Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Hard Shoulder with Ivan Yates (interregnum)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,281 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

I read your post and had a look up on Chris Donoghue's Twitter page - something I never thought I would ever do. This is the full tweet.

I think in the context of the full tweet the statement is different. The tone of the full tweet is jocose and joshing. I've never been a fan of Chris, but I think his hands are clean on this one.

My issue is more Chris saying his listenership was pulling away - when that is not the reason for Ivan’s retirement.

It strikes me as petty and is sadly consistent with Chris character over his years at Newstalk

Ahwell wrote: »
    At a guess, Sean O'Rourke's retirement had been expected for awhile and had been discussed at various times in the thread before it was actually announced, whereas the news about Yates came completely out of the blue.

Its not completely out of the blue. Ivan flagged this himself on a few occasions over the past year. He was never going to work much past 60 and he turned 60 last October. His wife is also retiring now and he became a grandad in the last year too. He's talked a lot about public speaking and after dinner speaking, something he would make a good living out of and on his terms too not on Newstalk terms. That drivetime gig and the Tonight Show would be a pretty tough job in terms of committment and antisocial hours. So this was definitely on the cards. He's dead right to go now, before he becomes even more cynical!! :-) I think he's great and will be a hard act to follow.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Ahwell

Its not completely out of the blue. Ivan flagged this himself on a few occasions over the past year. He was never going to work much past 60 and he turned 60 last October. His wife is also retiring now and he became a grandad in the last year too. He's talked a lot about public speaking and after dinner speaking, something he would make a good living out of and on his terms too not on Newstalk terms. That drivetime gig and the Tonight Show would be a pretty tough job in terms of committment and antisocial hours. So this was definitely on the cards. He's dead right to go now, before he becomes even more cynical!! :-) I think he's great and will be a hard act to follow.

It's seems there was settlement with AIB about the family home in Wexford, it's covered by a confidentiality clause but it looks like they get to keep it. I would imagine this was the deciding factor in the decision to retire. He talks about it here....

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/ivan-yates-i-was-a-poster-boy-for-bankruptcy-tourism-1.4174180

He's talked a lot about public speaking and after dinner speaking, something he would make a good living out of

I always thought that was a bit tongue-in-cheek.

We live on a very small island, and everybody already knows one another in some distant way. How much money could Yates really command for emceeing an event? For sure, he would add *some* value, but there's no way he's charging more than a couple of grand for an event. And how often does that happen? I can't see that being a major draw for a man who earns 6k per month for doing S-F-A on a ministerial pension.

I always thought that was a bit tongue-in-cheek.

We live on a very small island, and everybody already knows one another in some distant way. How much money could Yates really command for emceeing an event? For sure, he would add *some* value, but there's no way he's charging more than a couple of grand for an event. And how often does that happen? I can't see that being a major draw for a man who earns 6k per month for doing S-F-A on a ministerial pension.

For some reason I can’t imagine him sitting at home doing SFA!
    As for well known public speakers in Ireland......guess you could say that about any celeb, media or sportsperson here .

For some reason I can’t imagine him sitting at home doing SFA!
    No, it isn't in his nature. I really disagree with his politics but his energy is worth remarking, for a man who lives with chronic back pain. Not so much a grifter as a grafter.

• Registered Users Posts: 519 ✭✭✭tv3tg4

Any rumours for a replacement for Ivan?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,527 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

tv3tg4 wrote: »
    Any rumours for a replacement for Ivan?

No clear “favourite”, as yet.

But, I did hear that they might be trying to “court” Dil Wickremasinghe back.

The tide is turning…

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 13,984 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

No way they’d give her the drive time slot, she wouldn’t have the pull. I wonder would Cagney do morning and Colman the drive home slot.

Good god as a radio mod the place will melt down if she did.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,527 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

pc7 wrote: »
    No way they’d give her the drive time slot, she wouldn’t have the pull. I wonder would Cagney do morning and Colman the drive home slot.

Maybe they could get Cagney to do 4-6pm, then let Dil take a 6-7pm slot. This would ease a lot of listeners into the, excessive, “wokeness” of ‘Off the Ball’ its presenters.

Might absorb a good share of the, impotent, rage that gets aimed at OTB. She could act as a “buffer” for the flagship show.

The tide is turning…

• Registered Users Posts: 3,207 ✭✭✭Azatadine

That Dil is a right dose. No way would she even remotely be in the running surely!!

• Registered Users Posts: 562 ✭✭✭el_gaucho

Where did you hear that? I’ll be shocked if it happens.

I would love if Dil got the gig. There would be a riot. An hilarious, breathless, deranged riot. Please God.

She seems like a lovely human, but how she ever got a professional radio job in the first place is beyond me.

• Registered Users Posts: 178 ✭✭KReid

There's always the possibility that Newstalk might shuffle the pack and move Shane Coleman to drive, but I'm not sure Ciaran Cuddihy is the kind of broadcaster who would do it alone, so they might need to get Mark Cagney in, although that seems an easy fit because he's done some cover.

What could also happen, and might be more likely with austerity in media, is Matt Cooper moving from Today FM and doing his show on Newstalk, while Today FM shifts more towards a music drive, maybe moving Fergal D'Arcy up to 3 - 7 and extending other shows by an hour. Might be a bit fanciful but they are all owned by the same company anyway, so just a few new contracts to sign.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,061 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Don’t worry pc7, some of us never heard of her.

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Don’t worry pc7, some of us never heard of her.

Really Brendan? I'm surprised tbh. You're in for a treat....of sorts.....

I would love if Dil got the gig. There would be a riot. An hilarious, breathless, deranged riot. Please God.

She seems like a lovely human, but how she ever got a professional radio job in the first place is beyond me.

Surprised as a mod you'd love if she got the gig. You'll be busy with the cards if she's back to say the least...........

I can't see it ever happening again for her on Newstalk, even with all the #woke boxes she ticks.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,011 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

KReid wrote: »
    What could also happen, and might be more likely with austerity in media, is Matt Cooper moving from Today FM and doing his show on Newstalk, while Today FM shifts more towards a music drive

Do Today FM not have some minimum requirement for speech/current affairs content?

I can't see it ever happening again for her on Newstalk, even with all the #woke boxes she ticks.

Not sure how Newstalk, of all stations, has a reputation for being preoccupied with social justice esp. the rights of minorities, isn't that what woke means?

Pat Kenny, Ivan Yates — woke, really? Pat thinks the pronouns are "she, he or it", and Ivan doesn't even know what a pronoun is. Meanwhile, Ciara Kelly and Moncrieff are old fashioned classic liberals, and Kelly herself is vocally anti-socialist, at least on Twitter. She's the ultimate centrist mum.

You could put Shane Coleman in the same bracket.

Who's left? I suppose Tom Dunne might have a social conscience alright.

The station has always been a natural home for centrist or right-of-centre broadcasters.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

^^^^
    Absolutely. Nothing in Denis O'Briens career or persona would indicate someone willing to allow their station become a refuge and pulpit for Leftist ideals.

Not sure how Newstalk, of all stations, has a reputation for being preoccupied with social justice esp. the rights of minorities, isn't that what woke means?

Pat Kenny, Ivan Yates — woke, really? Pat thinks the pronouns are "she, he or it", and Ivan doesn't even know what a pronoun is. Meanwhile, Ciara Kelly and Moncrieff are old fashioned classic liberals, and Kelly herself is vocally anti-socialist, at least on Twitter. She's the ultimate centrist mum.

You could put Shane Coleman in the same bracket.

Who's left? I suppose Tom Dunne might have a social conscience alright.

The station has always been a natural home for centrist or right-of-centre broadcasters.

I'm half-tempted to ask are you trolling.

Cuddihy
    Kelly (in particular on her feminist rants)
    The entire OTB Crew

None of those fit into the #woke "right on" bracket? Really?

I didn't say each an every presenter was. Clearly Ivan is a million miles from that. Nestalk is the station that gave us Dil after all.

^^^^
    Absolutely. Nothing in Denis O'Briens career or persona would indicate someone willing to allow their station become a refuge and pulpit for Leftist ideals.

Well if you listen to the presenters DO'B has no editorial influence on their output. Many have commented on this.

• Registered Users Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Butson

Yates the very last person I could listen to on Irish radio
    A bit rude and arrogant at times for sure, but at least he says what he thinks and gets contributers on from different sides of the spectrum.

Radio 1 = Siptu FM
    Newstalk - Shane Coleman, Ciara Kelly, Moncrieff - all very lefty / liberal
    Matt Cooper - Useless. Obsessed with UK and US politics.

I'm half-tempted to ask are you trolling.

Cuddihy
    Kelly (in particular on her feminist rants)
    The entire OTB Crew

None of those fit into the #woke "right on" bracket? Really?

I didn't say each an every presenter was. Clearly Ivan is a million miles from that. Nestalk is the station that gave us Dil after all.
    So Kieran Cuddihy (questionable, but ok) and the Off The Ball lads. Out of approx 13 presenters in the weekday schedule, that's the totality of it? These guys aren't even broadcasting during prime time.

Look at who is broadcasting during prime time, and then tell me the political tenor of the station. How woke is Ivan Yates, exactly?

Butson wrote: »

Radio 1 = Siptu FM.
    Ah jayzis

You also used the term left/ liberal. Which is it? You cant go putting Ciara Kelly in the same bracket as Clare Daly, whose politics Ciara kelly openly opposes.

Liberals are not necessarily on the left. I would never place Ciara Kelly on the left.

• Registered Users Posts: 178 ✭✭KReid

Do Today FM not have some minimum requirement for speech/current affairs content?

Yes, would have no clue what percentage though, maybe 20%. They would easily be able to full that with talk during the day, possibly dedicate an hour to a news show at Lunchtime to get around it.

To be honest with the format of the station they probably already hit that percentage without Matt, whether they are actually obligated to cover NEWS, and not just TALK, I'm not sure..

I'm sure someone else here would be able to explain that stuff...

So Kieran Cuddihy (questionable, but ok) and the Off The Ball lads. Out of approx 13 presenters in the weekday schedule, that's the totality of it? These guys aren't even broadcasting during prime time.

Look at who is broadcasting during prime time, and then tell me the political tenor of the station. How woke is Ivan Yates, exactly?

I've already clarified that Ivan isn't, not sure how that was missed?

But I'm flabbergasted that you don't see CK as woke, or at least a militant feminist. The woman who said Travellers were welcome to come and set up on her street, the woman whose opening lines to her first solo show on Newstalk were "I am a woman". Then there was the time she was co-hosting breakfast with Shane Coleman and had a go at the DAA for "forcing" women to breastfeed in their Baby Feeding Area. The DAA tweeted the show to say that women could breastfeed anywhere they liked in Dublin Airport, but the Baby Feeding Area was reserved for those who wished to do so in private. Her co-host asked would she object to fathers using this area to feed their infants, and guess what, she did. Those are but a few examples, I could give many, many more. Or are we back to not being allowed to criticise Ciara Kelly again?

With all due respect I do think you're a little biased on CK as you have been (by your own admission) on the show.

I've already clarified that Ivan isn't, not sure how that was missed?

But I'm flabbergasted that you don't see CK as woke, or at least a militant feminist. The woman who said Travellers were welcome to come and set up on her street, the woman whose opening lines to her first solo show on Newstalk were "I am a woman". Then there was the time she was co-hosting breakfast with Shane Coleman and had a go at the DAA for "forcing" women to breastfeed in their Baby Feeding Area. The DAA tweeted the show to say that women could breastfeed anywhere they liked in Dublin Airport, but the Baby Feeding Area was reserved for those who wished to do so in private. Her co-host asked would she object to fathers using this area to feed their infants, and guess what, she did. Those are but a few examples, I could give many, many more. Or are we back to not being allowed to criticise Ciara Kelly again?

With all due respect I do think you're a little biased on CK as you have been (by your own admission) on the show.
    Co-hosting Breakfast with Shane Coleman? How far back are you going, here, to grasp at some very dubious examples? Nothing you have described sounds "woke". With regard to the breastfeeding thing, everyone knows that the argument would be that men (or trans men, to be clearer) can breastfeed too. I don't want to impute anything to CK but I don't think she has much truck with trans rights in female spaces.

Like I said, she's a liberal of the classical kind. The woman openly opposes socialist politics. It couldn't be any clearer.

Co-hosting Breakfast with Shane Coleman? How far back are you going, here, to grasp at some very dubious examples? Nothing you have described sounds "woke". With regard to the breastfeeding thing, everyone knows that the argument would be that men (or trans men, to be clearer) can breastfeed too. I don't want to impute anything to CK but I don't think she has much truck with trans rights in female spaces.

Like I said, she's a liberal of the classical kind. The woman openly opposes socialist politics. It couldn't be any clearer.

Perhaps in your opinion.

Laughably saying she'd welcome Travellers to park up on her street isn't playing to the woke gallery?

Why are my examples dubious? Because you disagree with them? They all happened. I gave 3, 2 of which are from her current show. Her stint on Breakfast was immediately prior to that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭omerin

I'm going to miss Ivan, best of a very mediocre bunch. I fear they'll give it to Kelly or Cagney, both with the charisma and personality of roadkill.

Having said that i cant think of a person to replace him such is the lack of talent

He mentioned that Thursday will be his last show on Virgin. Not worth looking at that show from next week if it's only cooper