Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If You Won The Lottery

• Registered Users Posts: 530 ✭✭✭_Roz_

maybe in Portugal. I love Portugal.

Never been there, but OH's parents retired to there so I suspect I'll be going there someday. He has notions of retiring to there, but as I hate heat and summer, he'll be retiring there alone! :P

I too would likely go back to full time education.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,208 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I always wonder about those who say they will work on for a few weeks in their jobs.

Its a nice thought, but I suspect that if I had €100m in the bank my tolerance for any of the various little irritations that make up a normal work day would quickly drop to zero. Are you really going to put up with moaning from a manager or client when you know you could immediately go straight from there to a 5 star beach resort if you felt like it.

Its a nice thought to be professional, but I have little doubt that as a multimillionaire my relationship with my employer will be very different than it is today. I might be around to help hand over to a replacement but damn sure that will be on my terms, it certainly won't be the daily grind of a normal work week.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

€1M - buy a modest house somewhere in Dublin, stay working part time, possibly go back to education full time to learn something I am really interested in without being under pressure. Live a less stressed life without the worry of paying the mortgage!

€100M - sort my immediate family out with their mortgages and loans. Buy a house that won't cost a fortune to run i.e. not a mansion with ridiculous overheads, but that is pretty extravagant in another way. Maybe I'd build one in fact, a super environmentally friendly house. It would have lots of land for growing my own veg and chickens and dogs all over the place. Do all the travelling and find a little house / apartment to have to go to on a weekend whim, maybe in Portugal. I love Portugal. I haven't thought beyond that. The charity idea is very interesting - perhaps I'd set up a giant animal shelter.

You'd need to be careful of how much money you are giving people. They would be supposed to declare it as income.

€1 million would buy me a house. Location wise I'm not sure. The remainder would go towards my family, friends and work.

€100 million is a whole different ball game. I would have two houses here in Ireland. One in Dublin city and another little spot down the country. Some place beside the Sea would do nicely.

My dad is a very modest man and wouldn't even be interested in a new car but he would be we looked after anyway. Himself would be well looked after too. My best friend would get a new house for her and her family. One or two others would also get a few bob.

After that I would need to think. And think and think. I'd like to make peoples lives easier in some way. It is lovely to dream :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭s3rtvdbwfj81ch

100m

pay off my mortgage, and my 2 siblings' mortgages too - they are all living in an area close to my parents, and my parents won't be for moving, so just allow my siblings to spec out their homes as they wish, or move somewhere else if they want, they can keep their current place and get a nice income off it as a rental. Spec out my parents' house too, although they almost have it how they like it. They love their cruises so set them up for one a year until they don't want it any more.

Pay for annual holidays for family, parents. It doesn't have to be all together - no mad restrictions.

buy a house in Dublin, near my family

buy an apartment in Dublin to crash in after nights out etc

buy an apartment in Barcelona, into which I'll eventually move to full time when I'm about 50

Sizeable and structured payments to Shelbourne FC.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,298 ✭✭✭✭branie2

If I were working, I'd still keep my job, but I'd take some time off for a great holiday

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,695 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

You'd need to be careful of how much money you are giving people. They would be supposed to declare it as income.

They have this sorted when you win and you fill in a form with tax free "syndicate" members listed, apparently...

• Registered Users Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Its nice to dream.

As one comedian put it when asked if he would go public if he won the lotto, he replied that he most definitely would. When the interviewer asked "What about all the begging letters?" he replied "Oh, I would still send them".

1 mill - pay off mortgage and cars, herself to quit her job, a treat for each of my friends and family.

100 mill - reminds me of a saying. "Those who say money can't buy you happiness don't know where to spend their money". I would keep it low key, not go public. Tell people I won a holiday and take two weeks off. I would probably wind down my current job and become a personal trainer full time to keep me busy. I would sell up and move to a house on land. Would also pay off the mortgages of my immediate family. I would buy a property in the sun and try do six months here and six months there. I would also clear the vet bills for a fair few dog homes. I would also donate a fair bit to various charities - uncertain of which and how much.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,734 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I always wonder about those who say they will work on for a few weeks in their jobs.

Its a nice thought, but I suspect that if I had €100m in the bank my tolerance for any of the various little irritations that make up a normal work day would quickly drop to zero. Are you really going to put up with moaning from a manager or client when you know you could immediately go straight from there to a 5 star beach resort if you felt like it.

Its a nice thought to be professional, but I have little doubt that as a multimillionaire my relationship with my employer will be very different than it is today. I might be around to help hand over to a replacement but damn sure that will be on my terms, it certainly won't be the daily grind of a normal work week.

As I said above, it's nothing to do with being professional (although I don't hate my job so I wouldn't mind finishing out "properly" anyway), it's more to save the hassle of a few dozen/hundred "new best friends", or the begging/sob stories trying to guilt you into giving out cash.

No, as far as everyone would know I just got a new job elsewhere. Only after I had all my plans in place would I let friends know - and even then I would probably undersell what I'd actually won to most people ("yea I won 500k so bought a house and changed the car, but sure it doesn't go far in this country!" etc).

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

If i won the million, i'd give up the job and think about opening a restaurant, but not before i splurge on a few cars and a house, and a holiday or 10.

If i won 100 million, i'd give up the job, spend the next few years visiting every theme park worth visiting, buy a few houses around the world, build a 'house' for my cars and gaming, open the restaurant, and wonder where all my money went.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,734 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Suppose that now that I've covered how I'd claim it and finish up in work, what WOULD I do with 100 mil ?:)

- Keep 85-90 mil untouched. Plan to live off the interest
    - Buy nice house for myself, the missus and the little fella. Not a Southfork ranch, but a decent sized 4/5 bed on its own land
    - Buy house my sister is in for her, or wherever she wants to live. Give her say 3 mil.
    - Buy apartment in Dublin for weekends/visits. Allow close friends to use this for same reason
    - Buy an apartment somewhere sunny, with am eye on potentially retiring out there eventually
    - Buy new car - fully-specced Audi A8 (think the Transporter/Taken movies), plus car for herself.
    - Regular holidays. I haven't been out of this country since 2001. That would change!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Bet the whole 100 mil on the horse with the most ridiculous name in Cheltenham 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,294 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

One Million? Sell the house, pay off the mortgage, then buy that house in Strandhill, a nice 2015/16 car, gotta think about the depreciation, and not show off to much. A nice pension plan, carry on working, but maybe drop from my average 42hrs a week to 36. Earn enough to stay comfortable, and within means, with one less bill.

Hundred Million. Probably still all the above, half my normal hours though, just to keep sain. A enough to each parent, and half brother and sister, so that they are not screwed by the inheritance tax. Would help out the folks with their homes and retirement, and to set up/start of the brother and sister, both still young, but I imagine they would still be successful enough in their chosen profession/field, even without the leg up. Couple of charities, Irish Cancer Society, and MacMillian Nurses in GB/NI, a regular contribution rather than a lump sum. Possibly buy a few properties as an investment as well. Finally, buy my Grandparents old homestead/site from the current owners, knock down the new house that was built on the site, and build a new house as close as possible to the original design/structure/size, obviously to modern regs, and with SOME mod cons. This would be more sentimental, for my self, cousins, and for an escape visit, miles from everywhere.

Now I just have to play the thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Solid gold house and a rocket car of course. What else could you possibly want?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 42 Funny how?

If I won a million I'd travel for a solid year to every continent. I wouldn't be wasting money on fancy accomadation or anything, anthin with a bed does me.
    I'd come back and then buy a ok house and ok car.
    I'd go back to work then for a few years only doing a three day week and take another year off and go travelling again.

If I won the 100 million hooker of the highest calibre, Cocaine of the highest calibre and open an animal rescue place and probably a restraunt

• Registered Users Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

1 mill i would set up a company and hire myself, seems the only way i will get a job anyway.

100 mill i would set up a company, hire a few people i hate, make their lives miserable and then close down after 11 months to avoid paying redundancy :P

yes am a bitter man, deal with it

• Registered Users Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

soups05 wrote: »
    1 mill i would set up a company and hire myself, seems the only way i will get a job anyway.

100 mill i would set up a company, hire a few people i hate, make their lives miserable and then close down after 11 months to avoid paying redundancy :P

yes am a bitter man, deal with it

Do it in a way that the state has to bail you out, Ideally in a smaller city you hate so your company would be considered essential, then take the bail out and bet it all on a horse at Cheltenham :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Just did the Euromillions, I'll let you know later.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,928 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

If I won either I'd be dead in a week.

Best week ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

I would buy ALL TEH HOUSESES.

1m wouldn't go very far in London in fairness so I'd prob set myself up with a relatively modest apartment in west London, a few treats for everyone, quit work and go full-time on my MBA, invest the rest.

100m would be a big fcuk-off house in Chiswick west London, big fcuk off house in Galway and south Dublin, penthouse apartment near Central Park, beach house in LA and maybe the same in south of France because why not. Sort out all the family and close friends, invest heavily in stocks and bonds, get an Ivy League degree, give loads to charity and get involved in some causes close to my heart.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

If I won the 1 million I buy a nice house and still work.

If I won 100 million il take the money and move to a tax haven country and buy a few houses all over the world so I can hop between them.
    I would also open up a state of the art animal clinic and hire vets that just dont deal with cows.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

jonon9 wrote: »
    If I won the 1 million I buy a nice house and still work.

If I won 100 million il take the money and move to a tax haven country and buy a few houses all over the world so I can hop between them.
    I would also open up a state of the art animal clinic and hire vets that just dont deal with cows.

That's an idea, a charity or clinic or something to help animals. Or towards a hospital. Or something
    Can't imagine not working somehow tbh. Probably still finish the exams first too.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,759 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

I could help a lot of people with 100m
    Too much for me, I know quite a few people I could give 5 million to.
    50m for me is plenty .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

everlast75 wrote: »

100 mill - reminds me of a saying. "Those who say money can't buy you happiness don't know where to spend their money".

"They say money can't buy happiness, but it's nicer to cry in a BMW than on a bicycle"

I'd be over on the property porn thread too. Somewhere nice in Kerry and I'd never ever see any of the inlaws ever again :D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

If I won 1 million I would buy a modest house in the French or Spanish countryside to live in and a house in Dublin to rent out.

The income from the rent will be for my general living expenses and the remainder rest for holidays. I wouldn't give much cash away. I probably wouldn't even tell anybody.

If I won 100 million, I definitely wouldn't tell anybody I know. I would move abroad and live a double life.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

1 million I'd buy a house and go back to college to study something I actually want to work at and try and change career.

100 million I'd buy a house on 100s of acres and rescue ponies...!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

Sonics2k wrote: »
    Solid gold house and a rocket car of course. What else could you possibly want?

A monorail.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Gravelly wrote: »
    A monorail.

Monorail?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Autochange

Move to Cavan and look down on the peasants from my Ivory Tower