either I'd be dead in a week.

Best week ever.